• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: NORFOLK
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.2MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. Up to 75 for 1 thru 6 nights and up to150 for 7 nights or more. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs Pet agreement must be signed at check in. Record of complete updated vaccinations required No snakes allowed
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Dismal Swamp
Distance From Hotel:10.1MI
Attraction:
Children's Museum
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Downtown Norfolk
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Chesapeake Square Mall
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:105
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel offers free parking - There are designated Handicapped parking as well . There is space to park bus or a Truck at the side.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:102
  • Total number of suites:102
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:85
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:17
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:94
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5325

Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Chesapeake – Suffolk - Hampton Roads Area VA.

The Chesapeake Suffolk Hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Candlewood Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.

The Candlewood Suites hotel is
View More

Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Chesapeake – Suffolk - Hampton Roads Area VA.

The Chesapeake Suffolk Hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Candlewood Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.

The Candlewood Suites hotel is centrally located at Exit 11 of I 664 near I 64, & I 264, and minutes from Portsmouth, Hampton, Norfolk, Suffolk & Virginia Beach business & real estate districts. Our location offers easy access to Harbour View Commerce Park, Lockheed Martin, Raytheon, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, General Dynamics, Mitre, Sysco JFCOM , US Coast Guard & the Newport News Navy Shipyard.

The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment-like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee applies) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment-like suites featuring fullyequipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV w/ DVD players and free wired & wireless Internet access.

Other features include a 24-hour business center w/ free Internet, print/fax/copy capabilities, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard w/grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store.

View Less
Features
Whether traveling for business or leisure, visitors to our Chesapeake, Virginia extended stay hotel can easily reach their destinations with our location in-between I-64 and I-264. We are located in the heart of Hampton Roads close to all major cities, which includes, Portsmouth, Norfolk, Hampton and Virginia Beach. Our hotel is only 2 minutes driving distance to all dining and shopping!!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 85 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service! The staff and service at this hotel was excellent! The staff were very accommodating and very friendly! The rooms are a bit outdated. The bed was not comfortable and the sheets were scratchy. While taking a shower at night there was no hot water. November 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great size room! Bed was so comfortable, felt like I was sleeping on a cloud. Breakfast was great. Room was very clean and presentable! Will definitely stay here in the future! October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience Have stayed at this location 2 times now and both times the staff has been wonderful and friendly. I really enjoyed being there close to everything but not in the midst of it. Love the location. Rooms are big and cozy. Will definitely stay at this location again. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Will Definitely Stay Again & Again I am a frequent visitor of the Chesapeake area and usually stay with friends. Instead, for this trip, we decided to stay in a hotel. Lately, I've been staying at many Holiday Inn's because I've been travelling a lot and I get a great rate. However, this property was the best I've stayed in. The room was beautiful and so very spacious. The only downside in the room is that the sofa bed is uncomfortable because the mattress is very thin and you can feel the bar/springs right through it. The floor was quiet. Housekeeping (Martha) was excellent. She checked on us, after she had cleaned the room, to make sure that everything was good. Thanks for a great stay. We will recommend this property to others and we will be here again! October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff at front desk. My sister and I stayed at the hotel while attending the funeral of a family member. It was a long drive and emotional occasion but the accomodations met our needs and the staff was great. it helped to have breakfast served right there and not have to go out and find a restaurant. The woman at the front desk (sorry, can't remember her name) working the evening shift checked us in, was helpful with directions and had a wonderful sense of humor which also helped us get through a tough occasion. She found us a vase so we could keep the roses fresh we were given from a memorial bouquet, and immediately supplied us with extra towels and coffee when requested. Overall a very positive experience. October 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I love this place! I love this place. I will stay here anytime I'm in the area. Friendly and helpful staff and clean rooms. I never have to worry if the room will be nice or if the staff will be helpful. They always are. Also, right around the corner from the Hotel is a place called AJ Gators restaurant and bar. Really cool place to hang out. :) September 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Courteous and considerate staff. My family and I recently stayed, over Labor Day weekend. Room was great, location was great and easy to find. Our first night should have been great except for our disruptive neighbors at 3:00 a.m. Once we addressed the issue with hotel staff, it was resolved quickly and we were able to get back to sleep. We were concerned that our second night would be a repeat performance, but after expressing our concerns with staff, all was taken care of. Our second night was much quieter. Thank you to all the staff at the Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake for your kindness, consideration and prompt attention to make sure the rest of our stay was great and that we had everything that we needed! I would definitely stay here again. September 7, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not sure about this one! I have always been an Holiday inn customer always being sure to stay at the brands when staying away from home. But the issues I had at this one where a little unsettling. Our orginal room was ready when arrived but we expected to shower and take the kids to see a movie we had no hot water... things happen no big deal. We called the front desk Ms. Monica was great and told me she world try to find maintance ;( We decided to go on with our plans with hopes that we woud have hot water when we returned. When we came back in she was unsure if the problem was fixed on not so I went to the room to check it was not. I told her it was not she moved us about 11:00pm we where awaken by people trying to check in to out room as well... That made me a little uneasy and worried about the safety of my belongings. The next day we received a phone call inquirying rather we ready to check out. I paid for two days. The phone call awoke us from our sleep. We planned to take the kids to the beach that day I worried rather or not our stuff would be ok. This stay was by far the worst I have had at an Holiday Inn brand I will not say that this hotel will make me stay away from the brand just this particular one. I only stay at Holiday inn and will continue to just not this one. I was very disappointed. The bathroom was also not very clean looking. September 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by JSGL Rooms in bad need of up grade One night stay we had to get towels for the room The next night we had to get toilet paper, coffee, and wash cloths for the room. September 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the Friendliest Hard to find, kind of tucked out of the way. Check-in went OK, but cleanliness of the room was poor. While this is a newer property, don't be fooled. The floors creaked, the sink wouldn't hold water, and doors didn't fit well. Grout in the shower was mildew stained, and had a build up of soap scum. Commode was not well seated and bolted to the floor, but at least it did not leak. I wouldn't recommend this location under any circumstance. August 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Never again I continuously stay at the Holiday Inn Express based on a price, level of service and cleanliness. This was my second stay at the Holiday Inn Chesapeake Va. My first stay was not too bad, however this past stay from 14 - 20 Aug 2013 will be my last stay in this hotel. The young man at the front desk was far too distracted with his girlfriend rather than checking in guests. While walking to the room, the filth on the floor in the hallways was very apparent to all of us, but seemed to be transparent to the staff as it remained for the duration of our stay. The rooms were filthy, urine on the seat of the toilet and around the base, dirty bath tub and filthy floor which I was not comfortable having my son walking on in bare feet. After explaining the situation, the maid did clean the bathroom, however did a very poor job in cleaning the rest of the room. During our time there, the linens were changed only once. We asked the lady at the front desk why the place was so dirty and she stated they were having trouble with their cleaning staff. We watched several times as a maid would walk past trash on the floor and not pick it up. The trash can at the front door was continuously overflowing onto the ground and blowing around the front entrance every day. We took our son to the pool, only to find clumps of hair floating in the pool. The food was no consolation prize either unless you like your eggs served with clumps of ice in them. As of the writing of this - 26 August, I still have not received a corrected copy of our receipt for this trip, even after several calls and emails to Christy Morgan. Since this trip I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Stephens City VA which was outstanding due to the manager taking pride in his hotel. Highly recommend staying there and avoid at all costs the HIE in Chesapeake Va. This will be copied and posted on Trip Adviser. August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service Checked in to a standard king room. The A/C apparently had a blocked drain, we had wet carpet the next morning. When the desk person was made aware, we were quickly provided another room, a king suite at no extra charge for the remainder of our stay. August 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average stay Average staff. Could use upgrades to the bathroom along bed room August 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It's ok The hotel was ok, only our neighbors stressed. 1am the kids played in the floor, and the parents talked very noisy. The hotel and the room were ok! August 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Property Poorly Maintained A shame to see a relatively modern facility ruined by poor Maintenance and cleaning. Broken bath fixture, mildew around tub, trash bags littering elevator foyer on our floor, sheets almost worn through and pilled. Elevator carpet frayed, sticky floors at buffet etc. Staff were very friendly but apparently indifferent about such issues. First room we were given had door ajar and was only half serviced. Second room was confirmed as cleaned and ready for occupancy and by their standards apparently was. But certainly was not up to any reasonable standard of other Holiday Inn Expresses I have used. August 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by it smells Stayed at this place a few months ago and filled out this review indicating the problems with the room (#504). The bathroom door does not close, the shower transfer valve dumps half the water in the tub and other half to the shower head, and the air conditioner rattled all night. I went back to the same hotel this pass weekend and got the exact same suite (#504). Nothing was fixed plus the tub had an old soap bar in it. It appears I am wasting my time telling you what's wrong. August 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Kitchen Staff not nice We were on vacation at three Holiday Day Inn Express and the kitchen staff at this location was very mean. The started packing away the breakfast before 10AM. The other staff members were very kind and hospitable. We wouldn't stay at this location again! July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service When I arrived at the hotel, I was given a room that had a strong smell of cleaning product. It was enough to give me a headache. I reported the problem to Ken, the desk clerk on duty, and he immediately gave me another, better room. His care and concern was much appreciated. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who planned to stay in the Chesapeake area. This is the type of service that has made me a loyal Holiday Inn Express customer. July 31, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best! The room felt dirty. Sink faucit only dribbled at full on. Toilet seat had only one screw securing it on and it was loose. Black hair was all over the back of the bathroom door as well as the top cover of the bed. Shower curtian rod was relocated due to a repair and was to tall allowing shower water to run on to the bathroom floor. Was not greeted as a priority club member "platnum". Have stayed there a few times before with no real issues but this last time will make me stay at a IHG hotell a little farther away from our job! Not real happy. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best The staff at this hotel makes it stand out as one of the best that I stay in. I travel with work and spend at least 3 weeks out of every month in a hotel so I know a good one when I see it. Thanks to the staff for making this a memorable experience. July 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Wonderful people. Your people are the reason that Holiday Inn Express is the only hotel i use while I am on the road for work. Great value. July 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unsatisfied for a Holiday Inn Room was damp, the floor was dirty. Elevators are not clean. The breakfast area very dirty. The floor in the breakfast area was not clean my shoes were sticking to the floor. Every time I went to the front desk no one was attending the desk. My expectation for Holiday Inn Hotel was not met. July 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express As usual, the room and the rest of the hotel were kept very clean and presentable. What sets this hotel apart is the staff. They went out of there way to help me find my way around town and to print some files that I needed for work (their business center was down at the time). Thanks for everything especially to the manager. July 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poorly maintained room This is the poorest maintained Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in . The commode leaked onto the floor every time it was flushed. Every time the a/c came on, it was so loud it woke us up. We did not have a restful nite. It was not a good stay for the money I paid for it. July 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average The only reason I could not rate it higher because the rooms could add some upgrades: full size sleeper sofa than the twin size, comfortable mattresses, bathtub and comfortable blankets. Also, I disliked that there were no pancake mix to make pancakes at breakfast. I also suggest a waffle maker. Overall, the room and hotel was clean and all the staff was courteous and helpful. I also requested a first floor hotel after I read the reviews about the cigarette smoke. I received a first floor room with no problem and I was able to receive late check out without any problem. July 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, forgetable hotel After 4 Holiday Inn, nothing special. The staff was boring and handles us as numbers. July 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Guest Service Issues The two major problems resulted in a lower rating because these were major issues: Long wait to get in room 25-30 minutes at check-in No hot water to shower in on Sunday morning July 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Felt like I was at home, everything was very comfortable This was my second time staying at the Holiday Inn in less than 8 months. We were there for the IKE Homecoming. The beds were very comfortable. We not able to hear noise outside the room. The showers were very relaxing. Which made it good after the long day that we had at the pier. Waiting for my son's ship to come in. The staff was very friendly. July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by home away from home I travel a lot and when im in Virginia working I will only stay at this holiday inn. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. They will go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Its like being home away from home. I always recommend this holiday inn to my family, friends, and co-workers I appreciate everything they do for me when I stay with them and look forward to the next time i'll be in Virginia. Thank you holiday inn express staff in Chesapeake, va off of gum road. They are one of the best. July 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very disappointed... I spend 80+ nights a year in Holiday Inn's and Holiday Inn Expresses. Rarely have I written a review because I was profoundly disappointed. The room we were giving wreaked of "wet dog". We found the cause being that the rug was recently washed and was still wet. The equipment they used must have been very dirty as the edges of the bed sheets were Black with dirt. (including hand prints on the bed. You'd think they could have changed the sheets after cleaning and dried the place out. I asked for a new room and was told the hotel was full. (even though the parking lot was not full at 11 pm and there were no buses). No apologies. No offer to find a room in another holiday inn.. Nothing. Additionally, the tub didn't work, the toilet seat was broken and the sink didn't drain.... I didn't know you could upload pictures or I would have taken more. I took this one just for laughs.... Again, I travel for a living and have only once or twice written negative reviews. It's not in my nature, but this place was so bad that I would never go back again nor would I suggest anybody else does. July 1, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Our Front desk at your service, round the clock! Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Availability
Loading