• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DETROIT
  • Distance From Hotel: 40.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets under 80lbs are allowed. Nonrefundable fee: 15USD for the first night, 10USD for each additional night with a cap of 150USD. Pet agreement must be signed at checkin. Record of current vaccinations required.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:122
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:MI0516

Extended Stay Hotel in Ann Arbor, MI Impresses Guests.


The Candlewood Suites® Detroit - Ann Arbor is located near I-94, less than 3 miles from downtown Ann Arbor and the University of Michigan. Our hotel guests appreciate the easy 30-minute drive from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW), and the city of Detroit is less than an hour away. Enjoy our spacious suites featured with a full kitchen, cover lit bedding, and a flexible workspace. Come experience the better way to stay.
View More

Extended Stay Hotel in Ann Arbor, MI Impresses Guests.


The Candlewood Suites® Detroit - Ann Arbor is located near I-94, less than 3 miles from downtown Ann Arbor and the University of Michigan. Our hotel guests appreciate the easy 30-minute drive from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW), and the city of Detroit is less than an hour away. Enjoy our spacious suites featured with a full kitchen, cover lit bedding, and a flexible workspace. Come experience the better way to stay.


Business travelers appreciate our close proximity to local businesses: The University of Michigan, Domino's World Headquarters, General Motors and the VA Hospital. Leisure travelers love our proximity to Lake Forest Golf Course and Briarwood Mall. This metro Detroit hotel’s location is just minutes from downtown Ann Arbor shopping, dining and entertainment. Don't miss the UM Museum of Art, Cobblestone Farm Museum and Nichols Arboretum.


Our hotel in Ann Arbor is a beautiful place to visit, and we want you to feel at home here. Our hotel features a 24-hour Candlewood Gym, an onsite convenience store (Candlewood Cupboard), Lending Library and Lending Locker. Book your stay today!

View Less
Features
Whether you're making a quick trip or are here on an extended stay, consider our hotel's suites your home while in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Enjoy a full kitchen with microwave, refrigerator and stove top.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 200 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Ann Arbor trip of June 2014 We visit Ann Arbor at least once a year. This year there was a wedding in the family and some of our family member stayed at Holiday Inn at Plymouth st. We run into some problems that I think mostly were because of the age of the hotel building and lack of timely maintenance. What mostly turned off most of our family members was the indifference of the employees. Some of them seemed not to like very much what they were doing for living. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hot tub Used the hot tub and only two of the jets were working, so was not really worth it. June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A nice place to stay.... Clean room, bathroom small. Full size beds could have been more comfortable for three. Room quiet. Missed having a comp. breakfast. June 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Loud Party We were on the fourth floor overlooking the pool. On Saturday night there were a group of people sitting around the pool partying until around 2:00 AM, laughing and talking loudly making it impossible to fall asleep.. I called the front desk and they said there wasn't any thing they could do since they were sitting outside. I felt that a reasonable time to break up the party should have been 11:00, so that people could sleep! June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by better than expected we didn't choose this hotel, it was part of a wedding venue. The reviews online on average were a 2.3 so i kept my expectations low. The rooms we booked (4 of them) were all up to date and newly furnished. The bed was solid, good nights sleep. The rooms were clean and smelled fresh. We tried to check in at noon but the rooms wern't ready since the folks the night before didn't have to check out until noon (late check out). The staff did their best to turn over the rooms as quickley as they could. Check in isn't usually until 3pm. There were several weddings and a baseball tournement the weekend we stayed, so it was busy at the front desk. We were able to check in all 4 rooms at 1pm, 2 hours early. The check in line was long and some people were down right rude to the staff. Really people, why do you behave so badly? Everything was fine I'd rate the hotel/staff/food a solid 4 out of 5. I would recommend the hotel and stay there again if ever in Ann Arbor in the future. June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel!! Great hotel with a great restaurant/sports bar attached. Two cons: bed was a little comfortable for me & the wi-fi was spotty/unreliable. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the Holiday Inn Ann Arbor Clean room/hotel Nice amenities Friendly, accomodating staff Accomodating shuttle service Comfy beds Convenient location June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel for a quick stay The Holiday Inn worked well for the night before services at the VA Hospital. Easy access June 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by my stay at holiday inn you really need to work on a decent breakfast (buffet) and service. both are terrible. my hotel room smelled like dirty feet and the air conditioner did not work right. they had a rain storm and the tv and internet went out for hours. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness and Comfort I would certainly recommend this location for the cleanliness, comfort, and price. Great for a weekend trip. We were in town for a wedding and could not have asked for a better hotel close to everything we needed to be near along with the above perks. Certainly would not say the same about the bar/lounge that we attended. The bar staff was less than adequate. IT took forever for our drinks, appetizer, and check. I would stay at this location again but would not go in the hotel restaruant again. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to stay for those using U of M Hosp services Clean and friendly staff. Good breakfast selection. Close to hospital with many restaurants to choose from between the hospital and hotel. Very comfortable beds and quiet rooms. June 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Summary of stay Hotel was very convenient for our stay, as we have friends who live in Ann Arbor. The general appearance and facilities in the hotel was good. Hotel was clean and tidy. Staff were helpful and polite. Only down side was that the exttra bed we had requested was not made up on arrival - I had to do this after travelling all day to get there at 11pm! The pool was gorgeously warm and my children loved the fact that they could swim from the indoor to the outdoor pool. Changing facilities in this area would be an improvement. Also the spa wasn't in use for the 3 days that we were staying which was a shame. June 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room review A/C experience loud and not consistent with temperature. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very relaxing . Great place to stay. Plan to stay next time in town. May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great weekend We were only able to stay 2 nights, but the king bed was just right, and the choice of pillow firmness was wonderful. Slept great! Having the restaurant on premises was such a bonus. It allowed our family to share meals together, which was an added bonus since it had been a long time between visits. All in all a terrific venue. May 21, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by traumatic experience we were verbally abused by Brittany at our arrival to the hotel reception.hotel is far from university. She denied us the room we had paid for .she told us we had no reservation.we had done our reservation in march for an executive room and paid it in full.I told her to look into the system that it was surely a mistake. She was yelling"MAM you have no reservation and MAM you have no room. I asked her if she can help us and find another room. she said the hotel was fully book and no rooms available. the receptionist was so loud and rude that a customer behind me in line asked her to help us! Embarrassed and humiliated you stood in the lobby at loss. when my husband (different last name) went ask her for a room she all of a sudden had a room smaller at much higher rate!! i hope that the supervisor (Natasha or Latasha)of this receptionist is aware of the lack of training and professionalism Brittany has. On Monday manager front desk said our reservation was done right and Britanny was wrong about our reservation,i am still waiting for an apology from Britanny and her direct manager as well as full refund of our money disappointed customer May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk staff All of the front desk staff were very helpful, caring, and efficient. May 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room but poor temp. control The temp switch on the heating/cooling unit did not work properly resulting in either being much to warm or cold. Otherwise we were satisfied with the room and always the staff was excellent. May 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable stay Thank you for excellent customer service! I have stayed at this Holiday inn twice in the past month for conferences. The first time I was on the fifth floor. The elevators are very slow and the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. This last visit, I was on the second floor...much nicer room, and comfortable beds. It would be nice if there was free coffee in the lobby area. The coffee in the room is terrible. April 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Over-all Stay We did have a very nice experience last weekend! On Friday, when we arrived, it seems the computers were down,. This led to much confusion in the room assignment. And, we had reserved TWO rooms, one for my wife and me, the second for my son and his family. We received room cards only to find the rooms already occupied! And, this happened twice! However, I do wish to note that the desk staff worked extremely hard to find rooms for us which were close together. Further, the rooms were spotless - quite clean and most comfortable! We found the staff to be both friendly and courteous at all times and I appreciated that very much! I also wish to comment on the splendid kindness shown to us on Sunday during breakfast at the restaurant. This allowed us to begin our trip home in happy fashion! April 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Computer System down for more than 9 days Poor customer service at this hotel. Couldn't check out as the computer system was down for more than 9 days. Poor. Very poor. April 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Experienced Staff are Providing Good Service I stay at this hotel every couple of weeks and have found that as the staff gain experience, their interactions with customers are improving and on my most recent visit I found the professionalism to have improved significantly and found the stay very enjoyable. April 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by one night stay - convenient, good pool Newer hotel with very quick access to highway. Plenty of parking. Place is nice and clean. Computers were down when we checked in so it took about 10 minutes. One of two beds pretty poor. Sagged. Pool is great for kids - combo indoor and outdoor pool - swim under the wall to outside even in cold weather. Small hot tub and several games to play adjacent to pool. Breakfast buffet was quite good but not free - $10 adults. Lots of fruit, bacon, French toast sticks, eggs, cereal, good oatmeal, etc. Kids can eat free if you pay attention to how you book the room. Get voucher at front desk. April 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great service makes up for maintenance issues Room was nice...had a king size bed but barey any pillows. Had to get extra. It was overlooking the pool which was loud with kids in the evening and weekend mornings. Mechanical issues included a weird door handle that only opens upwards, a low pressure shower (I expect more from hotels in terms of water pressure but was still able to shower), and a birds nest in my balcony under the heater unit, causing for weird noises all night from the birds. Also, common bathrooms in the lobby had a broken sink that actually just dropped water out of the faucet on full blast. Service of front desk staff and housekeepers was amazing. Very friendly and quick to respond. Not bad for a holiday inn, but still some work to do that could've made my stay 5 stars. April 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No room anywhere If you're looking for postage-size bathrooms, this Holiday Inn is the place to book your next room. Millions of dollars were spent to remodel rooms and they forgot the bathrooms. King-size bed took up the majority of the room. We had stayed at a Holiday Inn Express in Farmington Hill in an executive suite and played less than this room in Ann Arbor. I was told by U of M hospital staff that I should have received a military discount but that wasn't the case. In hotel restaurant had generous portions and our server, Gabby, was excellent. Would recommend not wearing a Michigan State University jacket nor Vietnam Veteran ball cap. Will investigate other places to stay if I need to stay overnight for any appointments at the VA hospital. April 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very convenient to UM We stay here several times a year and have consistently good stays. Many of the staff recognize us and it is feeling more like "home" each time we visit. The shuttle service is a real plus. March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room This stay was while we had family in the hospital and couldn't have asked for a better stay. Everything was clean and comfortable. March 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great! Great rooms, very comfortable and clean! Nice restaurant! March 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just fine Our stay was comfortable. Liked the fact that they accept dogs even though we didn't have one. March 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend getaway with the family While the breakfast buffet was fantastic, I really can't recommend this property to others. From check in the staff seemed annoyed, it may have been because there was a hockey tournament in town and a few teams were staying at the hotel. But that is not an excuse to take it out on all the guests checking in, which it how my family felt we were treated at check in even though we were not part of the hockey teams. The room was clean and updated. The beds were only doubles not queens which the website clearly states. And the bathroom was very small, if you have any type of "wingspan" you won't be able to dry your hair without hitting the walls. And there was no fan in the bathroom, which made it steamy in a hurry while showering. March 9, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Exterior View
Exterior View
Select to close.
Exterior View Scenery/Landscape Hotel Lobby Other Exterior View Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Mott Children's Hospital - Ann Arbor, MI University of Michigan Bahna Wrestling Center - Ann Arbor, MI Michigan Brewers Guild Summer Festival - Ypsilanti, MI University of Michigan Shepherd Gymnastics Center - Ann Arbor, MI Dowtown Ann Arbor University of Michigan Tisch Indoor Tennis Center - Ann Arbor, MI Frankel Cardiovascular Center - Ann Arbor, MI Arbor Brewing Company - Ann Arbor, MI Ann Arbor's famous downtown theater: The Ark Left: U of M Hospital.  Right: U of M Cancer Center - Ann Arbor, M Michigan Theater - downtown Ann Arbor, MI Kellogg Eye Center - Ann Arbor, MI University of Michigan William Clay Ford Outdoor Tennis Facility
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading