• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, non refundable sanitation fee: 75.00 for 1 to 5 nights. 6 or more nights sanitation fee 150.00 Contact hotel for details.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Southern Museum of Flight
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Sloss Furnaces
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
16th Street Baptist Church
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Eternal World Television Network
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:85
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:81
  • Total number of suites:81
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:58
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:23
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:81
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Candlewood Suites Birmingham/Homewood, we put the amenities where they really count – in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high speed Internet, Candlewood Suites Birmingham/Homewood is within walking distance to many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to “Dine
View More
Candlewood Suites Birmingham/Homewood, we put the amenities where they really count – in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high speed Internet, Candlewood Suites Birmingham/Homewood is within walking distance to many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to “Dine In”, a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks and ice cream. Candlewood Suites provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Much larger than the average hotel room and significantly more affordable than a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites is the perfect “home away from home” for relocation, project, temporary assignment or training needs. Unlike a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites does not require a lease or minimum length of stay. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or several months, Candlewood Suites is the solution to your temporary housing needs.
View Less
Features
The brand new Candlewood Suites Birmingham/Homewood is one of Birmingham's premiere extended stay properties. Our modern fully equipped kitchen does truly give you a home away from home experience.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 105 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Customer service is terrible The girl at front desk named Vanessa was very terrible she thought my complaint was funny and when I asked to speak to her manager she refused me and told me no I think this us bad for business June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Very polite and helpful staff great stay!!! Secure and safe area/parking June 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Great loction, close to everything, wonderful service and friendly staff. The next time I am in town I will consider staying here again. June 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Hotel Experience-DO NOT RECOMMEND The hotel staff members (including managers) are under qualified and do not value the guest's needs nor do they care to meet the guest's needs. They refuse to return your phone call or respond to your issues in a timely manner. After being wrongly charged, twice to be exact, they have yet to credit back my card or return my phone call. I have never received such unsatisfactory customer service before in my life. June 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Recent Stay Have been staying at this hotel for a number of years and always received excellent service and value, however, the last few times I have stayed this year, the quality and courtesy of the staff has deteriorated. The staff was either rude or indifferent. One of the kitchen staff members went into a loud tirade about the quality of the management and tried to engage me in the conversation. Don't know if I will staying at this Holiday Inn in the future. June 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected Do not book this hotel if you need to do any business work. Fifth floor does not have wireless coverage. When you call the front desk this is well known to them and they will give you a cord if there are any left! If not, they tell you to come to the lobby to work! Also no complementary breakfast. May 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 3 different rooms, waitress and her man, can I just get my bill please. I checked in and the guy was very friendly. I got to my room and found it was very warm in the room. I set the temp on the thermostat and left the room. I came back and it was still warm. I found that the fan on the AC unit wasn't working. I told the clerk and he had me change rooms. The second room had the same problem as the first. I went back and the clerk got me into another room. Other then the greasy hand prints on the headboard, that could only prove what the last guest were doing in there; the room was nice. The next night I went to the restaurant. I gave my order to the waitress and a few minutes later another waitress asked me what i ordered and if the previous waitress had put my order in. The second waitress was rude and I don't know why she even came by. I was sitting there eating when my drink was running low. I was looking for my waitress and she was over at some guys table smooching all over him. Then they got up and went outside to smoke. I was able to get miss rude waitress to bring me some water. I was walking through the lobby one evening and two of the hotel staff were having a good ol' shouting battle. Both were in each other face and scream about something. When I got up in the morning, there was no bill slid under my door. I went down to ask for my bill. They told me they would not give me my bill until I was ready to actually leave. I inquired about how long the hotel had been there. I was told six years. The hotel looks like it's 20 years old. The carpet looks warn out and dirty. There is a thermostat in the hall way that is busted and just hanging there. If you ever lived in public housing, then this hotel will feel like home. I would have to fall on hard times if I decided to stay at this hotel again. May 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Traveler I don't travel that much, however when I do I have always used Holiday Inn Hotel Brand. I feel like I have been let down over the past few years by the Holiday Inn's Hotel Brand. This year is no exception. The stay at the Birmingham - Homewood Holiday Inn hotel started off on the wrong foot. On arrival there was no one at the front desk and it took 10 minute or little more before someone showed up. When I got checked in and entered into my room there was no remote for the TV. As I was looking around the room I pulled the mattress away from the head broad, hoping the remote had fell down there, boy was that a mistake there was hair and a pill of some sort, it looked as if it had never been cleaned. The water issue that I have read about in the reviews of this hotel has not been fixed, it take more than 15 min before the water warms up. I would not recommend this Hotel and will not be staying here when I am in town. I wish I could convert my points over to another brand of hotel April 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Things are improving! The newly renovated lobby and restaurant look great.  Goodbye old latex pillows and useless bands around them! Hello brand new dacron polyester pillows! Wifi was not available in our 5th floor room except when we stood near the hall door. But we had bath exhaust in this room Now all they need is to 1. Tuck the larger pillows into the case pocket to protect them, 2. Replace damaged spreads, 3. Fold spreads after drying so they do not make a wrinkled, used-looking bed, 4. Buy higher quality food (two red potatoes do not substitute for a baked potato), 5. Extend WiFi for all rooms.  April 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of response by the front desk After leaving the hotel, my wife discovedred that she had lost a pair of perscription sun glasses. We called and were told to call the next morning and ask for house keeping. We called for house keeeping the next day and got no answer and the mail box was full. We called the front desk again and explained the problem. The lady at the desk took our information and said she would call us back. This lack of response is disappointing and unlike any other experience we have had at other Holiday Inns. We do not have the name of the lady with whom we spoke or it would have been included. April 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst experience I have had at a Holiday Inn I had to have my room key reprogrammed every day due to being locked out of my room. The wifi never worked. The business center was closed the entire time I was there. It took about 15 minutes each morning for the water to get hot enough for me to take a shower. I had to leave early to the airport and could not get a receipt when I checked out, the desk clerk said that it (computer) was processing. I can only say that I use Holiday Inn hotels regularly on my business travels, and this hotel was unique with all the issues. I will never stay at this one again. I will be staying at the Hilton just down the street. April 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service I had great stay at this hotel. Great experience with front desk staff Beverly, she was very nice and have excellent customer skills. March 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a great hotel. This place is a very solid ten. I recommend booking with the breakfast. Great bar area for nightly entertaining. Once you get to your room you just want to book for a few extra days. Hotel is also located just minutes in any direction to Birminghams best restaurants, malls and attractions. March 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Birmingham Checked in @ 4PM. Room din't have towels in room yet. Toilet paper holder would come out of the vanity. The fan didn't work in the bathroom, but that. Didn't make any difference because there was no hot water in the shower. I was told that the hot water system was worked on the day before, but appears toy not to our room. I am a Priority club member and like to stay at Holiday Inn when I travel, but I won't stay there again. February 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bloomington, Il Enjoyed our stay. Good restaurant and bartender was very nice. February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AWESOME I can not express enough my gratitude and thankfulness for the wonderful staff, rooms, restaurant, and overall experience I had with Holiday Inn Homewood. I was stuck due to the weather in Birmingham on my way to Dothan AL to my Grandmothers funeral. I arrived and there were no rooms available. I went to the conference room to lay on the floor and a sweet employee brought me a fold away bed, pillow and blanket. The staff worked their butts off to accommodate everyone working 2 days straight cooking, bar tending, registration, phone calls and all the other duties required with a minimal staff. Thank you for helping me to be safe, warm, fed and comfortable!!! I will definitely recommend your hotel to everyone I know. January 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good overnight stay on a road trip We weren't actually stopping in Birmingham to see the city, but just passing through on a road trip. The location is very close to the highway and the staff was friendly. Overall, a good stay. If passing through again, we'll drive a little extra if we have to, but we'll stay here. January 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very quiet and comfortable The hotel is a little difficult to find especially in the dark, however the room was very quiet and there are plenty of eating places in the area. I did experience some problems with the phones, mainly no dial tone, however the front desk attendant came up and fixed them. Also the internet signal was extremely weak on the end room. Overall I would certaintly recommend this property. January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just a quick night Excellent hotel..close to restaurants and shopping...good locale..great price..great staff. December 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terribly unclean experience. This was my first time at this Birmingham location. When I checked in there was no recognition for being a Platinum Ambassador member, not even a bottle of water. Tried the restaurant for dinner, just a burger & fries but it came on a dirty plate, I will say the young man working the bar that took my order was very friendly and courteous. The bathroom in my room had a very strong urine smell like the floor or toilet had not been sanitized (I covered the floor with the extra towels before walking barefoot on it). Bed was comfortable but the sheets were quite worn. Got in late the 2nd evening and gave the restaurant another try via room service, the grilled chicken sandwich was pretty much inedible and the utensils were dirty. I would be very hesitant to stay at this hotel again. December 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by messed up my credit card.....Over charged me 300 dollars Everything was good but they overcharged me 300 dollars and made my account overdrawn November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by room comfort The beds were very comfortable and the room was very nice. The layout of the room was great. Front desk was very helpful and friendly! The dining area was spacious and the workers were very friendly also.We would stay there again. November 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service at Breakfast I wish every restaurant had a server like the lady that ran the breakfast cafe. The breakfast was excellent, she was very attentive, super polite, and had me in and out just as quick as I needed. I was delighted to tip her well during both of my recent stays. The only con I'd have is a couple of my rooms have had musty smell coming from the AC unit. November 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Comfortable I enjoyed my stay. My room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will stay again. October 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room and Accomadations Our stay was great. Front desk staff were great. Very courteous and helpful. The accomadations were very nice. Entire motel was clean and neat. Everything was top notch. I will definitely return and stay again. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Staff at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. This facility is tucked back off the road, a little bit difficult to find. It was very clean and the breakfast wonderful. Plan on staying here again. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by google map directions We used Google Map Directions to your location and got lost for 30 minutes. The front desk said we were the 10th people in two days. You need to correct this with Google Maps! September 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Staff and club membership means nothing here! Arrived to find the desk unmanned, took over 5 minutes and the bartender had to come off his smoke break to check me in. Was not greeted, no acknowledgement and room keys not made. At dinner had bartender "Joey" serve myself and a partner we go to order and Joey takes my order then walks away not taking my partners order, then after I finish my dinner Joey just took my drink glass and did not ask or offer another, guess he was in a hurry to get rid of us. Then we walked to the elevator to find the young lady behind the desk playing games on her cell phone, was that what she was doing earlier when I tried to check in? Well needless to say I will NEVER stay at this hotel again when in Birmingham, I was supposed to stay two nights but I checked out the very next morning and moved to another hotel. September 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place, room service did not knock when changing I stayed there on business, and it was one of the nicer holiday inns I have been to. Strangely, after my room had already been cleaned and bed was made, room service barged into my room without knocking right after i had gotten out of the shower. Luckily I was able to cover up and make my presence known. I did not bring it up with the manager right away out of embarrassment, however that is entirely unacceptable. September 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by They need a trained cook. The cook didn't know how to make basted eggs. Instead of having the waitress come back and ask for an alternative, he send out scrambled eggs. On top of that, it took so long that the medium breakfast steak was so well done that it was dry and black. By the way, basted eggs are just sunny side up, cooked with a little bit of water under a cover to cook the white and leave the yolk soft. They are really easy to make. Signage to find the hotel is poor. Might be a little better in the daylight. August 27, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading