• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 11.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 15 fee for the first night and a 10 fee for each additional night with a cap of 150. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in, along with vaccination records, etc.
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Concord Mills Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:120
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:98
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0534

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in
View More

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in the University East Business Park and near both the Research Park and Innovation Business Park. With free WIFI, you can keep in touch with home or the office.

If you're looking for conveniently located hotels in Charlotte, NC, we're the perfect choice. We are about eight miles from downtown Charlotte and the Bank of America Stadium, home to the Carolina Panthers. The thrill of Lowe's Motor Speedway is just five miles away. Our hotel's location near UNC-C makes it easy to catch a 49ers game or visit on-campus attractions like the Botanical Gardens.

When it comes to hotels near UNC-C, we've got the best amenities for your extended stay. The Fitness Center is open 24 hours a day, so you can work out any time. Other amenities include a DVD lending library and free guest laundry facilities. The Candlewood Cupboard sells an array of meals, snacks and drinks at value prices. Call today and make yourself at home at our Charlotte hotel!

View Less
Features
Whether you're here for a short time or an extended stay, our hotel's location in Charlotte, NC near UNC is the ideal choice. Each of our suites has free WIFI and a full kitchen.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 145 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Friendly staff, clean rooms and comfortable beds. The front desk was very accommodating regarding an early check in request. The hotel is clean and welcoming. November 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service; good food; staff was friendly; bed comfortable The bed was more comfortable than my bed at home. We felt at home staying there. You can't beat the value with the breakfast they provide. I did not expect all the hot foods as a choice. It was great! I highly recommend this hotel and will stay again when back in the area. November 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Restful, clean, and pleasant staff I have had to spend quite a bit of time in the area and chose this hotel for all the qualities - comfort, cleanliness, pleasant, helpful staff, and value. I enjoy being able to grab something to eat before heading out, as well as some great coffee. November 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice accomodations On my business trip to this nice little town I must say the hotel was very clean and comfortable. November 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAY Very nice place to stay. Food was good. Rooms are great. Many Thanks November 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Hotel is nice and convenient, front desk staff is good but had me for two rooms for one night instead of one room for two nights, then failed to cancel the extra room resulting in a no show charge which ultimately did get reversed. The hotel was full of youth hockey and lacrosse teams and the boys tended to run and play games in the halls in the 9 and 10:00 time frame resulting in some guests calling the front desk to restore some order. Will we stay here again, yes but will make sure we have some quiet time in the evenings. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service We enjoyed our stay here. The registration desk employees were very helpful and the ladies in the breakfast area were very efficient and very happy and enjoyable to be around. The hotel was very clean and the employees worked hard to keep it that way. October 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Set the alam clock do not depend on fgront desk Bad staff, bad service. Need more professional desk people. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by General hotel location and stay This was my 4th stay at this hotel. I originally stayed because I always look for Holiday Inn Express when booking hotel reservations. I like knowing that where ever I am, I know what to expect when staying at a HIE. This hotel is very conveniently located in that you don't have to get into Charlotte's traffic too much before arriving and there are enough restaurants and stores to access during your stay as needed. It is located in an area that appears safe and the grounds are well kept. I have never had any issues with parking. When I had not been able to book a HIE due to location or price (not all HIE's offer state rates and I am a state employee), the other hotel brands do not offer the same consistencies as I have mentioned. October 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by no morning newspaper On a Wednesday morning, there was no USA newspaper available at 7:30 AM. No apology was offered and no adjustments provided. Just a fact of life. October 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful, clean and comfortable. Enjoyed the 24 hour availability of coffee. But prefer to buy breakfast. Breakfast is my favorite meal and this one just didn't make the mark. October 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bedding, secure feeling and over all greatness I always look for a Holiday Inn Express hotel when traveling; it is always consistent with the things I am looking for..... love this hotel. October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service This property has an excellent staff and accommodations. I will use it again when in the area. October 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is awesome Thin walls can hear everything. Hotel is very clean and staff is best anywhere. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The bed was most comfortable. The breakfast was good, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I plan to return to this hotel for future business trips. October 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay This is a great hotel only about 10 minutes for the college with only 3 turns. The staff is very nice. I often go to Charlotte and I will definitely stay here again. October 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Visit This was my third time staying at this hotel. I enjoyed my stay. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel I have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express on multiple occasions, and have always been happy. On this trip I Stayed here 1 night for a business conference. The hotel was very clean, and the rooms appear to have been remodeled recently because everything looks new. The staff was great and always made sure I had what I needed. September 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Good location, close to restaurants and shopping. Comfortable accommodations, good coffee and flavored creamer. Nice breakfast waiting for you every morning. September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Very Clean Rooms Great place to relax and still be close to Charlotte. So many places to eat in the area. September 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Outdoor appearance The customers created an exterior issue as they hung out in the parking lot at the rear of the property and it appeared they were drinking as alchol bottles were placed by the rear exit door. This was noted as I left around 8:00 am from the property. September 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Really Surprised We went for the weekend to attend a football game. When we got to the hotel after driving for 5 hours we checked in and went to our room. The hallways were hot and stuffy like the a/c was not working. We tried to enter our room but the key did not work. So my boyfriend went back down to the front desk and came back up with the prgrammed key. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. The next day we went to the game and upon returning from the game we tried to enter through the side door. Again our key did not work, we went to the front desk and my boyfriend voiced his mind about having to come back to the front desk. He did speak to the manager, I dont know what was discussed but he was upset and told me never to book at this hotel again. I was really surprised September 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff, clean room and good value. I travel for business a lot and this say was a pleasure at a fair price. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sweet H/I Express Great little place to stay. Convenient to several chain restaurants, clean and quiet rooms, and nice little courtyard to enjoy a cigar! My only complaint and this is for ALL Holiday Inn Express - The breakfast is REALLY BORING and the pancake machine is a 50-50 proposition as to whether it will work or not. September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Clean, new hotel convenient to activities on southeast side of Charlotte. Only problem is the busy highway. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Nice room - temp good - wish there had been a mini-fridge in the room. That was the only amenity lacking. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Nice hotel Staff was very attentive. Rooms were clean and spacious. Look forward to using the pool next time if the water is warm. August 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Road trip to Myrtle Beach Great curb appeal. Staff made you feel welcome at check-in. Room was clean and inviting. I slept well and felt rested when I woke the next morning. August 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room -- Inattentive Staff The property is new, the room is nice, but the staff was completely inattentive to my needs, offered little or no help to iron out my difficulties, and rarely moved from behind the counter. If you stay here, expect to fin for yourself. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Conference in Matthews I booked rooms for fifteen people for three nights and this hotel was an excellent choice for us. All were quite pleased with their rooms and the staff were very helpful making sure each person's room was ready when we began arriving. The rock quarry behind the hotel was no problem at all and we never heard anything from it during the evening/night/morning. Note: the only reason I did not give a full five stars in all categories was that my bed was a little firm for my liking. August 20, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Entrance Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Entrance Lobby Lobby Exterior Feature Scenery/Landscape Scenery / Landscape Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading