• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: AMHERST
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 25 dollars per pet for 1 to 6 nights and 75 dollars for 7plus nights. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs.Pet agreement must be signed at check in.Record of up to date vaccinations may be required.Call hotel for info.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Center for Performing Arts
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
University at Buffalo
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
The Northtown Center at Amherst
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Boulevard Mall
Distance From Hotel:1.4MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:78
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:76
  • Total number of suites:76
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:55
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:21
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:76
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice
View More

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice for business travelers. Buffalo Niagara International Airport (BUF) is eight miles away. General Motors, Praxair and Dunlop are within minutes of our location. Companies in downtown Buffalo and the Buffalo Convention Center are an easy commute. Visiting speakers and professors are close to the University at Buffalo.

From the grandeur of Niagara Falls to the many architectural and cultural attractions nearby, leisure travelers are close to everything at this hotel's location in Amherst, NY. The hotel's guests are minutes from Albright Knox Art Gallery and the famous Darwin D. Martin House. Nearby Boulevard Mall offers fabulous shopping.

So, bring your entire family, pets and all, and as our hotel's guest in Amherst, NY, enjoy all the conveniences of home. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi access and the free laundry facilities. A free DVD library is great for the kids and you'll like the Fitness and Business Centers. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

View Less
Features
As you search for extended stay Amherst hotels near Buffalo, NY, keep our accommodations in mind. Conveniently situated off I-290, our terrific suites offer easy access to the Buffalo area.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 308 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by terrible please see previous comments. I have also called and made a formal complaint. This hotel was the only bad part of my entire wedding weekend October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome indoor salt water pool. Look, this place isn't for Barbies and Kens so beat it... whiners. I am here for the pool... being a Polar Bear and all... I need a big pool that doesn't burn my muzzle and eyes... and this salt water pool is awesome! OH YEAH... And meat. The BLVD has massive platters of juicy red steak for a good price... polar bear sized portions too. The bear says it's good. It's good. October 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Nice comfortable room. good dining facilities. Friendly staff. September 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent stay Decent stay for the price. Would consider staying somewhere else in the future. September 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel needs updating. It's an adequate hotel, great location, good staff. The Hotel needs an update quickly. It looks tired and not very fresh. September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Amherst Great place to stay !! Very convenient to the University at Buffalo and Niagara Falls. The staff is very friendly and the area is near many local shops, stores, and restaurants. September 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a recommended place to stay Bed was made up but had hair in it and sheets were wrinkled as if someone slept in it. Bathroom waste basket had a wad of hair in it. Same hair as in and on the bed. Outdated and lousy experience. September 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great location for surrounding activities. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. I wish the bath amenities were better (shampoo, lotions), but the room rate is very good and I can bring my own lotions. The staff is great, especially for catering events. I've hosted a 65 business meeting here and the food September 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable room and helpful staff My trip was a quick getaway. Check in was easy and smooth and the staff was very friendly. Any questions we had were answered promptly. I had to have my pass key reset and it was done quickly. When we couldn't figure out the Kuerig someone was sent to help out in less than 5 minutes. It was clean and comfortable and I felt safe. The pool area looked nice although I didn't get to use it. September 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by needs updating carpet felt damp at night , door to room looked old ,doorframe needed paint September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better location and staff lovely The hotel with wifi that have good signal. The bed is very comfortable and staff members were very efficient. September 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Always stay at this Holiday Inn I love staying at this Holiday Inn. The staff are AMAZING but you do need new mattresses as they have become very lumpy and totally uncomfortable. Also, you used to have hard and soft pillows but this time it was just not so nice ones. September 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms not ready at check-in. Even with reservations made well in advance my room was not ready at normal check-in time. Only excuse given by the manager was that they had a " full house" the day before. It took 45 minutes standing at the desk waiting for house keeping to answer their page to finally get my room. September 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, nice room The room was very nice, and the bed was comfy. The front desk and the restuarant staff was very professional and friendly. We were very disappointed with the breakfast buffet and cannot recommend it. The food was cold, except for the syrup which was the only thing that had a warmer under it. Not sure why the eggs, sausage, bacon, french toast and potatoes were not kept hot with warmers. Cold food is not acceptable. Orange juice was very tangy, tasted more like grapefruit juice. Maybe ordering from the menu would have been a better choice. Only stayed one night so did not have the opportunity to compare. September 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Worst experience with IHG Worst experience with Holiday Inn, and mainly because reception personnel. Wait 30 min at 5 PM to check in, while room reserved 9 days before. Wait another 30-40 min to get another room because first was not satisfactory. A noise coming from bathroom (probably from ventilation system), made may sleep difficult. Desk personnel was cold, impolite and somehow insulting. Hotel looks a bit old fashion, but clean. Two sides of hotel are parallel with highway, and busy road. I won't stay in this hotel ever September 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tired property No elevator, very spread out layout. No elliptical in fitness room. Dated furniture and bathroom. Glad I only stayed one night. September 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Family retreat. My daughter and I and 3 grandsons had a "back to school" shopping couple of days. We found the hotel comfortable and the pool lovely. We were pleased with our accommodations and best of all the kids stayed free and were able to eat free at the hotel restaurant off the kids menu which was ample. August 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Effort made, but the hotel needs work The staff at this hotel was extremely friendly and tried to please. However, the property is old, the room was only moderately clean and the noise level (many very loud slamming doors in the hallway throughout the night) greatly diminished the quality of our stay. August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable The room and bathroom were both very clean and the bed was comfortable. August 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Ridiculous No customer service, no feeling of being a special customer, and no assistance offered if seen struggling. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff Good area near all the restaurants and shops. Staff is riendly and helpful August 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by hotel condition The hotel interior and exterior just felt tired and old. August 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room cleaning issues If you wish to have a clean room at night when you return, this is NOT your hotel. August 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice heated pool! Staff were so nice. We were greeted by very pleasant people that couldn't be more helpful. There was a lot of maps and brochures in the lobby to let us know of things to do in the area. Room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the pillows were just awesome! The indoor heated pool was nice. This is the 3rd time staying there. We'd stay there again August 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good enough If you need a room in this area, there may be better choices which include a nice breakfast. This property is clean, but very dated with a difficult layout. The hotel staff was friendly but couldn't do anything about the old layout. It seems like this was just an old motel that was enclosed and the hallways smelled musty. One can find better values elsewhere. This property makes me appreciate a new Holiday Inn Express any night. August 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Review This appears to be an older property. Cleanliness is definitely not a core value for the owners or managers of this location. I stay at a Holiday Inn weekly and the rooms at this location are the dirtiest of any one I have visited. The cushions in the chairs had dust around the edges, the room carpets were worn and filthy (we had to put towels on the floor to walk on to keep our feet clean), the bath tub needed to be resurfaced (we thought it was dirt until we looked closely and saw the surface was coming off), the room had a damp and musty feel and smell, and the towels and bed linen were worn. Being an older property does not mean rooms have to be in the condition of the one we had. I write this from a Holiday Inn in DC that is older, yet it has been properly maintained. From what we saw, it appears this location gets a large vacation population and not much repeat business so the owners and management may not care about the condition of the rooms. If nothing is going to be done to keep this place up, then it is only a short matter of time before it becomes a true flop house. I only write this to warn people. I get no pleasure out of having to be this frank. One additional comment - housekeeping tends to get blamed for situations like this. To clarify, the wear and tear on the room we had was not the result of housekeeping. They appear to be doing the very best they can. I feel sorry for them. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Amherst Excellent hotel, and the best Holiday Inn Express I've stayed at so far:) No issue's at all, and would love to come back in October. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Party at this Hotel I don't normally stay at Holiday Inns. I preferr hotels with complementary breakfast. The staff here was great, lots of shopping and restaurants nearby, and very easy access. Overall a good stay. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Just stayed one night while shopping in the area. Had planned to use the pool, but just too tired. Disappointed that we had to go to the front desk to get info regarding pizza delivery- they encourage you to use the hotel restaurant. Overall a nice stay- but I've stayed in less expensive places with the same/similar amenities. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Good location Was with a large group. Liked the hotel, location. What I did not like is no elevator to 2nd floor and had to lug my 2 bags up the steps. August 11, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Select to close.
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance Hotel Lobby Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Buffalo Amherst Front Desk Hotel Lobby Exterior of Candlewood Suits Buffalo Amherst Hotel Lobby Front Desk Short drive to the Buffalo Niagara International Airport. Entrance Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading