• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 11.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 15 fee for the first night and a 10 fee for each additional night with a cap of 150. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in, along with vaccination records, etc.
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Concord Mills Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:120
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:98
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0534

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in
View More

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in the University East Business Park and near both the Research Park and Innovation Business Park. With free WIFI, you can keep in touch with home or the office.

If you're looking for conveniently located hotels in Charlotte, NC, we're the perfect choice. We are about eight miles from downtown Charlotte and the Bank of America Stadium, home to the Carolina Panthers. The thrill of Lowe's Motor Speedway is just five miles away. Our hotel's location near UNC-C makes it easy to catch a 49ers game or visit on-campus attractions like the Botanical Gardens.

When it comes to hotels near UNC-C, we've got the best amenities for your extended stay. The Fitness Center is open 24 hours a day, so you can work out any time. Other amenities include a DVD lending library and free guest laundry facilities. The Candlewood Cupboard sells an array of meals, snacks and drinks at value prices. Call today and make yourself at home at our Charlotte hotel!

View Less
Features
Whether you're here for a short time or an extended stay, our hotel's location in Charlotte, NC near UNC is the ideal choice. Each of our suites has free WIFI and a full kitchen.
Announcements
All guests must have a valid ID and credit card to check in.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 267 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a very pleasant experience the front desk personnel J J and Nick were just great as well as the waitress we had in the dining room. We were there for a funeral and every one showed care and concern for our loss. June 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by May 18, 2014 Not Happy with this hotel and will not stay here again. Did not like having to pay for garage to get out of it because staff did not vadidate our card. Only reembursed $19.00 of the $22of the $22.00 it cost. It was very tramatic. And it was very difficult to acces the garage from the hotel. The bathroom was dusty and the room was not what we were told that we would have a view of downtown. June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and comfortable bed Great customer service. They are really friendly and accommodating. Bedrooms are clean and beds are comfortable. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location Stayed for quick business trip to Charlotte. Hotel is very convenient to downtown. Room and bath were clean and comfortable. June 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Renovation and staff training needed My company frequently utilize this Holiday Inn hotel, due to it's location to our office space. Myself and several other colleagues all agree that the quality of service and the hotel conditions have falling below standard. Collectively, we had key issues, room cleanliness concerns, room keys to rooms that was already occupied. Business travelers, are demanding and derserving of quality accommodations. Recommending our contracted travel agent remove this Holiday Inn location, until renovation and quality of service gets better. We are willing to drive a little further in efforts to stay at a better hotel. Sorry Holiday Inn City Center, we will not be using your brand in the near future. Regards June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WONDERFUL STAFF STAYED HERE RECENTLY FOR A WEDDING. THE STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL IN RECOMMENDING A TOUR OF CHARLOTTE WHICH WE REALLY ENJOYED. THE ROOM WAS COMFORTABLE BUT JUST A LITTLE BIT OF STREET NOISE WE HAD TO ADJUST TO BY SIMPLY TURNING ON THE FAN UNIT TO CONTINOUS FAN AND THAT DROWNED OUT MOST OF THE NOISE. OVERALL A GREAT LOCATION. THE ROOFTOP WEDDING WE ATTENDED WAS FABULOUS! June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great bed, awkward bathroom This was one of the best night's sleep I'd had in a long time. The sink was outside of the bathroom and it was quite awkward and strange. I did not like that. Everything else was great. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay! Everything about my stay was great....the staff were friendly and helpful! Will recommended this hotel! June 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by decent staff were friendly, although valet appeared to be somewhat disgruntled when it was busy on saturday night. beds were not comfy and blankets were mediocre. there is quite a lot of street noise as you are in downtown. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good pillows great pillows and comfortable bed...i would stay here again June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 charlotte project i booked thru my company due to the relationship with Holiday in. the stay was comfortable. thanks June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Room and staff were great Thanks for everything will stay here again on next trip June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Staff were wonderful, very friendly. Rooms were very nice, bed slept great! May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great wedding venue. Guest rooms "not so much". We had a great experience with our rehearsal dinner and rooftop wedding. Staff was experienced and professional. The guest suite (we had a parlor suite) was the most frustrating guest room I ever stayed in. There is no sink in bathroom, the vessel sink outside of bath is so large there is only a tiny amount of counter space. Our rooms needed several repairs that we did not report because we didn't have time. Leg on refrigerator cabinet broken, bed sunk in the middle and the A/C leaked. We just expected better for the money spent. May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Could have earned 5 stars for Overal Experinece I am a platinum member and stay in Charlotte several times a year., I enjoy staying at this property especially during the Nascar Weekend due to the convenience of the activities and entertainment. This is one weekend of the year where I am accompanied by family. We were very disappointed that the pool and hot tub area closed at 10 PM on the weekend. This is a real inconvenience as he weather is beautiful for pool activities. We were run out of the pool by security promptly at 10 PM. The pool should remain open until 12 or why close at all. It is not accessible to anyone except guests and since there is no lifeguard at any time what is the reason for limiting access. This is the time of night adults like to enjoy the pool after the kids go to bed. This was the only deficit of the weekend stay and had this not have happened I could wholeheartedly have awarded this the 5 star rating. May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location What a great location and a great stay. We enjoyed walking around Charlotte and having the hotel right downtown was awesome. If only the hotel could have kept the race weekend revelers a bit more quiet our sleep may have been better. The noise was from the street below and not in the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. May 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great rooms Rooms and Bed were very clean. The rooftop pool was amazing and theres a hot tub. Breakfast was great but PRICEY ($15) for those who do not have it included with your room. My only complaint is that i was NOT notified that i would be charged a deposit fee of $100, But after checkout its returned if charged to a card (~1 business day) and Immediately if paid in cash. PERFECT location to everything downtown. Highly Recommend and would stay again! May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, comfort and hospitality -- home away from home I have stayed at Holiday Inn- Charlotte several times and I am always delighted with the stellar service of the front desk, janitorial staff, the clean room and comfortable beds. Their care is outstanding and I always feel welcome. This stay was outstanding even though they were sold out for several days. I needed a room to see my soap opera, which was having a cliffhanger. Not only were they able to find me a TV to view my soap but they got me a room at the last minute so I could enjoy my soap! This is amazing service to me. Obviously, I come back whenever I am in the area because it feels like home away from home. May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not geared up for tourists Extremely well situated hotel in Uptown Charlotte. Room spacious, well appointed and scrupulously clean, though maid service late in day - generally after I returned from day out! Terrifically friendly staff in restaurant and bar - and good service. Frequent problems with room entry card necessitating trips to reception - on one occasion I was "stuck" on roof as card would not work in lift, and had to use emergency phone. Had asked on arrival and on one other occasion during my stay if I could pay my account by cash on departure and was assured that this would be possible BUT when I was checking out and came to settle my account was told that the balance had already been charged to my Credit Card - this meant I was paying twice for conversion of money from UK Sterling to Dollars and then from Dollars back to Sterling - not acceptable. Receptionist did apologise but offered no way to rectify matter. As a tourist in a City Centre Hotel I would have expected a better array of tourist information and also would have expected the Receptionists to have had a better knowledge of the area. May 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location great location for downtown events. Lots of things to do in walking distance, parking garage was located nicely. The room was a little smaller than normal but was ok. Very clean place! The staff were excellent! May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel Our stay at the Center City Charlotte property was great. The staff was wonderful and took care of our every need. Fanny at the front desk is a great addition to the staff. She was wonderful! May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Accommodations and Convenience We came to Charlotte for the Cher: D2K Concert and had a blast. This hotel was very clean and close to the Arena. The staff, especially JJ and Chelsea were more than helpful. After finding this hotel and being treated so well we will be coming to a lot more concerts in Charlotte and most definitely staying at this hotel. I would recommend this place to everyone going to Charlotte, NC. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Steeler Nation Rocks!! Great hotel great staff, one of my BEST IHG stays so far this year. even if some of your front desk staff are Tony NONO Roma fans. Great hotel..!! April 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place and Fantastic Staff This was my first time to go the Charlotte. I was there for a conference and the conference rooms were sold out. I chose Holiday Inn as they were close to the confernce hotel and I trust Holiday Inn in general. I was not disappointed at all. The hotel is well kept, the staff is attentive and are willing to go the extra mile to not only have a good stay, but and extraordinary stay The staff was friendly and helpful. They also directed me to good eating establishments in the area. As it was rainy while I was there, I was shuttled to the conference site and given a card to be able to call when I was ready for pick-up. I will be back and would recommend this location to anyone visiting Charlotte! April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by NBEO Part 3 Staff was excellent, the were very accommodating and understanding of us optometry students. It was a great location, and Brian? the concierge was more than helpful to show us around on how to get to the testing site. THank you!! April 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HI Charlotte, NC A less than 10 minute walk to work - so well located. The room was spacious, and comfortable. A small microwave oven was included - a big plus for eating in, if I so chose. Everyone was totally helpful. As a Rewards Club Member, my breakfast, and early evening snack / drinks were provided - kudos for this amenity! I highly recommend this hotel! April 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel I had a great stay at this hotel. It was beautifully adorned too! I initially thought that it was going to be a little farther from where I needed to be and I was so surprised to find that it was so conveniently close to EVERYTHING. It was only a block away from the Arena, 3 blocks away from the Epicenter. Everything was within a 3-15 minute walk depending where you were going. And if you needed to catch the rail line, it was right around the corner as well. The rooms were great and it was rather quiet given the fact that it was so close to a university. I'm a young adult and found the atmosphere great. I would recommend this hotel to just about anyone. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel and Location The hotel and staff were excellent. This downtown location is a great place to visit Charlotte. There are many wonderful places within walking distance of the hotel. We had a very enjoyable experience. April 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall service J J and his staff are beyond excellent. Thank thank you once again for a wonderful stay!!! April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay I had a wonderful time at this Hotel. The staff welcoming you with open arms. They truly value your time and stay at their hotel. The rooms were large and the furniture was nice. I would also like to thank Nic and JJ for giving us excellent customer service. April 2, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Entrance Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Entrance Lobby Lobby Exterior Feature Scenery/Landscape Scenery / Landscape Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading