• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed with a non refundable fee as follows 15 dollars for the first night and a 10 dollar for each additional night not to exceed 150 dollars. The weight limit for an individual pet is not to exceed 80 lbs. with no more than two pets per room.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Birmingham Botanical Gardens
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Birmingham Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Riverchase Galleria Mall
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Oak Mountain State Park
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:120
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open complimentary parking. Parking available for smaller moving vans/trucks.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:98
  • Total number of suites:97
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:97
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:97
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:AL0363

Spacious Hotel Suites in the Birmingham Hoover Metropolitan Area

Nestled in a quiet location with quick access to downtown Birmingham, travelers choose Candlewood Suites® Birmingham-Hoover hotel because we always provide warm, Southern hospitality. We are conveniently located near Hwy 280 which allows our guests to be within minutes of Uptown Birmingham’s newest entertainment district. Plan an afternoon visit to the Birmingham Civil Rights Museum or watch the Birmingham Barons play at
View More

Spacious Hotel Suites in the Birmingham Hoover Metropolitan Area

Nestled in a quiet location with quick access to downtown Birmingham, travelers choose Candlewood Suites® Birmingham-Hoover hotel because we always provide warm, Southern hospitality. We are conveniently located near Hwy 280 which allows our guests to be within minutes of Uptown Birmingham’s newest entertainment district. Plan an afternoon visit to the Birmingham Civil Rights Museum or watch the Birmingham Barons play at Regions Park. The Candlewood Suites® Birmingham-Hoover hotel experience is a more relaxing way to stay.

Our newly renovated suites are the perfect answer for our extended stay guests in Birmingham. Unwind and enjoy the fully-equipped kitchen featured in all of our suites or season up some steaks and throw them on our Outdoor Gazebo Grill. For our business travelers, staying productive while on the road comes with ease, especially with our free Wi-Fi service, executive desk featured in all suites and easy travel to the Birmingham Jefferson County Convention Center.

Enjoy the pleasure of our free amenities like free laundry service. Come on down to our Lending Locker and pick from a selection of board games, complimentary household items and more. For a midnight snack, our Candlewood Cupboard is an awesome choice filled with sundries and beverages. As our guest, we want to make settling in to your new space as easy as possible.

View Less
Features
Extended stay guests choose Candlewood Suites® Birmingham-Hoover hotel near downtown Birmingham, because we offer our guests a home away from home. Fully-equipped kitchens in all hotel suites, flexible workstations, free laundry service, 24 hour Candlewood Gym, and everything you need to make your stay comfortable and relaxing.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 115 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel is nice - staff could use a professionalism training class I've stayed at this hotel many times in the past. Pretty consistent, facilities are maintained and kept clean. Staff struggles in my opinion on providing great customer service. I had 6 rooms reserved and called and provide individual names and preferences. Clerk mentioned thank you for being a platinum member and for your business we "have" upgraded and pre assigned you a room. Upon arriving the check in experience was horrible and long and guess what - that upgrade - I didn't get. I called down and asked and was told that those rod had already been given to earlier guest. Remind you I called at 9:30am the morning of arrival. When I challenged her about only being 32% occupied she backed down but I wasn't going down to change rooms. Upon checkout we couldn't find the desk clerk but then found him outside on his phone. He wore jeans and shirt - nothing that would have made one to think he worked there. In reading other reviews, it is apparent that there is a issue with management. I could understand one or two issues / complaints but when it's consistently a issue - then this type of behavior must be allowed by management. I am not staying I won't be back but I am saying that they have probably lost me and if something doesn't change quickly, I would assume others will do the same. Great location with a lot of options of hotels. Disappointing but something has to change. July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable The stay at the Holiday Inn-Homewood was very comfortable and all the workers was so nice. I had a great time July 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room good, staff and service not so good. I stayed at the hotel for 10 days and found the room to be good and kept clean. The hotel was, to some extent, let down by some of the staff who seemed to lack enthusiasm. On at least 2 occasions I had to wait for a staff member to stop surfing on their phone before they spoke to me and I also heard several complaining about their shifts and pay on a couple of occasions. There were some who were attentive, but they were in the minority. The room rate during my stay was low, so I do think I got value of money. July 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight business trip Reserved six rooms - called day of to give other names and ask for a few other accommodations. Hotel said no problem. Once I arrived the check in experience was horrible and the asks were not available - saying oversold when hotel was only at 37% occupancy due to holiday. Stayed here several times but hotel doesn't go out of their way to provide that special customer service. Nice hotel, clean and a good stay. July 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Great stay overall. Bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly. Room was clean. Would have been nice to have free breakfast as most hotels have these days, but otherwise no complaints. Would stay here again. July 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable room but poor welcoming I loved the hotel and the morning staff, but having arrived just passed midnight my family and I were far from being cordially received and treated by the person whom we we checked in. He was bad tempered and bad mannered. He did not acknowledge my platinum status, did not offer me the complimentary snack or water or anything else, nor did I attempted to ask for this small perks since he really wasnt at all corteous. July 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Family getaway Spent four nights with two rooms for my family. The property didn't appear to be very professionally run. The condition of the property was a little disappointing. The landscaping going to the parking lot was poor. It looked like a few plants stuck in the dirt and watered occasionally. Fit and finish in our bath left a lot to be desired. We had to ask for extra towels every day because we had three in the room (which had two queen size beds). June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great location, great staff, great service My wife, daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We met relatives and friends here and spent some excel- lent quality time with them. June 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Improvements but no HBO The smoking bench is farther from the front door. Yippee! The trail mix is a perfect snack in the gift bag! The HBO Guide booklet was in the room, but no HBO on the TV. The desk and bar staff were new and had no knowledge about the TV. Bummer. The bath counter was not completely clean, but I have learned to bring Windex. June 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected My husband and I frequently stay at Holiday Inn Expresses when out of town. We are reward card members and are usually pleased with service. We were shocked at the behavior of the front desk attendant. When we arrived around 2:30 there was no one on sight. We finally waved and got her attention where she was standing out back. We tried to check in and were told we were too early and there will be no rooms ready until 3:00. We waited and the room we were given had a broken air condition. My hubsnd requested a new room & we waited 30 min for the front desk to respond. I finally went downstairs to find the same front desk attendant talking to another employe. I asked about the room and she said " oh yea let me check on that. ". We were then put in a room that house keeping hadn't finished cleaning ( door open, no towels). After getting the room situation settled we had to listen to house keeping argue outside our room because rooms weren't ready. We were never offered the reward card gift bag we had to go back and request one. The night shift was very nice and accommodating. The day shift was a little disturbing and rude. I don't think we'll be visiting this hotel again. June 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Customer service is terrible The girl at front desk named Vanessa was very terrible she thought my complaint was funny and when I asked to speak to her manager she refused me and told me no I think this us bad for business June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Very polite and helpful staff great stay!!! Secure and safe area/parking June 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Great loction, close to everything, wonderful service and friendly staff. The next time I am in town I will consider staying here again. June 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Hotel Experience-DO NOT RECOMMEND The hotel staff members (including managers) are under qualified and do not value the guest's needs nor do they care to meet the guest's needs. They refuse to return your phone call or respond to your issues in a timely manner. After being wrongly charged, twice to be exact, they have yet to credit back my card or return my phone call. I have never received such unsatisfactory customer service before in my life. June 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Recent Stay Have been staying at this hotel for a number of years and always received excellent service and value, however, the last few times I have stayed this year, the quality and courtesy of the staff has deteriorated. The staff was either rude or indifferent. One of the kitchen staff members went into a loud tirade about the quality of the management and tried to engage me in the conversation. Don't know if I will staying at this Holiday Inn in the future. June 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected Do not book this hotel if you need to do any business work. Fifth floor does not have wireless coverage. When you call the front desk this is well known to them and they will give you a cord if there are any left! If not, they tell you to come to the lobby to work! Also no complementary breakfast. May 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 3 different rooms, waitress and her man, can I just get my bill please. I checked in and the guy was very friendly. I got to my room and found it was very warm in the room. I set the temp on the thermostat and left the room. I came back and it was still warm. I found that the fan on the AC unit wasn't working. I told the clerk and he had me change rooms. The second room had the same problem as the first. I went back and the clerk got me into another room. Other then the greasy hand prints on the headboard, that could only prove what the last guest were doing in there; the room was nice. The next night I went to the restaurant. I gave my order to the waitress and a few minutes later another waitress asked me what i ordered and if the previous waitress had put my order in. The second waitress was rude and I don't know why she even came by. I was sitting there eating when my drink was running low. I was looking for my waitress and she was over at some guys table smooching all over him. Then they got up and went outside to smoke. I was able to get miss rude waitress to bring me some water. I was walking through the lobby one evening and two of the hotel staff were having a good ol' shouting battle. Both were in each other face and scream about something. When I got up in the morning, there was no bill slid under my door. I went down to ask for my bill. They told me they would not give me my bill until I was ready to actually leave. I inquired about how long the hotel had been there. I was told six years. The hotel looks like it's 20 years old. The carpet looks warn out and dirty. There is a thermostat in the hall way that is busted and just hanging there. If you ever lived in public housing, then this hotel will feel like home. I would have to fall on hard times if I decided to stay at this hotel again. May 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Traveler I don't travel that much, however when I do I have always used Holiday Inn Hotel Brand. I feel like I have been let down over the past few years by the Holiday Inn's Hotel Brand. This year is no exception. The stay at the Birmingham - Homewood Holiday Inn hotel started off on the wrong foot. On arrival there was no one at the front desk and it took 10 minute or little more before someone showed up. When I got checked in and entered into my room there was no remote for the TV. As I was looking around the room I pulled the mattress away from the head broad, hoping the remote had fell down there, boy was that a mistake there was hair and a pill of some sort, it looked as if it had never been cleaned. The water issue that I have read about in the reviews of this hotel has not been fixed, it take more than 15 min before the water warms up. I would not recommend this Hotel and will not be staying here when I am in town. I wish I could convert my points over to another brand of hotel April 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Things are improving! The newly renovated lobby and restaurant look great.  Goodbye old latex pillows and useless bands around them! Hello brand new dacron polyester pillows! Wifi was not available in our 5th floor room except when we stood near the hall door. But we had bath exhaust in this room Now all they need is to 1. Tuck the larger pillows into the case pocket to protect them, 2. Replace damaged spreads, 3. Fold spreads after drying so they do not make a wrinkled, used-looking bed, 4. Buy higher quality food (two red potatoes do not substitute for a baked potato), 5. Extend WiFi for all rooms.  April 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of response by the front desk After leaving the hotel, my wife discovedred that she had lost a pair of perscription sun glasses. We called and were told to call the next morning and ask for house keeping. We called for house keeeping the next day and got no answer and the mail box was full. We called the front desk again and explained the problem. The lady at the desk took our information and said she would call us back. This lack of response is disappointing and unlike any other experience we have had at other Holiday Inns. We do not have the name of the lady with whom we spoke or it would have been included. April 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst experience I have had at a Holiday Inn I had to have my room key reprogrammed every day due to being locked out of my room. The wifi never worked. The business center was closed the entire time I was there. It took about 15 minutes each morning for the water to get hot enough for me to take a shower. I had to leave early to the airport and could not get a receipt when I checked out, the desk clerk said that it (computer) was processing. I can only say that I use Holiday Inn hotels regularly on my business travels, and this hotel was unique with all the issues. I will never stay at this one again. I will be staying at the Hilton just down the street. April 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service I had great stay at this hotel. Great experience with front desk staff Beverly, she was very nice and have excellent customer skills. March 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a great hotel. This place is a very solid ten. I recommend booking with the breakfast. Great bar area for nightly entertaining. Once you get to your room you just want to book for a few extra days. Hotel is also located just minutes in any direction to Birminghams best restaurants, malls and attractions. March 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Birmingham Checked in @ 4PM. Room din't have towels in room yet. Toilet paper holder would come out of the vanity. The fan didn't work in the bathroom, but that. Didn't make any difference because there was no hot water in the shower. I was told that the hot water system was worked on the day before, but appears toy not to our room. I am a Priority club member and like to stay at Holiday Inn when I travel, but I won't stay there again. February 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bloomington, Il Enjoyed our stay. Good restaurant and bartender was very nice. February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AWESOME I can not express enough my gratitude and thankfulness for the wonderful staff, rooms, restaurant, and overall experience I had with Holiday Inn Homewood. I was stuck due to the weather in Birmingham on my way to Dothan AL to my Grandmothers funeral. I arrived and there were no rooms available. I went to the conference room to lay on the floor and a sweet employee brought me a fold away bed, pillow and blanket. The staff worked their butts off to accommodate everyone working 2 days straight cooking, bar tending, registration, phone calls and all the other duties required with a minimal staff. Thank you for helping me to be safe, warm, fed and comfortable!!! I will definitely recommend your hotel to everyone I know. January 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good overnight stay on a road trip We weren't actually stopping in Birmingham to see the city, but just passing through on a road trip. The location is very close to the highway and the staff was friendly. Overall, a good stay. If passing through again, we'll drive a little extra if we have to, but we'll stay here. January 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very quiet and comfortable The hotel is a little difficult to find especially in the dark, however the room was very quiet and there are plenty of eating places in the area. I did experience some problems with the phones, mainly no dial tone, however the front desk attendant came up and fixed them. Also the internet signal was extremely weak on the end room. Overall I would certaintly recommend this property. January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just a quick night Excellent hotel..close to restaurants and shopping...good locale..great price..great staff. December 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terribly unclean experience. This was my first time at this Birmingham location. When I checked in there was no recognition for being a Platinum Ambassador member, not even a bottle of water. Tried the restaurant for dinner, just a burger & fries but it came on a dirty plate, I will say the young man working the bar that took my order was very friendly and courteous. The bathroom in my room had a very strong urine smell like the floor or toilet had not been sanitized (I covered the floor with the extra towels before walking barefoot on it). Bed was comfortable but the sheets were quite worn. Got in late the 2nd evening and gave the restaurant another try via room service, the grilled chicken sandwich was pretty much inedible and the utensils were dirty. I would be very hesitant to stay at this hotel again. December 16, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Candlewood Suites Birmingham Hotel Lobby
Candlewood Suites Birmingham Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites Birmingham Hotel Lobby Candlewood Suites Birmingham Hotel Candlewood Suites Birmingham-Hoover Exterior Welcome Sign Candlewood Suites Birmingham-Hoover Lobby Seating Area Guest Patio Front Desk Hotel Exterior Guest Patio Exterior Feature
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading