• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-17-2014)
(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: AMHERST
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 25 dollars per pet for 1 to 6 nights and 75 dollars for 7plus nights. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs.Pet agreement must be signed at check in.Record of up to date vaccinations may be required.Call hotel for info.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Center for Performing Arts
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Castellani Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI
Attraction:
Ralph Wilson Stadium
Distance From Hotel:18.0MI
Attraction:
University at Buffalo
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:78
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:76
  • Total number of suites:76
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:55
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:21
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:76
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice
View More

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice for business travelers. Buffalo Niagara International Airport (BUF) is eight miles away. General Motors, Praxair and Dunlop are within minutes of our location. Companies in downtown Buffalo and the Buffalo Convention Center are an easy commute. Visiting speakers and professors are close to the University at Buffalo.

From the grandeur of Niagara Falls to the many architectural and cultural attractions nearby, leisure travelers are close to everything at this hotel's location in Amherst, NY. The hotel's guests are minutes from Albright Knox Art Gallery and the famous Darwin D. Martin House. Nearby Boulevard Mall offers fabulous shopping.

So, bring your entire family, pets and all, and as our hotel's guest in Amherst, NY, enjoy all the conveniences of home. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi access and the free laundry facilities. A free DVD library is great for the kids and you'll like the Fitness and Business Centers. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

View Less
Features
As you search for extended stay Amherst hotels near Buffalo, NY, keep our accommodations in mind. Conveniently situated off I-290, our terrific suites offer easy access to the Buffalo area.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 166 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Toliet backed and second room shower backed First room toliet backed up, staff came and said they fixed it tried after they left still backed up. This was with no paper in bowl. Was given second room had a stale smell in it, left door open smell eventually went away. Got up in the morning used shower, tub filled up with water did not drain properly, was standing in water when done showering. Hey toliet at least drained. Staff gave us 1 free drink in bar and 20% off restaurant. Not eating in restaurant that has toliets and showers backing up in. Also went to use microwave near room it was dirty and food was on the floor, same food was on the floor when we left and microwave was still dirty. September 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by There are Better Choices This property falls far below other IHG properties. It's an old hotel and it shows its age. No elevator. Checked in and went to a room with a very bad odor. How does that even happen? September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, relaxed, friendly, great customer value, superb staff Over the past year and one-half my husband and I have stayed at the Holiday Inn - Amherst on numerous occasions. We have been treated like we were special guests every time. The staff is well trained and provides immediate response to any concerns. Best of all, every time we return it feels like home. The staff is excellent and do their work with enthusiasm and genuine friendliness, and care. The rooms are well appointed, quiet and very comfortable. September 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average for the price Basically we only stayed here because it was the cheapest place I could find with a pool that was avaliable on the date we required it and it wasnt even that cheap for what we got! The room itself was comfortable and adequate but we did find someone else's water bottle left by the side of the bed! The decor in the hotels hallways was a little strange and mismatched and also a few signs telling us how to get to pool would have been great and I did mention this to a hotel worker that I saw while we were walking around trying to get to the pool there was also a lack of towels when we did get there. The Keurig coffee machine was great but it would be nice if there were 4 cups and 4 pods of coffee! It was an ok stay in an ok hotel! September 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Rude staff and uncomfortable room Air conditioner broken. Water leak in other room created loud noise whole evening and night. Can't Slept. Staff showed disrespect and impatience when asked when the problem would be fixed. Staffs brushed us off by promising that they would come back and updated us about the problem. Never did. Staff showed no help when asked if we can switch room. Ruin our vacation. September 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the money compared to other Holiday Inns Positives: As I am an IHG Rewards Club Member, I received a complimentary drink at the bar which was great. There was a pool that looked nice however we did not use it. The free Wifi was useful. The location was good as it is close to the border. Negatives: Our room was at the back of the building. We drove all the way to the back and discovered neither of our keys worked. We then had to drive all the way to the front again. When we finally got in our room we were disappointed. We have stayed in other Holiday Inns for about the same price and this did not compare. September 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by very average OK facility. Hard to get out going south. Tile around tub needed cleaning. Very little sound insulation in wall between rooms. Staff friendly and pretty accommodating. September 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by CANCELATION We atepted to cancel the room a week prior to our stay and were told that we could not get a refund. I havn't heard of that. it's the only reason we stayed. everything else was fine except that the carpet in our room was positvely FILTHY! I won't ever book a holiday inn again. August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by little noisy We were moving a family member to the area and didn't have reservations. Check in staff was very friendly and most accommodating. Our room was on the first floor and was noisy (next to the laundry facilities). Other than that it was clean and price was reasonable. We would consider staying at this location upon our next visit. August 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good and bad experience Was not my first time here. I like the new renovations. The only disappointment was the cleanliness. I stayed for a couple of nights and the sink had hair in it and so did the bathroom floor. It also looked as if the room was not vacuumed. I would be willing to come back and give it another chance, but if it happens again I will definitely not come back. August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Monique and staff deserve a bonus! it would be nice if the owners reinveste to bring the quality of the rooms up to the same amazingly high standard of their staff. New wall coverings, bathrooms, the ability to upgrade igh members would allow the outstanding staff to excel even more. The wonderful team is onlylimited by the confines of the physical makeupof the facility. Anyone who rates their visit less than a 5 can onlybespeaking about the actual building (which this team cannot control). Never und estimate the value of your team here. They make it worth coming back! August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable and quiet! The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was very quiet. The only way I knew people were in the rooms next to us was when I saw them in the hallway. We will be staying there again. August 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best experience I recommend this hotel completely! THe room was large, comfortable and clean. The air was QUIET-Hallelujah! THe beds was large and oh, so comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. We would stay at this hotel again, and again.. It is so nice to stay in a hotel that is really like they advertise. Great job! It was close to Niagara Falls and Buffalo without being right in the chaos. Very easy to find. The pool was wonderful. I truly relaxed while I was here. August 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by MRS The hotel in general needs to be renovated. The wall paper and carpeting in the halls are old, dirty and mis-matched. I also found a but crawling in the bathroom sink. The room also had a musty smell. Luckily the window opened to air-out the room. This was the third time I had stayed at the Holiday Inn Amherst and probably the last. I am a travel agent from AAA Michigan. I would not recommed this property to my clients. August 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Stay This was the worst experience that I have ever had in any hotel. It was very hot & humid the week that I was in Buffalo. The hotel did not appear to have any sir conditioning in the halls and lobby. I was first directed to a room which was not ready yet when I checked in around 5 PM. I called the front desk and was told that they would move me. This room seemed fine until I came back from dinner and the AC was no longer working. Someone came to look at it & could not get it working so he went to the front desk to move me to another room. He gave me the key to the room and when I got there, the key did not work. At the front desk, the woman behind the counter was completely unprepared to handle my complaint. She offered me free drinks in the bar. It was 11:00 PM and I had been shuffled through 3 different rooms in 6 Hours in extreme heat. I have already filed this complaint once without any response. As a platinum member who stays exclusively at IHG hotels, I find this rather concerning. I may need to look at other options in th future. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel and great service I always enjoy my stay at this hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms are always extremely clean and the beds are very comfortable. The food is really good and reasonably priced. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. August 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No hot water I have not stayed at this Holiday for awhile and i remember why. The food in the restaurant was good, but service was not. Waiters and waitresses were more concerned with chatting it up than serving customers. When I got to take shower it took almost 5 minutes for hot water that never got really hot and the drain was clogged so I was in ankle deep water by time I was done. Not the way I wanted to start the day. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Clean and good service The hotel was clean and well maintained. I don't know how long has it been in built, but it was clean and fresh air in the building and room like new building. Room service was excellent. My wife called front desk to ask how to use coffee machine, but staff came to my room right way and explained. If we ask any supply like coffee and shampoo, they brought right way. Swimming pool was good. Water temperature was adjusted. It was for trip to Niagara Falls. Not to far from there, and we stayed two night. Very convenient for restaurants and good shopping malls. August 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No hot water Hotel is hot water system is poorly designed as explained by staff. If your neighbors decide to shower before you, there is no hot water in your room. It would have been nice to have been forewarned. Hotel restaurant was excellent, great food and great microbrew selection. Staff overall was friendly and efficient. August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amherst Holiday Inn People were very helpful. Service was very good Breakfast early enough for me and late enough for my wife Restaurant good enough so you dint need to go looking elsewhere. Saves time. August 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel and good Hoiday Inn standars. Location and quality is good. Standards of Holiday Inn hotel is always satisfactory. August 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed The good thing about this place was its proximity to Niagara Falls. But way to many negatives: 1) the room was not spacious 2) I have never seen a room with no refrigerator. The room had two queen beds, it has to have a fridge!! 3) the bathroom was way too small for a two queen bed room August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Night's Sleep Wonderfully maintained facility; great staff; my computerized check-in worked exactly like it should have and they even asked if I had any changes that I might like to make. The room was perfect, everything was neat and clean, and it even had a Keurig coffee maker. The mattress was great and I had a great night's sleep. August 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Custom Service One of the best customer service experiences I've had with a hotel, was a pleasure staying with them! August 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy and Dirty We have stayed at this hotel three times previously as we enjoy what Amherst has to offer. This time our room was very noisy as we were located right across from the ice machine and laundry station. Who does laundry at 4:30 in the morning while on vacation? Please! The carpet in our room was so damp and sticky that you had to wear your shoes. Maybe that's why the water turned black in the shower when you washed your feet? As for the restaurant, we were given a booth where the seats were dirty. When I asked for them to be wiped I was told to find another table. Unfortunately all the other tables were dirty and required wiping as well. The server was not happy when I told she better clean the booth because it had the least dirt table in the place. If it wasn't so late. and I had family with me I probably should have left. Saying that, I hope this is useful criticism for the ownership and not taken as spite. August 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Stay Excellent service,clean comfortable and affordable accomodation August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and great restaurant. Overall experience was great. Fantastic restaurant with great service. August 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff Nice, clean environment! Conveniently close to Niagara attractions. The staff was great. August 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room needed redecorating The non-smoking room smelled musty (August, 2013.) The rug, split wallpaper, probably the drapes needed replacing and could have been the cause of this, although the room was clean.The bathroom was fine with a newer tub, sink etc. The sheets were not as nice as we are accustomed to having in other Holiday Inn's (we are Priority Club members and always try to stay in a Holiday Inn.) One thing that disgusted us was that the white duvet cover was stained yellow on all the corners, and when the sheet covering that was moved that was apparent. White duvet's need to laundered regularly, bleached, and when they are uncleanable, put in the garbage can. We were surprised this was a Holiday Inn. Will not stay here again. Also, 2 floors, no elevator. Breakfast food was acceptable, service curtious. August 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by accomodating accomodations My wife and I stayed in this hotel a couple of weekend ago as part of our family bicycling vacation. They were very gracious in allowing is to store our bicycles inside in a storage area and were both friendly and knowledgeable about the area. I would definitely stay here again if in the Buffalo/ Niagara Falls area. Convenient to the Falls and the Lockport/ Erie Canal area. August 7, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Select to close.
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Buffalo Amherst Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst close to shopping Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Front Desk Front Desk
Select to close.
Spread Out and Relax