• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
(e.g. Jul-15-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 11.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 15 fee for the first night and a 10 fee for each additional night with a cap of 150. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in, along with vaccination records, etc.
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Concord Mills Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:120
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:98
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0534

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in
View More

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in the University East Business Park and near both the Research Park and Innovation Business Park. With free WIFI, you can keep in touch with home or the office.

If you're looking for conveniently located hotels in Charlotte, NC, we're the perfect choice. We are about eight miles from downtown Charlotte and the Bank of America Stadium, home to the Carolina Panthers. The thrill of Lowe's Motor Speedway is just five miles away. Our hotel's location near UNC-C makes it easy to catch a 49ers game or visit on-campus attractions like the Botanical Gardens.

When it comes to hotels near UNC-C, we've got the best amenities for your extended stay. The Fitness Center is open 24 hours a day, so you can work out any time. Other amenities include a DVD lending library and free guest laundry facilities. The Candlewood Cupboard sells an array of meals, snacks and drinks at value prices. Call today and make yourself at home at our Charlotte hotel!

View Less
Features
Whether you're here for a short time or an extended stay, our hotel's location in Charlotte, NC near UNC is the ideal choice. Each of our suites has free WIFI and a full kitchen.
Announcements
All guests must have a valid ID and credit card to check in.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 90 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Restful stay Attentive staff, clean rooms, and great breakfast. Will be back. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So Pleasantly Surprised Most comfortable sleep EVER for me at a hotel. A wedding weekend...and we were frantic messes...and your front desk staff was delightful! October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Although check-in is not until 3:00 they had my room cleaned & I was able to check-in earlier. It was nicely sized and very tidey. Breakfast the next morning was good and filling. The staff was very friendly especially when I kept calling about the printer ( my error). If I'm in the area again, I will not hesitate to stay. Oh yeah, there's plenty of stores and restaurants nearby. Being a northern girl I was more than delighted to see Krispy Kreme right across the street! October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, great location This was in a great location for us in town for a wedding. Bed was comfortable, room was clean, but no fridge or microwave. Breakfast was nice and staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a large group and they were very accomodating. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Friendly For the money this is a clean and new hotel. Several decent restaurants within a mile (Outback, Buff Wild wings, Bonefish, etc, etc). Convenient and clean. September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Great Hotel that awards state employee rate. Great Hotel that awards state employee rate. Great Hotel that awards state employee rate. September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by over all a great experance man of few words absolutely stay again what more can I say,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, September 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Would NOT RECOMMEND!!! I was please with the staff service. They are friendly and helped me with my FedEx shipment. I am not at all happy with the condition of the hotel and would not recommend it to anyone to stay there. The hotel is old and needs major renovations. The hallway to the rooms was warm and musty. The room looked decent but the bed dressing has a very sweaty odor. I had to spray my cologne to mask the smell. Not sure if it was clean or just washed without enough bleach or detergent. Vuth Ith August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Felt like family! Everyone was great, staff takes great care of you and met all our needs. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect! Very comfy n quiet, the best service, neat n clean, close to restaurants, we'll stay again. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service Barbara was the front desk person when I arrived. Throughout the evening she was extremely helpful, pleasant and professional. You should clone her and watch your customer scores shoot up Thanks Barbara Tim S . August 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location. We chose this hotel because of the convenience to our destinations in and around the Charlotte area. The property was clean, the staff friendly and helpful. The only issue were the bed pillows, they had better days and needed to be switched out for new. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Needed a fridge Nice just needed a hotel. I wish there were alcoholic beverages available. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable and clean rooms, nice gym and indoor swimming pool. July 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Location Not a convenient entry/exit to go out and return. Guess it is okay if one just checks in, stays the night, and departs. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service and quiet room We enjoyed our stay. Room was pretty quiet and staff was excellent. Very courteous. Room was very clean. July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and Location The staff make you feel right at home! It is my home away from home. July 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel and rooms Need remodeling, small bathroom, poor bedding and seating. July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Consistency in each stay. You can't go wrong with Holiday Inn Express. I love the consistency -- everything as I expect it to be. The front desk staff -- Barbara and Nadia were so very helpful. We had to go back a week later, and they addressed us by our names as we came through the door, before we checked in. Location is great -- many good restaurants nearby. July 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and clean hotel It had been many, many years since we had stayed at a Holiday Inn. I must say my husband and I were pleasantly surprised. The staff was both friendly and professional. The rooms and facilities were clean. The mattress was too firm for my taste but perfect for my husband. We were so busy with my daughter's games which made the breakfast bar was perfect for eating on the run. The location was close to great shopping centers and multiple restaurants. We will undoubtedly stay at this hotel chain in the future. June 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business Travel Love the hotel and location. Excellent hotel staff. My only complaint is the WiFi service could be better with a stronger signal. The chairs in the rooms are uncomfortable seem to slant forward with a low back. Might look good but overall worthless when trying to sit and watch Tv. June 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel in the holiday inn organization ! Chavon was wonderful as well all other staff. Rooms are always clean . June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay This hotel was absolutely beautiful! The hotel staff were professional and accommodating. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The beds were extremely comfortable. There were several amenities available for all hotel guests. I will stay nowhere else when I visit Charlotte, NC. June 9, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Everything typical and fine until early morning call Everything was typical about this stay and with the Holiday Inn Express up until an early morning phone call. The phone call came from a family member also staying there and not an employee to let us know that our vehicle and theirs and 18 others had been broken into!! Apologies were made but noone went out of their way to try and help the guests out. We had to go to them for brooms, trash bags (to cover windows), tape, and anything else that might have been needed. We even cleaned the glass up in the parking lot. Having a background in working at hotels, I would have thought that someone would have been out checking with the guests and seeing if there was anything that they could do to help out. Still concerned as to why the whole thing went unnoticed on night shift. Afterall, there are cameras and it was 20 vehicles total!! June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by one of the best One of the nicest Holiday Inn Express locations I've stayed at. Great room, clean, good location, great friendly staff. Thanks Nelly ! Only complaint was no bacon or sausages at breakfast. Would definitely stay here again. June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay The staff at this location was fast and friendly. Felt like I was at home! May 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to rest I came in for business at the Charlotte Motor Speedway All Star Race May 2013. Upon checking in I met with Nadia, an attractive young lady with an infectious smile and personality. She made the check in process very smooth and passed lots of information about the hotel such as breakfast, etc without coming across as robotic. She is an asset to this location. I enjoyed the stay and look forward to returning. May 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Internet Access is poor the one big issue I had at this hotel was the Internet Access. In room access was terrible. Once you left the room it was OK. Connection kept dropping. May 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall comfortable stay. Had an enjoyable visit and stay. Planned to stay one night but added a second night with ease. Very professional and friendly staff. May 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming and wonderful staff & great room & comfy bed! I am never disappointed with my stays at this hotel. I have been there, fairly often, recently, and always have a great room, enjoy the staff who are very caring of me and the breakfast is great, too. My visits are short & I am not there long, but I can't imagine staying anyplace else. Thanks for a job well done! April 25, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Entrance Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Entrance Lobby Lobby Exterior Feature Scenery/Landscape Scenery / Landscape Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-15-2014)
Check Availability
Loading