• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: AMHERST
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 25 dollars per pet for 1 to 6 nights and 75 dollars for 7plus nights. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs.Pet agreement must be signed at check in.Record of up to date vaccinations may be required.Call hotel for info.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Center for Performing Arts
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
University at Buffalo
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
The Northtown Center at Amherst
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Boulevard Mall
Distance From Hotel:1.4MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:78
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:76
  • Total number of suites:76
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:55
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:21
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:76
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice
View More

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice for business travelers. Buffalo Niagara International Airport (BUF) is eight miles away. General Motors, Praxair and Dunlop are within minutes of our location. Companies in downtown Buffalo and the Buffalo Convention Center are an easy commute. Visiting speakers and professors are close to the University at Buffalo.

From the grandeur of Niagara Falls to the many architectural and cultural attractions nearby, leisure travelers are close to everything at this hotel's location in Amherst, NY. The hotel's guests are minutes from Albright Knox Art Gallery and the famous Darwin D. Martin House. Nearby Boulevard Mall offers fabulous shopping.

So, bring your entire family, pets and all, and as our hotel's guest in Amherst, NY, enjoy all the conveniences of home. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi access and the free laundry facilities. A free DVD library is great for the kids and you'll like the Fitness and Business Centers. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

View Less
Features
As you search for extended stay Amherst hotels near Buffalo, NY, keep our accommodations in mind. Conveniently situated off I-290, our terrific suites offer easy access to the Buffalo area.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 281 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Party at this Hotel I don't normally stay at Holiday Inns. I preferr hotels with complementary breakfast. The staff here was great, lots of shopping and restaurants nearby, and very easy access. Overall a good stay. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Just stayed one night while shopping in the area. Had planned to use the pool, but just too tired. Disappointed that we had to go to the front desk to get info regarding pizza delivery- they encourage you to use the hotel restaurant. Overall a nice stay- but I've stayed in less expensive places with the same/similar amenities. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Good location Was with a large group. Liked the hotel, location. What I did not like is no elevator to 2nd floor and had to lug my 2 bags up the steps. August 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bad customer service Recently stayed here for one night - arrived after midnight and chose this hotel for it's proximity to Niagra Falls and the full breakfast. We arrived at the restaurant for breakfast and after a full hour passed, asked our waiter for a container to use when our food arrived, since we were already behind schedule. He rudely asked, "did you pay?" First of all, it was included with our room package. Secondly, "NO we didn't pay because we NEVER even saw our food!. My son's milk didn't arrive until we went to the bar and asked for it (20 minutes after ordering it!). August 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room cleanliness Long black hair left in tub and on the bathroom floor. Popcorn found between the cushion and chair in the room. Cleaning staff needs to dial it up! August 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room was fine. Restaurant service was atrocious Stayed in the suite. Worth the extra few bucks for a sitting area. Not fancy as it is a Holiday Inn but comfortable and clean. Would have preferred a king bed. Reasonably priced. Breakfast included with suite but restaurant service was very bad. August 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a great stay Room wasn't up to par. Toilet problems, and mildew. Hotel staff failed to clean my room between my two night stay, and only offered to clean it when we needed to use the room. I've had great stay's at other Holiday Inn's, but not this one. I would not recommend this hotel to friends and I will not be back to this Holiday Inn. Lots of noise from adjoining room. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by KATIE AT FRONT DESK Came to the falls for my wife's birthday, the hotel was in a great location, the staff was very helpful and anticipated my need,. I wanna give two thumbs ups for a young lady name KATIE who wored at the front desk. She help deliver the big suprise for my wife. I wanna Thank her again for helping me and delivering the at you side service ihg pushes for. August 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Restaurant staff Kristie is a sweet and wonderful waitress. You need to train her so she is not so apologetic and is knowledgeable about things like mashed potatoes (garlic mashed are very different), how to present wine to a table (really, the bartender did not take off the foil?), etc. Your breakfast "helper" was surly. Period. I would have fired him if I ran that place. I could say more. . . . August 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by breakfast included while booking only in theory paid for 3 hotel room, was promised breakfast would be included, when I showed up for breakfast, they said that it was not included!! Even after talking to the manager on duty, I ended up going out with my group for breakfast outside. I do not trust the breakfast included part of the hotel booking any more. August 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not very clean Disappointed with a dirty bathroom and a toilet that could handle one flush every hour...not a very pleasant experience. August 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by average rating My husband and I came and stayed with this hotel while we were celebrating our 2nd anniversary. We arrived an hour early and we were made to sit and wait in our vehicle another hour after we had spent hours in our travel! When the next hour finally arrived we went back in to check in and the woman at the desk had told us that our room that was reserved was not ready. So, they offered a handicapped room instead. We took it due to being tired from our travel. The room wasn't especially clean but it wasn't awful. We didn't sleep or relax well with the neighbors next to us all night each night. The restraunt connected to the hotel was poor, we waited to be seated for at least 20 min and there was only maybe 5 people at the bar in the entire place. When we finally were seated it took another 15 min to get our drink order. August 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The Room was clean The reason for giving this a lower rating is the guests staying next to our room were smoking! This is a "No Smoking" hotel. We complained to the front desk, but every night and morning we could smell a very strong cigarette smell in our room. Other than the smoking this is an older Holiday Inn, so it is very spread out. August 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very disappointed with the room quality. My husband and I had been returning home from a trip to Lubbock Texas and were looking forward to a nice room and relaxing stay here. Unfortunately the rooms we were given were far from great. The first room was very dirty. The bed skirt was black in several places with dirt and the rug was stained. We were given another room to try with the same results. When we were moved to a third room I just gave up. The rug was okay but the bed skirt was the same as the other two rooms. Because of this it was hard to relax and enjoy our stay. On the positive side the staff and front desk were very nice and tried hard to remedy the problem. I hope this hotel does try to fix the cleanliness problems soon. August 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, Friendly staff Overall a good hotel in a good location. For the tariff I think breakfast should be included. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Clean Clean rooms and very comfortable beds. Great place to stay! July 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Expensive for quality The location of this hotel was great but the quality of the rooms are just average. A little run down but I hear it has improved. The room door did not keep the hall noise out. The attached restaurant was decent. July 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed stay I saw bad reviews on this hotel when I was checking About it. I thought maybe they were being to picky! Well no They were not! I wish I would of listened to what I read. I was not the only one complaining, there were several others as well. I even went to hotel manager. She did not go out of her way To make it better or do what she said to accomadations our stay. Unbelievable service. I stay at a lot of These Hotels, never before have I experienced so many issues. Stay next door instead, you'll be better off! July 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome indoor swimming pool This hotel has the best pool of any I experience. It has a filtration system that does not use chlorine. I is a really large pool and it is sparkling clean. We stayed for six days and used the pool every day. We have stayed here several times in the past, and the pool is the primary reason we come back. Also, we were very pleased with the others aspects of our stay. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and great service Needed to stay one night for daughters MCAT exam in the nearby Test Centre. Always comfortable that Holiday Inn brand has certain consistency in quality of staff; general lobby and services; quality of rooms / beds / furnishing; etc. This stay met and exceeded my expectations. Great service, great staff, great stay ! July 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Former Frat House Level Cleanliness The floors were shoddy and creaky. The room was dirty in the nooks and crevices, as if only the surfaces had been wiped down. The exercise area was adequate, but was often missing cups for the water cooler or towels. They also did not have an elliptical, which I had wrongly assumed was part of a "full gym" (although it's not the end of the world). The pool is adequate as well. The room has a musty smell, and the clientele seemed like drug addicts, truck drivers, and rehab patients. July 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing Special I didn't eat there so I couldn't rate the food. Although when I checked in they told me I was eligible for some type of breakfast, they never gave me details. July 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Beware! One picture is NOT worth a thousand words! The pictures of this property are misleading. The main entrance must be decades newer than the rest of the property, giving it a "modern" appearance. My guess is it was built in the 60's. AC units are old, bathrooms very small, desk chair was as squeaky as they come. Bed was comfortable, breakfast was OK (although they got my order incorrect on 2 out of 4 mornings). There is only so much you can do with "old bones". For the $'s we paid I was expecting something just a notch beneath a modern Embassy Suite. We were absolutely stunned when we entered the room for the first time. Since this was an advanced prepay rate, we definitely felt that we had been taken advantage of with little recourse. July 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by definitely NOT non-smoking All houskeeping staff were very polite and always greeted us. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recommended place to stay No real complaints. Shuttle service was an asset. If you're renting a car and come in late at night, use the shuttle service to the hotel and then get a ride back to the airport to save yourself a day's rental. The internet connection was spotty due to being in the back of the property. Nice staff. July 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Buffalo Bust We do not usually travel in this capacity and not usually with our children. However, due to activities occurring in Buffalo that weekend, our group all stayed at this hotel. Unfortunately, our experience was much less than favorable. The hotel lacked outdoor common areas for the group to gather or plan things. Much of the hotel is surrounded by paved parking lots rather than grassy areas or play areas for children. This hotel is NOT conducive to this type of travel. July 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor value Very disappointed in the value. Room wasn't ready when we arrived the first time after 3. Room change was at the very back of the hotel and a long wet walk from the pool. Ran out of coffee in the rooms. No breakfast or coffee in the lobby. No maps of the area available. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent upgrades. Excellent service Have stayed here in the past, and they went through a renovation to address shortcomings for 'years'. Result was worth it. Upgraded to 2014, comfortable, clean, lots of parking, and a most excellent staff experience. I always stay at IHG properties, and am consistently pleased with that decision. This was one more at that level. I am NOT a leisure traveler generally, so don't care about sight-seeing and coupons. I do care about comfort, consistency, and the things I need. All taken care of here. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dated facility. Wonderful Restaurant for breakfast. The facility was very dated. Our room was next to the cleaning cart storage. Staff was friendly. We only stayed one night but really enjoyed the breakfast at the restaurant the next morning. It was the best breakfast of our whole trip. Our waiter was wonderful, friendly and funny. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Consistent and comfortable with current amenities We always stay at this Holiday Inn when in Amherst. July 11, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Select to close.
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance Hotel Lobby Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Buffalo Amherst Front Desk Hotel Lobby Exterior of Candlewood Suits Buffalo Amherst Hotel Lobby Front Desk Short drive to the Buffalo Niagara International Airport. Entrance Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading