• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: AMHERST
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 25 dollars per pet for 1 to 6 nights and 75 dollars for 7plus nights. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs.Pet agreement must be signed at check in.Record of up to date vaccinations may be required.Call hotel for info.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Center for Performing Arts
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Castellani Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI
Attraction:
Ralph Wilson Stadium
Distance From Hotel:18.0MI
Attraction:
University at Buffalo
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:78
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:76
  • Total number of suites:76
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:55
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:21
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:76
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice
View More

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice for business travelers. Buffalo Niagara International Airport (BUF) is eight miles away. General Motors, Praxair and Dunlop are within minutes of our location. Companies in downtown Buffalo and the Buffalo Convention Center are an easy commute. Visiting speakers and professors are close to the University at Buffalo.

From the grandeur of Niagara Falls to the many architectural and cultural attractions nearby, leisure travelers are close to everything at this hotel's location in Amherst, NY. The hotel's guests are minutes from Albright Knox Art Gallery and the famous Darwin D. Martin House. Nearby Boulevard Mall offers fabulous shopping.

So, bring your entire family, pets and all, and as our hotel's guest in Amherst, NY, enjoy all the conveniences of home. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi access and the free laundry facilities. A free DVD library is great for the kids and you'll like the Fitness and Business Centers. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

View Less
Features
As you search for extended stay Amherst hotels near Buffalo, NY, keep our accommodations in mind. Conveniently situated off I-290, our terrific suites offer easy access to the Buffalo area.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 219 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay Very good hotel and pleasant staff, good location in Amherst on Niagara BLVD. May 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and shuttle service to airport Grat location Good service Good shuttle to airport May 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I stayed here for business for about 3 weeks within the past 2 months and the front desk reps were very friendly and their management staff seem highly concerned about my comfort level throughout my entire stay. I definitely recommend this hotel especially if you are in Buffalo on business. They also have nice banquet rooms though I didn't use the rooms for banquet purposes. My only issue is the traffic when leaving the hotel is bad because of its location, other than that the stay was great! May 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pool The hotel was very comfortable, quiet and clean. The only issue was the pool being too cold. On the Website it said heated pool, we went in the pool and came right back out because it was uncomfortable. May 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay Beds were comfortable bathroom & room clean. Staff very pleasant. They were accomodating when I called last minute for the reservation and we very nice when I arrived after a long trip and very nice when we checked out. We only stayed one night but I would stay there again without hesitation. April 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good option for a late night stop I travel very often and Buffalo is my airport of choice (though I live in Ontario). Whenever I have a late flight, I book a room at this hotel. It's very well located, just off the highway on Niagara Falls Blvd, and it has nice rooms. Although it doesn't have room service past 10:00 PM, I can still manage to order delivery. There's a place nearby that closes at 4 AM! April 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great visit - Excellent Staff This was a spur of the moment decision to get away for the weekend. The hotel gave us a great rate - we checked other large chain hotels - so we booked and were pleasantly surprised. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The young lady on the front desk was exceptional., We decided just to have dinner in the onsite restaurant rather than get into our car and drive again. The staff again were very friendly and the food was great and prices were very resonable. Room appeared to be recently renovated and other thanthe fact it was located right inside one of the entrances it was nice. We arrive late and the hotel was very busy so I'm sure that is why we were given the room by the exit. I would definitely stay again and would recommend it to others. April 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Go to Hotel Every time I come to the area this is the only hotel I stay at. Its no hassle and reasonable price make me feel at ease. April 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean rooms, bed's are very comfortable. The girl's and I stay at this hotel at about twice a month,for girl's night out and shopping we love it. April 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff I stay at this location often and the staff, especially the front desk, are always professional and very efficient. They make the check in process easy and are pleasant each time I visit. April 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Entire Hotel I have stayed in hundreds of hotels in my last 30 years of traveling for business. Of the Holidays I have stayed at, Niagara Falls is at the top of my list. One of the most friendly staff I have seen in all my stays--anywhere. Nice job Holiday Inn Niagara Falls Blvd, Amherst NY See ya next year Greg S Zoom Media April 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awesome customer service I have stayed in quite a few hotels and this one was the first to call my room after we settled in to make sure everything was OK with the room and if there was anything they could do let them know. The beds the hotel staff the resturant staff was all top notch. We especially enjoyed the wonderful service and conversation from the hotel airport shuttle driver April 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay We arrived and were greeted by a nice lady who helped with some questions we had....very pleasant and helpfull, we do not know her name but we had checked in March 29, 2013 after 6 pm. We had help with our luggage up to the second floor by a very nice man named Spencer he was very helpfull ( no elevator ).....we had asked to change rooms to ground floor as I have a disability and taking the stairs is very hard for me....we were told there were no rooms available which seemed strange as there were not a lot of vehicles in the parking lot....it just did not seem like the hotel was booked full for this weekend and do not understand why we could not moved to ground floor. April 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place with Great Staff Booked this room over the phone to make sure we got the Park and Fly option. Easy reservations, confirmed by email. Easy checkin. Very friendly front desk staff. Had a bite to eat in the restaurant then got talked into attending the manager's reception. Not a mistake. Met the new manager and some other staff. Got some great advice on what to see and do. Shuttle to airport was right on time with a great driver. Wait for the shuttle on the return flight seemed like a long time but probably wasn't too bad. Again, friendly staff took us right to our car. We'll be back the next time we're in Buffalo. March 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Choice Our overall experience was great! The Staff was very accommodating to our requests. Great stay for a great price. March 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Food & Beverage The bar was awful not enouth martini glasses .She served it in a wine glass. The house wine was VInegar . She opened another bottle and it was the same . Food & Beverage Manager was no were to be found. OFF PROPERTY !!!!. At 6pm . Dinner Time ? Please look into this . March 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant greeting but awful food service.......... After checking into our room we decided to do some shopping. Following this we returned to the hotel to have dinner at the restaurant in the hotel. My husband, daughter and I waited and waited and waited for our meals. The waitress did apolgize a couple of times mentioning that there was only one chef on this evening, but it was a Tues. and not very many patrons were in the restaurant at all. My husband and daughter finally got their meals after waiting for more than an hour. I did not receive a meal at all as the chef forgot to make it. Needless to say this was not a pleasant experience as I had no meal along with some other customers who eventually just got up and left the restaurant. I am hoping this matter is getting looked into and isn't repeated again. March 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Thin walls, too much noise The walls are very thin. Could hear noise from adjacent rooms and rooms upstairs. toilets flushing and showers running at 5, 6 and 7am. March 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel not bad...shuttle service terrible Stayed here before a trip to Florida with the promise of an efficient shuttle to and from the airport. After reading other reviews, we were worried with the shuttle service. We specifically asked if we should be concerned about a long wait at the airport and we were assured that they had a better system in place and all would go smoothly. Check in was smooth, room clean and comfy, restaurant food slightly below average. Shuttle service to airport was prompt, but it was a good 20minute drive - farther than we thought. Upon our return, pick up took over 1.5 hours. Unacceptable. There was no snow storm or other major event that would cause this delay. Not worth the 'free' parking. Will not be tricked by this offer again. March 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not so nice I'm a Platinum member an I'm I a different hotel every week, this by far was the worst one i have ever said in, no hot water one morning, room not clean, heard everything going on in the hallway, came back early around 3:45pm and the room ad not even been cleaned. They were a couple of doors down and they were vary load laughing. I was expecting them to knock on the door at any minute, About 45 mins later I was leaving and found that some one put a Do Not Disturb sign on my door, (not mine) handed this to one of the ladies her comment as another one. Take a guess who did it with the laughing that I heard. The week before is staid in Fonda Lac WI were it was also a older hotel but was the best I have stayed at, thanks to the great staff for caring about everything a model for every Holiday Inn/express. March 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room The room we had was very nice. Clean, non smoking, and comfortable. Liked the location of the hotel. Right off 290. Hockey rink was just down the road. Friendly front desk staff and room staff were very polite ( always said "Hi"). It was nice that as a kids hockey team, all our rooms were close to each other whiich made the weekend fun for them. Thank you. March 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs to be cleaner. The bathroom was not clean. There was dark stains around the sink drain that and the shower floor that some scrubbing would remove. March 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hard beds and noisy hallways. Staff was great. Very professional and courteous. But what I really want in a hotel stay is a good night sleep which was difficult. My door had a huge gap that allow hallway light to come thru all night and in addition allowed all hallway noise, doors opening/closing, conversations, basically any noise was noticeable in the room. Bed was stiff as well. Good selection of pillows. March 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room ok, resturraunt terrible While I found the room to be ok, the room was clean and comfortable, it appeared the thermostat did not work correctly. With the thermostat set to 78 degrees the room was still cold. The bedside phone did not work. When I checked in I requested a 6 AM wake-up for every day, on the second day I did not receive a wake-up call so I was late to work. The resterraunt was terrible, I waited over 30 mins. for my food after I ordered. When my breakfast was delievered the eggs were over cooked, burnt and cold as was the rest of the food on my plate. I requested a glass of water four times before I received it, and the refill of my coffee I never did receive. The next night I tried the resterraunt for dinner. While the food and service were much better, the bill was all messed up. This was resolved, but over-all my experience with the resterraunt was bad. February 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by no cancellation booking with breakfast good deal. I think this was a good deal at approx $103 Cdn included a full breakfast, accomodation. did experience double billing, but was rectified. February 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A series of unfortunate events Went to this Holiday Inn up the street when our home was remodeled. Ants in our first room, then we were moved and staff provided us with free breakfast vouchers. Taps were broken in the bar, so could not redeem the priority club free drink. Computers down during breakfast, so couldn't charge to room. Dirty silverware. Staff was helpful and tried to make it right, but just many things that added up to a ho-hum visit. The fitness facilities and pool were the best part of our stay. February 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff & transport The staff at this facility were extremely helpful, and welcoming. I was there to interview at UB Medical. The transportation to and from airport and the school as well was very helpful to me! Thank you! February 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Keggler Everythin was good, except I had submitted a scratch off that showed I had won an extra 1,000 points, it does appear it was posted. I will still recommend to my friends to stay there as the experience is good, this time around. February 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Night before Flight Pro: Staff/driver was lovely. Breakfast met expectation. Location is very convient before a BUF flight. Con: Received room at the very very back. Quite a long walk for my father who has knee pain. Check In wait could of been shorter, but staff's friendlyness make up for it. February 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Sub par hotel People were smoking in the room next to us, the room was not completely clean. Not one of the worst Holiday Inns, but a loong ways from the best. Staff was nice and helpful though. February 4, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Select to close.
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Buffalo Amherst Entrance Front Desk Front Desk Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading