• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: AMHERST
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 25 dollars per pet for 1 to 6 nights and 75 dollars for 7plus nights. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs.Pet agreement must be signed at check in.Record of up to date vaccinations may be required.Call hotel for info.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Center for Performing Arts
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
University at Buffalo
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
The Northtown Center at Amherst
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Boulevard Mall
Distance From Hotel:1.4MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:78
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:76
  • Total number of suites:76
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:55
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:21
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:76
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice
View More

Amherst Hotel's Location is near Buffalo, NY

The Candlewood Suites® Buffalo / Amherst hotel is adjacent to the University at Buffalo-SUNY and UB's Center for the Arts. We welcome travelers with comfortable accommodations and warm, friendly service. Whether you're here for a business trip, a vacation or need temporary housing, this all-suite property is perfect for for those looking for Buffalo area and extended stay hotels in Amherst, NY.

The hotel's location is a great choice for business travelers. Buffalo Niagara International Airport (BUF) is eight miles away. General Motors, Praxair and Dunlop are within minutes of our location. Companies in downtown Buffalo and the Buffalo Convention Center are an easy commute. Visiting speakers and professors are close to the University at Buffalo.

From the grandeur of Niagara Falls to the many architectural and cultural attractions nearby, leisure travelers are close to everything at this hotel's location in Amherst, NY. The hotel's guests are minutes from Albright Knox Art Gallery and the famous Darwin D. Martin House. Nearby Boulevard Mall offers fabulous shopping.

So, bring your entire family, pets and all, and as our hotel's guest in Amherst, NY, enjoy all the conveniences of home. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi access and the free laundry facilities. A free DVD library is great for the kids and you'll like the Fitness and Business Centers. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

View Less
Features
As you search for extended stay Amherst hotels near Buffalo, NY, keep our accommodations in mind. Conveniently situated off I-290, our terrific suites offer easy access to the Buffalo area.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 228 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by receptive front desk staff and good restaurant / coffee bar service Ideal location for my business in Buffalo. Property / rooms are average. Will continue to come back. June 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and friendly staff It was a nice surprise to have a gift bag with a personalized card waiting in my room upon my arrival. Nice touch. June 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good to Great I truly enjoyed my stay but there were some small fixes that could be made that would truly bring the Holiday Inn - Buffalo Downtown from a good experience to a great experience. 1. Staff - everyone was really friendly and easy to work with. The one problem was that at times people did not seem to know what was going on. The restaurant staff was new and untrained. They kept bumping in to each other and did not know the menu very well. The front desk person gave incorrect information over the phone regarding payment for the room and I received different (correct) info from the manager upon check in. But all were awesome people!!!!! 2. The heater/AC in the room did not work properly. The system to turn the AC off and heat on was complicated and I never truly got it, causing me to be under the covers whenever I was in the room. Also, the toilet did not work properly. 3. Once the hotel got crowded, parking was limited. Please find additional parking options, or communicate with guests about on-street parking (is it available, hours, etc). Other than that I had a great time. Once again, I wish all customer service persons were as helpful and nice as the staff at the Holiday Inn Buffalo June 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Great stay...great staff...good bar..close to good rest. June 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Service!!! Best I've Ever Had in a Hotel! Had a great stay in the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, and the hotel looked like it was well cared for. Cari-Ann was a TREMENDOUS help at the front desk, setting me up with transportation and any other need that I had. She and the rest of the staff did a great job! June 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Plan ahead for the shuttle Everything about the hotel itself was fine--cleanliness, location, quality, etc. --exactly what you would expect of any HI. But I was shocked when I went to the front desk a bit before 9am to catch the next shuttle for the airport and was told they would "put me on the list for 12 noon" --a THREE hour delay! Fortunately, I was going to the airport to retrieve lost luggage, not to catch a flight. There was not a word mentioned about a 3 hour notice for the shuttle when I had checked in the night before. When they have such a demand, they needed to be running both shuttles, not have one parked in the lot. They could have anticipated the demand because they were shuttling groups to an offsite meeting or conference. The front desk also gave me incorrect info on where to catch the public bus--"wait right over there on that corner"--pointing out of the window. However, the bus they had directed me to catch did not come to that corner but rather one two blocks away. June 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dependable accommodations For a short stay, this was most agreeable. After a bit of confusion on checking in, ( we had multiple rooms), it got sorted out. Bathrooms a bit small. No extra vanity area. Front desk staff helpful. We had to ask about Priority Club membership next day after check-in. Dining room staff not flexible at all for seating a large group. But breakfast delicious and good value. Excercise area, good. Pool area small and lacking towels. Downtown location very convenient. June 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by few problems air conditioner broken, room too hot shower head broken tub slow to drain staff was helpful June 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable stay The room was clean and comfortable. The food was excellent. The staff were most cordial.....would recommend and stay again. June 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Downtown with Free Parking The hotel was only about a mile from the downtown convention center, within walking distance for us. We also found some good restaurants within walking distance. The free parking was definitely a plus. Although everthing was clean, the hotel was aging a bit, as our bathtub faucet and toilet paper holder needed repair. Also, the bedding was worn, causing the bottom sheet and matress cover to come loose every night. June 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and cheerful service I will definitely stay at the Buffalo-Downtown Holiday Inn next time I'm in town. Every staff member I met was very helpful and willing to assist me with a smile great attitude. May 31, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Very Very Very POOR internet reception DO NOT STAY here if you plan on doing business in your room, I repeat DO NOT STAY HERE if you plan on BUSINESS in your room. May 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms Room needed a bit of refurbishing. The hotel staff was courteous and helpfull. May 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location I like the location of this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean except for the smell of cigarette smoke (non-smoking room) May 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Okay stay and it could have been better.. It was the second time we spent a night at this hotel (first time late December 2012) and our overnight experience was okay overall. A nice welcome at the front desk but without acknowledging the Gold Member status. The free coupons with the room key are always appreciated. Being on the second floor at the end of a corridor we expected to have a quiet room but for a good 2 hours we had the music noises from the bar-lounge downstairs, fortunately it didn't last all night. The wifi very slow in the room and regularly we were losing the connection. I didn't dare to call the reception because with my previous experiences in other hotels, it never worked out, and the wifi reception was still slow. However I notified the wifi issue to the receptionist at the time of the check out. The room and bathroom were clean and the bed comfortable. The air conditioning device was pretty tired and out dated, spreading a pretty disagreeable smell when turning the cooling system on and keeping spreading this bad smell when functioning. We left the hotel with a kinda bitter feeling that for the good price we paid for the room, it wasn't worth it at all. May 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great as always I've stayed here numerous times over the past 4 yrs and the Downtown has never disappointed me. I will recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Buffalo area. May 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service! I'm a regular customer at the Buffalo/Downtown location. It never ceases to amaze me how friendly, courteous, and helpful the staff is. Any request is always handled with a smile and immediate action. They continue to be my Holiday Inn property of choice because of the people! May 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All of your services, and staff!!! Everyone was very friendly-always smiling. Enjoyed the drink sampes and conversations with the gentleman in the lobby. Room was immaculate. May 17, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Month stay review Pros: I had loud neighbors and after a phone call to the front desk it was resolved and never happened again. Cons: Received wake up calls I did not want or ask for. The leg to my bed was broken off and I had to insert it back on to keep my bed level. Water cooler in fitness center is always empty. Most of cable tv stations do not work. They have been working on it for weeks and still have not fixed it. No A/C in the rooms, only heat. Fan was broken in one of my rooms which made it really hot for a week. Some of the lamps on the tv stands do not work because there are no available electrical outlets to plug into. Rooms are dark. May 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by consistency value and location after multiple stays i continue to er extremely satisfied. congenial and helpful staff May 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location Our location put us close to our daughter (A freshman at Buffalo State), the Anchor Bar, Elmwood Village and downtown Buffalo. May 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service and Staff The staff is very friendly and accomodating. A pleasure to stay here when in Buffalo. April 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Centrally located Place was easy to find after crossing the border. It's clean and located near the Anchor Bar (a Buffalo institution) as well as many other downtown dining spots. April 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff The staff were all great. customer service was exceptional. Woould recommend this location to others. Food Service waitress was excellent. April 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Had to change room as the AC was not working properly & window would not open. Maintenance was right there in minutes and the staff accomodated me to a new room quickly. April 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location My work takes me to Buffalo from Albany several times a year. Each time I go to Buffalo I choose the downtown Holiday Inn. The location is central to any office I need to visit, it's always comfortable after a long drive and the staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. April 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by broken heater, but great staff This hotel is in tough shape. Heater was broken and it was about 100 degrees in the room. Fortunately the staff was there to open the window for me. The tv didn't get half the channels and the channel guide didn't correspond to any channels on the tv. There was no desk to sit and work at. Everyone who works there is really friendly and helpful, but the rooms are really dated. Nice and clean, at least. April 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT VALUE UNIVERSALLY WONDERFUL STAFF! EXCELLENT VALUE. CONGENIAL STAFF. April 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great locaion and close to everything Great restaurant and bar. Close to down town and major highways. Easy to get to and friendly staff. Have stayed there before and will continue to stay in the future. April 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fine Hotel I stayed here for one night and it was a good experience. Excellent priority club perks - free drink, free appetizer, and scratch off card for other prizes. Staff was very friendly, and granted my late checkout, with no questions. Only problem was they charged me tax, after I had filled out a tax exempt form. They quickly corrected it when I called and talked to the manager about it. April 15, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance
Select to close.
Exterior of Candlewood Suites Bflo Amherst across from UB entrance Hotel Lobby Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Buffalo Amherst Front Desk Hotel Lobby Exterior of Candlewood Suits Buffalo Amherst Hotel Lobby Front Desk Entrance Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading