• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 11.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 15 fee for the first night and a 10 fee for each additional night with a cap of 150. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in, along with vaccination records, etc.
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Concord Mills Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:120
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:98
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0534

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in
View More

Our Extended Stay Hotel's Location in Charlotte, NC is Ideal

Nestled among the gently rolling hills of the Piedmont, Charlotte is a vibrant and stylish city with a dramatic skyline and cosmopolitan flair. The Candlewood Suites® Charlotte - University is located in a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and one mile from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

You'll have everything you need for a productive trip as our hotel's guest. In Charlotte, NC, we are situated in the University East Business Park and near both the Research Park and Innovation Business Park. With free WIFI, you can keep in touch with home or the office.

If you're looking for conveniently located hotels in Charlotte, NC, we're the perfect choice. We are about eight miles from downtown Charlotte and the Bank of America Stadium, home to the Carolina Panthers. The thrill of Lowe's Motor Speedway is just five miles away. Our hotel's location near UNC-C makes it easy to catch a 49ers game or visit on-campus attractions like the Botanical Gardens.

When it comes to hotels near UNC-C, we've got the best amenities for your extended stay. The Fitness Center is open 24 hours a day, so you can work out any time. Other amenities include a DVD lending library and free guest laundry facilities. The Candlewood Cupboard sells an array of meals, snacks and drinks at value prices. Call today and make yourself at home at our Charlotte hotel!

View Less
Features
Whether you're here for a short time or an extended stay, our hotel's location in Charlotte, NC near UNC is the ideal choice. Each of our suites has free WIFI and a full kitchen.
Announcements
All guests must have a valid ID and credit card to check in.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 276 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel is not Handicap Friendly Hotel does not have their own parking facility. They do offer Valet, but that is against my companies policy, and as it's their vehicle, self parking is the only option. The problem is, I was on crutches, and the hotel uses a public parking facility next to the building without any access other than walking about a 2/10 of a mile. This is incredibly inconvenient as you can imagine on crutches, and even more difficult with luggage. The hotel has been redone poorly in my opinion, especially considering price/value ratio. The bed was comfortable, but the a/c was incredibly loud (if you are a light sleeper, don't expect deep sleep). I would recommend staying away from this property because: -Parking ($16) - walking with luggage to hotel -handicap access - it's difficult at best -Amenities - remodel was basically putting lipstick on a pig, they made it look good, but underneath the infastructure is dated. To sum, will 100% not stay at this hotel in the future. May 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor experience We were leaving Sunday morning to return home. Sleeping on Saturday evening was impossible due to the unruly guest that was in the room next to us. After 2 hours, we called the front desk to ask for someone to come up and speak with the guest. Security came up indicated that there was a complaint due to the noise and left chuckling to each other. The noise continued. So we were forced to leave at 4:30 am, somewhat earlier than planned. And when we checked out at the front desk, noone seemed to care about our unfortunate experience. There certainly are many hotel choices in Charlotte and this would not be one of ours again. May 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy & Unwanted Check in experience not the best. After clerk asked for card and photo ID, she immediately told me if I smoke there is a clean up fee (I don't smoke and reservation note stated I must have non-smoking room), if I check out early a $50 fine, if I steal or break something I agree "in advance" to a $100 hold on credit card before swiping. Talk about feeling unwanted. Forget priority gold status, more like "fools gold". Manager happy hour was cheese cracker and some unknown hot appetizer. Free wine was ok. Breakfast equally lousy - no hot water for tea. Incredibly noisy room location. I asked about upgrade when I checked in and drill sargeant at desk assured me it was an upgrade. Ha. ha. Right next to elevator - doors slamming all night, people very loud waiting for lift, tile floor heard every roller bag and shoe. Could not use AC, sounded like a truck engine all night. May 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Little Things Matter Overall the hotel was nice, but not great . . . even though it could be! Little things matter. I was on the 9th Floor with no view to speak of. However there was no way to "darken" the room so at night there are lights from surrounding buildings and forget about trying to nap during the day with the sunlight pouring in. I ordered room service, just a burger and fries . . . no salt or pepper I had left some change, just a couple of dollars or so, on the desk along with some paperwork. When I returned to the room it seems as if housekeeping must have assumed it was their's cause it was gone. In the scheme of things no big deal, but it kinda of made me uncomfortable. Lastly, the stools at the bar are just a little too short. I am 6' 1" and I found myself reaching "up". Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful and the overall cleanliness was good. The location was close to lots of restaurants and the Convention Center. With just a little "tweaking" this could be a Five-Star property. May 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by THE down town place to stay. This was our first time to stay at the Charlotte-Center City hotel. It was our choice because we were attending an event at the Time Warner Center that seemed to be close by accouting to the Google maps. Well, it is very close, like a five minute walk, so we would say this is the place to stay if you are going to the Time Warner Center. Using the GPS it was a little confusing on getting to the right entrance to the hotel, but we found it. Parking like most places in any city require a little work, but we handled it. Had dinner at the resturant and the food was very good and visited the bar later and that experice was good also, but I thought the drinks were just a little pricie. At check in we were given good instructions on parking, getting to the Time Warner Center, etc. and given a little bag of goodies. We were on the 14th floor and it was very quite, with the exception of the roar of the throught the wall HVAC system. Lots of places use these units and they nearly all make more noise than you are use too. Room was clean and comfortable. When I was attempting to make an on-line reservation I noticed the room rate actually increased two times so I called to make the reservation and for sure the rate had jumped up. I think this was due to the even at the Time Warner Center. I know these is a standard practice but I really don't care for it. The room was nice and was exactly were it needed to be but was not worth the price. Bottom line, we had a very good experience and would (and most likely will) return. May 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding at Charlotte City Center The staff did an excellent job accomomdating guests and organizing the rooftop wedding. Only a couple of things - the ice maker on our floor did not work and there was no signage to indicate where to find another one. room service food was not good - (pulled pork sandwich was fatty ) However, the overall cleanliness and service were excellent. Room and view from room were lovely. Highly recommend MERTZ on ground floor. yum April 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Center City Comfort, Convenience Smack dab in the middle of it all! Easy walking to great restaurants and pubs. Plenty to do in the evening with theaters and bars with live entertainment nearby. Even the NASCAR Hall of Fame is a short walk away. Now for the downside. The bed in our room was sorely in need of replacement. We got into bed and rolled directly to the middle! The pillows were all too thick and both my wife and I got neck aches. April 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service and Location Frontdesk acknowledged that I was a PriorityClub member and thanked me for chosing their location - excellent. Frontdesk provided clear instructions about WiFi access and about parking in the facility next door and the parking validation process - excellent. Frontdesk offered complimentary gift as a PriorityClub member - excellent. The room was spacious, modern, and clean. The bathroom was very good. The location was great. I would definitely stay at this location again. April 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great pillows Love everything about the hotel, but the coffee machine in the rooms is terrible. Tastes bad, and is old fashioned. Wish there was a Kerurig in the rooms, because every cup would taste fresh. April 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Location This is a nice location for business travelers. However, it is difficult to control the air conditioning in the room. The air conditioner is very noisy, and there is a huge gap under the room door that let the light in. The Concierge Lounge is really a great place to grab a quick snack after work, and for breakfast. The staff is very accommodating. I did request Concierge Level room, and got an adjourning room. While there was no issue, I do not care for those rooms. I arrived well before check-in, and my room was ready, so I was able to check in and unpack before going into the office. I am a Priority Club member. April 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay Nice place to stay, everthing you need is within walking distance. The staff is good and the hotel is nice. April 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The bed was comfortable The staff working at this hotel was less than friendly they made my wife and I feel like they were inconvenienced by our presence I would not stay there again. We used points to pay for the room which means I stay at Holiday Inns often...at least I used to. April 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Experience I'll recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good value and superb service in downtown Charlotte. The only down side was the amount of light from the street that came into the room at night because the blinds don't close. I still slept well and appreciate the extra care taken to make my stay great. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Love this hotel, great location to walk places. Great staff, rooms, pool. The parking is a bit expensive otherwise, excellent. April 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good service the hotel was convenient if you are visiting downtown. i was surprised that there was no stores for shopping. plenty of restaurants. the staff was great. i felt the room was very expensive--the lavatory was way to small. April 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by LOUD Too loud. Restaurants and bars around the hotel kept us up every night from 11pm-3am. One night there was a saxaphone that sounded like it was right outside our window. This location is too noisy!!! April 1, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Inviting Lobby I was very disappointed with my stay at the Holiday Inn Center City downtown Charlotte, NC. April 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Small rooms While this hotel was clean and the staff very friendly, this hotel will not be my first choice when returning to Charlotte. The rooms are tiny. There is no refrigerator. The vanity(which many others have complained about) is very small and inefficient. The television stopped working day 2 and maintenance came right away to fix it. The pillow selection was nice but the heater was loud. The hotel served it's purpose, but I did not find the room comfortable at all. March 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet, but service was just OK The best thing about this hotel was the doors. Unlike most hotels, these doors didn't make any noise when closing, so you didn't hear doors slamming all night and morning as people come in and out. Got really good sleep. It is also nice to have a parking deck attached to the hotel, but you have to walk outside to access it. Downside - The guest service could have been better, and no free breakfast. March 27, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible experience with staff! The staff is not professional nor cares about their guests. They are more concerned with having their own good time. I had a special weekend planned for me and my husband. The hotel front desk ruined the surprise gave my gift to my husband.. (I didn't even get to give it to him, they DID) It was by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had. Thank you for ruining my weekend and the surprise! March 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not too impressed... I was in town for a conference. I was expecting something much better than this considering the location, which was about the only thing desirable. The gym equipment was some of the worst I have ever seen. I'm surprised they even let people use it. The parking situation was pretty bad; you had to walk a long way to get to the parking garage. The beds were hard. The staff were friendly, however at check-in, the guy mentioned my Platinum status but said, "sorry I can't upgrade you, we are really busy, but I'll take care of you next time". There will not be a next time. March 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and Location This was my stay at this location but I am glad I pick this location for my business trip. Staff was very polite, friendly and helpful. I was recognized and thanked for my Platinum Elite Ambassador status. Being upgraded to a suite make my stay comfortable for both work and relaxing. The hotel is convenient to great restaurants and local attractions. I stay at a lot of IHG hotels and this one was a shining star. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Charlotte! March 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good until my bill arrived First let me say it is a nice hotel in a great location in downtown Charlotte. The room was clean and I was upgraded for being a platnum menber so all of that was very nice. It was weird having the sink outside the bathroom but it was doable. Cafe Sienna had a nice lunch buffet and I ate there ten times at least and wasn't dissapointed with the food. The staff was never their strong point, I always felt like they were to busy to help or answer questions, and maybe they were. Recently I received my credit card statment and noticed I was double billed for my 18 days of parking. I called once and she couldn't even find the parking and said I would have to copy the credit card receipt. I am not a lier and don't like being accused of one. Then she said she would take my contact information and have some one contact me on Sunday or Monday. I called on Saturday. Sunday and Monday came and went no call. I called back Tuesday and talked to an accounting individual who found the double bill but couldn't help me. Said I need to have that person call me. More waiting. I understand people are busy and there are things that some people can and cannot do, I just wish they would atleast keep their word when they tell me something. March 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, and friendly staff Perfect place to stay if going to an event at the Time Warner cable arena! The staff was super friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again! March 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fitness equipment/room poorly maintained Given the small size of the fitness room relative to the hotel size, it seems it would be easy to maintain the few work out machines that you offer. One of the two bicycles was broken and the other had a broken handle, making it very difficult to operate. The other cardio machines were usable but showing their age or their inferior quality (they did not feel stable). Thanks for noting this. March 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always Great I stay here several times a year for meetings in Charlotte and it is always a pleasant experience. March 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and accomendations The entire staff was very professional and polite. The accommodations and location was great. The rooms were very comforable and clean and the food was very good. I will definitely stay next year and recommend my friends to do also. March 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Conveinence and Comfort My husband and I were there with friends to attend an annual affair. The convenience and the comfort of the hotel were factors in the choice we made to reside there. All were polite and accommodating. We loved our stay. March 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and room Clean, updated decor. Would like a thermostat controlled heater/air conditioning unit so it wouldn't have to run all of the time - noisy. March 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice experience Nice experience. Check in was not organized. No 'set' line to check in so people would cut in front of you based on the layout of the front desk. March 1, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Entrance Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Entrance Lobby Lobby Exterior Feature Scenery/Landscape Scenery / Landscape Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading