• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
(e.g. Sep-04-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: AMHERST
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 25 dollars per pet for 1 to 6 nights and 75 dollars for 7plus nights. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs.Pet agreement must be signed at check in.Record of up to date vaccinations may be required.Call hotel for info.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Center for Performing Arts
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
University at Buffalo
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
The Northtown Center at Amherst
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Boulevard Mall
Distance From Hotel:1.4MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:78
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:76
  • Total number of suites:76
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:55
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:21
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:76
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice
View More

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice for business travelers. Buffalo Niagara International Airport (BUF) is eight miles away. General Motors, Praxair and Dunlop are within minutes of our location. Companies in downtown Buffalo and the Buffalo Convention Center are an easy commute. Visiting speakers and professors are close to the University at Buffalo.

From the grandeur of Niagara Falls to the many architectural and cultural attractions nearby, leisure travelers are close to everything at this hotel's location in Amherst, NY. The hotel's guests are minutes from Albright Knox Art Gallery and the famous Darwin D. Martin House. Nearby Boulevard Mall offers fabulous shopping.

So, bring your entire family, pets and all, and as our hotel's guest in Amherst, NY, enjoy all the conveniences of home. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi access and the free laundry facilities. A free DVD library is great for the kids and you'll like the Fitness and Business Centers. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

View Less
Features
As you search for extended stay Amherst hotels near Buffalo, NY, keep our accommodations in mind. Conveniently situated off I-290, our terrific suites offer easy access to the Buffalo area.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 166 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay Nice hotel, nice staff, good location. Nice rooms and amenities. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet/ comfortable stay Check in was easy. Finding the room was easy. Check out was fast and easy. The beds were comfortable. The sheets soft and the pillows fluffy. The air conditioner was quiet and I rarely heard any planes from the airport in the 4 days we were there. The swimming area was nice and the Jacuzzi was relaxing. The staff were friendly and gave excellent service. The housekeeper who greeted us upon arrival near the elevators also gave us some tips on menus, restaurants in the area and let us know if we needed anything to let her know or go to the front desk. I'm sorry I can't remember her name. The only negative part of the trip is when we ate breakfast the first day. The pancake machine was broke and an older lady who was restocking the food made a little girl cry when she was trying to get her eggs from the food area. I didn't like that. August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good overnight stay near the airport Needed a reasonably priced hotel while we were in the area and our daughters were traveling at the airport for an early flight. The hotel had a 24 hour shuttle to the airport which was very convenient. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Paulette, the night clerk, was friendly and helpful. August 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Internet didn't work Could not get the internet to work. In two days I spent over 6 hours with the hotel and work IT support. Hotel manager promised 5000 points for my trouble but didn't keep her word. Went to the Hampton Inn next door and had internet connection within 5 minutes. Nice hotel, but not sure about the internet issues. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Way to stay consistent have stayed here before and this time was as good as the last. Please take down the sign for the Games Room if it is now used as a storage room. This was disappointing for the kids but otherwise another great stay. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location opposite airport We stayed here returning from Niagara Falls, and it was a good choice. Nice and new, and directly across from the airport. I would recommend this hotel. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed our one night stay. We were able to get a good night's sleep in the comfortable bed. We enjoyed the breakfast before our trip home. July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT PLACE TO STAY Very good place to visit, great staff team and very good all round. If we were travelling I would be staying there from our family experience. July 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms smelled Outside of building and lobby neat, clean and updated. Bedding updated, roomed smelled like musty dead skunk combination gym locker. Booked the room for a week for the family and did not give us a room with a frig or microwave. Breakfast was the same boring powdered eggs. Your were lucky if you were able to get in line for pancakes from the machine (need more than one). July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Pet Friendly Hotel I continue to stay at this Buffalo-Airport Holiday Day Inn Express because it is a very accommodating best pet friendly hotel. When we travel from Chicagoland to the East Coast we always plan our route through New York so we can stay at the best pet friendly hotel that we ever stayed at! Thanks for the excellent pet friendly service and accomodations! July 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed The hotel was fine; however, our room was not cleaned very well. There was food crumbs and nail clippings next to the bed. The front desk staff didn't seem to think it was a big deal. They did send a person to vacuum the floor, although that person never moved the night stand. So, there was still nail clipping on the floor. No other rooms were available or we would have left and went to another hotel. July 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by NIce hotel stay Was in town for 6 nights so had a very long hotel stay. COMFORTABLE that they had a good working mini ref rig and microwave. Large king room was sufficient for 3 adults to stay comfortably. Odd bathroom scenario with a 'swinging' bathroom door and odd shaped shower but it worked for us. OH and the BREAKFAST options were awesome! VERY nice especially for the health conscious traveler. LOVED the pancake making machine :) ONLY 'not happy' with the NON volume option on your breakfast room/TV.. ESPECIALLY since we were there with many others who would've LOVED to watch/hear the WORLD CUP in your lovely lobby side room. HAD to ask one of the breakfast staff to at least adjust to apply 'CLOSED CAPTIONING' which was not on for 2 days. AND I will add the breakfast staff was wonderful-- very accommodating-- though on our last day, one older woman was a bit gruff... OTHERWISE =perfect customer service all week. THANK YOU July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean Great place to stay. Swimming pool and continental breakfast set it apart from the competition. We have stayed here several times and the quality is consistent. Would highly recommend it! July 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff - Outdated Rooms The staff were incredibly friendly. The location in proximity to the airport is convenient if you have an early morning flight. The hallways and rooms were outdated. They updated the bedding, but it appears the rest of the room hadn't been refreshed in many years. The shower in the bathroom of my room was a stand-up (no tub), which I usually enjoy, but this one seemed like it needed to be bleached a few times. The door to the room was incredibly squeeky too. That became annoying after a few times of entering/exiting. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A little disappointed Stayed over July 4th weekend and with the minor issues we had I don't feel the suit was worth the inflated price we payed. Nice hotel with a good location with a well above average complimentary breakfast. July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We booked a room for one night because we had a flight leaving from the Buffalo - Niagara International Airport in the early afternoon. We found the location ideal for access to decent food selections. We were also able to zip into downtown Buffalo for a few hours of sight seeing before our flight departed. The staff, particularly one housekeeper, were helpful and friendly and even provided us with some suggestions for places to eat in the area. Since this was our first visit to this area, we found that to be very helpful. Also, the room accommodations were clean and comfortable and the price was reasonable. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone who would like to be close to the airport (like across the street) and still have access to some local flavor. July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Flying out of Buffalo airport. Have stayed here before when flying out of the Buffalo airport in the AM. Clean, good continental breakfast and most important, across street from the Buffalo airport. Good value, weather paying or using IHG points. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Our family was there on vacation. The breakfast was a hit with my kids. Tons of variety. The nightly reception was a plus and the hostess was very friendly. The room was clean and tidy. If your concerned with the sound of airplanes over head we didn't notice the sound in the hotel. Outside yes, but not in our rooms. We would have liked a microwave and refrigerator, and will specify that next time. I would return and recommend this hotel for anyone in the Buffalo area. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very kind staff Staff were friendly, kind and helpful even when I was tired and cranking...They went beyond the call of duty. June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Park & Fly Hotel is across the street from the Buffalo Airport on Buell, the first right turn after getting off Hwy 33 onto Genesse. The room was on the first floor...seemed like all Park & Fly patrons were kept on this floor to ease their departure. Reception Staff were informative of the Park & Fly expectations as to where to park & shuttle arrangements. They also provided the name of a local family style restaurant "Danny's" within a two minute drive. Food was good as was the service. The room was odd in that the shower stall was a walk in with a short vestibule to the shower (no door). It worked well. The room was clean & comfortable &, as we were leaving later in th morning, the breakfast area was not crowded. The choices were as per other HIE locations...good breakfast choices for us. The shuttle service was excellent both going to Buffalo Airport & on return. Gased up and headed to the crossing at Fort Erie, Canada. June 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Was OK - could have been a bit cleaner! The staff were very nice, but our room was not that clean. I looked under the bed to get a toy for my son and I found a nail clipping! It was very close to the bed skirt. We brought my toddler who was crawling around on the floor and I was a bit grossed out!! The bathroom as well could have been cleaner. It didn't look like the room was vacuumed at all. There was a hair on the shelf and some dried on substance on the wall. As a mom with a young child I would expect the room to be a bit cleaner. But overall the stay was average. Not sure if I would stay there again. I've been to a few Holiday Inn Expresses and this one was the worst. June 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn - Airport I feel the cost was way too high for this hotel The room size was acceptable and the breakfast staff where excellent. We felt very cheated. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, confortable and affordable The four of us enjoyed our stay here while on a weekend shopping trip. Service and staff were great , especially loved the pillows, they were sooo confortable. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The only thing I could ask for is gravy with the biscuits," Love my biscuits and gravy". We will stay here whenever we are in the Buffalo area. Very pleased with our stay. June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location enjoyed the facility and it is located near a lot of great restaurants. Very convenient to the NY Thruway June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Great! Loved this Hotel and the staff. Shuttle will take you and pick you up anywhere within 5 miles - very quick. Excellent breakfast. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It was great except no microwave i would have given this property 5 stars except, that there was NO microwave. We also had an issue with the sink. The water was draining very slowly since the previous guest had some paper stuck in the sink. However it was promptly fixed the next day. I was a little disappointed with this holiday Inn in particular. Generally my stay at Holiday inn is very nice. June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very good stay was very nice. It has very good amenities and good location. June 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Review For some reason this property does not have the normal size pillows for the beds. All they have according to the front desk was those oversized hotel pillows that are very uncomfortable. They blamed the home office for the problem. The ISG hotels should put comfortable pillows back in the rooms-normal size. May 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Could have been worse We stayed for two nights and in retrospect it would have been better to select a hotel that was not so close to the airport. Great hotel if you are connecting to a flight , but it's close proximity to the airport and it's resulting noise is not so good as a tourist hotel. Check in was ok but once again the room allocated to us was next to the ice m/c. Can we really be that unlucky, or is there some policy that if you can get rid of the worse rooms first life becomes easier later on in the day? We asked if there were other rooms available and after a short wait we were allocated a very nice room, albeit a little noisy from the aircraft take off and landings. Generally a very nice hotel, good staff . The noise issue to be expected, something that we didn't think through. May 21, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Select to close.
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance Hotel Lobby Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Buffalo Amherst Front Desk Hotel Lobby Exterior of Candlewood Suits Buffalo Amherst Hotel Lobby Front Desk Entrance Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-04-2014)
Check Availability
Loading