• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: AMHERST
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 25 dollars per pet for 1 to 6 nights and 75 dollars for 7plus nights. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs.Pet agreement must be signed at check in.Record of up to date vaccinations may be required.Call hotel for info.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Center for Performing Arts
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
University at Buffalo
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
The Northtown Center at Amherst
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Boulevard Mall
Distance From Hotel:1.4MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:78
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:76
  • Total number of suites:76
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:55
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:21
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:76
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice
View More

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice for business travelers. Buffalo Niagara International Airport (BUF) is eight miles away. General Motors, Praxair and Dunlop are within minutes of our location. Companies in downtown Buffalo and the Buffalo Convention Center are an easy commute. Visiting speakers and professors are close to the University at Buffalo.

From the grandeur of Niagara Falls to the many architectural and cultural attractions nearby, leisure travelers are close to everything at this hotel's location in Amherst, NY. The hotel's guests are minutes from Albright Knox Art Gallery and the famous Darwin D. Martin House. Nearby Boulevard Mall offers fabulous shopping.

So, bring your entire family, pets and all, and as our hotel's guest in Amherst, NY, enjoy all the conveniences of home. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi access and the free laundry facilities. A free DVD library is great for the kids and you'll like the Fitness and Business Centers. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

View Less
Features
As you search for extended stay Amherst hotels near Buffalo, NY, keep our accommodations in mind. Conveniently situated off I-290, our terrific suites offer easy access to the Buffalo area.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 262 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 服务有待提高 这家酒店位于旅游城市布法罗市区,酒店位置方便,楼下就有一家walgreens。总体来说酒店房间设施陈旧,卫生间浴缸边缘发霉 ,门口严重掉漆。更重要的是服务态度普遍不好。前台接待面无表情,缺乏其他酒店前台经常使用的服务用语,给人第一印象就不好。在餐厅晚饭的时候,我朋友拿了个butter吃,一个女服务员居然跑来说,这个不应该这样吃,而且面无表情,甚至让人怀疑带有明显的种族歧视色彩,如果不是因为赶了一天路才入住这家酒店,我们会直接投诉这个服务员或者退房走人。 July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location My family of 5 stayed for one night. The hotel is in a very good location and the reception area was well maintained. The rooms are definitely dated but worked well for our quick stop. An interesting find was the Teddy Roosevelt Inaugural Site across the street - did not know it was there. We took the tour which was very well done and informative. Did not use the restaurant - when to Duff's for wings. It would've been great if breakfast were included in the price. July 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stopover Stopped over in Buffalo on the way to Canada.Chose the hotel because familiar with US Holiday Inns and it was close to downtown.However,Amtrak train very late so ate in hotel.Nice dinner,good service and a decent pint of craft beer in the bar beforehand. Breakfast OK but waiter dropped plate of ham,fortunately on the floor rather than on me! Front desk very helpful in booking taxi to cross the border. July 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy parking location. Very nice front desk employees. Employees at this property seem to strive to keep guests satisfied. Would recommend when traveling. June 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Will not stay again I picked up a new customer in the Buffalo area and will be returning 5-6 times a year and I will not be staying here. The A/C was subpar and the room was very humid and uncomfortable. The options at your restaurant were limited, especially with beer. No Yuengling in upstate New York? There are 20 bars/restaurants/ hotels within walking distance that were better options June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant, accommodating staff From complementary airport runs/ 24-7, to food at their restaurant (that I'd go for if it were at home), to pleasant accommodating, English-speaking staff, to comfortable beds and bedding, TV channels -- well, this was several steps up from what I would have expected from the Holiday Inns of my youth. Great value, great people, Older property with PLENTY of on-location parking. It is a great location in town, an older property, and the experience is 5 star. My one quibble: Beds were about 3 inches taller than I like - and that is true at all of the best hotels I've stayed at. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Militrary Reunion Planner The Hotel was a great location and the restaurant food was exceptional and the prices were very acceptable. The breakfasts were very good. The selections of food were good, from sandwiches to steaks and seafood. You couldn't ask for a better staff in the restaurant and the overall working staff, the housekeeping people and maintenance were always trying to do their best and do a good job. Went out of their way to make sure things were the way you wanted them to be. The banquet facilities and staff were exceptional. The banquet meals and set up decor were exceptional, perfect presentation. The best staff I have worked with in the past 11 years. The shuttle service is great, they do their best even during the road construction that was going on around the entire buffalo area. The hotel was always clean everywhere and parking was adequate even though the hotel was a total sell out. The only thing we would like to have was our room a little cooler, but we like a colder room than most people anyway. Only about 25-30 minutes from Niagara Falls and Canada. We will definitely return in the future. June 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very dissapointed Our room were not as clean as they looked in pictures. Bathroom was not cleaned properly since there were hairs under the toilet. Room had odor which made it hard to sleep. Rooms need updating. Service at the restaurant were horrible. Girl that served us both mornings was very rude and unfriendly. We felt like we were bothering her when we requested something. Web site should have told us we could not park at hotel during Festival which what happened to us which made our parking not free. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great food and service our breakfast and evening appetizers were very good and the staff was cordial and service was excellent. June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good Stay Excellent service from the friendly staff. Very comfortable sleep, clean and very accessible to the downtown area. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, facilities and location This hotel is a regular stop for me when coming to Buffalo due to the friendly staff, well maintained facilities and the excellent location. The neighborhood is safe and has many options for walking and dining. Parking is complimentary and convenient. A pleasant place to be when away from home on business. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great, caring staff I had a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff went out of there way for us, very friendly and caring. The people that work at this hotel understand and practice true hospitality and professionalism, we felt very at home here. If I ever return to Buffalo this is where I would stay again. June 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay I asked for a room with a fridge, and got one with a fridge and microwave, Shannon at the front desk was very helpful. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Very nice. Food good. Pool nice. Great location. Beds very comfortable. Staff friendly, and helpful. June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfectly Fine The Holiday Inn was perfectly acceptable. We stayed 2 nights. In town for a family wedding. My one and only complaint was that not only is there no free breakfast, the cost of the breakfast at the hotel restaurant seemed extremely high. For that reason, we didn't partake in the hotel restaurant at all. Other than that, we thought it was a nice hotel and would stay there again. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A room with a view - at a good price Friendly and personable reception with dinner/restaurant tips to boot. Got a spacious, quiet, clean room on upper floor with nice view over downtown Buffalo. Comfortable king bed, fridge (with freezer shelf that does not freeze), micro wave oven. flat screen TV, analog programming. The manager on duty allowed my motorcycle to park in a corner under the awning/entry roof to have rain protection (MC riders appreciate that kind of thing). Coffee shop waitress must have had a really bad Monday, she was gruffy, slow and argumentative (with other guests). Just so you know: There is no free breakfast - or included in your rate. June 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff!! The staff at this hotel are wonderful! Especially the people at the front desk. They go above and beyond to be friendly and helpful. They gave me directions several times and answered many questions, always with a smile. One of the the young women even helped me find an apartment for my son(my reason for being there). The room was nice and clean. I had breakfast in the restaurant and it was very good. I will definitely stay here again! June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff We were there for the Rod Stewart/Santana concert and staff told us the best way to get there(Metro train) only 3 blocks away wisks you there cheaply and fast. We come from Ottawa and need a subway like Buffalo. Room was great and quiet. Restaurant appears to have Mexican flavor but lots of bars and grills in area for other tastes. June 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and convienient, but not perfect. I would look for a free breakfast next time I need a place in Buffalo. June 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by location perfect location for downtown Buffalo and walking in unique neighborhoods the inn itself being older needs some make up but the location is what we paid for. The breakfast was hard to take to get a cup of coffee one had to either order room service or sit in the dinning room and pay for coffee the room maker was too small and impossible to use. BUT the location is what we wanted and we got. June 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by There are better Holiday Inns The beds were not very comfortable. The pillows were too soft (requiring they be stacked at least three high to get comfortable), and the mattress was too hard. Unlike other H.I. hotels I've stayed in, this place did not include breakfast, although no big loss considering the quality of the food. The pool, disappointingly, was basically an oversized jacuzzi out back. Waste of space. TV wouldn't bring up the guide (assuming one was available), which meant channel hopping to figure out what was on. WiFi is functional. Connection quality and speed were inconsistent. On the plus side, the staff was courteous and professional. June 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cable, internet and street closing Half the cable channels were out during my stay. Internet was hit and miss. Delaware Avenue was closed because of the marathon, so if your car was in the parking lot you were trapped at the hotel until the race was over. I travel a lot for work and stay at a lot of Holiday Inns...this one disappointed. May 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff needs work Your front desk people were often distracted by their handhelds. At check in, my status was not recognized, and I missed out on deals that the person I was working with received. Your bartender also had a really snooty attitude when I asked to taste a local beer that I had never had before. I really did not feel like sticking around after that. The hotel otherwise was clean and in a great location. For the basics, I got what I needed. It might be time for a changing of the guard. May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place! As always, the service at HI/Downtown was wonderful!!! The people from the front desk to the bar to housekeeping are all super friendly and super helpful. It's a great place to stay right in the middle of everything! May 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Run down hotel Look at the ratings, that should say it all. The best thing about this hotel was that they had a restaurant, but then again, they all do. May 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Great staff at front desk..great staff in lounge,and Resturant. Great staff Re room service and maid service. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT STAY!! The hotel is located in an EXCELLENT area within walking distance of local night life or entertainment. Front desk staff very courtious. Reported broken shower head to clerk who reported problem immediately to maintenance. There is a 24 hour national chain drug store located right next door for any last minute things you may have forgot to bring. April 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A nice place to stay We found this hotel to be very conveniently located to the downtown night spots. A shuttle took us right to our venue. The food was excellent in the restaurant. Beds were comfortable. As most hotels walls were a little thin to the hallway. Overall I would recommend. April 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A bit dates but great! Went to the Cher concert and stayed at the Holiday Inn on Delaware. Very clean and comfortable. A bit dates but great service from the front desk. April 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not As Good As Holiday Inn Express Several issues with this hotel, having stayed in lots of HI. Twice I found a long black hair, once on towels. The staff left a bottle of cleaner in the bathroom and sheets on one of the beds. Not very conscientious. A member of the restaurant staff, a male bartender, was arrogant and abrasive. Don't count on room service. Finally, due to the age of the hotel, I had repeated problems with the key card. Please enter the 21st century!! Overall, I'd rather stay at a HI Express. April 26, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Select to close.
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance Hotel Lobby Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Buffalo Amherst Front Desk Hotel Lobby Exterior of Candlewood Suits Buffalo Amherst Hotel Lobby Front Desk Short drive to the Buffalo Niagara International Airport. Entrance Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading