• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 11.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 15 fee for the first night and a 10 fee for each additional night with a cap of 150. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in, along with vaccination records, etc.
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Concord Mills Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:120
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:98
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0534

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in
View More

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in the University East Business Park and near both the Research Park and Innovation Business Park. With free WIFI, you can keep in touch with home or the office.

If you're looking for conveniently located hotels in Charlotte, NC, we're the perfect choice. We are about eight miles from downtown Charlotte and the Bank of America Stadium, home to the Carolina Panthers. The thrill of Lowe's Motor Speedway is just five miles away. Our hotel's location near UNC-C makes it easy to catch a 49ers game or visit on-campus attractions like the Botanical Gardens.

When it comes to hotels near UNC-C, we've got the best amenities for your extended stay. The Fitness Center is open 24 hours a day, so you can work out any time. Other amenities include a DVD lending library and free guest laundry facilities. The Candlewood Cupboard sells an array of meals, snacks and drinks at value prices. Call today and make yourself at home at our Charlotte hotel!

View Less
Features
Whether you're here for a short time or an extended stay, our hotel's location in Charlotte, NC near UNC is the ideal choice. Each of our suites has free WIFI and a full kitchen.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 304 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Loud Guests and Location I never knew Charlotte was such a party town! I found this out the hard way when trying to get sleep ahead of a morning flight. Partying between rooms in the hallways, and major street noise, even though I was on the 14th floor. Staff was as good as they could be, but the noise was so bad that it was a better option for me to leave the hotel at 3 am and head to the airport to try to get some sleep! August 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown visit The place was clean but I had a few gripes. There were lots of loud guests who were there to party all night it seemed like. The shower head was broken and water just drizzled out. Parking was an extra unadvertised cost. Putting an extra $100 hold on the card in case of incidentals seemed a bit high to me as well. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and excellent Staff The location is AWESOME. We went to the Beyonce concert at Time Warner Arena. The Arena was located one block over as well as great night life. The staff was excellent. They gave great dinner recommendations. I will definitely stay there again next time I come to Charlotte. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 30 yr. celebration spent touring the Southern & Eastern states We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the very attractive upgraded suite, with the most comfortable bed, in honor of our platinum elite status, at the Charlotte-City Center Hotel. When entering our suite we were greeted with a bottle of champagne, two champagne glasses and a lovely cheese, cracker & fruit tray with a sweet card, of welcome, in honor of our 30 yr. anniversary celebration. The staff was friendly, attentive, and fun! They provided lots of information about the hotel and the city of Charlotte. They were over the top helpful, just brimming with that southern hospitality. We plan a return trip to Charlotte, and to this wonderful attractive hotel. Manager Roberta deserves special kudos for the gracious southern hospitality she herself exemplifies as an example to be followed by her staff! Kudos also to Mr. Adam & JC for assistance with parking! Thanks so much for an excellent stay, we really hated to leave! July 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed My wife and I stayed here for our 10th anniversary. Upon check in the clerk offered us either the points for our stay or we could have a snack bag.? I did not know this was a choice, every other time we get both. We stayed in a concierge level king room. First day we had our kids with us and the second day we stayed alone and sent the kids to grandmas. The day we had the kids the pool was closed. They offered a shuttle to another pool but that was just too inconvenient to do with children. So we went to a near by park and got all sweaty playing with the kids. we came back to the room to shower off before dinner and the tub was stopped up. The repair man came up with a toilet plunger (disgusting)! I asked him if he could snake the tub and he said they didn't have one. Later that night getting ready for bed we went to brush our teeth and the sink would not drain. Again the man came up with a toilet plunger (disgusting)! So we all had to watch our spit and toothpaste swirl around in the sink. About parking: Please use the valet service. we self parked but this is very difficult. every time you come and go you have to get a ticket from the parking deck and walk it to the front desk to get it validated. It takes a good 15 minutes just to get out of the deck because of this. Breakfast was excellent! Great restaurant called cafe sienna where you can eat breakfast if it was included in the stay. I highly recommend it. The staff did offer to move us to a new room which we declined because we had our stuff all unpacked, and the crib set up. They gave me 5,000 bonus points and 1 night free parking for the trouble. They should have given us a free night. We will not stay here again. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dated accomodations We loved the hotel, however for the price the room was small and dated, no fridge or microwave, the vanity was small the bathroom dated, The pool was not a good experience, there were some "athletes" staying the weekend, there was no supervision by staff, the were roddy, took all the chairs, 10 men in the hottub for hours, no one else could get in, there were beer bottle and cans everywhere, it was very hot and could not even get into the pool! Had the staff monitored the pool area, maybe the other guest cold have enjoyed the afternoon, we could not even get near the pool until 10 pm, then it was to late, July 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by ice broken, air broken in hall, noise unbearable The porters and cleaning staff were excellent. The rooftop wedding was beautiful and the food was good. We were misinformed about the use of the roof and were subsequently told to leave rather harshly. No adequate smoking area except on the street corner. When I asked to get a late check out it was not available. The front desk also told me the noise was from next door but when I went outside I realize it was the window washer. As you can see in my title, the ice machine was broken as well as the AC in the hall. I also found out that the Bridal Suite had no air. June 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience! We wanted a last minute weekend vacation, and I am so glad we booked a room here! The location is ideal and near plenty of restaurants, bars, and the "oh-so-fun" epicentre!! So much to do; we will definitely be back when we have more time to explore! The hotel restaraunt was delicious, and we enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub at night! We also had breakfast in bed, they had so many options, it was hard to choose! Great stay! June 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, staff and location I have stayed at this hotel twice. Both times while in town attending concerts at Time Warner Arena. I choose Not to stay anywhere else. The location is AMAZING. It is right around the corner! The staff has been nothing but helpful, and nice. The rooms are clean and very nice. The restaurant downstairs is really great for breakfast. I have not had dinner there yet. maybe next time. :) My only complaint if i was going to have one would be the drink machines on the floor. I went to the drink machine when i first checked in. After driving 4 hours I wanted something to drink. I went to the machine and was kinda surprised that it seems not to take cash. It only takes debit cards. you swipe or tap your debit card. So i went back to the room got my card went back and swiped the card. Every option in the machine was sold out! :( Its not that big of a deal and i totally could have gone downstairs or maybe even tried a different floor but i didnt try. I would not hesitate to stay here again. They even hooked me up and let me check in EARLY! I'm glad i found this hotel in 2008. I went back this time and was not disappointed. June 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great accomodations during a conference My trip was a quick decision made just a couple weeks prior to the beginning of a national conference, booked the roorm solely on the Holiday Inn name and past experiences in Long Beach NJ and Corpus Christi Tx, and found Charlotte was no different. Clean room, super frendly and helpful staff and walking distance to the convention center with wonderful restaurants and shops in between! June 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Emergency Stay! Our vehicle broke down after 10 hours on the road, at midinght on a Saturday night. We literally sputtered into the parking deck, and the van shutdown when parked. My family of six were desperate for a place to lay our head while we tried to figure out our car troubles. Everyone at the Charlotte Center City location were fantastic and sensitive to our situation! Roberta and Michael, at the front desk, went way above the call of duty to accomodate us during this trying time. They really did more than necessary, and actually made it a pleasure to have this interuption. The extra care they provided put a smile on all of our faces. The customer service they provideds will always be remembered by myself, my spouse, and all of my kids. Thanks again, and keep up the exceptional work! June 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice!! Nice !!! But being from a small town in southern CO and not used to being from a large city!! It was very nice!! And my sons wedding was great!! THANX!!! "Kelly Ray" June 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, Very nice room, Service was excellent! Comfortable, very nice room and service was excellent! The outdoor swimming pool on the roof top was nice. I will definitely stay here again. June 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location!!!! Had a great experience, It has been years since I stayed in a Holiday Inn and I remembered them as motels along the interstate on family car trips. This was a very different experience. The hotel was located in the very heart of Charlotte. It was just moments away from the Blumenthal Center for Performing Arts which was the impetus for this trip. Lots of excellent restaurants are super close. The staff was warm and inviting. I look forward to future stays. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent wedding suite Comfortable room, close proximity to downtown Charlotte venue. June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location We requested early check in/upper floor, Everything was in order VERRY smooth checkin! Staff was friendly,hotel shuttle from Amtrak depot was a big help. Our only concern, the hottub is in need of repair/replacement,The hottub was nasty The pool was fine. Great view of Charlotte from the rooftop pool area. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you If you are looking for a place to stay and be in the middle of all the downtown night life, this is the place. Even with all the nightlife all around we had a very nice, quiet room. The staff was amazing and so helpful. I felt very comfortable and safe at this location. I would recommend it to anyone and I will be staying here again next time we o to Charlotte for a concert. June 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room, great location Upon arrival to hotel staff was very friendly, helpful and quick. The room was nice and clean, small bathrooms. On our second night the AC wasn't working as well. Staff was informed upon checkout and were very apologetic. They compensated by taking off the parking charges. The location is fantastic. Very easy to get around downtown and all the restaurants. Would stay here again. June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location with Good service The location of the hotel was awesome with it being near anywhere in the city that you need to go too. The staff was very pleasant and always willing to help, if you needed. June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great check in staff The valet team, and front desk were exceptional after a long day for us. It was very nice June 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good experience Very central location - right in the middle of downtown! Left something behind me in the room but staff sorted this out for me. June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, clean and fresh rooms Thank you Center City staff for your good work to make our stay in Charlotte enjoyable! The staff was always friendly and helpful; the hotel shone with cleanliness. No hesitation to recommend a stay at the Charlotte Center City Holiday Inn. May 31, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by overrated My room was anything but deluxe for the cost. The faucet was almost disconnected from the vanity top so you had to hold the main housing with one hand then turn the water on with another, the bed was very stiff, not firm, the bathroom shower was very outdated, the drain cover did not work so I had to take it completely out to drain the water, there were tiles missing completely from the shower wall and the water diverter was broken and would not stay in position for a shower but for a few minutes. I had to keep pulling the diverter out to have a shower. May 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, poor service When I arrived at the hotel, the staff were very friendly and checked me in right away. The room itself was in good condition except for the bathroom which could have used some updating. The bed was comfortable and the room was relatively quiet. It was nice having a restaurant in the hotel along with room service. The first night I went down to the restaurant and ordered dinner to go. The food was decent. Later that night I called room service and ordered 2 martinis to be delivered to my room. One hour and 15 minutes later and still no drinks, I called room service to check on my order. They told me that they forgot which room number the order was placed under. They apologized and said they would be up right away. Ten minutes later they finally delivered my order. After the staff member left, I realized that they did not deliver the correct drinks that I ordered. I had to call again and tell them that they did not get my order right. Ten minutes later they came back and delivered the correct drink, however they only brought one and I had ordered two. This was the third error on their part, and yet after all of this, I was still charged for the drink. They should have either taken the charge off my bill or offer something on the house to make up for all their mistakes. I will not be going to this hotel in the future, nor will I recommend this hotel to someone. Very very disappointed! May 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value This is my second stay at this hotel chain. Everything was great. Staff was very helpful. May 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and friendly staff I enjoyed my stay. My niece was getting married there on the roof and if was beautiful. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly. I would stay there again. May 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The location of this hotel is great. Guest are in walking distance of museums, the arena, restaurants, and bars. Front desk staff were average. However the restaurant servers and food are top notch. We will definitely come back for breakfast or dinner when visiting Charlotte. For the price, my fiancé and I expected a more comfortable mattress and up to date AC unit. The current unit left the room feeling damp. Not something one would expect given the price and decor. Overall it was an okay experience. May 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy AC, uncomfortable bathroom Normally not a Holiday Inn fan, spent three weeks at this hotel for work (had no other option). Staff was friendly and helpful, but hotel amenities and accomodations overall were not good. The AC unit in each guest room is very noisy, and I had to turn off to be able to sleep. Bathrooms are not comfortable and some rooms have toilets that only kids can use. No sound barrier, as I could hear everything that was going on on the hallway, including the ice and vending machines that woke me up anytime someone used them. Gym was outdated and had limited number of machines. Location was very convenient, but overall experience was not good. May 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel is not Handicap Friendly Hotel does not have their own parking facility. They do offer Valet, but that is against my companies policy, and as it's their vehicle, self parking is the only option. The problem is, I was on crutches, and the hotel uses a public parking facility next to the building without any access other than walking about a 2/10 of a mile. This is incredibly inconvenient as you can imagine on crutches, and even more difficult with luggage. The hotel has been redone poorly in my opinion, especially considering price/value ratio. The bed was comfortable, but the a/c was incredibly loud (if you are a light sleeper, don't expect deep sleep). I would recommend staying away from this property because: -Parking ($16) - walking with luggage to hotel -handicap access - it's difficult at best -Amenities - remodel was basically putting lipstick on a pig, they made it look good, but underneath the infastructure is dated. To sum, will 100% not stay at this hotel in the future. May 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor experience We were leaving Sunday morning to return home. Sleeping on Saturday evening was impossible due to the unruly guest that was in the room next to us. After 2 hours, we called the front desk to ask for someone to come up and speak with the guest. Security came up indicated that there was a complaint due to the noise and left chuckling to each other. The noise continued. So we were forced to leave at 4:30 am, somewhat earlier than planned. And when we checked out at the front desk, noone seemed to care about our unfortunate experience. There certainly are many hotel choices in Charlotte and this would not be one of ours again. May 9, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Entrance Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Entrance Lobby Lobby Exterior Feature Scenery/Landscape Scenery / Landscape Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading