• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: NORFOLK
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.2MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. Up to 75 for 1 thru 6 nights and up to150 for 7 nights or more. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs Pet agreement must be signed at check in. Record of complete updated vaccinations required No snakes allowed
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Chesapeake Square Mall
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Children's Museum
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Downtown Norfolk
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Dismal Swamp
Distance From Hotel:10.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:105
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel offers free parking - There are designated Handicapped parking as well . There is space to park bus or a Truck at the side.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:102
  • Total number of suites:102
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:85
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:17
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:94
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5325

Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Chesapeake – Suffolk - Hampton Roads Area VA.

The Chesapeake Suffolk Hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Candlewood Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.

The Candlewood Suites hotel is
View More

Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Chesapeake – Suffolk - Hampton Roads Area VA.

The Chesapeake Suffolk Hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Candlewood Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.

The Candlewood Suites hotel is centrally located at Exit 11 of I 664 near I 64, & I 264, and minutes from Portsmouth, Hampton, Norfolk, Suffolk & Virginia Beach business & real estate districts. Our location offers easy access to Harbour View Commerce Park, Lockheed Martin, Raytheon, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, General Dynamics, Mitre, Sysco JFCOM , US Coast Guard & the Newport News Navy Shipyard.

The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment-like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee applies) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment-like suites featuring fullyequipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV w/ DVD players and free wired & wireless Internet access.

Other features include a 24-hour business center w/ free Internet, print/fax/copy capabilities, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard w/grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store.

View Less
Features
Whether traveling for business or leisure visitors to our Chesapeake Virginia extended stay hotel can easily reach their destinations with our location in-between I-64 and I-264. We are located in the heart of Hampton Roads close to all major cities which includes Portsmouth Norfolk Hampton and Virginia Beach. Our hotel is only 2 minutes driving distance to all dining and shopping.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 133 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Hotel and Staff The Holiday Inn Express experience is one of the best I have had in recent years. I have traveled extensively over the last 20 years and have stayed at most major brand hotels. Albeit, a five star hotel will give a five star experience, the overall experience at the Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake is unparalleled, including other HIE hotels, The difference and the x factor is the the attentive staff. From the Christine and property manager Shashi to front desk personnel, Whitney, Dru and Monica to other staff Sabrina and Britney, the staff is wonderful! They should be commended and are an asset to your organization! September 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Price, good service, needs updating The price was right, the room was not. For a Holiday Inn I expected more. Very outdated and in need of repairs. The hot tub had buttons missing, and the cold and hot water were reversed. TV stand was broken so I had to be careful tilting it or turning it. Furniture and carpet were in need of a deep cleaning. However, the bed was immaculate and linens clean and fresh. Slept very well. Food was good and had a nice selection. The fresh baked cinnamon rolls were great. Coffee adequate. Front desk service was friendly and helpful. Not sure if I would stay here again unless I had no other choice or they were recently remodeled. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great peopleare employed here. Great place to stay and relax. Nice people, clean rooms, good breakfast. Easy check in and check out. September 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service Everyone was friendly and attentive. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were nice. September 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed but rooms need more attention I have been staying at this location every time I visit the Hampton Roads area for over 3 years now. The staff is always pleasant and the beds are always comfortable. There are, though, little things that are causing me to consider a change. During my most recent visit, someone had removed the screws from the silver circular backing in the shower and it was hanging off when I checked into my room. To add to that, I had to wait for an additional towel because they were drying them. There have been other little things during previous visits and little things start to add up. Oh, and I received absolutely NO recognition as an IHG Rewards member for the second time in a row. September 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good but could be improved Overall good experience. Hotel needs to work on mustiness in rooms. Also ants were a problem. I left a cookie on the desk and within an hour it was covered by ants. They remained in the room for the rest of my stay. September 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Better Housekeeping Needed It's not the cleanest Holiday Inn Express I've ever stayed at, the thing I had a problem with was there was a man at the front desk at about 6:30 in the morning and I told him that the bath mat in the bathtub had a lot of mold under the front edge and some around the tile. He said he would see to it that it was taken care of that day, but when I returned I didn't see any difference. Yes I should have just removed the bathmat myself and tossed it in the trash myself, but I shouldn't have too. September 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room good, pool terrible We chose this hotel on our way to NC because of the indoor pool and having children in a car all day we needed a way for them to get their energy out. The pool is very small and there were hardly any dry towels. The bathroom was unkept and complained about several times. The room itself was nice and the beds were comfortable. The morning we left there was a ceiling leak in the bathroom. Other than that it was an average experience. September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoy every time Staff is friendly, nice indoor pool, smoking rooms available. Nice pillows. Clean room September 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Guest Services Day time guest service representatives were great. Night time representatives were less than desired. Too much attitude and not enough service. August 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Starting to show its age. My wife and I are long time fans of Holiday Inn Express, with extensive travels in the southeast August 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This Place needs a lot of maintenance I would not recommend a summer stay in this spot, winters may be better. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great family value We traveled with our three little ones. They have an indoor pool and hot tub that we practically had to ourselves. The kids loved it. The rooms are clean and quiet. They have a great staff and wonderful variety for their complimentary breakfast. I would definitely stay again. August 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Speciaweekendguest As my profession is health inspector it is a habit that conduct an initial inspection of places I visit but this was a pleasure stay this weekend. The inspector in me kicked in though...Negatives were signs of black discolorations around the tub/face basin(found housekeeping staff and requested bleach and cloth to clean myself however she didn't have any) discoloration on the wall near the window, (possible leak) clean linen (particularly the pillow cases), chlorine from the pool is evident as you enter the lobby....as a guest negatives were room was still being cleaned at 3 which was my check in time, jacuzzi tub didn't work (a real real bummer since this was a very special romantic weekend), baggage trolley was hard to steer and guests children throw objects at the doors, ice machine did not work therefore had to use other floor's machine which was inconvenient , hallways are humid, had a king size bed therefore you would expect the flat sheet to at least fit the bed as well as the blanket so we played tug of war two nights...... Updates are needed and much welcomed......positives continental breakfast was ok, microwave and small fridge were clean........ I enjoyed just spending time with BF, A, B&E......but I will definitely choice another hotel. FYI this was his choice August 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Need taller toilets The room was okay, but the toilet was too low. The room needed a taller toilet. My husband and I are average height and we felt as if we had to sit on the floor to use the bathroom. It was not a comfortable feeling at all. The bathroom sink did not have a stopper in it so we could not run water in the sink to soak anything because there was not stopper. We always stay at a Holiday Inn when we go out of town and were kind of disappointed with this one. I would continue to recommend Holiday Inn because this is not usual for the Holiday Inn chains. August 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location The interior was well kept. The Breakfast was very good August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OVER ALL GREAT HOTEL HAVE STAYED AT THIS LOCATION SENCE 2006 AND KEEP COMING BACK. GREAT STAFF AND STARTED AM BREAKFEAST 1/2/ HR EARLY TO ACCOMADETE MY CREW. WILL KEEP COMING BACK IN THE FUTHURE. August 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bed great, pillow great Bathroom pipe need to fix water keep runnering all day all night. Ant s in the room. Rooms need to swell better August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Getting run-down..... Second stay in this hotel. First time 1.5 years ago. Perfect then. Now on a two night mid-week stay.... Pool was covered with scum. Unusable! All the doors to the pool area were propped open and some construction guy from the parking lot just strolled in and used the restroom, having access to anywhere in the hotel. First day we had no housekeeping service at all! Second day our room was "turned over" while we had breakfast. All our food for our trip was in the trash. No towels to wash up before we checked out. Allthough the breakfast items were good, the attendant did not keep the items stocked in a timely way. Will rethink our stay next time. August 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by How things can change from one week This was my second stay at the property and it did not live up to my first visit. The staff that was there was very rude and behind schedule. Myself and other guests had to wait 30-40 minutes to check into our rooms. The staff on my previous visit made sure I was recognized as an IHG platinum member, this time nothing happened. The property has a good price point and I will give it another try but I hope the staff is better like my first trip. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1st time stay for business trip This was my first time staying at this property. This property met my business needs. August 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by My room needed a dehumidifier Everything was okay except the guest room. Mine was nice and cool but had a damp feeling to everything. Even the sheets felt damp. It really needed a dehumidifier to fix the problem. Also the hallways and elevator smelled like smoke. August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad Not bad, kind of away from the main road though. Avg hot breakfast. Friendly staff! August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Pretty decent - not the cleanest - not the same hotel advertised on the internet at time of booking Pretty pictures on the internet - not the same in person August 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn This inn express was fantastic besides minor details with the bathroom and muggy smell of the room upon entrance. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location in VA Beach area Stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for 2 nights. Was in the area for a BBQ Contest and catching up with friends/co-workers. Location was reasonably easy to get to in spite of the local road construction. Friendly and helpful staff/ Great value for the area. August 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent The hotel was really pretty from the outside and the room was pretty even though we were unable to get the jacuzzi suite we requested as it was flooded out. Swimming pool and weight room small and not much exercise equipment. August 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE! Needs a renovation, poor service, not clean, furniture in very poor condition, carpet filthy, poor maintenance upkeep. They did not seem to care when I complained as I received no apologies only excuses. August 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn Express I have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express' and this is by far the worst ever, regarding quality and the feeling of cleanliness. There are a lot of features that need updating to make it the standard that Holiday Inn Express normally has. I was shocked, and thought I was in a lower priced hotel. This hotel still charges the full rate of a quality Holiday Inn Express, and is far from being such. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Convenient location - both for traveling and stoking up for our tript to OBX July 31, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Our Front desk at your service, round the clock! Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading