• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 11.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 15 fee for the first night and a 10 fee for each additional night with a cap of 150. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in, along with vaccination records, etc.
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Concord Mills Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:120
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:98
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0534

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in
View More

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in the University East Business Park and near both the Research Park and Innovation Business Park. With free WIFI, you can keep in touch with home or the office.

If you're looking for conveniently located hotels in Charlotte, NC, we're the perfect choice. We are about eight miles from downtown Charlotte and the Bank of America Stadium, home to the Carolina Panthers. The thrill of Lowe's Motor Speedway is just five miles away. Our hotel's location near UNC-C makes it easy to catch a 49ers game or visit on-campus attractions like the Botanical Gardens.

When it comes to hotels near UNC-C, we've got the best amenities for your extended stay. The Fitness Center is open 24 hours a day, so you can work out any time. Other amenities include a DVD lending library and free guest laundry facilities. The Candlewood Cupboard sells an array of meals, snacks and drinks at value prices. Call today and make yourself at home at our Charlotte hotel!

View Less
Features
Whether you're here for a short time or an extended stay, our hotel's location in Charlotte, NC near UNC is the ideal choice. Each of our suites has free WIFI and a full kitchen.
Announcements
All guests must have a valid ID and credit card to check in.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 142 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and convieant location over all the stay was good but the bathroom had tiny bugs on floor and carpet needed to be shampooed. January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location If traveling with your family, most everything you need is located within walking distance (Walmart, Movies, Restaurants, Etc.). The only downside, no pool. January 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First time traveling with our dog It turned out to be a nice experience. The rooms are nice and the beds are new. They have gone through some renovations in the last year. I heard it was due to a flood from someone hanging a shirt from the water sprinkler last year. (Not a brilliant move) Breakfast was good and the staff was very nice. We will be coming back. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and upscale feel We have stayed twice at this location in the past year and both stays have been wonderful..The location near Lake Norman is perfect and the hotel is very clean and fresh. Our double queen room was exceptional..Will stay here whenever we are in the area. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room appearance and cleanliness I was always impressed with the rooms/cleanliness; I was really in awe during this trip - we were lucky enough to get a room that had just recently been remodeled and I was totally impressed. That was as close to home away from home that anyone could experience. December 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, Upgrades in Progress The hotel is right next to shopping, restaurants, and movies. While I was out locally on a client call, my wife was able to go out and keep herself well occupied. Room upgrades were in progress so the elevator (which is unusually slow, even by southern standards), was being well used by the construction crew -- that's ok, i needed exercise using the stairs anyway. Parking is constrained so plan accordingly. Plumbing is in need of a serious evaluation. Even on the 5th floor, things seemed to be a little more backed up than normal. Hopefully during the renovation process, this will be looked at. Staff was awesome, friendly, and very accommodating. Given the need to stay in the area again, I certainly would consider this hotel. December 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff & Great Service This is a well managed hotel. The staff here were very nice and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and the breakfast, which was included in the price, was excellent. I would recommend this hote. December 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by broken elevator and toilet The first night we were there the elevator was broken - the only elevator. Our room was on the 5th floor and my mother has a heart condition. It was a frightening experience. Added to that, as soon as we arrived it was clear the toilet was plugged. We called down to the front desk and were told we could come down and get a plunger! First, the elevator was broken so that would mean going down five flights and coming back up five flights. Second, the toilet was plugged when we arrived - why on earth should we have been expected to unstop/plunge the toilet!!! The manager arrived with a plunger but told us clogged toilets were the norm and left the plunger with us. In three days we had to plunge the toilet four more times. When we checked out there was also no offer to compensate us for the problems we experienced. We will not be staying at a Holiday Inn Express again if this is the level of service one can expect. December 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean rooms, super comfy beds, and very affordable. We look for Holiday Inn Express signs anytime we are traveling and need a quick place to sleep for the night. The rates are always fair, the rooms are always clean, and the beds are super comfortable. We also enjoy the free wi-fi in the rooms and have never had a problem with any hotel in this chain. We most often stay at the Mooresville, NC location as we have family in the area and we won't stay anywhere else when visiting there. December 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and good breakfast We checked in late evening and was greeted by a very nice young lady. Friendly and helpful, she was quick to get us checked in since she could see we were tired. The worst part of our stay was the uncomfortable bed. Neither my son nor I got much sleep. The shower was very nice. The hot water did my back a world of good. Breakfast was hot and fresh. A very good selection which was nice to not have to go out and buy breakfast. Overall it was a good experience and we will stay there again when we are in town. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Courteous Staff This is a nice hotel - clean, new looking & modern. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We had a soccer team staying in the hotel for a nearby tournament and had pizza one night in the breakfast area. The staff provided plates, napkins, and utensils and were genuinely glad we were there. The room was comfortable and the beds were great. The free breakfast was really good. I had no complaints and would gladly stay there again. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Clean, comfortable, quiet room and the place is staffed by very nice and friendly people! November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service, very clean and comfortable I love this hotel. For the last 6 years, I always stay here if I'm in the Charlotte area. The staff is very accomodating. Rooms, breakfast area, lobby all very clean. I feel very relaxed at this hotel. The only negative has nothing to do with the hotel except its location is such that it is very difficult for someone to walk from the hotel to surrounding businesses. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great place to stay. This hotel is a wonderful place to stay in the Lake Norman area. It is right in the heart of Mooresville and convenient to everything you need. I'd stayed here before and always found the staff friendly and helpful. The free breakfast buffet is really good and has a huge assortment of choices (come hungry.) Also free are the internet and USA Today newspaper. If you are travelling I-77, the hotel is just 2 streets to the right of the northbound lane. Perhaps the nicest thing I've encountered here, was being allowed to go ahead and check in several hours early. Since my visits are directly in Mooresville, this helps me out a lot and saves me much time and effort by not having to come back later in the day for check-in. You simply cannot beat the value, comfort, amenities, service and extras for the price. I highly recommend this hotel and it will always be my choice on future visits to Mooresville. November 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Experience My wife and I had not stayed at this location before but found it to be quite pleasant. We will definitely consider this Holiday Inn Express the next time that we are in the Mooresville area. The breakfast choices were great for self service. Everything was fresh and tasty. Staff was pleasant and eager to help. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff The front desk staff was fabulous, very knowledgable about the area, friendly and welcoming. The continental breakfast was the best we've ever experienced...great variety and hot choices each day. And the staff serving breakfast was super sweet, genuine down south hospitality. Would recommend this hotel to all. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect stop from FL to Ohio The staff was wonderful, comfortable bed, very clean and quiet. Felt very safe as a female travelling alone. Many places to eat within walking distance. Loved the cinnamon rolls at breakfast! October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable Very clean, spacious room. Staff was extremely friendly. Only complaint was that the bed was a bit squeaky. Other than that, perfect stay. Will definitely be back if ever in the area again! October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good time We had a great time while we were there. The staff were very courteous and helpful. Rooms were clean and very comfortable . Will stay there again anytime. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Pillows Not happy with pillows. Too Big and Too Soft for me but everything else was GREAT, We stay there one or two times a year. Always satisfied October 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Limited parking, comfortable bed Property is located in reasonable proximity to Interstate 77, my room had some issues with the shower curtain nearly falling off the wall and commode float stuck. Room was clean and contained everything I needed for a comfortable stay with the exception of the above mentioned items. October 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Latent Review- Returning Soon Sorry for the latent review... When I arrived, it had just finished a hard rain. When I entered the room it had the smell of wet, dirty carpet. There was a fan bowing on the wet carpet near the window, hence the window must have leaked. Fortunately the staff was kind enough to move me to a different room which was much better. My rating above is based on the first room...first impression! Hotel staff were great. I feel rooms need to be updated. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best value ever Stayed many nights in various hotels recently , as we traveled from Florida to New York , and back. This location was by far the best place to rest , after a long day driving. Thank you to a great staff !! October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very welcoming - clean room I stayed at other Holiday Inn's throughout NC and this is one of the best. Guest services were fantastic - very welcoming and greeted. Although happy hour was over, the front desk gave me 2 cold ones after a long day along with a few things to munch on. The room itself was immaculate. The only complaint was the weird bathroom layout - opening the door all the way inward was impossible due to bumping into the shower curtain rod. Kinda weird. Other than that, i'd highly recommend staying here if in the area. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean and excellent service!! I originally had reservation in a hotel near to this hotel, that turned into a nightmare, walked over and asked if there was any rooms available, woman at desk was extremely helpful. Our room was clean, bed was comfortable, breakfast was very good, will definitely stay there next time I go there to visit my daughter!!! Highly recommend this hotel! October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place. This place is very nice, clean and comfortable. I would recommend. September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I was returning to my roots as I grew up and went to school in Mooresville. As a guest, Mon-Thurs 2-6 Sep 13, I enjoyed a relatively quiet stay. I loved being able to use the fitness room. It allowed me to maintain my exercise routine while away from home. The breakfast buffet had a variety of choices and the ladies who serviced it were hospitality itself! The environmental services crew really maintained a high standard. September 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Handicapped traveler needing various accommodations for my condition always handled by a smiling staff. August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean motel competent desk staff- very friendly. The bedding needs to be up-dated . The lady at breakfast was nice, but slow in getting the food out . She didn't keep up with the people coming in. August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and bright We were very impressed by the cleanliness of our room .The staff was also very cordial and helpful . We would definitely stay again ! August 25, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Entrance Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Entrance Lobby Lobby Exterior Feature Scenery/Landscape Scenery / Landscape Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading