• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CLEARWATER
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Agreement must be signed at check in. A record of complete and up to date vaccinations may be required. Fee is 15.00 for first night, and 10.00 each additional night, up to 14 nights.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Durby Lane
Distance From Hotel:5.5MI
Attraction:
Tropicana Field
Distance From Hotel:12.0MI
Attraction:
Clearwater Marine Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:12.3MI
Attraction:
Salvador Dali Museum
Distance From Hotel:12.6MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:134
  • Car Parking Available
  • COMPLIMENTARY

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:104
  • Total number of suites:104
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:80
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:104
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:FL4667

Clearwater, FL Gulf Coast Beach Hotel Offers Comfort

Looking for extended stay hotels in Clearwater, Florida? Choose Candlewood Suites® Clearwater. Our location is convenient and easily accessible via I-275. Our accommodations are thoughtfully located near Tampa International Airport (TPA) and St. Petersburg Clearwater Airport (PIE). Our business and leisure guests love staying with us because of our proximity to Gulf Coast beaches. Come stay in comfort.

There’s plenty to
View More

Clearwater, FL Gulf Coast Beach Hotel Offers Comfort

Looking for extended stay hotels in Clearwater, Florida? Choose Candlewood Suites® Clearwater. Our location is convenient and easily accessible via I-275. Our accommodations are thoughtfully located near Tampa International Airport (TPA) and St. Petersburg Clearwater Airport (PIE). Our business and leisure guests love staying with us because of our proximity to Gulf Coast beaches. Come stay in comfort.

There’s plenty to do while visiting Clearwater, FL. Explore Busch Gardens and Adventure Island amusement parks and enjoy easy access to Raymond James Stadium and Tropicana Field. When visiting for business, you can be sure to have an easy commute to nearby major corporations located in the Star Center and Carillon Corporate Parks. Our corporate travelers appreciate being close to area companies, including Allstate and Lockheed Martin.

Feel relaxed from the start with our amenities. Our all-suite hotel features fully-equipped kitchens and spacious workstations. You can even enjoy a heated, outdoor pool, 24 hour Candlewood Gym, free laundry facilities, free Wi-Fi access, and the Candlewood Cupboard filled with sundries. Need a cooler for your day at the beach? Stop by our Lending Locker where you will find coolers and more. Our guests especially take advantage of the Lending Library when they want to have a movie night. We have everything you need to stay at your best.

View Less
Features
Whether for a quick trip or an extended stay in Clearwater, Florida, our hotel's guests enjoy the high level of service, free Internet access, 24-hour laundry facilities and a 24-hour Fitness Center.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 123 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Weekend We had a large group in from Orlando for a Figure Skating Competition across the street. Perfect location, great staff and service. Everyone had a great time. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Excellent facility. Clean and comfortable. Buffet breakfast well above the norm. Front desk and staff very friendly and attentive. Ample parking. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place I'll stay there again for business or leisure travel June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by R&R Had a great couple of days just to rest and relax. Enjoyed the hotel and staff was friendly. Mattress was a bit soft for my liking. Hotel is doing improvement currently but that did not distract from our stay. June 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very warm with power outage Power outage from 3 am till we checked out without breakfast at 8am. I know it was beyound their control but somthing should have been done. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Stay It is a nice hotel. The lobby is a little dated but very clean. The staff was very friendly and my room was clean and comfortable. I happened to be there when there were a lot of teenagers staying there for a sporting event so it was a little noisy but that was not the staff's fault. I would stay here again. June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel...friendly staff This room was booked last minute on a holiday weekend due to plumbing issues at home. We are familiar with the area and enjoyed the location. The pull out couch needs new springs at the foot of the bed and the pool needs some cleaning but wasn't unusable. There is a handicap chair lift for both the pool and hot tub, which we have not seen at other hotels we have stayed at. If we ever need a local hotel again we will book at this location. May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Small rooms and limited breakfast items Rooms are very tight especially for my family of 5. You can barely get by when there is a cot in the room. May 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible! Needs serious improvements! I hate to say that I am completely dissatisfied with my stay here at the Holiday Inn Clearwater East. If I knew my stay was going to end up the way it did, I would have gone somewhere else. The hotel exterior looks nice and inviting, plenty of parking and located right off the main road. The lobby appeared to be fairly clean, but dim and not like a typical Holiday Inn I'm use to. When I checked in around 12a (my flight was three hours late) the agent at the desk was very nice and helpful with information about the area. Check-in went smooth, in and out in no time. That is not the problem. Here we go... when I entered my room it had a old musty smell to it. The carpets looked fifty years old and the furniture looked like it had been in the room for the past ten years. I was traveling with some friends, and I thought I'd be nice and offer them the nice big bed. I'm use to sleeping on the couch, so I didn't think it was going to be a problem. WRONG!!!!!! When I pulled that couch out, there were blood stains on the sheets, blankets, and even the pillow case! Of course it looks like the sheets were washed, but why weren't they thrown out? When I took the sheets off the bed, I noticed there were multiple blood stains on the bed!!! It was truly disgusting to see this. I went to the front desk to complain, and asked for a rollaway bed instead. My request was granted (I appreciate the accomadation) however, the cot felt like metal coat hangers!! Extremely uncomfortable. So... I took the sheets off the cot, and put them on the bloody couch hoping for some comfort without any diseases. Little did I know, the room is right next to the breakfast area. So, I had little sleep because of such noisy people. Breakfast was typical, and restocked frequently. The pool was filthy dirty... so a swim with the leaves was not to fun. When I requested to be moved to another room, the agent told me that she would let me know if anything was available. Never heard anything, so I was stuck in the blood bed for another night. Needless to stay, I was disgusted more by the blood than anything during this stay. Although this is a couch, I believe it is unacceptable to have sheets and a bed with blood on them. Oh, and the bathroom fan did not work.... which didn't help anything. Don't stay here if you are looking to relax. I certainly wasted my points on this stay. April 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is great, breakfasts are lacking I've been staying here because of a longer term work assignment. Breakfasts are like the movie Groundhog Day -- same thing over and over, each and every day. No variation. Had major internet connectivity problems last week, frequent disconnections or slow to load. Leap Networks, the tech company, was useless and their tech support team was poor. There have been many baseball and softball teams here, and they were pretty rowdy and bothersome at times. The staff is very friendly. After being here a while, they all know me and greet me as I enter or leave. I've asked for help on a few things, and they bent over backwards to help. March 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 good value Comfy bed, great shower, central location, nice daytime staff! Pool had issues. Breakfast ran out of certain food items early. March 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Had a great stay thank you. See you next year. Same time. March 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk people The front desk people were nice but didn't know what they were doing. I left laundry Saturday morning only to be told that there was no laundry on the weekend. I cancelled my reservation for Wednesday night first thing Wednesday morning only to be called later that afternoon to ask if I was staying that night. Management should get all staff educated about what the rules are. March 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A favorite hotel starting to decline? This Holiday inn express has been my favorite place to stay when my wife and I are in the Clearwater area. We have stayed there many times over the last few years. We always use the in-room coffee maker before going down to breakfast. During our last two stays however, although the coffe pot was clean when we checked in, the pot was not cleaned out in subsequent days. The used grounds were not removed and the leftover coffee was still in the pot when we returned to the room late in the day. We notifed the desk of this when we checked out after three days (same thing happened all three days). A week later, we checked in again for two nights and, although we were upgraded to a suite, the same coffee pot problem was still happening. On top of that, one of the folding doors to the closet was completely off the rails and, if touched, would fall out onto the floor. We were surprised that houskeeping had not reported the un-attached door to maintenance. The next day the room was cleaned but the door was still broken and the coffee pot not cleaned. As before, I reported these issues to the front desk when I checked out. I'm not one who usually writes reviews but we've enjoyed Holiday Innn Express and this hotel in particular so much in the past I would hate to see it go into decline. My view, granted it's from the outside looking in, it seems to be a problem with housekeeing. March 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not as bad as billed I read a review on the way to this hotel and I was very nervous. My first impressions were good with friendly, helpful staff and pleasant rooms. The problems started next morning. My shower had no water pressure which was hard to deal with. Not easy to report this to the desk mid-flow. Breakfast was not a good experience. Paper plates, massive lines, no seating and constant low supplies. I don't work in catering but I surely if you knew you were full up you would prepare. So, in all, not as bad as expected but far below my usual expectation of HI March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Services Exellent, When checking in the staff upgrade our room, Only Holiday Inn the did in the last 10 stays. Thank you March 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Most Friendly Staff Anywhere I travel a lot and most staff's are friendly, but the staff here (especially front desk) is really a standout...they went beyond call-of-duty more than once. March 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Never again! We checked in late at night; only to awaken the next morning finding blood stains on the bed linens. After complaining to management, it took them almost 3 hours to get housekeeping to change the linens. The staff seemed put off by the complaint and made virtually no apologies. Very disappointed. I have been a Platinum member every year for the last 6 years; and, have never come across this level of behavior and dirtiness in an IHG property. February 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Did not meet expectations I reserved a room with two queen beds. On check-in, I was told that I was "upgraded" to a king suite. Since I was traveling with my son, I said I needed two beds. I was informed that there was a pull out bed in the suite. When I pulled out the bedding for the pull-out, there were bloodstains on the comforter. The room was near the elevator and was not very sound-proof, so there was a lot of noise. The breakfast lacked several standard Holiday Inn Express offerings: no hardboiled eggs, no yogurt, the milk was frozen and the pancake maker didn't work. At checkout, I found that I was charged the king suite rate, rather than the standard room rate. This was a very disappointing HI Express experience. I'm usually very impressed by this brand, but I won't stay at this location again. February 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to stay The entire staff are friendly and very helpful. Great location and the price is right. February 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Piggybacker Carpet in room dirty bathroom dirty people in pool to all hours of the morning waking guest up! February 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and room size The room was not at all the size indicated on the hotel website. I chose a King suite with accessibility and we received a FULL size bed. The bathroom was smaller as well. The pull out sofa bed was not big even to fit my 11 year old daughter either. The other accessible rooms at the hotel could not even fit my husband's chair. January 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Little Less Than Expected Although this was my first stay at this HIEXPRESS, it was not my first experience with HIEXPRESS. I have come to expect a certain standard that this location was missing. The room didn't appear as ' nice ', the towels were dingy, the towel rack was bent - just NOT the normal for HIEXPRESS. On a positive note, the staff was super friendly and attentive. The location was perfect. Breakfast is always a bonus. January 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great people excellent is the best to describe this place. i will recommend this place to every one January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you Thank you for all your help and hospitality. Every single staff at the Holiday Inn Express Clearwater was very helpful and friendly. I enjoyed staying at your hotel very much and hope to come back again in the near future. Thank you again. January 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice place. beautiful pool area We only stayed here 1 night while visiting FL in Jan. 2014. The lobby is very nice and staff was excellent. My only complaint was the bed. It seemed to be a very cheap mattress, like one you'd buy at Walmart or something like it. I could literally feel the springs. Since it was only 1 night, not a big deal. Overall, this is a very nice hotel. The pool is amazing. January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Affordable, Comfortable, Very Clean and Excellent Hospitality The staff was excellent, the hotel was very clean with comfortable beds and a good selection of delicious food for breakfast. December 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value, great location Always a good experience with HI Express. Sits off the road and we missed the sign, drove by it a few times, but that made for a nice quiet location. Has bar grille and few restaurants walking distance, sharing same parking lot, so great location. As always, clean rooms, helpful friendly staff December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from Home! This is truly my home away from home. I have been staying here since September each week for special project for my company. The staff is over the top! from the minute you check in to the minute you leave they are very helpful and friendly....In fact, most say welcome home Mr Barone each week I get here..... The breakfast hostess is very concerned that you have a great hot breakfast each morning... The Popcorn is always flowing and the cookies for a late night snack certainly spoils you for the night! again...home away from home! Thanks Holiday Express and the staff Merry Christmas to all I actually have a couple of nights left this year....Im bringing my wife in at the end of the month to enjoy the local axctivites for the holidays.... see you in the New year! December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value I stayed one night at this hotel and was truly enjoying it. Location wise it was quite convenient as I arrived at the hotel quite late. Great staff & breakfast. December 5, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Exterior View
Exterior View
Select to close.
Exterior View Exterior View Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Exterior View Front Desk Hotel Exterior Check in and IHG Rewards
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading