• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-17-2014)
(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 11.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 15 fee for the first night and a 10 fee for each additional night with a cap of 150. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in, along with vaccination records, etc.
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Concord Mills Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:120
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:98
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0534

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in
View More

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in the University East Business Park and near both the Research Park and Innovation Business Park. With free WIFI, you can keep in touch with home or the office.

If you're looking for conveniently located hotels in Charlotte, NC, we're the perfect choice. We are about eight miles from downtown Charlotte and the Bank of America Stadium, home to the Carolina Panthers. The thrill of Lowe's Motor Speedway is just five miles away. Our hotel's location near UNC-C makes it easy to catch a 49ers game or visit on-campus attractions like the Botanical Gardens.

When it comes to hotels near UNC-C, we've got the best amenities for your extended stay. The Fitness Center is open 24 hours a day, so you can work out any time. Other amenities include a DVD lending library and free guest laundry facilities. The Candlewood Cupboard sells an array of meals, snacks and drinks at value prices. Call today and make yourself at home at our Charlotte hotel!

View Less
Features
Whether you're here for a short time or an extended stay, our hotel's location in Charlotte, NC near UNC is the ideal choice. Each of our suites has free WIFI and a full kitchen.
Announcements
All guests must have a valid ID and credit card to check in.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 160 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and accomendations The entire staff was very professional and polite. The accommodations and location was great. The rooms were very comforable and clean and the food was very good. I will definitely stay next year and recommend my friends to do also. March 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Conveinence and Comfort My husband and I were there with friends to attend an annual affair. The convenience and the comfort of the hotel were factors in the choice we made to reside there. All were polite and accommodating. We loved our stay. March 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and room Clean, updated decor. Would like a thermostat controlled heater/air conditioning unit so it wouldn't have to run all of the time - noisy. March 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice experience Nice experience. Check in was not organized. No 'set' line to check in so people would cut in front of you based on the layout of the front desk. March 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Front desk staff was pleasant. A bit busy because of a conference in the area, but would recommend and stay again! February 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by JJ is the man! JJ was very helpful from the minute I walked in the door till the time I walked out three days later. I look forward to staying at this location again very soon! February 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and nice atmosphere This was a great hotel in proximity to many downtown attractions and restaurants. My daughter and a friend went to a concert at the Neighborhood Theatre which is approximately two and a half miles away. The shuttle gave them a ride there and they took a taxi on return so we didn't have to drive around downtown and get lost. February 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service and great location I only stayed overnight, but the beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. This location was only 2 blocks from where i needed to be so it was very convenient. I will definitely stay here again if traveling back to the area. The price was affordable considering that hotels only 1 block away were more than 100$ more expensive per night. This room met all my needs, had restaurant on site and the reception and valet staff was exceptional. February 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel convenient to everything Enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Charlotte. Rooms were clean, modern and spacious. Parking was close by and all the Charlotte ammentitities were within walking distance. Front staff people were very friendcly and courteous! Would definitely stay there again! February 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelent Great Hotel....great city....the best place to spend your vacations January 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the iPod Docking Station Convenient location --- close to all that downtown Charlotte has to offer. January 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SYAY WELL I WAS THERE FOR NEW YEARS SO OF COURSE IT WAS REALLY BUSY, MY ONLY COMPLAINT ONLY ONE ELEVATOR SO IT CAN TAKE A WHILE TO GET TO YOUR ROOM IF ITS REAL BUSY. OTHER THAN THAT MY STAY WAS EXCELLENT. ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN,BEDS WERE COMFY. STAFF WAS VERY LAID BACK BUT PROFESSIONAL. RESTAURANT DOWNSTAIRS IS VERY NICE.MOTEL LOCATED CLOSE TO EPICENTER AND TIME WARNER. pARKING COST U $15 A DAY BUT PARKING DECK WAS REALLY CLOSE, SO IT WASN'T A BIG DEAL. I WAS VERY PLEASED WITH MY STAY AND WOULD RECCOMEND TO ANYONE.. January 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by home away from home I stay at this hotel often when I travel for business by my choice. Even though there are other hotels availible in the area, i enjoy staying at this hotel. The staff is the main reason because of their friendliness and going the extra mile to make a guest feel comfortable. Nick and JJ make a guest feel so welcome when they walk through the door. January 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great property great customer service I have stayed here twice in the last year, on the plus side the rooms are comfortable, the beds are great and the customer service is outstanding. On the down side, there is a lot of noise from outside when there are sporting events at the arena on the next block, the showers need updating and housekeeping seems to forget to leave you water and toiletries. Overall it was a great experience, the food in Cafe Siena is absolutely outstanding and the staff really makes your stay enjoyable December 19, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No Room in the Inn I had delays with my flights so I called the hotel to let them know that I would still be checking in, but it would be early the next morning. I wanted to make sure I would have a room to get a few hours sleep and freshen up prior to a business meeting. When I called them, they informed me that they didn't have a room for me, but they planned to transport me up to another hotel about 25 minutes away! I was SHOCKED!!!! Here I was only going to get 3 hours of sleep at best and they were going to WASTE 1 hour of that time! I ended up making other arrangements for that first night and then checked in for the remainder of my reservation. What was truely insulting about the entire experience is they didn't even apologize until I finally spoke to a manager as I was checking out. And what did they do for me.... they gave me a coupon for free breakfast that I didn't have time to even use and I also had the free continental breakfast since I am a Platinum member. While I understand that hotels sometimes have to make arrangements like this, I was surprised that they chose to break up a reservation where two rooms were reserved to do this. One other thing is I actually had to ask for more shampoo and lotion on the third morning of my stay since they didn't replenish it at all. December 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect location and great amenities I stay here for business travel and you can not beat the location, proximity to all of my clietns, great restaurants and the best part is the staff. December 12, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was very inhospitable I was looking forward to staying at this Holiday Inn due to its prime location but after walking in the door and being treated as though I was bothering the front desk staff, I definitely will not return. The room was fine, the hotel was fine in general, but the staff were inhospitable and downright rude. I will not be staying at the Holiday Inn next time I visit the downtown area. November 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Staff and Amazing Hotel I love this hotel everytime I'm in the Charolette area I stay here. The staff is great, kind and careful from the valet to the front desk. I would definitely recommend this location to everybody. Oh and the French Toast is the best I've eveeeeeeer had and I eat alot of French Toast LOL. Great Hotel Pick 5 stars ***** November 27, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Shuttle is great convience Hotel has a shuttle to take and pick up guests in the downtown area. It is a real nice service when the weather is bad or just too tired to walk. The morning and evening drivers are always cheerful. November 25, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by rooms and hotel good location-location-location was great close to everything downtown November 20, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value & Location This hotel is excellently located in the compact Charlotte downtown. It's an easy 10-15 minute walk from the Panther's stadium and right next to the arena. There are numerous good restraunts and bars within a couple of blocks of the hotel. The king bed rooms are spacious and have lots of natural light. We enjoyed the designer sink and decor. The complimentary breakfast had numerous selections in a beautiful top-floor room. My only complaint has more to do with the downtown streets. It is very difficult to navigate the one way streets to get to the hotel. The directions from Google included a left turn onto a one-way street that was not allowed the day we were there. November 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awsome stay everthing was very close we walked every whereand the rooms were great the breakfast waswonderful i will always stay here when i am in charlette October 28, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Visit October 2012 As Out of Town Visitors we chose this Hotel for it's central location, unfortunately no Fridge in room to keep our own drinks cool, ice box from vending machine only. Air conditioning unit far too noisy to run during the night and no other facility to keep room cool. Ceiling fan would have been a good installation. Vending machines on guest levels or foyer did not take cash and the Card facility did not function. No Continental Breakfast provided in the cost of room, and for the price paid the cost was excessive without meal service. October 27, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and restaurant Firstly, I was great from the time I pulled up in front to the time that I entered the hotel. The staff are very friendly and have a great feel for the area. I had a great stay and I was able to sleep through the night. Restaurants and bars were in walking distance and it is a great place to walk around in. Also, if you want to take in a basketball game, the arena is right next door. And the football stadium is not far away at all. The equipment in the workout gym is either dated or not the better equipment but it was useful. Great view from the top of the hotel. You can walk around it as well. I will definitely go back and stay there! October 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home! With starting a new job and knowing that I will be traveling to Charlotte, I knew I needed to find a hotel that I would be comfortable in. After hearing wonderful things about Charlotte- Center City, I had to find out myself. The staff is wonderful, the rooms are clean and their is always a smiling face in the hotel. October 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and easy night in uptown Charlotte Had a one-night event at a nearby place (4 blocks away) and only needed a nice room for one evening. The location of this hotel and the ease in parking were great. Decor and rooms were very nice. Location is in the middle of the wonderful 'uptown' Charlotte area surrounded by nice outdoor seating resturants, clubs, shopping and esp the Areana right next door. I liked the sink area being outside of the bathroom proper so I could do my make-up while my husband was in the shower/etc. Only negative I can think of was the bed pillows. I didn't notice the small size of the four pillows on our King bed until after 1am so I didn't call for any additional - I'm sure they would have brought me whatever I wanted, they were very nice. Needless to say, the four little pillows #we nicknamed them 'Chicklettes'# didn't create the most comfortable sleep night. I would stay again but my lesson learned was to check out the pillows upon check in. October 19, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by LOUD Stay... Very disappointed I was very disappointed with our stay. I booked a room at this hotel because I was pleased with its proximity to vorious restaurants in the downtown area. That, of course, wasn't a let-down, but nearly everything else was. I surprised my fiance with a trip to Charlotte for his birthday, but we did not enjoy the hotel experience. I made sure to book a room early, and at an upper-level (which was an extra cost) because I wanted a good experience. However, we were assigned to a room directly across from the elevators, in an area that did not have carpeting like the rest of the hallways... instead it had tile. For that reason, every ding of the elevator and voice of people coming and going seemed to echo. We could hear everything. I was very confused by this because I had booked so early. Our room was very average. I did like the view of the city. But everything was somewhat low-end. Not horrible, though. The worst part of the night was at about 2 am. A large group of very drunk people began running up and down the halls screaming. We called down to the front desk, and they assured us that they would take care of the problem. But, they did not. Their screaming kept us up all night! For the price that I paid, I would have expected a LOT more. Certainly a better room... and at least a member of security to address the level of noise that night. I know that we couldn't have been the ony ones to call and complain about the noise... it was THAT loud. I will not stay at this hotel again. October 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great wedding destination My daughter's wedding was held on the rooftop. We could not have been more pleased with the quality of service, food, room, etc. Neither our family nor the grooms are from Charlotte, so guests from Minnesota, Colorado, South Carolina, and North Carolina stayed at the Holiday Inn Center City. Everyone commented on how wonderful the weekend was, and that was because the staff made sure all was well with everyone. We thank you so much for making a memorable event a truly relaxing weekend. Tabitha, the wedding consultant/planner, could not have done a thing different. She was on top of everything, checked to make sure things were going as planned, and when she told my daughter not to worry about anything that she had it under control, she absolutely did have all concerns under control. While staying there, many guests and relatives ate at Cafe Sienna. The food was enjoyed by all, from the breakfast buffet to the lunches. Please use us as a reference to any brides-to-be who may be thinking of making the Holiday Inn rooftop their destination wedding. Thank you all, again. October 18, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Curtain issue I just don't understand why Holiday Inn uses the transparent curtain that I could see the light outside the hotel even at night, even after I closed the curtain. It was so difficult to sleep at night because I had a building in front of me that many of the offices did not turn off the light. Same thing happened when I visited Ithaca. I was lucky that I stayed on the first floor that the only light was the light from the cars passing by. October 16, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing, to say the least My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently, during a business trip. We chose the Holiday Inn, because we have been Priority Club members for the past twelve years. We also chose the hotel because the reservation included breakfast for two, and complimentary shuttle bus service to the convention center. Upon checking in, we were told that they were out of Priority Club welcome bags and that the complimentary breakfast for two was limited to twently dollars per day, making it virtually impossible to eat for free. The shuttle bus was not available on several occasions because the driver "needed to make some extra stops". We ordered room service and both entrees were absolutely horrible. There was no counter space in the bathroom and the layout of the room made it difficult for two people to share the space. We had hoped to have a late check out, but were told that this would not be possible. To top it off, the morning of our departure, a letter was attached to my receipt, stating that I may be offered a survey about my stay and that if I were planning on rating any aspects less that excellent, to please let the front desk know. I did not feel as though this request was ethical or respectful of the survey process. As a business owner who also distributes customer satisfaction surveys, I would not appreciate anyone interfering and possibly skewing the results. Being a Priority Club member means absolutely nothing to the staff and our stay was nowhere near being a value. I would only stay at this hotel again as a matter of last resort This experience has certainly decreased my trust in Holiday Inn as a whole and consequently, I will now be another chain's loyal customer. October 15, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Exterior Lobby Exterior Hotel Entrance Hotel Entrance Welcome to our lobby at the Candlewood Suites Charlotte University Exterior Feature Scenery/Landscape Scenery / Landscape Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Spread Out and Relax