• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DETROIT
  • Distance From Hotel: 40.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets under 80lbs are allowed. Nonrefundable fee: 15USD for the first night, 10USD for each additional night with a cap of 150USD. Pet agreement must be signed at checkin. Record of current vaccinations required.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:122
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:MI0516

Extended Stay Hotel in Ann Arbor, MI Impresses Guests.

The Candlewood Suites® Detroit - Ann Arbor is located near I-94, less than 3 miles from downtown Ann Arbor and the University of Michigan. Our hotel guests appreciate the easy 30-minute drive from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW), and the city of Detroit is less than an hour away. Enjoy our spacious suites featured with a full kitchen, cover lit bedding, and a flexible workspace. Come experience the better way to stay.
View More

Extended Stay Hotel in Ann Arbor, MI Impresses Guests.

The Candlewood Suites® Detroit - Ann Arbor is located near I-94, less than 3 miles from downtown Ann Arbor and the University of Michigan. Our hotel guests appreciate the easy 30-minute drive from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW), and the city of Detroit is less than an hour away. Enjoy our spacious suites featured with a full kitchen, cover lit bedding, and a flexible workspace. Come experience the better way to stay.

Business travelers appreciate our close proximity to local businesses: The University of Michigan, Domino's World Headquarters, General Motors and the VA Hospital. Leisure travelers love our proximity to Lake Forest Golf Course and Briarwood Mall. This metro Detroit hotel’s location is just minutes from downtown Ann Arbor shopping, dining and entertainment. Don't miss the UM Museum of Art, Cobblestone Farm Museum and Nichols Arboretum.

Our hotel in Ann Arbor is a beautiful place to visit, and we want you to feel at home here. Our hotel features a 24-hour Candlewood Gym, an onsite convenience store (Candlewood Cupboard), Lending Library and Lending Locker. Book your stay today!

View Less
Features
Whether you're making a quick trip or are here on an extended stay, consider our hotel's suites your home while in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Enjoy a full kitchen with microwave, refrigerator and stove top.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 269 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Experienced Staff are Providing Good Service I stay at this hotel every couple of weeks and have found that as the staff gain experience, their interactions with customers are improving and on my most recent visit I found the professionalism to have improved significantly and found the stay very enjoyable. April 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by one night stay - convenient, good pool Newer hotel with very quick access to highway. Plenty of parking. Place is nice and clean. Computers were down when we checked in so it took about 10 minutes. One of two beds pretty poor. Sagged. Pool is great for kids - combo indoor and outdoor pool - swim under the wall to outside even in cold weather. Small hot tub and several games to play adjacent to pool. Breakfast buffet was quite good but not free - $10 adults. Lots of fruit, bacon, French toast sticks, eggs, cereal, good oatmeal, etc. Kids can eat free if you pay attention to how you book the room. Get voucher at front desk. April 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great service makes up for maintenance issues Room was nice...had a king size bed but barey any pillows. Had to get extra. It was overlooking the pool which was loud with kids in the evening and weekend mornings. Mechanical issues included a weird door handle that only opens upwards, a low pressure shower (I expect more from hotels in terms of water pressure but was still able to shower), and a birds nest in my balcony under the heater unit, causing for weird noises all night from the birds. Also, common bathrooms in the lobby had a broken sink that actually just dropped water out of the faucet on full blast. Service of front desk staff and housekeepers was amazing. Very friendly and quick to respond. Not bad for a holiday inn, but still some work to do that could've made my stay 5 stars. April 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No room anywhere If you're looking for postage-size bathrooms, this Holiday Inn is the place to book your next room. Millions of dollars were spent to remodel rooms and they forgot the bathrooms. King-size bed took up the majority of the room. We had stayed at a Holiday Inn Express in Farmington Hill in an executive suite and played less than this room in Ann Arbor. I was told by U of M hospital staff that I should have received a military discount but that wasn't the case. In hotel restaurant had generous portions and our server, Gabby, was excellent. Would recommend not wearing a Michigan State University jacket nor Vietnam Veteran ball cap. Will investigate other places to stay if I need to stay overnight for any appointments at the VA hospital. April 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very convenient to UM We stay here several times a year and have consistently good stays. Many of the staff recognize us and it is feeling more like "home" each time we visit. The shuttle service is a real plus. March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room This stay was while we had family in the hospital and couldn't have asked for a better stay. Everything was clean and comfortable. March 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great! Great rooms, very comfortable and clean! Nice restaurant! March 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just fine Our stay was comfortable. Liked the fact that they accept dogs even though we didn't have one. March 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend getaway with the family While the breakfast buffet was fantastic, I really can't recommend this property to others. From check in the staff seemed annoyed, it may have been because there was a hockey tournament in town and a few teams were staying at the hotel. But that is not an excuse to take it out on all the guests checking in, which it how my family felt we were treated at check in even though we were not part of the hockey teams. The room was clean and updated. The beds were only doubles not queens which the website clearly states. And the bathroom was very small, if you have any type of "wingspan" you won't be able to dry your hair without hitting the walls. And there was no fan in the bathroom, which made it steamy in a hurry while showering. March 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by family friendly with 5 kids I really needed adjoining rooms. many hotels have a hard time accomindating this. you made it possible for me to have the adjoining rooms, know that I could easily monitor all of the kids and therefore have a relaxing, enjoyable evening!! thanks for making it happen, it is really important for families to know they can get adjoining rooms when requested!! March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by You won't be Sorry This is actually not my first time coming here; The food here is really good and they let me take the breakfast buffet breakfast to go because I had an appointment. The room was clean and the bathroom was really nice and updated. I stayed a couple days - ddnt get to try the pool but it looked nice. I did use the salon and my hair turned out nice. Never had a bad experience. Never met anybody rude. Didn't get to order room service this last time. Liked it, loved it. Will def keep coming and stay again! February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Helping the Sick and Needy I suffer from a severe chronic illness and stay here whenever I come into town. It's close the UofM Hospital, the shuttle is prompt and free, the breakfast buffet is spectacular, the bathrooms are clean and gorgeous - my room is always spotless (never find any evidence of the help or other people). I love it. I never stay anywhere else and now my family comes here, too. I can be especially grouchy when I'm sick and this hotel is a respite on which I can rely. Special thanks go out to Hope and Scottie. Thank you guys for helping me feel comfortable at a time when I really need it. February 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Falla de llave de habitación Dos veces en la semana falló mi llave y tuve que regresar a la admita ciño a que la arreglarán. February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and hotel I stayed in the holiday inn for two weeks.my experience was excellent, the room was very clean, bed comfortable, shittle service excellent. Staff were friendly. The location of the hotel is very convenient. Walking fistance from a supermarket and a restaurant. February 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unhappy with front desk staff We had to go to Ann Arbor area because a friend was transferred to the Uof M hospital. We had a reservation but when we got there in early 4 am we were told their computer was doing an audit and would have to wait for 1 hour. We were tired and very stressed due to friend being critical and in the ICU. I asked why a key and room was not available since we had a reservation. We were told there were NO reservations pending. I produced my confirmation number and suddenly he went to another computer and there we were. He produced a key for a room. The front desk staff was not friendly. We have stayed at a lot of Holiday Inns in the past and have been very happy but we will not stay at Ann Arbor Holiday Inn. We moved to another hotel in the area for extended stay and were treated with respect. February 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel I work at U of M and stayed at this hotel between shifts during a bad winter storm so I would not have to drive an hour home and back. I arrived at midnight exhausted and readying to make the most of my 6 hours of sleep. I found "Vincent" at the front desk distracted or overwhelmed either way he never looked at me while he slowly checked me in. The room was so comfortable and clean, the heat was on the room was perfectly warm making for a restful sleep. The following morning I checked out and found that the gentleman shoveling snow noticed I started my car prior to check out and removed the snow from my windows. What a wonderful surprise, thanks Holiday Inn, I'll be back as well as recommend to patient families they stay with you. February 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It's a hotel, not home. Best-lit mirrors I've ever seen in a hotel. Lots of electrical outlets in bases of lamps. Bathroom seems smaller and more cramped than usual but has been updated and looks nice. No hooks or towel rods. Wifi is slow and weak. One bar. Breakfast doesn't start until 6:30 and I was not the only person leaving before then. No lobby coffee. Nice clerk suggested in-room coffee but that's never good. Probably the closest hotel to Umiversity of Michigan Medical Center. February 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by CONVENIENT TO U OF M HOSPITALS The hotel is only 10-15 minutes from the hospital, so a very convenient place to stay. January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel I stayed at this hotel last week and it was wonderful. Clean, friendly staff, and close to campus. I highly recommend!!! January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Port in a Winter Storm Had an early morning appt at UM on Jan 6 and we had the polar vortex to contend with. Staff was wonderful to work with, arranging for a saved room for Sat-Tues and check-in whenever we could get there. Room was very nice and bed comfortable. Had UM discount for room which was much appreciated. With husband's health issue...spinal problems...wish a recliner had been available for use. Other than that....accommodations were very nice and the staff from the restaurant/hotel were excellent. January 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty room in a old hotel Very old hotel with updated rooms. They may want to change the very old smoke alarms in the rooms. I'm not sure the should be yellow plastic. Room was dirty, parking lot was nasty. Would be nice if the restaurant was not the bar. It would be nice if they would just give you the bottle of water at the front desk and not make you go to the bar to get it. It was warm anyways. January 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by High Expectations; Visit Very Disappointing I give this visit to this hotel only two stars due to my experience during this visit and my recurring frustration with well-intentioned, but somewhat inexperienced hotel staff. Background: During the past four months prior to this visit I had stayed at this hotel on business trips. I had shifted away from another competing property because that other property was under construction. I was plesantly surprised at this hotel...I slept well on those business trips, the hotel also had nice amenities ($5 coupons for food and free drink per day) and most importantly during my multiple business trip stays I noticed a very nice looking indoor/outdoor pool, hot-tub and well stocked video game room. So..after four months of business trips where I didn't have time to enjoy these extra hotel features, I decided I wanted to take my kids to the hotel to give them a chance to have some fun and enjoy the amenities. Well, three days prior to my visit I called the hotel directly (not the reservation line) and asked if the "indoor-outdoor pool" would be open and mentioned the fun I was looking forward to having at the hotel in the game room with my kids. It was a nice chat and everything seemed fine. I made this call because I didn't want to discover anything was "closed" after promising my kids a ton of fun. Well, guess what happened? Yup, we arrived at lunch time and I went down to the pool/game room area and discovered the outdoor pool was closed for the season and the game room was under renovation. I was stunned. The head manager was in there and I shared my story with him. He was surprised at my story. He told me that he always closes the pool for the season and the renovation to the game room had been underway for awhile. I told him about my phone call to the front desk prior to my visit and he expressed regret and offered to let me check-out without penalty. However after driving nearly nine hours to this hotel with my kids, I had no desire to take him up on his offer. He expressed willingness for me to give a name of his staff and he'd inquire how this error could have happened. I simply said it was fine, but was kicking myself for being surprised since I had repeatedly noticed in prior stays that the staff was nice, but always seemed inexperienced. This is a fine hotel to stay on a business trip, especially if you won't be needing anything from the staff. December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 A++ all around! I arrived around 8 pm at night after a very long train ride. The staff was most helpful when I called from the train station and gave me phone numbers for cabs. When I arrived, check in was swift and efficient. Check out was the same. The room was MOST comfortable! I will be staying here again! December 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Construction noise in next room the noise was so bad you could not here the TV or talk on the phone. The staff called them. They end up coming to the room to tell them to quit for the night. Said 6:pm was late enough. The noise stopped 6:20pm. The shower head flopped around. December 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, clean, comfortable. Sleep was disturbed by banging doors. Seems like there should be something that could quiet the heavy closing of doors. To just fall asleep and be constantly awakened by a slamming door is horrible. It was nice to be offered a complimentary breakfast, however the start time was too late to allow us time to get to the hospital. Would have been nice to at least be able to get coffee, cereal, fruit , a roll or something continental. December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Great service. !!!!!!!!!! Hope and Joseph Were outsatnding December 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I stayed at this property for an extended stay for work and have nothing bad to say. The staff went above and beyond at every request and were super customer service agents! December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service if visiting U of MI hospital locations The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. We had appointments at U of MI hospitals the next day and they really helped with making that easy. Very convenient to U of MI hospitals and have free shuttle service. December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always very satisfied here We've stayed several times recently, one to five nights per stay. Staff is always welcoming, friendly, and efficient - that's all staff, not just front desk. Rooms very clean and well supplied. It's an older property, so heating/cooling is a bit hard to control. Great location, free shuttle to UM Hospital if needed, lots of food options nearby. November 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room service I was very disappointed in the timing of room cleaning. We would notify the desk when we were going to be gone for a few hours and it never happened that the room was cleaned. We stayed at this hotel for over 10 days and I thought we would be accommodated but cleaning No.Also we ate dinner in the adjoining restaurant and had a horrible experience. Bad service and bad food. November 16, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 next>>
Scenery/Landscape
Scenery/Landscape
Select to close.
Scenery/Landscape Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Michigan Theater - Downtown Ann Arbor, MI University of Michigan Tisch Indoor Tennis Center - Ann Arbor, MI Arbor Brewing Company - Ann Arbor, MI Frankel Cardiovascular Center - Ann Arbor, MI Downtown Ann Arbor, MI Ann Arbor's famous downtown theater: The Ark University of Michigan Shepherd Gymnastics Center - Ann Arbor, MI University of Michigan Bahna Wrestling Center - Ann Arbor, MI University of Michigan William Clay Ford Outdoor Tennis Facility Left: U of M Hospital. Right: U of M Cancer Center - Ann Arbor, MI Mott Children's Hospital - Ann Arbor, MI Michigan Brewers Guild Summer Festival - Ypsilanti, MI Kellogg Eye Center - Ann Arbor, MI
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading