• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed with a non refundable fee as follows 15 dollars for the first night and a 10 dollar for each additional night not to exceed 150 dollars. The weight limit for an individual pet is not to exceed 80 lbs. with no more than two pets per room.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Birmingham Botanical Gardens
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Birmingham Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Riverchase Galleria Mall
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Oak Mountain State Park
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:120
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open complimentary parking. Parking available for smaller moving vans/trucks.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:98
  • Total number of suites:97
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:97
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:97
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:AL0363

Spacious Hotel Suites in the Birmingham Hoover Metropolitan Area

Nestled in a quiet location with quick access to downtown Birmingham, travelers choose Candlewood Suites® Birmingham-Hoover hotel because we always provide warm, Southern hospitality. We are conveniently located near Hwy 280 which allows our guests to be within minutes of Uptown Birmingham’s newest entertainment district. Plan an afternoon visit to the Birmingham Civil Rights Museum or watch the Birmingham Barons play at
View More

Spacious Hotel Suites in the Birmingham Hoover Metropolitan Area

Nestled in a quiet location with quick access to downtown Birmingham, travelers choose Candlewood Suites® Birmingham-Hoover hotel because we always provide warm, Southern hospitality. We are conveniently located near Hwy 280 which allows our guests to be within minutes of Uptown Birmingham’s newest entertainment district. Plan an afternoon visit to the Birmingham Civil Rights Museum or watch the Birmingham Barons play at Regions Park. The Candlewood Suites® Birmingham-Hoover hotel experience is a more relaxing way to stay.


Our newly renovated suites are the perfect answer for our extended stay guests in Birmingham. Unwind and enjoy the fully-equipped kitchen featured in all of our suites or season up some steaks and throw them on our Outdoor Gazebo Grill. For our business travelers, staying productive while on the road comes with ease, especially with our free Wi-Fi service, executive desk featured in all suites and easy travel to the Birmingham Jefferson County Convention Center.


Enjoy the pleasure of our free amenities like free laundry service. Come on down to our Lending Locker and pick from a selection of board games, complimentary household items and more. For a midnight snack, our Candlewood Cupboard is an awesome choice filled with sundries and beverages. As our guest, we want to make settling in to your new space as easy as possible.

View Less
Features
Extended stay guests choose Candlewood Suites® Birmingham-Hoover hotel near downtown Birmingham, because we offer our guests a home away from home. Fully-equipped kitchens in all hotel suites, flexible workstations, free laundry service, 24 hour Candlewood Gym, and everything you need to make your stay comfortable and relaxing.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 89 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good overnight stay on a road trip We weren't actually stopping in Birmingham to see the city, but just passing through on a road trip. The location is very close to the highway and the staff was friendly. Overall, a good stay. If passing through again, we'll drive a little extra if we have to, but we'll stay here. January 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very quiet and comfortable The hotel is a little difficult to find especially in the dark, however the room was very quiet and there are plenty of eating places in the area. I did experience some problems with the phones, mainly no dial tone, however the front desk attendant came up and fixed them. Also the internet signal was extremely weak on the end room. Overall I would certaintly recommend this property. January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just a quick night Excellent hotel..close to restaurants and shopping...good locale..great price..great staff. December 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terribly unclean experience. This was my first time at this Birmingham location. When I checked in there was no recognition for being a Platinum Ambassador member, not even a bottle of water. Tried the restaurant for dinner, just a burger & fries but it came on a dirty plate, I will say the young man working the bar that took my order was very friendly and courteous. The bathroom in my room had a very strong urine smell like the floor or toilet had not been sanitized (I covered the floor with the extra towels before walking barefoot on it). Bed was comfortable but the sheets were quite worn. Got in late the 2nd evening and gave the restaurant another try via room service, the grilled chicken sandwich was pretty much inedible and the utensils were dirty. I would be very hesitant to stay at this hotel again. December 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by messed up my credit card.....Over charged me 300 dollars Everything was good but they overcharged me 300 dollars and made my account overdrawn November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by room comfort The beds were very comfortable and the room was very nice. The layout of the room was great. Front desk was very helpful and friendly! The dining area was spacious and the workers were very friendly also.We would stay there again. November 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service at Breakfast I wish every restaurant had a server like the lady that ran the breakfast cafe. The breakfast was excellent, she was very attentive, super polite, and had me in and out just as quick as I needed. I was delighted to tip her well during both of my recent stays. The only con I'd have is a couple of my rooms have had musty smell coming from the AC unit. November 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Comfortable I enjoyed my stay. My room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will stay again. October 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room and Accomadations Our stay was great. Front desk staff were great. Very courteous and helpful. The accomadations were very nice. Entire motel was clean and neat. Everything was top notch. I will definitely return and stay again. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Staff at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. This facility is tucked back off the road, a little bit difficult to find. It was very clean and the breakfast wonderful. Plan on staying here again. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by google map directions We used Google Map Directions to your location and got lost for 30 minutes. The front desk said we were the 10th people in two days. You need to correct this with Google Maps! September 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Staff and club membership means nothing here! Arrived to find the desk unmanned, took over 5 minutes and the bartender had to come off his smoke break to check me in. Was not greeted, no acknowledgement and room keys not made. At dinner had bartender "Joey" serve myself and a partner we go to order and Joey takes my order then walks away not taking my partners order, then after I finish my dinner Joey just took my drink glass and did not ask or offer another, guess he was in a hurry to get rid of us. Then we walked to the elevator to find the young lady behind the desk playing games on her cell phone, was that what she was doing earlier when I tried to check in? Well needless to say I will NEVER stay at this hotel again when in Birmingham, I was supposed to stay two nights but I checked out the very next morning and moved to another hotel. September 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place, room service did not knock when changing I stayed there on business, and it was one of the nicer holiday inns I have been to. Strangely, after my room had already been cleaned and bed was made, room service barged into my room without knocking right after i had gotten out of the shower. Luckily I was able to cover up and make my presence known. I did not bring it up with the manager right away out of embarrassment, however that is entirely unacceptable. September 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by They need a trained cook. The cook didn't know how to make basted eggs. Instead of having the waitress come back and ask for an alternative, he send out scrambled eggs. On top of that, it took so long that the medium breakfast steak was so well done that it was dry and black. By the way, basted eggs are just sunny side up, cooked with a little bit of water under a cover to cook the white and leave the yolk soft. They are really easy to make. Signage to find the hotel is poor. Might be a little better in the daylight. August 27, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room Conditions The airconditioner thermostat was not working. Room was super cold when in use, and I could not control the temperature. The tub drain was clogged and collected water when taking a shower. Reported room conditions to front desk but nothing was done to resolve them. Will not stay there again. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Out of the Storm I got caught in a storm there .I pulled into a parking lot & called California & had my nephew call IHG. They found me a room about 2 mins. from where I was parked, Yes I was into a nice comfortable room within 20 min of needing a room. Thank You. August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel This hotel was very nice. Was on a deadend road so it was very quiet, but was also kind of hard to find. Beds were very comfortable. Only complaint was with tv. All local HD stations had a lot of static so we were unable to watch them. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. July 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional At Home Feeling This was probably one of the best experiences I have had on a business trip in a long time. Not only was the room large and clean, it didn't smell like a "hotel room" (and I know you know what I mean by that). It was fresh and clean and very inviting to come home to. The view was wonderful, the staff friendly and the food was very satisfactory. I was even impressed by the bar are and the bartender. As a Texas resident, I had my first Alabama Slammer and I must say it was quite tasty. I think the most impressionable and satisfying thing was the front desk clerk always remembered my name and addressed me using it when I walked through the door. Thank you Holiday Inn for making me feel at home away from home! July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Staff I had a reservation for a free room using Priority Club points. I was not familiar with this property but was pleased with the handicap accessible room that I requested for my mother. Although I cannot say enough about the beautiful room, the staff is what made our stay more than I could have hoped. From the maintenance employee who had serviced the room as we arrived to the desk clerk, to the waitress in the dining room and the manager upon checkout, everyone, without exception, was polite, helpful and went above and beyond expectations. July 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and staff all around! From the Front Desk, bar & dining area the staff was great! They all were very upbeat and helpful. Thanks ! June 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Nice hotel and staff. Only issue is that I didn't get upgrade I should have gotten with my Priority Club Platinum / Royal Ambassador status. June 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Property Excellent Hotel with great staff, especially the breakfast staff. Fantastic Middle Aged Black woman who assisted us. She was simply wonderful and very helpful. The breakfast was awesome. June 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs some work As always, I love staying at Holiday Inn. This stay was not one of the best, however. Although I was upgraded to a suite for being a Priority Club member, the suite was lacking. I never could get the refrigerator to turn on, and when I tried to take a bath, the stopper in the tub would not sit right and the water leaked out before the tub could fill. I reported this to the staff on my first night, worked the next day, and when I returned in the evening none of these problems were addressed (to be fair, it was Memorial Day Monday). Otherwise the staff was great as usual and the stay was enjoyable. June 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Don't agree to bonus points The front desk will offer you 500 bonus points if you elect to take points instead of the free breakfast. You will never see your bonus point. I elected to do this on three separate visits and have yet to see the 500 extra points per visit. April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best HI I travel all over the Southeast US and this is the best Holiday Inn I stay at during my many visits to Alabama. April 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable clean roon I stayed at this location for 12 nights for work. The location is GREAT. So much to do in the area and many restaurants in the area. I highly recommend this hotel. April 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Attention to Details Lacking I have stayed at this location a couple of times over the past few months. Overall, the rooms have been comfortable, but the lack of concern from the front desk clerk to an assistant manager leaves me disappointed. Each time that I have stayed here, the parking lot was not full; therefore allowing me to summise that the hotel was not overly busy. My last stay in February resulted in disappointment based on a couple of things - (1) I booked at this location although it was not convenient to gain the additional 5,000 reward points that was advertised on their website. The front desk knew nothing of this and asked that I leave a message for the manager. The assistant manager returned my call on the following day, and Mr White was very attentive and assured me that he would take care of this. To date, 8 weeks later, I do not have the points on my account. (2) There was concern with 2 things in my room - the desk chair was broken and I brought it to the attention of the front desk clerk and she assured me that she would take care of it - I never received a call from maintenance nor another chair, and also there was a concern about the loose lock / knob on my room entrance door. The front desk clerk only commented that "you will be fine - there's nothing to worry about here." I appreciate her assuring words, but as a female traveling alone on business - I prefer a room that I feel secure in. The restaurant and food were great - the servers and bartender were outstanding - and the food was well-prepared and reasonably priced. There was a personal note in my room acknowledging me as a Priority Club Member, which was a nice touch. Overall, I like the hotel - but a more thorough attentiveness to requests would have prompted a higher score and a stronger recommendation. April 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business night out I have love the accommodation in Homewood hotel. I love the peace and happiness of the hotel and their employees. April 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing work week Comfortable, modern Holiday Inn with a restaurant and lounge with friendly people! I thought those days were over. It makes a hard work week nice. I will stay here from now on when on business in B'ham. March 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pillows At the end of the day, it is a place to sleep and the pillows were the worst ever March 25, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Candlewood Suites Birmingham Hotel Lobby
Candlewood Suites Birmingham Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites Birmingham Hotel Lobby Candlewood Suites Birmingham Hotel Candlewood Suites Birmingham-Hoover Exterior Welcome Sign Candlewood Suites Birmingham-Hoover Lobby Seating Area Guest Patio Front Desk Hotel Exterior Guest Patio Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading