• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, non refundable sanitation fee: 75.00 for 1 to 5 nights. 6 or more nights sanitation fee 150.00 Contact hotel for details.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Southern Museum of Flight
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Sloss Furnaces
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
16th Street Baptist Church
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Eternal World Television Network
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:85
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:81
  • Total number of suites:81
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:58
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:23
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:81
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Candlewood Suites Birmingham/Homewood, we put the amenities where they really count – in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high speed Internet, Candlewood Suites Birmingham/Homewood is within walking distance to many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to “Dine
View More
Candlewood Suites Birmingham/Homewood, we put the amenities where they really count – in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high speed Internet, Candlewood Suites Birmingham/Homewood is within walking distance to many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to “Dine In”, a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks and ice cream. Candlewood Suites provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Much larger than the average hotel room and significantly more affordable than a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites is the perfect “home away from home” for relocation, project, temporary assignment or training needs. Unlike a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites does not require a lease or minimum length of stay. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or several months, Candlewood Suites is the solution to your temporary housing needs.
View Less
Features
The brand new Candlewood Suites Birmingham/Homewood is one of Birmingham's premiere extended stay properties. Our modern fully equipped kitchen does truly give you a home away from home experience.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 105 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Overall my family I enjoyed our visit especially and son and daughter swimming in the pool area September 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Visit 9/8 I have already commented on the hot water issue, but would like to note the customer service team seem to be involved. Very open, willing to listen, get to know the frequent guests, and just make them feel at home. Business Center needs work. Computers and printers on a counter and the chairs are low. No ergonomics design, not comfort, not convenient. Either raise the computers so I can work standing, or lower them so I can work sitting down. The current design sucks. This is a newer hotel, but does not look like it. Spend money cleaning it up on the floors. Carpets are stained and look bad. This makes it feel cheap. September 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great night sleep. It was a very clean property. The parking lot was very well lighted. There is a number of good restaurants very close to the hotel. The lady working the front desk was very helpful with her directions. I was out of town all week and stopped at the property on my way home. It was so quite I slept in that morning a rarity for me. September 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Williams Family Reunion Hello, Family Reunion booked this hotel. Hello you travelers out there, sometimes, we should not go by reviews so closely. I went on line to see previous reviews before my trip and had mixed emotions about the quality and service of this hotel. However, upon my arrival my apprenhensions changed. Nice hotel! First impressions are so important these days and the front desk service changed my view immediately. The Front Desk staffer Lacey was absolutely fabulous! Polite, attentive, knowledgeable and plesant. My sisters and I completed our survey card and returned it the same day. The breakfast offered to their guest was delicious, sometimes not ready on time but still enjoyable. The server so helpful, food variety was extensive and tasty. One tiny issue with my room; the bed squeaked. LOL Had a great stay! September 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Stafff Staff was highly efficient and cordial. Room met expectation and overall enjoyed my stay August 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value This hotel is a great value for the area. Only negative is that the mattresses squeak every time you move or roll over at night. Staff was very friendly. I've stayed at most of the other hotels in the area, and this one is cleaner and nicer August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Late Night Check-in After my 6 hour drive, all I wanted was to check-in and go to bed. The front desk made it easy, and our conversation was pleasant. It's always nice to be greeted with a smile. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Birmingham-Homewood, Alabama Excellent hotel! Will visit this hotel the next time I am in Birmingham. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel! From the moment we walked through the doors, we were greeted with a huge smile and were made to feel very welcome! The rest of the hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and genuinely seemed to enjoy working there. The rooms were spotless and the bed very comfortable. Everything was wonderful! August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely welcoming Staff is very friendly and attentive. They go the extra mile greeting, making sure all is well and responding to requests. This was true from the lowest level employee to the management. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn - Homewood Staff was amazing. Rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the room and the service When I arrived, I was greeted warmly by the staff and was checked in efficiently. The room had a king bed and was inviting with a variety of pillow firmness and was quite clean in appearance. I slept quite well and hated to get up when the alarm awakened me. The service at Kem's (restaurant on site) was excellent and beyond. What I had a problem with was the "tilapia special" that tasted like a catfish special. The fries were delicious, price reasonable, but I believe the fish was fake tilapia. I heard someone else say that a similar comment had been made by someone else. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Reunion 2014 I am well pleased with my family's stay at the Holiday Inn for our family reunion. The staff went out of their way to make my out of town guests feel comfortable and satisfied. I applaud the current management staff and will definitely use this location again. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and clean There for business, very clean room, very accessible and friendly staff. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The beds sleep great! The beds sleep so well I did not want to get up the next morning are the next. Staff was very nice, Food was good. Hands down I would be glad to stay at this Hotel again!!!! August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! Great hotel and good location. The staff was awesome and responded quickly to all of my needs. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean rooms and courteous staff This Holiday Inn was had a very courteous staff, if you had a question or a need they were more than willing to help. Also our room was very clean and neat. We had to use the laundry facility both nights and usually washer and dryers in hotels take forever not here they worked very well and fast. Overall it was a very good experience and do recommend this facility. July 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Staying with a group The motel was beautiful. The location is great. and I felt like the rooms were really nice. The problem was I booked 15 room 6 months in advance, I called a month in advance and I called the day of and when I walked in the door. They had no reservations for me. My group of 55 had to stand out side for an hour while the booked my rooms and cleaned some so we would have a place to stay. Then we had to move from 2 of our rooms because one was a king room and we had 4 people sleeping in it and one had no shower curtain. I had even sent my rooming list and credit card verification. Very disappointed. On top of all that they really didn't seem to care about it. I love staying in Holiday inn but I will not stay in they motel again. July 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by There are better Holiday Inns I would say if you are in the Birmingham area and prefer to stay at Holiday Inn's, you should look for another location besides Homewood. The drain in my room was clogged, there was no hot water. Even the iron was a pain to use. The bartender was terrible (watching Oprah Network or something like it) and not paying attention to the customers. The front desk person was great, that's about the one thing that went well at this location, the friendly greeting by her. Otherwise, a very disappointing stay for reasons that likely won't be corrected overnight. July 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible service. Very bad maintenance staff. Front desk staff incompetent. Bad over all stay. July 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel is nice - staff could use a professionalism training class I've stayed at this hotel many times in the past. Pretty consistent, facilities are maintained and kept clean. Staff struggles in my opinion on providing great customer service. I had 6 rooms reserved and called and provide individual names and preferences. Clerk mentioned thank you for being a platinum member and for your business we "have" upgraded and pre assigned you a room. Upon arriving the check in experience was horrible and long and guess what - that upgrade - I didn't get. I called down and asked and was told that those rod had already been given to earlier guest. Remind you I called at 9:30am the morning of arrival. When I challenged her about only being 32% occupied she backed down but I wasn't going down to change rooms. Upon checkout we couldn't find the desk clerk but then found him outside on his phone. He wore jeans and shirt - nothing that would have made one to think he worked there. In reading other reviews, it is apparent that there is a issue with management. I could understand one or two issues / complaints but when it's consistently a issue - then this type of behavior must be allowed by management. I am not staying I won't be back but I am saying that they have probably lost me and if something doesn't change quickly, I would assume others will do the same. Great location with a lot of options of hotels. Disappointing but something has to change. July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable The stay at the Holiday Inn-Homewood was very comfortable and all the workers was so nice. I had a great time July 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room good, staff and service not so good. I stayed at the hotel for 10 days and found the room to be good and kept clean. The hotel was, to some extent, let down by some of the staff who seemed to lack enthusiasm. On at least 2 occasions I had to wait for a staff member to stop surfing on their phone before they spoke to me and I also heard several complaining about their shifts and pay on a couple of occasions. There were some who were attentive, but they were in the minority. The room rate during my stay was low, so I do think I got value of money. July 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight business trip Reserved six rooms - called day of to give other names and ask for a few other accommodations. Hotel said no problem. Once I arrived the check in experience was horrible and the asks were not available - saying oversold when hotel was only at 37% occupancy due to holiday. Stayed here several times but hotel doesn't go out of their way to provide that special customer service. Nice hotel, clean and a good stay. July 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Great stay overall. Bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly. Room was clean. Would have been nice to have free breakfast as most hotels have these days, but otherwise no complaints. Would stay here again. July 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable room but poor welcoming I loved the hotel and the morning staff, but having arrived just passed midnight my family and I were far from being cordially received and treated by the person whom we we checked in. He was bad tempered and bad mannered. He did not acknowledge my platinum status, did not offer me the complimentary snack or water or anything else, nor did I attempted to ask for this small perks since he really wasnt at all corteous. July 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Family getaway Spent four nights with two rooms for my family. The property didn't appear to be very professionally run. The condition of the property was a little disappointing. The landscaping going to the parking lot was poor. It looked like a few plants stuck in the dirt and watered occasionally. Fit and finish in our bath left a lot to be desired. We had to ask for extra towels every day because we had three in the room (which had two queen size beds). June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great location, great staff, great service My wife, daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We met relatives and friends here and spent some excel- lent quality time with them. June 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Improvements but no HBO The smoking bench is farther from the front door. Yippee! The trail mix is a perfect snack in the gift bag! The HBO Guide booklet was in the room, but no HBO on the TV. The desk and bar staff were new and had no knowledge about the TV. Bummer. The bath counter was not completely clean, but I have learned to bring Windex. June 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected My husband and I frequently stay at Holiday Inn Expresses when out of town. We are reward card members and are usually pleased with service. We were shocked at the behavior of the front desk attendant. When we arrived around 2:30 there was no one on sight. We finally waved and got her attention where she was standing out back. We tried to check in and were told we were too early and there will be no rooms ready until 3:00. We waited and the room we were given had a broken air condition. My hubsnd requested a new room & we waited 30 min for the front desk to respond. I finally went downstairs to find the same front desk attendant talking to another employe. I asked about the room and she said " oh yea let me check on that. ". We were then put in a room that house keeping hadn't finished cleaning ( door open, no towels). After getting the room situation settled we had to listen to house keeping argue outside our room because rooms weren't ready. We were never offered the reward card gift bag we had to go back and request one. The night shift was very nice and accommodating. The day shift was a little disturbing and rude. I don't think we'll be visiting this hotel again. June 24, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading