• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 11.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 15 fee for the first night and a 10 fee for each additional night with a cap of 150. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in, along with vaccination records, etc.
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Concord Mills Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:120
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:98
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0534

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in
View More

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in the University East Business Park and near both the Research Park and Innovation Business Park. With free WIFI, you can keep in touch with home or the office.

If you're looking for conveniently located hotels in Charlotte, NC, we're the perfect choice. We are about eight miles from downtown Charlotte and the Bank of America Stadium, home to the Carolina Panthers. The thrill of Lowe's Motor Speedway is just five miles away. Our hotel's location near UNC-C makes it easy to catch a 49ers game or visit on-campus attractions like the Botanical Gardens.

When it comes to hotels near UNC-C, we've got the best amenities for your extended stay. The Fitness Center is open 24 hours a day, so you can work out any time. Other amenities include a DVD lending library and free guest laundry facilities. The Candlewood Cupboard sells an array of meals, snacks and drinks at value prices. Call today and make yourself at home at our Charlotte hotel!

View Less
Features
Whether you're here for a short time or an extended stay, our hotel's location in Charlotte, NC near UNC is the ideal choice. Each of our suites has free WIFI and a full kitchen.
Announcements
All guests must have a valid ID and credit card to check in.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 108 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bed to soft Day we checked in there was a two inch waterbug running around in the bathroom. We did not have hot water in the bathroom sink for two of the three days we stayed there. June 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet nights sleep Nice clean room, but the furniture could use a little updating. This is the first Holiday in that I have stayed in where there was absolutely no recognotion of my status as a Platinum member and the desk clerk even asked me if I was a rewards memeber on check in. She acted as she was not even aware of it when I told her. The staff was pleasant and friendly, but they have the slowest elevator I have ever encountered. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay at Holiday Inn Express in Pineville,NC We were in town for the weekend to help our daughter move and needed a place to sleep. It was better than a place to sleep, as we also enjoyed a nice breakfast. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone, anytime. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best Holiday Inn Expresses Recently stayed at the Pineville location and had to write a review. Staff was very friendly, the hotel was very clean, and it was the quietest Holiday Inn Express I've ever stayed in. The breakfast was the standard Holiday Inn fare, but it was cooked well. Great value. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service & Staff This was our second stay at this location and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay both times. Everything was clean and the staff was outstanding both times. The breakfast was good and hot and a very nice selection. Close to everything we were looking for and close to good restaurants. Thanks to your staff. May 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed to the point of never staying at another Holiday Inn location I have been staying at Holiday Inn locations over the past 10yrs steadily...and with an average of 1 week a month in hotels - obviously staying at other hotels brands as well. However, following my recent scheduled trip to Charlotte, I do not plan to stay in Holiday Inn locations again. I made an error. No question there. My trip planned for 1 night was actually originally planned for 2 and I did not show up the first night. Yes, my error. However it is evidently Holiday Inn policy to cancel the entire booking - with no notification whatsoever. Therefore I arrived at what I thought (again, mistakenly) my night to stay at Holiday Inn and was informed that I had been billed for my room the night of the "no show" (understood) and my remaining night was cancelled and they were sold out. Sorry - not much convo...too bad so sad. Not only am I a rewards member (can get me a bottle of water but not any consideration evidently) but I stay at this particular hotel consistently, despite it being small, off the beaten path (I have actually convinced others to stay here over the years, but they do not return). Charging for the night I did not arrive, I get that..but the rest of the policy is poor customer service. Thank You and Goodbye. April 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cozy The staff, furniture quality, room cleanliness, and breakfast were good or excellent. As others have indicated the room is a little small for the price, but not much the hotel can do about that at this point. April 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home for a month Gloria and her staff made my home away from home a wonderful stay. A big thank you to all. Brady March 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, tiny room, etc. The King bed room was smaller, and more cramped than any we have ever experienced with other Holiday Inn Express hotels across the US. We stayed for one week and noticed that our carpeting was not vacuumed. Pillows were in bad condition, and the sheets not changed. The coffee and tea service in the lobby was not tended to. All hot drinks were lukewarm at best. In addition, the fire alarm went off. We immediately left our room. It is a loud, and piercing sound. Very frightening frightening We were out of our room for about 30 minutes. The staff said someone was fixing the security system? We would have switched to another hotel if we weren't so busy with business. Not a pleasant experience. March 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by not a good place to stay I had seven rooms for a business trip. the price was very high. we did receive a gift card with the rooms so it did make the price a little better. we stayed one night. the next morning we had to be at our meeting early but when we got up there was no hot water. the guys had to have a cold shower or no shower. the iron in my room did not work so I had to go to another room and get one so I could iron my clothes before the cold shower. when I called the front desk there was little to no concern for the water issue. only we are having trouble. we had never stayed with this chain before on a business trip but my daughter is a member of your group and assured me it was always good. well it did not turn out that way for us on the 18th of feb. anyway would not stay with this chain again. sk March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Quiet Up to standards. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Good location with easy access to restaurants and highway system. No complaints, second time I have stayed, will do so again. January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific Staff! I absolutely adore the good people working there. Even though I stayed only for 7 nights, I couldn't be any happier for the lady that serviced the breakfast room, the housekeeping ladies and the lobby staff. If there are 2 complaints I have they would be: 1) Despite the hotel rating and rates, it doesn't provide Guest Laundry service. 2) To lesser extent: I had a bit trouble getting help when I couldn't get into my room because it was way past midnight and there was no one at the lobby. That happened once. Would definitely consider coming back to the hotel! January 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good sleep and great breakfast. Everything I expected was realized. The bed was fine, the heat as I wished, and the room was enough. I will surely use your hotel when visiting NC again. December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My first trip to Charlotte Thank you for such a great experience during my first trip to Charlotte! The hotel staff were very friendly and were able to answer all of my "first time visitor" questions! The location was close to shopping, dining and an easy drive to downtown Charlotte. Nice and quiet, yet near everything I needed. December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff Great facility and very helpful front desk staff on the evening of our arrival who was extremely helpful in recommending local places to eat(many) and even printing off directions for us. December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good experience Very easy access from I485, quiet and confortable! November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, great location Staff is fantastic. Plenty of good places to eat very close. November 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by SLOW Elevator The hotel was okay. The heater blew incredibly dry air. It was so bad I turned it off in the middle of the night. I'd rather be cold than parched. The elevator was unacceptably slow. I waited about 5 minutes in the morning. There is only one elevator that runs extremely slowly. This was exacerbated by the maids moving their carts in and out during the time when everyone is trying to get to breakfast and off to work. No healthy choices for breakfast. At minimum it would be nice to have some light yogurt. How about some fresh fruit? The wine choices for happy hour were horrible. Barefoot Merlot and Muscato. Who drinks that? YUK! November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Charlotte are option Very clean hotel. Nice friendly staff that greeted me upon my arrival. Room was automatically upgraded and was perfect. Easy access to 485. Thank you to this location. Will stay here again. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel, very friendly staff the hotel was clean and comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and courteous. November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Great Value This hotel was in a great location for catching public transportation to get downtown to the convention center for the conference I was attending. The current public train system serves a limited area and this hotel was very near the 2 'end of the line' public train stations. Very convenient! Also dining and shopping were extremely close (walking distance). No need to get a hotel downtown, stay here and use public transportation. Great hotel, friendly service. November 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Accomadations Rooms are too small. Also amenities like bath soap were given out like it was rationed.. The toilet tissue was awful. It had to be the cheapest you can buy. coffee was not replenished in the room and something as menial as a shower cap was omitted. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly service I am always treated with polite and professional service. November 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Room and Great Guest Service This hotel had a very friendly, accomodating front desk staff They were knowledgable about the area and events happening during the time I was there. The room was about what I expected, no surprises, good or bad. My only complaint was that over the weekend, the cleaning staff were very late in getting the room put back together. On Sunday I arrived back at the hotel at 5 PM and no one had been in to do anything with the room. October 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfied Clean and well furnished in good, safe location. Staff was able to provided requested adjoining rooms. Several nice restaurants in walking distance. Nice breakfast. October 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by convenient location for the night Did not stay until breakfast so can't comment on that, but the room was clean, comfortable and we were able to relax. We were traveling and friends live near the hotel, so we chose this one for our stop instead of going on for another two hours into NC. The hotel was good, but not as nice as some of the other Holiday Inn Express hotels we have stopped at during this road trip. Staff was courteous and seemed to be all business which was a little out of character from all the other places we have stayed. We would recommend the hotel, but will probably not go back unless our friends need us. October 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Couldn't have been happier! I had the pleasure of staying at your hotel last weekend and was extremely pleased with the experience. The room as well as the public areas were clean and well maintained. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty and hot. I also liked the fact that the dining area was on the second floor and away from any noise from the lobby. That was a nice feature. One of the things that most impressed me was the friendliness of the staff. Everyone we came in contact with from the front desk to the housekeeping staff was extremely polite and courteous. They each had a smile and friendly word when we saw them. Based on the positive experience we had and the cost of the room, I wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend your hotel. Keep up the good work and I hope to be back soon! October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for the price Very comfortable bed, clean room, excellent free breakfast - probably the best free one we've ever had. Staff were very pleasant September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Small but Nice This is one of the smaller HI Express locations that I've stayed at, but it was very nice. Even though it's relatively close to the highway, I heard ZERO noise in my room at night. The check-in was spot-on, the staff friendly, and the room was cleaned well every day. September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel This hotel was clean and modern. I got a great nights sleep. And the breakfast was quite satisfying. It was a "no-surprises" stay. September 24, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Entrance Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Entrance Lobby Lobby Exterior Feature Scenery/Landscape Scenery / Landscape Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Availability
Loading