• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: AMHERST
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 25 dollars per pet for 1 to 6 nights and 75 dollars for 7plus nights. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs.Pet agreement must be signed at check in.Record of up to date vaccinations may be required.Call hotel for info.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Center for Performing Arts
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Castellani Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI
Attraction:
Ralph Wilson Stadium
Distance From Hotel:18.0MI
Attraction:
University at Buffalo
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:78
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:76
  • Total number of suites:76
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:55
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:21
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:76
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice
View More

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice for business travelers. Buffalo Niagara International Airport (BUF) is eight miles away. General Motors, Praxair and Dunlop are within minutes of our location. Companies in downtown Buffalo and the Buffalo Convention Center are an easy commute. Visiting speakers and professors are close to the University at Buffalo.

From the grandeur of Niagara Falls to the many architectural and cultural attractions nearby, leisure travelers are close to everything at this hotel's location in Amherst, NY. The hotel's guests are minutes from Albright Knox Art Gallery and the famous Darwin D. Martin House. Nearby Boulevard Mall offers fabulous shopping.

So, bring your entire family, pets and all, and as our hotel's guest in Amherst, NY, enjoy all the conveniences of home. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi access and the free laundry facilities. A free DVD library is great for the kids and you'll like the Fitness and Business Centers. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

View Less
Features
As you search for extended stay Amherst hotels near Buffalo, NY, keep our accommodations in mind. Conveniently situated off I-290, our terrific suites offer easy access to the Buffalo area.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 221 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Smell of Smoke This is a non-smoking facility, however, my room had the smell of heavy smoking. The front desk was notified and responded that there was nothing that could be done. May 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great but dirty room Everything was great. Improvements are evident at this hotel. Unfortunately the maid didn't clean up after the prior guest in that room.... Bathroom floor was covered with sticky urine... Assuming it was urine....fresh dried puddles could be seen ALL around the toilet. I always carry a cheap pair of thong sandles just for hotel floors! I stayed 3 nights and didn't want maid service for the duration. The "do not Disturb" card was entirely COVERED in some sticky substance.... Really gross.... The shampoo was obviously refilled cause it was all over the little bottle, yet full. Other than being completely grossed out, the rest of the room was clean and comfy. I'm hoping it was an isolated occurance. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Service This place has a great staff!! I was very pleased at the way they went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. there was never a doubt that they were making sure I would want to return to their location....and I most certainly will!! Thanks for everything!!! May 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to see the Falls Our room was at the rear of the hotel and we were able to park at the rear of the building close to our room. Down side was that we were not on the ground floor and had to carry our luggage up a steep stair case. Bed and room ideal. However I did not like the fact that when the coffee ran out there was a charge for additional drinks - not something I have ever experienced in any other hotel in England of the USA. The indoor pool was a real treat and we made use of it. May 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay Holiday Inn is excellent! Good location.Excellent restaurant and bar. Employees are excellent! May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Inn at the Airport Holiday Inn on Genessee Ave is our GO To holiday Inn in the Buffalo area - great food, excellent customer service and close to airport and shopping. Will definitely be back. May 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room Review Nothing is nothing worst that staying in a hotel and getting up in the morning to get ready for a out of town appointment, spending the travel dollars because this customer is worth it and have to take a cold shower to ready getting for this important sales call. April 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb stay We came from NYC and our stay at Holiday Inn was excellent. The location was perfect, close to the University, dining and shopping. It is also 20 mins away from the Falls. The room was very clean and the staff friendly and knowledgable. I will definitely stay there again:) Small fitness room and a heated pool makes it even more pleasurable. April 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sales staff superior I booked 40 rooms for two of our hockey teams to attend States. The sales staff was more than accommodating. They made our team feel welcome and important. We will definitely stay again. April 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great for a 3 day Break My teenage son and I visited this property during the 2nd blizzard of the year. When the malls and movie theatres were closed due to the weather I thought we might be doomed. Thankfully, I was wrong. We were comfortable at the hotel and enjoyed a nice dinner in the hotel restaurant. The staff all appeared to pitch in to make a busier than usual dining experience enjoyable. I would stay at this property again! March 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, friendly staff Just in for one night, close to shopping, very nice pool. Enjoyed dinner at restaurant. Perfect location for us , easy on/off highway. Would stay again. March 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just a little overpriced The hotel and staff are just fine. The rooms are very clean and it has a great pool area. The price is a little high. A breakfast buffet has been added in the lounge. It is a nice buffet and not overpricer but it needs to be better tended. Some of the food was cold and the sterno cans not well tended. The hotel is located in a grerat area and with a little care will be a Class A property. March 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Will not go back Kids running down the halls screaming non stop. Called front desk twice and they only said they saw nothing when they checked. Too noisy to relax. My room wasn't ready when we arrived. Was made to wait. March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The staff is wonderful!! Thank you to all!! Service, transport to the airport, dining staff and especially front desk associates...wonderful! Thank you for an excellent stay!! March 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff front desk Friendly greeting and awesome service at front desk handled situation with a hockey team checking in at the same time. They didn't get flustered or have it impact other customers checking in. March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service nice room Nice upgraded room . Good food . Friendly staff . Nice pool . March 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Aging.... This hotel is a older than most of the other Holiday Inns in the area. It's also quite big. Many of the rooms have a variety of issues, and the staff that greats you normally does not recognize your status if you are a gold or platinum preferred - they just give you a key and point you to the room you order. With that being said.... this hotel is generally $10-$20 cheaper than the others AND it has the best pool and a great workout room. I only stay here when I have to, but normally spend the extra money and stay by the airport or in Hamburg. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff very friendly and helpful This is our third visit to the Buffalo region in the past year. Everytime we come, we stay at this hotel. The rooms are all very clean and the front desk and cleaning staff are all very friendly, and try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. When we come back we will be back at this same hotel. We are very happy with this hotel. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place for guests to our son's wedding I can't say enough about how well we were treated! The staff was helpful in everyway possible.We hosted a brunch the morning after andi it was perfect. It was our first wedding but obviously not theirs. February 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by All good but! The property knew they had hot water issues and still put us into a room where this was a known problem. No hot water, No Shower, BIG PROBLEM! February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home! I stay their often with my two children when I'm up to visit them. I couldn't be more appreciative of the always super friendly and helpful staff! Keep us the great work, team! February 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of complimentary features and benefits for Priority members We have enjoyed staying at this hotel for the last five years when coming to the area. Usually we stay at least two weekends a year. One of the features we have enjoyed is the restaurant with its great food. We would always receive when checking-in a 10%discount card and free drink card and free dessert for the restaurant. This time we were told all these perks were stopped on January 1, 2014. For us this could be translated into a $15 - $20 value. Since the hotel does not have a free breakfast, we considered these perks as an equivalent value. We had also previously received as Priority Club members complimentary water bottle, chips and granola bar. We were advised these were also stopped January 1, 2014. February 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by clean but coldx2 Hotel was clean. Service staff were friendly and helpful. Front desk was cold,no real greeting and did not know where different attractions were. Room was never warm. Turned room heat to 78 and it never warmed up much. February 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great Room The room was very comfortable to relax in and get the needed sleep. The service was excellent, especially when given the option of (2) queen beds or (1) king size bed; I took the king size bed during my stay. The food was very good during the evening and in the morning. I will recommend this hotel to my other drivers if they are in the Amherst area. Thank You for your great hospitality. January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay while visiting colleges We spent one night here while visiting colleges. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived late and the lobby coffee was shut down for the night but the staff managed to get me a cup of coffee. The room was clean and bright. The bed was very comfortable and we each had plenty of pillows. The bathroom was also clean, but it may have needed a new bulb or brighter bulb for the shower. The vanity lights were bright but the single bulb for the shower could have been brighter. The shower/tub, sink, toilet and floor was clean. Easy access to the internet and a nice big desk to work on. The breakfast wasn't free so we thought we'd try "The Original Pancake House" down the road. The pancakes were delicious! The eggs were good too but the pancakes were out of this world! January 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff We booked this because of great deal on the room for one night and park and fly. We arrived and the staff was extremely friendly. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good. In the morning the shuttle driver, Spencer, took us to the airport and he was friendly and very easy to chat with. Unfortunately our flight was cancelled but we called the hotel and they sent the shuttle back and were able to get us a room. Spencer was our driver again and again great. After our 2 week vacation we were picked up quickly after we called and as luck had it, there was Spencer picking us up. We were late arriving and decided to stay over so Spencer called ahead and arranged for a room. Again we were greeted very warmly. All 3 rooms were clean and quite large. Although we did not use the pool it looked very nice. There are several off site places to eat nearby. We would definitely stay here again. January 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not happy I booked a suite room for 4 nights one month in advance, and I paid the full amount of money as I booked it as non refundable, however on arrival to the hotel I was told that my suite room is not available for any single day, as another guest decided to extend their stay so they had to give my room. I really do not think that was appropriate, at least some one should have tried to contact me in advance, and since the room is already booked they were not supposed to extend the other guest stay in that specific room. January 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel fine but specific room not great Staff was very friendly...price competitive,airport shuttle driver courteous yet tapping noise in the room ALL night. Only two hours sleep :( , January 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by travel Had to pay to have tea in the room instead of coffee, no hot tub in pool area. Room was cold and drafty. had to place towel under door to keep it warm December 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great for airport Very comfortable stay prior to my trip but unfortunately Buffalo had a snow storm before I return and my car was totally ploughed in so I was unable to move it. A gentleman from the hotel dug me out with a shovel so I could be on my way. Since this was at 2am this was really appreciated. December 21, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Select to close.
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Buffalo Amherst Entrance Front Desk Front Desk Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading