• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: AMHERST
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 25 dollars per pet for 1 to 6 nights and 75 dollars for 7plus nights. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs.Pet agreement must be signed at check in.Record of up to date vaccinations may be required.Call hotel for info.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Center for Performing Arts
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
University at Buffalo
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
The Northtown Center at Amherst
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Boulevard Mall
Distance From Hotel:1.4MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:78
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:76
  • Total number of suites:76
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:55
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:21
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:76
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice
View More

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice for business travelers. Buffalo Niagara International Airport (BUF) is eight miles away. General Motors, Praxair and Dunlop are within minutes of our location. Companies in downtown Buffalo and the Buffalo Convention Center are an easy commute. Visiting speakers and professors are close to the University at Buffalo.

From the grandeur of Niagara Falls to the many architectural and cultural attractions nearby, leisure travelers are close to everything at this hotel's location in Amherst, NY. The hotel's guests are minutes from Albright Knox Art Gallery and the famous Darwin D. Martin House. Nearby Boulevard Mall offers fabulous shopping.

So, bring your entire family, pets and all, and as our hotel's guest in Amherst, NY, enjoy all the conveniences of home. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi access and the free laundry facilities. A free DVD library is great for the kids and you'll like the Fitness and Business Centers. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

View Less
Features
As you search for extended stay Amherst hotels near Buffalo, NY, keep our accommodations in mind. Conveniently situated off I-290, our terrific suites offer easy access to the Buffalo area.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 245 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel needs updating, clean rooms and good service. Convenient location with restaurants and shopping nearby. The lobby is updated with adjoining bar/restaurant. Food was fair, and the restaurant was severely understaffed. We left a couple of times because we did not get served. No hot tub even though it was shown on hotel map layout. We were most disappointed in our room. Upon check-in, we learned that our room was on the second floor with no elevator and very far from the lobby. We were there for a week so this made for a lot of trekking items up and down stairs. Unlike the lobby, our room had not been updated. It appeared 50 years old and was located over the hotel laundry. Our room literally shook much of our stay and at times I felt like I was suffering from motion sickness. On the plus side was the cleanliness of the rooms and great service by hotel staff. They were friendly and accommodated requests as best they could given the aged property. July 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by confort The experience was very good, great customer service and the staff ready to help thank you July 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Stinks The corridor stinks, bathroom and other facitlities need to be revamped. very expensive and quite cheap when compared to other holiday inn. July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This must be the standard Between my TOP3 Holiday Inn, where I have ever stayed. Room on the first floor, sleeping at open window, no A/C needed! Inside swimming pool, good qualiy. Modern self-laundry service. They have built with a bar, where they serve good and big portion breakfast. Big and many parking place, Outback Stakehouse just within 1 mile:) Be prepared, 25 miles from the Falls, but I do recommend it. July 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My Trip to Naiagara Like the hotel, but night staff seems to be not that friendly! They didn't had extra cream in the lobby at night(for coffee brewed in the room ) July 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel for the Casual traveler This hotel will suit the needs of a casual traveler but not the buissness or long term stay traveler. This propery is an older Holiday Inn and it does show its age, No rooms have microwaves or Refridgerators ( But can be ordered from the front desk) There are also no suites available. The resturant food is average and reasonable. To sum it up, a short term stay would be OK , Long term i would suggest looking elsewhere. July 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by NICE LOBBY UGLY AND OLD ROOMS LOCATION IS OLD AND LOBBY WAS REMOLDELED BUT NOT THE ROOMS July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and neat bedrooms & Compliment Breakfast taste Great I stayed with my family with two king bed room. It was fantastic and comfortable. Very quite rooms. Excellent service and enjoyed the variety of complimentary Breakfast. July 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum Members I have stayed at this hotel many times and they have never upgrade my room. All the other hotels I go to bend over backwards for their platinum elite members but not Buffalo-Amherst July 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Amhurst Newyork Was disappointed to have been placed in the farthest units away from the main hotel. Room was small for a king room with no refrigeration. Receieved a coupon for % off a meal. No breakfast coupons and rate for AAA was very high. Did not feel at all like a platinum member at this property. May need to investigate other chains in the area for the next visit. Would not necessarily reccomend this as a Holiday Inn Business Travelers location. July 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean rooms, bed's are very comfortable. The girls and I come down from canada to do shopping, and stay here all the time, It;s a great hotel. July 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Outragious Charges for Laundry Services My husband and I were riding motorcycles and we were caught in a rain storm. We inquired about laundry facilities and were told where the washer and dryer were located. It was late when we arrived at the hotel so we immediatly checked into our rooms then went next door to eat dinner. When we returned I went to start some laundry and put our wet clothing in the dryer. At 10pm the washer/dryer prices went from $1.75 per load to $10 per load. I went to the friont dessk to inquire as to the reason and was told it was because there were rooms located immediately across from the laundry facilities and the laundry room did not have doors so it went up that high to deter people from using them. I was completely irrate because we had not been told anything at the time we inquired about laundry facilities and there were no signs posted. I try to always stay at Holiday Inn properties when we travel but this experience has left me with a sour taste after this particular chain treats it patrons. Trying to remain a loyal patron, I did stay at a Holiday Inn in Marquette and had amazing treatment. I just think something should be done to compensate myself and those who also were inconvenienced by this particular hotel.. July 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Professional and Friendly staff Hotel is comfortable, good location, reasonable workout facilities, nice restaurant, and friendly and helpful staff. July 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Great staff, good room, average food. No fridge, no in room safe, no in room micro wave July 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great place to stay to go and visit Niagra This Holiday Inn is really well situated to visit Niagra Falls. The Hotel was really clean and quiet, and the staff were really friendly and helpful. It was close to Malls and Restaurants and had everything we needed. The indoor pool was a great place to hang out. We loved the fact we could get coffee throughout the day for free. Great place to stay for families! July 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Monique is the BEST! Hello Holiday Inn, I stay regularly at the Amhurst Holiday Inn, NY. All I have to do is shoot Monique an email and she does the rest. Sets me up in the room I like, the area I like, and it is so easy. I am very grateful to be able to count on Monique to take care of my reservations for me. One less thing I need to worry about when traveling. Thanks Monique June 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly staff and comfortable stay I was very impressed by the friendliess of the hotel staff, especially the front desk associates. We were greeted with a big smile and a very positive attitude. The manager was also very cordial and hospitable, especially during the manager's reception. I would definitely stay here again. June 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Option Hotel is clean and well maintained. Staff was great. Lounge was under construciton during visit. Kuerig coffee in the room was nice Hotel is right a bottom of exit ramp and easy to get to. Pool was nice but no hot-tub Workout room was good. June 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Check in experience I have travelled quite a bit and have stayed in tons of hotels. My check in experience was one of the best ever! There was a rush so I needed to wait a few minutes longer but I watched the girl handle the customers with class. When it came my turn to check in, I was treated in the kindest, warmest way that I have ever experienced. I would return to that hotel again based only on the reception. June 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Correct Price/Quality Rooms: Acceptable for a 3* hotel. Spacious rooms. Flat screen. Very good wifi. Sleeping comfort: excellent. Food & Beverage: the restaurant itself could use some renovation. The food is excellent at acceptable prices. Staff: excellent ! The are pro-active, helpful and customer oriented. Good value for money. The hotel lobby was under renovation. However all efforts were done to keep the customers satisfied. Excellent service. June 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful place to enjoy your Holiday Great place to enjoy your holiday and good response by the staff. June 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The bed was extremely comfortable Great comfort for the price, location. We've stayed there many times over the years and plan to return May 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service We were very happy with our stay, but the only complaint we have is the confusing layout of the hotel. The staff were amazing! May 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Need fridge and microwave Clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. It would be better if there wer a fridge and microwave. Restaurant was mediocre. May 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top notch service, we will definitely stay again. We have been staying at this hotel for family trips and girlfriend getaways every time we are in the area for about two years now and have had a great experience each and every visit. All of the staff are all extremely friendly and accommodating, right from the front desk staff (particularly Monique) to the housekeeping team, to the shuttle driver. You get the impression that your comfort and satisfaction are genuinely important to them and if you forget something, they're right on top of it. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the kids love the heated pool enclosure. The restaurant onsite is average but there are discounts available for rewards members and kids eat free. I can guarantee that we will be back and would recommend this hotel to any travellers looking for good value and a family friendly facility. May 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff and Very Clean All staff that we encountered were extremely pleasant and helpful. Everyone we encountered said hello and how are you doing, no matter what they were busy with!!! The pool was fantastic, our room was very clean. Becoming a Priority Club Member comes with great benefits, it was suggested with our reservation. This was a home away from home. Thank you to all the wonderful staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel! May 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay Very good hotel and pleasant staff, good location in Amherst on Niagara BLVD. May 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and shuttle service to airport Grat location Good service Good shuttle to airport May 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I stayed here for business for about 3 weeks within the past 2 months and the front desk reps were very friendly and their management staff seem highly concerned about my comfort level throughout my entire stay. I definitely recommend this hotel especially if you are in Buffalo on business. They also have nice banquet rooms though I didn't use the rooms for banquet purposes. My only issue is the traffic when leaving the hotel is bad because of its location, other than that the stay was great! May 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pool The hotel was very comfortable, quiet and clean. The only issue was the pool being too cold. On the Website it said heated pool, we went in the pool and came right back out because it was uncomfortable. May 4, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Select to close.
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Exterior of Candlewood Suites Buffalo Amherst Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Buffalo Amherst Entrance Front Desk Front Desk Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading