• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: NORFOLK
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.2MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. Up to 75 for 1 thru 6 nights and up to150 for 7 nights or more. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs Pet agreement must be signed at check in. Record of complete updated vaccinations required No snakes allowed
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Chesapeake Square Mall
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Children's Museum
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Downtown Norfolk
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Dismal Swamp
Distance From Hotel:10.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:105
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel offers free parking - There are designated Handicapped parking as well . There is space to park bus or a Truck at the side.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:102
  • Total number of suites:102
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:85
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:17
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:94
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5325

Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Chesapeake – Suffolk - Hampton Roads Area VA.

The Chesapeake Suffolk Hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Candlewood Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.

The Candlewood Suites hotel is
View More

Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Chesapeake – Suffolk - Hampton Roads Area VA.

The Chesapeake Suffolk Hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Candlewood Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.

The Candlewood Suites hotel is centrally located at Exit 11 of I 664 near I 64, & I 264, and minutes from Portsmouth, Hampton, Norfolk, Suffolk & Virginia Beach business & real estate districts. Our location offers easy access to Harbour View Commerce Park, Lockheed Martin, Raytheon, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, General Dynamics, Mitre, Sysco JFCOM , US Coast Guard & the Newport News Navy Shipyard.

The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment-like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee applies) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment-like suites featuring fullyequipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV w/ DVD players and free wired & wireless Internet access.

Other features include a 24-hour business center w/ free Internet, print/fax/copy capabilities, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard w/grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store.

View Less
Features
Whether traveling for business or leisure, visitors to our Chesapeake, Virginia extended stay hotel can easily reach their destinations with our location in-between I-64 and I-264. We are located in the heart of Hampton Roads close to all major cities, which includes, Portsmouth, Norfolk, Hampton and Virginia Beach. Our hotel is only 2 minutes driving distance to all dining and shopping!!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 125 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Why I would come back to Holiday inn chesapeake va We called the hotel to confirm our reservations Monica the assistant General Manager answered the phone and I quickly remembered why me and my family keep coming back to your hotel Monica is the happiest most friendliest professional person I have seen at a hotel ever Monica smile and personality radiates thru out the hotel she is differently the reason we keep returning to Holiday Inn Chesapeake VA July 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by overworked staff and dirty bathroom Bath function didn't work, dirty bathroom (hair and overall dirty appearance), bed was uncomfortable--it felt like a plastic sheet was mangled underneath the fitted sheet. The check-in and check-out was smooth, but the attendant on our floor was exhausted. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family visit My visit was great! Check in was good and easy. We were greeted by Alexis at the front desk, and she made us feel very welcomed right from the start! Right after check in we did have one minor problem with the room but Alexis and the staff went out of their way to ensure we were taken care of, and the problem was resolved in less than 10 min. My girls enjoyed the internet access, and that night we were able to find a movie that we all wanted to see! Breakfast was good--and everyone ate their fill. They offered a nice variety of foods and fruits--although I regret that I did not see the pancake maker until after I had finished eating...but Ill remember for next time. Check out was a breeze, and that's about it! Overall, it was a very nice stay, and I would certainly go back the next time Im in town! July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Great breakfast. Good location- close to highway, gas, food, mall, walmart. Last stay was a nightmare but no concerns this stay. July 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. When I reside at a hotel I always look for reviews first. This time was no different. The hotel had positive reviews and I was satisfied with my stay. Comfort and Cleanliness are a biggie and this hotel was the perfect combo for my guest and I. No complaints over here! July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good value stayed for business, good value for the money. Staff is friendly, facilities are clean and neat I will stay here again July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall a great experience my one and only complaint was the sofa in the room when you sat down you almost hit the floor June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. The stay was very plesant. The room was clean, neat and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fresh and tasty. June 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Broken amenities Stayed 2 nights. Checked into first room where the AC and refrigerator were both broken. We were then switched to a second room where the AC worked "a little" but refrigerator was also broken. The toilet seat was loose and felt like you were going to fall off when you set down. Also the shower/ baths spicket was loose. One second day the AC in the second room finally went out and that room had no AC. The on duty manager was attentive and called in maintenance who promptly showed up with a new replacement unit which he installed. Breakfast has a great variety and is well stocked. "Fitness center" could use a little more equipment to qualify as a fitness center. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Professional and friendly staff. Great Breakfast buffet We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return to this Holiday Inn Express. The staff was great and attentive to our needs. The breakfast buffet was delicious (especially the cinnamon buns!) The pool and hot tub were very clean and refreshing. The guest room was also clean and had everything we needed. We liked having the choice of soft or firm pillows. Sometimes it's the little things that make a big difference! Overall, our stay was very pleasant! June 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel Never have i been to a hotel and the staff actually looked like they wanted to be there. Loved it. The happiness of the staff has made me a lifetime Holiday Inn Express guest. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff The staff were very friendly, helpful, and professional. The room was nice, the location was great for us, and the breakfast was excellent. June 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very unhappy with this stay. I checked the reviews and ratings before I booked this hotel thinking this hotel would be a great place to stay while attending my granddaughters graduation. What a terrible disappointment. The food was ok but nothing outstanding. We couldn't even enjoy the pool or spa due to kids horse playing in them and they were wearing street shorts and some were even in their underwear. How disgusting!! The beds were uncomfortable as well. We came over a 1000 miles and hoped for much better than this. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I had stayed at this hotel before, and as always the staff is very friendly. They have added several things to the breakfast bar to include healthy foods. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Christy and Monica made each of us feel as if we were the only guest in the hotel. Their attention to detail was very impressive. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good visit The rooms were very neat and clean and the hotel was quiet. The dining area was clean and the food was plentiful. The hotel was located in a convienent area. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. The pool area was clean and well maintained but the water could be a little warmer for a more pleasant swim. The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay.... The perfect place to unwind after a long day. The staff made you feel like you were a top priority. Mgr. Christy is most concerned how to make your stay the best during each visit. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff friendly staff, good value, good location for my needs May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I would go back to this hotel anytime! All of the staff, especially Monica, were pleasant, helpful and very capable. Our room was very well set up for me to move around in my wheelchair! I was glad to have the washer and dryer available too! The beds were very comfortable and we had a great time relaxing in our room. I am looking forward to visiting this hotel again when we come back to Chesapeake. I give this hotel a 100% for cleanliness, friendliness, comfort and value! April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A little confusing to find, but it is worth it. The hotel is off of the main road, but it is located right beside an on ramp for the interstate, so when you put the address in the GPS, it wants you to take the ramp instead of the road since the Address is on Gum Road but the GPS location is actually Gum Road Trail. Once I figured that out, I was good. The staff here are great and really nice. The location isn't too bad for food. There are a few restaurants around, but they are way down the road so you will have to go searching for them. I tend to like hotels where the restaurants are within walking distance so I don't have to drive to eat dinner after I get back to the room and cleaned up after working all day. Overall it was a great stay, and I will surely return if I ever have to head to Chesapeake, VA again for work. April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Job! Our group checked in to play in a tournament. I was impressed that the staff were ready for our arrival. They had directions printed out and a list of restaurants for one of the other parents who requested information when she made her reservation. Most hotels have a robotic process, but these folks took a personal interest in our team and made us feel welcome. Breakfast was good and so were the freshly baked cookies. The location was about 15 minutes from where we needed to be, but the savings and quality were worth it. Will stay again next year. March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed the Weekend Spent the weekend with Archie, Bert & Ernie, Kitty & Lucy, and B&N we had ourselves an extremely wonderful time. Looking foward to coming back March 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by unsaticfactory I checked in and was given a room that had no air was moved that night to another room that had a big Jacuzzi in it with no sitting area that was not what I had booked so was moved again the next day to a room that I had booked but had no hot water in the morning for showers and two days our room was not cleaned. I was there for 5 days this was the worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at. The only good thing about this place was the clerk at the front desk was very kind. March 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Hot Water and No Maid Service We were there 6 nights to arrange my mother's funeral. The first night we got in at 10pm and got into our room and the air conditioner didn't work. The desk clerk moved us to what she called an upgraded room, which had a jacuzzi in the room but no sofa area. Since we were staying 6 days, I wanted a sofa area to relaxing in, not a jacuzzi. She had no other available rooms. The next day, we were moved to a room with a sofa area. Two days out of the five in that room, we came back after a long day to fine our room had not been serviced, the bed wasn't made, trash not dumped and no clean towels. We complained and it still happened again a few days later. We have stayed at a lot of Holiday Inns and this was by far the worse. We come down to the Tidewater area quite a lot because we have family here and we will not be staying in this hotel again. The one on Military Hwy near the airport is the best in the area. The hot water situation was unbelievable. If you take a shower in the evening you should have no problem, but in the morning...you will have lukewarm water. March 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quirky hot water problems... still Thursday morning I could only shower in luke warm water, vs. hot/warm water. This has not been the first time. I don't know if their hot water capacity is undersized, or if it's something else. The first 4 days (Sun-Wed) there were no hot water issues. I've been coming to this hotel on business once or twice a year, for over a decade, and usually there isn't any issues, and sometimes I never get hot water (only luke warm) for consecutive days. Otherwise it's just like every other Holiday Inn Express. March 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by eveyone is equal here You could be a solid gold with platinum covering member and it doesn't mean a thing. Towels & wash clothes are berber carpet remnants. Milk in fridge is warm. I told the 'attendant' and she just shrugged her shoulders. March 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by frequent stayer I am a frequent customer at this hotel (at least once a month for the past 14months) and usually its a very quiet hotel with nice clean rooms in great shape. The last time i stayed, there were children running rampant in the hallways and our room was not to the standard I was used to having from this hotel. I was disappointed. Overall, the staff is friendly and approachable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone because the price is great (gets a little high for the quality in the summer) and like I said, I've had only had a few less than stellar stays. March 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by report This was an OK visit EXCEPT>> Someones tissue left in ice container NOT OURS, .Checking out rooms that have more than 5 kids in them per couple made for an awful time @ the tub/pool area was overpopulated and a birthday party that drew other outside the hotel guest and there children , made it uninviting.Elevators where filthy. March 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay at HIE!! We stayed for two nights in a beautiful non-smoking room on the fourth floor. Everything looked very clean and the room still smelled like Clorox from its cleaning. The staff were some of the nicest people I have ever seen in a Hotel. They were friendly every time I walked past the front desk or had a question, even the maids and breakfast cooks were extremely friendly! My wife and I greatly enjoyed our stay, and would stay there again in a heartbeat. The location of the Hotel was a huge plus. It sits on a road with only one other Hotel and a condo complex nearby, but is not far off the interstate or far from the shopping mall. It was the perfect location! February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service great stay would need 2 washer dryer instead of one will return thank you February 24, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Our Front desk at your service, round the clock! Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading