• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CORPUS CHRISTI
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. Up to 75 for 1 to 6 nights and up to 150 for 7 plus nights. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. Record of complete and up to date vaccinations required.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
USS Lexington Museum Corpus Christi
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:60
  • Car Parking Available
  • open free parking, security cameras 24/7

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:74
  • Total number of suites:12
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:30
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:15
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:69
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Corpus Christi, Texas hotel is convenient to businesses and attractions. For a comfortable stay within minutes of downtown Corpus Christi businesses and the beautiful Gulf Coast, choose the Candlewood Suites of Corpus Christi. Our hotel is only seven miles from Corpus Christi International Airport (CRP). Magee Beach, Padre Island, Corpus Christi Bay and Gulf of Mexico beaches are within minutes of our hotel. Other Corpus Christi, TX attractions like the Texas State Aquarium, Selena Museum, USS Lexington
View More
Corpus Christi, Texas hotel is convenient to businesses and attractions. For a comfortable stay within minutes of downtown Corpus Christi businesses and the beautiful Gulf Coast, choose the Candlewood Suites of Corpus Christi. Our hotel is only seven miles from Corpus Christi International Airport (CRP). Magee Beach, Padre Island, Corpus Christi Bay and Gulf of Mexico beaches are within minutes of our hotel. Other Corpus Christi, TX attractions like the Texas State Aquarium, Selena Museum, USS Lexington and Corpus Christi Botanical Gardens are six miles from our hotel. Corpus Christi's premier shopping center, the newly renovated La Palmera Mall with more than 100 stores, is only three miles away. Our hotel near Corpus Christi Airport is perfect for business travelers, with the American Bank Convention Center only four miles away. You'll find major companies like Flint Hills Refinery, Citgo Refinery, Valero Refinery, CICi Pizza, Wing Stop, Bill Millers Barbeque, Whataburger & more restaurants near by, the Naval Air Station, Corpus Christi Trade Center within 11 miles of our Corpus Christi extended stay hotel. We meet your needs by offering a 24-hour business center, free guest laundry and free high-speed Internet. While lodging in Corpus Christi, take a dip in the pool by the Gazebo Grill. For a night indoors, you can check out a free movie from the lending library, purchase snacks at the Candlewood Cupboard and relax while waiting.
View Less
Features
This extended stay hotel in Corpus Christi, Texas offers several premium amenities, including free guest laundry facility, which is a Candlewood service that most extended stay hotels do not offer. An all suite property which offers fully equipped kitchens, HD televisions with DVD players, free movie library, free high-speed Wi-Fi, free guest laundry, Business Center, and fitness room.
Announcements
Corpus Christi Coastal Classic

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 366 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Do not recommend We will never stay here again. The beach access is the main feature that drew us to the hotel but it is not worth it. The hotel is old and looks dirty. The internet worked sporadically and the a/c was set at a high temperature and never got very cool. At times it felt hot and muggy. The beds and pillows were so comfortable and the rooms were clean. October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend stay From the reviews I was not expecting much. Check in was quick and the room was not as bad as the reviews made me think it was going to be. My wife is very picky about the hotels she visits and she did not complain at all. I will stay here again next year. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Stay -Best location on North Padre -Great room location and view -Best bed I have slept on in years of travel October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Needs updating Hotel looked a little run down - chipped paint, old carpet, poor tile job in bathrooms Roaches October 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Quick Stay The location of this hotel is great, but I was pretty disappointed by the overall stay. To be fair, I did not bring up any of my issues to the staff since I was only here on a fairly quick business trip (4 nights) and not at the hotel much due to long working hours. Over the 4 nights, I killed 3 large cockroaches in my room. The water in the bathroom sink and shower, even on its coldest setting, was almost too hot to be usable, and I like my water hot! The A/C unit worked, but was very loud due to rattling panels. I was at least able to create a shim to tone down the vibration and noise. Overall cleanliness was not great. I had breakfast at the hotel restaurant one morning before work. I was surprised a free continental breakfast wasn't included but I guess that makes sense since this is more of a tourist location. The food was expensive and not all that great. September 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Island hotel Everything at the Holiday In on the beach in Corpus Christi was wonderful except for the one dinner we had at the hotel. New York Strip steak was not like any other New York Strip I've ever had and was 50% fat and gristle. Fortunately the salad and baked potato were good so that was what our meal consisted of.. However, that was a very expensive salad and potato meal. Would highly recommend this place except for the restaurant. Definitely eat elsewhere! September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff we loved location and staff. we had the kids and they enjoy the free gift: sunglasses and beach ball. we had a great view ocean view. September 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Jayanda and Ernest Everyone makes you feel right at home. Service great, staff great, rooms very clean. Very friendly staff. Right on the beach. Great sand bar September 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and friendly service Very friendly staff! Check in was easy and smooth; consider updating gym. What I saw of it did not look very inviting. September 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect location Was the perfect location. Right on beach. Had a live band that was really good while relaxed by the pool. September 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff All of the staff were very helpful and always had a smile on their faces. Check in and and out were a breeze and the hotel seemed to be in better shape/condition than the last time we were there which has been several years ago. Earlier, one of the questions was asked if we were greeted as prefered guests and I answered no because we were not at the time of check in but joined after our arrival. September 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff. All of the staff we encountered were so friendly and helpful and they all had a smile on their face. That always makes stays so much more enjoyable. September 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Housekeeping ! Worst Ever ! I am platinum and have been platinum for 13+ years so I am loyal to Holiday Inn and have stayed at many different locations. This was my first at this location and looked forward to a long overdue beach vacation. My wife and I had a 7 night stay and this is the worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at and the first I have ever criticized. I made the reservation 3 months prior to our stay and upon arrival, the girl at check in did not ask if I had a reservation when I gave her my platinum IHG card and did not look up my reservation but immediately started to quote me room prices. After I told her I made a prior reservation, she had trouble finding it and tried to give me 2 queens when I had confirmation for a King room. I did get a King room. The room housekeeping was absolutely terrible - THE WORST !!!!!!. The room appeared to not be vacuumed for the entire stay and appeared to not have been vacuumed when we arrived - pile of sand at entrance in room. Sand that came off our shoes continued to build up at the entrance in our room where we took them off. Our feet got black from barefoot walking on the carpet. But wait - here's the best: 4 of the 7 days I had to get toilet paper at the front desk when we returned to our room. 3 of the 4 days the housekeeper left only the roll in use with less than 1/3 of a roll each day - and these were not the oversized rolls. On the 4th time, we barely got by and used the very last sheet. When we returned to our room at 5PM, the empty roll was left with no toilet paper at all !!! I can overlook some things but not toilet paper and 4 straight days - looks like a total " I can care less" attitude by housekeeping. There were other things not done by housekeeping: coffee unit never cleaned, bathtub and sink not cleaned, floors not cleaned, but I could live with this but not the total neglect for basic toilet paper and the overall neglect for cleanliness. Additionally, during the stay, I heard 3 very upset, dissatisfied, and loud customers in the lobby complaining to the front desk personnel that they were checking in and were promised a certain type room and were being given another ( front view promised versus back view given and two were promised King bedroom and were given 2 queens ) It appears a personnel overhaul is badly needed. One positive personnel comment: Shelly was very good, friendly, customer oriented, and helpful. September 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Only the beach access redeems this hotel We moved to Austin in February after living in coastal Georgia for two years. My four-year-old son begged all summer to go back to the beach. We waited until mid-September when the temperatures fell to go. I got the reference for this Holiday Inn from a friend, but I would never consider returning. "Tired" is a good description for this hotel, as it looks like the maintenance crew can't possibly keep up with the beating that the beach crowds give this hotel. If it's less than 25 years old I would be surprised. The furniture in our room was worn and grime encrusted #the wooden desk armchair, for example#, and the carpet...well just don't look down. Ever. The bathroom was okay. The morning of our checkout we decided to have breakfast in the full-service restaurant downstairs. We waited and waited at the hostess stand but no one appeared. I had to ask the front desk if the restaurant was open, and she went to the kitchen and yelled at the staff. Our server came out from the kitchen, broom in hand, and seated us. She took our drink order, still with a dirty broom in hand, and left. I had to go get my own coffee creamer from the buffet #not up and running# since she disappeared so quickly. The furniture was worn, every single pleather chair was peeling large areas of fake leather. It was disgusting. Our table was wobbly, so I tried the old sugar packet fix only to see that two other legs had sugar packets shoved under them. Near the end of the meal, all three servers on staff sat at a table a few feet from us and discussed their issues, financial problems, etc... as if no side work needed to be done. I waited tables in college and no one wants to see this. As I checked out the overhead A/C vent dripped condensation on my head, which the clerk laughed off saying "Oh, sometimes I just stick the mop up there!" What???? Location for this hotel is the best thing about it, it's right on the beach. Wi-fi was horrible. The front desk staff was very helpful but I won't be going back. It almost seemed as if since it was "off season" that the hotel didn't care as much about the guests. September 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location hotel is in serious need of updating. staff was very friendly and the location was great September 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great view a pleasant stay. easy going and comfortable. we will stay here again. September 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff - great location. Good Points: * Great location right on the beach - easy to find. * Genuinely friendly and helpful staff. * Good WiFi provided easy and free Internet access. * Tolerant housekeeping who worked around our irregular hours. * Good breakfast buffet with the usual staples. Poor Points: * Rooms were comfortable but a little shabby and knocked about - only to be expected in a beachfront location. * The parking lot was crowded. Although I always found a parking place I felt that this could be a problem. Summary: Good value for money and a very pleasant experience. September 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Liked Margie at the front desk It is a good stay and front desk staff Margie was helpful and kind. September 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and well maintained. The staff try very hard to see that you have an enjoyable stay with them. We enjoyed the live band in the evenings. September 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Corpus Beach stay This hotel needs a makeover, make sure you pass on the restaurant. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this place!! My husband & I have been coming here for our anniversary for over 20 years and we love it!! It is clean, I love our room that looks out to the water, and the staff is so friendly and helpful!! We stay for 5 days every year and we intend to keep returning! Love the ability to just leave your room and walk out to the beach. Or lay by the pool and look out at the beach. Yes, you can hear the music from the pool on the weekends, but they quit at 10:00. It's no problem. I highly recommend this place! September 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Let's Padre! We just stayed for the weekend but had a great time. Hotel is right on the beach, has a great outside bar and two pools plus some good live music. Plenty of beach towels. Interior decoration was a bit tired and dated but we heard a remodel was about to happen. Our room was a good size and very clean. Beds were comfortable and plenty of large bath towels. Breakfast was not good and dining room lacked ambiance, and generally needed some help. Hotel was easy to get to and was very busy and probably full. Kind of noisy at night, but it settled down. However, we would go again, even our 23 year old enjoyed the stay!! September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by relaxing beach location enjoyed the stay and reccomend for relaxing beach getaway September 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable bed and pillows and great ocean view The room was very clean; bed and pillows very comfortable and great ocean view. Our stay was nice. The only complaint that I have is that there is a problem with ants in the pool area. We had to keep knocking ants off of ourselves and I was bitten 3 times, just sitting in a lounge chair by the pool. We had to shake them off of our shoes and out of our swimsuit cover-ups. September 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to enjoy the Padre Island beach. This hotel has a unique location right on the beach. Our room was clean and well-maintained. We stayed Aug 21-24 when the hotel was very busy, but found no problems. The staff worked continually to keep the lobby floor clean of sand tracked in by guests. Hotel staff monitored parking in the evening and as a result there were no issues with parking. Hotel staff are cheerful and hard working. September 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel on the beach! Nice Hotel on the beach at North Padre! Hotel Room has free Wifi. Hotel is relatively close driving distance to a lot of good restaurants. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Much better than expected We had read several negative reviews and nearly cancelled our reservation but decided to go anyway (because of the location) and almost as a challenge to see just how bad it could be. Well, it wasn't bad at all. Quite the contrary. We had three connecting rooms on the fifth floor, with a stunning beach view, and had a great time. We were there on weekdays so we were not subjected to what other travelers have described as awful, loud music--maybe we were lucky there. The hotel is dated and does need a serious facelift but it is still very functional and the rooms have all the amenities you could want (fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, safe, hair dryer, iron--and they all worked). We noticed no bad smells and the rooms are very clean. All the members of the staff--Melissa, Ronald, Victoria, Jessica and everyone else-- were very pleasant and efficient. The restaurant is a little funky, the service is somewhat erratic but very friendly and the food was not bad at all (we did not find it overpriced). Excellent grilled fish and shrimp platter, and surprisingly good pizzas. Plus, great ocean view. The fact that it's ON the beach, the availability of canopy and chair rentals, the towels provided (small as they were) made the whole beach experience nearly perfect. We really cannot understand why some people are so negative about this place. We were four adults and three grandkids and nobody had any real complaints! We are a fairly well-traveled family, here and abroad, and we tend to be pretty picky about hotels (especially my daughter, who was visiting from New York!), but everyone was very comfortable here. So do give this place a chance,go with an open mind, remember you are not going to the Ritz Carlton, and you can have a really pleasant, comfortable beach vacation. September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by pillows and bed super, staff wonderful! My daughter and I stayed for two night,s, would have loved one more...or a week, The people working there are truly helpful and considerate...love em. Bathroom could have been improved. toilet was the lowest I have ever seen. Food at downstairs restaurant was convenient but needs some work to improve. Will we go back? You bet we will. September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Leisure Excellent customer service! Comfortable stay. Enjoyed the outdoor music. Loved the atmosphere. August 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by view is awesome We have come to this hotel every year for 6 yrs. There have been improvements but not enough.checkin was rude. The restaurant food is disgusting, the fitness center has only 3 machines but only 2 worked, the bar drinks are excellent but the restroom out there had no toilet paper for two full days. Pool needs upkeep desperately. We reported our radio was missing & was told they would send another. ..it never came. We were given late checkout due to our IHG rewards status but were still bothered by housekeeping even though our do not disturb sign was also on the door. Not sure if we're coming back. The only thing that keeps us returning is the view & location. Please make changes! August 29, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading