• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 11.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 15 fee for the first night and a 10 fee for each additional night with a cap of 150. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in, along with vaccination records, etc.
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Concord Mills Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:120
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:98
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0534

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in
View More

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in the University East Business Park and near both the Research Park and Innovation Business Park. With free WIFI, you can keep in touch with home or the office.

If you're looking for conveniently located hotels in Charlotte, NC, we're the perfect choice. We are about eight miles from downtown Charlotte and the Bank of America Stadium, home to the Carolina Panthers. The thrill of Lowe's Motor Speedway is just five miles away. Our hotel's location near UNC-C makes it easy to catch a 49ers game or visit on-campus attractions like the Botanical Gardens.

When it comes to hotels near UNC-C, we've got the best amenities for your extended stay. The Fitness Center is open 24 hours a day, so you can work out any time. Other amenities include a DVD lending library and free guest laundry facilities. The Candlewood Cupboard sells an array of meals, snacks and drinks at value prices. Call today and make yourself at home at our Charlotte hotel!

View Less
Features
Whether you're here for a short time or an extended stay, our hotel's location in Charlotte, NC near UNC is the ideal choice. Each of our suites has free WIFI and a full kitchen.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 288 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 The staff makes the difference I`m in the Holiday Inn Charlotte-Center City since year. Inside it is was you expect from a good Holiday Inn in USA. Clean, good Bed, everything working fine. The difference in Charlotte-Center City is the staff. They try to anything for you. You only have to ask them. They know a lot about restaurants and bars around and can help you to find what you need. To start from the center of charlotte is also very nice. To go to a restaurant or bar, everything is only a few steps from the hotel. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Great experience for a trip taken on super short notice. I find Holiday Inn to be reliable and this hotel was especially nice. September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wish I could've stayed longer! My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our night here! It was very close to the places we wanted to go. The staff were very friendly and I can't wait to get the chance to go back. September 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I am used to Holiday Inn's having continental breakfast. The hotel restaurant offered oatmeal at a very reasonable price and a breakfast buffet. The business center computers were giving problems so the Front Office offered to print boarding passes. Very helpful. September 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Remedial Staff Training Needed The staff and service at this hotel are not up to par with the IHG standards... and I have stayed at numerous IHG hotels and have never been treated so discourteously and unprofessional as I experienced at this hotel. Recommend remedial training to the staff on how to provide customer service beginning with a simple greeting and customer acknowledgment as well as recognition for rewards club members. A simple smile, hello, and "how can I help you" can go a long way; having none of this is unacceptable. Further, the front desk staff need to know how to explain a point professionally without exhibiting personal attitudes or making misleading statements to avoid additional questions because they "don't want to deal with that". If they don't know the answer, they need to ask management for clarification, and if management does not know they need to go to their higher ups. Skirting the issue by avoidance or deception is not acceptable. Additional note: the bathroom tub/shower/curtain had a mildew smell. The recommendation from the front desk to the cleaning staff was to spray febreeze and turn up the AC. Another guest wanted a new room because of the smell and was told that was not possible. Definitely not good customer relations. September 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by "Room type is not guaranteed"-check-in staff I was not given the room type I had paid for/described in the confirmation email. Check-in staff informed me that the "room type is not guaranteed", well I wish I had known that before I paid for a suite. Overall, I appreciate the location of this hotel. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by As good as it gets From the time I arrived, until the time I left (which was a week) each and every member of the Hotel Staff was delivering excellent customer service. They went out of their way to make sure I was happy and satisfied. Everyone had a smile and kind words and a Thank you. There is no way I could have been happier. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful and knowledge of staff Needed supplies for Hospitality Room and Shuttle driver was knowledgeable and very helpful in driving us to and finding the places where we needed to go to get supplies. Front Desk Staff answered questions and was very courteous. Staff waiting on our banquet was courteous and friendly and helpful. September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Review The staff was very friendly and were very helpful. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by High class This property is so much more than your typical Holiday Inn. it is definitely high class. The new décor is as nice as that in the Omni a few blocks over. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous. It would be nice if you could have various grades of Holiday Inn, this location would be at the top, Holiday Inn Elite. Keep up the good work! September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Holiday Inn Experience to date I normally don't give high across the board remarks for hotels. In this case however, it truly is the best experience I have had at any IHG property. The staff were more knowledgeable, helpful, courteous, and attentive to any issue I had than at any hotel in recent memory. The facilities, already well kept are being updated even further. At first I thought this would be a problem, however it was not even noticeable. The rooftop pool, is truly one of the most incredible Holiday Inn features I have ever seen. I would even recommend staying here just to be able to experience the downtown Charlotte view while sitting in the hot tub or swimming. The location of the hotel, dead center downtown makes it easy to attend to any business and walk back to the hotel. Plus the parking, something I thought would be a problem, is well established and easily billed to your room. Overall, as I said, it was a surprising visit. One that reminded me of how much staff and management makes a difference when it comes to a hotel experience. This staff deserves much praise, especially in comparison to some of the more recent IHG properties I have visited. I would strongly recommend this property, and have every intention of staying here again if I am offered the opportunity. September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convention Stay Excellent hotel and accommodations. Has easy distance to Convention Center and area restaurants. The employees were courteous and greeted me warmly. I would recommend this hotel for future stays, but I am not familiar with the other hotels in Charlotte and how they compare for value. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Great location in downtown Charlotte. We walked to the Convention Center and the many restaurants downtown. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the amenities met our expectations, and of course the staff was very courteous and efficient. We did not use the in-hotel dining room, but friends did and recommended it. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel in Uptown Charlotte I've been staying at this hotel for several years now. I've been staying here for the simple reason that it's the best hotel around. August 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not a bad choice This is a decent choice for Uptown Charlotte. PROS: The hotel makes check in and check out easy for repeat customers. The amenities are nice and included. The rooms are reasonable and clean. The hotel allows me to apply my IHG benefits to my frequent flyer program. Connected to the Wake Forest Building. CONS: Some IHG benefits were absent on my last visit (access to the lounge, complimentary daily water) and I did not have time to speak with the staff to correct/inquire about it. Elevators can be slow, give yourself time. You will have to go outside while most others in this area have inside connections to avoid any bad weather. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a Great Experience The staff was wonderful and the location excellent. We spent most of our time at Carolina's Medical Center so the down time at the hotel was very important and we were not disappointed. August 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Shuttle service was excellent. Parking was a hassle, too far from lobby if self parking. Desk personnel and shuttle driver were fantastic! Room was fine except for a "sticking" front door. August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Staff, service, cleanliness and value make this hotel the best in Uptown Charlotte. I've stayed at this hotel now for several years. Always enjoy everything about it. Max Cuellar August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Two letters that sum up our entire weekend.... JJ!!!!!!!! I've got two letters to sum up our entire weekend.... JJ!!!!! He made our entire stay more like home than staying at a hotel. There wasn't a single time that he saw a single person from our group that he didn't call us by name, ask where another one of our friends was, ask where we were going etc etc. He is an absolute quality addition to your property and one of the best agents I've came in contact with. I came from Georgia to visit all my friends in Charlotte for the recent Gay Pride festival and although it started a little bumpy, JJ went above and beyond to make sure the rest of our weekend was flawless. From Bella, Angela, Jason, Steven and myself we want to thank your property and your staff (especially JJ) for an amazing weekend!! I make several trips a year as Charlotte is my home and I believe I've found my new property to stay at!!! Thank you all!! Rooms were amazing and clean, easy access to everything in downtown, property was impeccable, staff agents were perfect. I have nothing but positive words for this property. August 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stupid parking! This is at best an average place to stay. To me having to walk a half mile, ride two elevators and pay $16 to park is just stupid. I will look for another Hotel next time I go to Charlotte. August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and awesome Staff. Perfect for business. I was in walking distance from what I needed to do. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk employees Nick and JJ at the front desk are awesome! The room was clean and the bed was comfy. I really like staying at the Holiday Inn City Center in Charlotte, NC. I stay here when I come to town when they have room. August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable beds and great rooms The rooms are extremely nice and the beds will have you sleeping through breakfast. There are several hidden fees so make sure you credit card can handle that. But all in all, a beautiful hotel downtown. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Place to Stay Great property, Great team, would always recommend to those staying in the Charlotte Uptown Area. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay in City Center Another nice stay at Holiday Inn-City Center. This was my first visit on a weekend but the location was perfect for the two events I was in town to attend (at Soho Bistro and Epicentre). I was upgraded to a suite which is a very nice room but has an unusually air conditioning arrangement. The AC unit is in the bedroom only and the sitting area could get a little stuffy due to minimal air flow. Besides that the visit was great. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay as Always My wife and I stay here as a get-a-way from Spartanburg. As soon as you walk in you are greated by Jay-Jay, the Ambassitor of Downtown. He is wonderful and is always willing to give you some insider tips on where to go and what to eat. I would suggest getting a room on the 3rd or 4th floor facing the main street as the veiw is wonderful of the street and everyone on it. If you want to see the city, go to the 15th floor and stay there. As soon as you walk out the door you are in the middle of everything. August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Uptown Location Hotel meets business travel needs. Valet service is excellent. Rooms are basic. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleased My husband and I traveled to Charlotte for my birthday we are a young couple who enjoy a good time. This hotel met every expectation. The hotel staff upon arrival were awesome. He was very upbeat and professional. The suite was beautiful and clean. The rooftop was great as well great photo opportunities. The bar downstairs was awesome staff was friendly and made great drinks. We really enjoyed ourselves and will be back and have recommended to all our family and friends. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service & Property We have stayed at this hotel a number of times and the staff is very helpful and friendly! Hotel management & staff surprised my wife and I with a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for our wedding anniversary. I know this is not the norm and would not expect it all the time, they also tried to get us dinner reservations at one of the restaurants that was booked. Great property; clean lobby, restaurant and rooms! I would recommend this hotel to anyone... August 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by cheapo toiletries The soap is just big enough to wash a small cat and the shampoo is like Ajax. The staff is great, but the quality of the amenities goes down a notch every year I stay there. August 10, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Entrance Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Entrance Lobby Lobby Exterior Feature Scenery/Landscape Scenery / Landscape Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading