• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: ELGIN
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee 25 dollars each night up to 150 dollars Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs Pet agreement must be signed at check in
Pet deposit amount  150.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Grand Victoria Casino Elgin
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Paintball Explosion
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Elgin Symphony Orchestra
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary spacious outdoor parking around the hotel. There are two main entrances into the lobby from the front and back of the hotel.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:83
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:60
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:23
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:83
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Easy Access to O'Hare From Elgin, Illinois Hotel's Location

Discerning travelers seeking extended-stay hotels near O'Hare International Airport (ORD) opt for the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Elgin - Northwest Chicago. This well-established property is ideally situated along I-90, just 40 miles from downtown Chicago and seven miles from Schaumburg Convention Center, allowing visitors convenient access throughout the Elgin, Illinois area.

This hotel's corporate guests appreciate a
View More

Easy Access to O'Hare From Elgin, Illinois Hotel's Location

Discerning travelers seeking extended-stay hotels near O'Hare International Airport (ORD) opt for the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Elgin - Northwest Chicago. This well-established property is ideally situated along I-90, just 40 miles from downtown Chicago and seven miles from Schaumburg Convention Center, allowing visitors convenient access throughout the Elgin, Illinois area.

This hotel's corporate guests appreciate a speedy commute to nearby business destinations, including Sears Corporate Holdings, JP Morgan Chase, Mazak Optonics, Fischer Nuts and Sherman Hospital. In addition, this hotel offers Elgin, IL business guests on-site resources like a 24-hour Business Center and free wired and wireless Internet access.

The hotel's location near O'Hare Airport is a great choice for those seeking affordable accommodations near Chicago attractions like Lincoln Park Zoo and the Museum of Science and Industry. While staying at this hotel, Elgin, IL visitors are also within minutes of the Prime Outlets at Huntley, Grand Victoria Casino Riverboat, Sears Centre Arena and Leafs Ice Center.

With 24-hour amenities like a Fitness Center and free laundry facilities, this hotel promises a hassle-free stay. The Candlewood Cupboard has snacks, staples and sundries 24/7, and perks like barbecue grills provide an opportunity for family fun. "Consider Us Home" for your next trip to the Chicago area!

View Less
Features
While staying in Elgin, Illinois, our hotel's guests have all they need for a comfortable long- or short-term stay, including a full kitchen, a 36-inch flat screen TV, a DVD player and an iPod cradle.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 86 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quite Loved everything about this HIE..only complaint is no fridge or microwaves in the rooms. The rooms are plenty big enough to add these without crowding the room. I was only here overnight, so it wasn't a problem, but I travel for work July 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average hotel experience Our experience was about what I would expect for a Holiday Inn Express. Overall, I would rate it 7-8. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality of Algonquin Holiday Inn Express I have stayed at many Holiday Inns and other hotels all over the US and Europe and this one is an excellent melding of a good price with very good overall quality. July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay One thing upon which you might improve is someone to accompany guests to the room to explain how TV works. I liked the fact that there is an exhaust fan in the bathroom for steam. The front desk person was especially friendly July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good place Stayed here for a wedding we were going to, staff was excellent, rooms were clean, some issues arose, but hotel staff took matters into their hands and resolved them appropriately. July 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Softball Tournament stay My daughter and I stayed here for the "Swing into Summer" Huntley tournament. I take my daughters travel softball very serious, unfortunately others don't. We were awaken many times from older and younger kids running the halls and teenage sleep over in the room next to us. Thankfully our bathroom door DID NOT WORK, so Saturday morning I spoke with the Assistant Manager and he relocated us. Also noticed Sat morning the Wi-Fi wasn't working. Tried to face time my wife so she could say good night to our daughter, had to settle with a text. Breakfast was simple and good, just what we needed to get going for our early games. Housekeeping staff was excellent, they found and returned my phone charger that I forgot in the original room we stayed in. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great People and Great Management This hotel is very well managed and very clean every time I'm here. Always willing to help and deal with the emergency situations when you need help. Flexibility and adaptability. Thank you. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great service Karen at the front desk went above and beyond her call of duty! What a great staff at this location! June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great for a quick trip Pretty consistent with Holiday Inn Express and Suites properties. Only surprise was they didn't say a word about IHG status. Maybe I checked in a bit to late! It's funny how you get used to a bottle of water when you check in and then get bummed when you aren't even offered. All in all - I 'm sure it was just an oversight! June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent service very clean comfortable bed A great place to stay in the Algonquin area. ask for room 305 for the fun haunted room effect. The dresser doors seem to open all by themselves. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, Clean Hotel Good staff, nice breakfast, good rooms. Located by lots of shopping June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, good breakfast The title says it all. The room was nice and clean, the bathroom was large, and the complimentary breakfast the next day was convenient and delicious. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay and experience Everything about this stay was great from the moment we walked in the door to the smiling reception. The bed was nice, the room was clean and it was all we expected our stay to be. Nice job! June 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Toilet running and lousy air conditioning 1) Toilet was continuously running 2) Air conditioning was lousy 3) The TV was limited at such a low volume, we couldn't hear it in bed. June 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and room Very good choice. I had very good spleepings here, maybe one thing that I would change is the ability to open the windows, which I think cannot be absolutely replaced by a simple climatizer, which by the way it's very noisy during the night if you want to adjust the room's temperature (you have no other way because of the window locked), the solution was to bring with me ear plugs. Breakfast is quite good, I would like to see few more things, but it is ok even like this. The staff is good too, no particular issue or bad thing to notice. May 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noise continues to be an issue I try to stay at this property because it is close to family when I am visiting. I have had numerous issues with noise at night. People running up and down the stairwells, hallways and slamming doors after 11 pm. I have always called the front desk but not much seems to happen. This hotel also hosts a lot of traveling youth sports teams and I have also run into out of control kids making a lot of noise all day long. Again, I complained, got an apology, but not much else. On my last visit I too had an incident where housekeeping was right next door when I left my room at 9:45 am. I returned at 4 pm and my room had not been touched. I was very tired and needed to catch a quick nap before heading out for a dinner. Sitting in the lobby for 30 minutes did not improve my disposition. I am returning to the area again this weekend and will be giving a different property a try. It won't be as close to family, but maybe my sleep will be more peaceful. May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay Our stay at the Holiday Inn, Algonquin was very enjoyable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was always clean and comfortable. The staff did a wonderful job keeping our room clean, and was always friendly. The hotel was quiet and we were able to rest comfortably. The breakfast was good, and there was a variety for everyone. This is our choice of hotels when we visit the area and have stayed several times before. The desk clerk was always friendly as we went in and out of the hotel, and greeted us each time. April 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by management staff great when we left the room on our first morning the cleaning staff was right next door. (9:30 am) we returned 5 hours later and our room had not been done. we were exhausted and took our naps anyway. housekeeping knocked and came in during our nap. we told them to not do the room. that was 3:30 pm. our 2nd morning I got the newspaper off the floor outside our door. there was a distinct dust line at the edge of the wall. your housekeeping staff needs to get a better vacuum and pay close attention to places where dust gathers. I have to do this in my own home so believe me I do not like seeing it in your hotel hallway. it leads me to conclude the room may not be clean. March 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and relaxing First if all, Ben at the front desk was exceptional. So friendly and super efficient! Our stay was most enjoyable...pool was the best! Rooms were clean, service was great. Kids loved the free breakfast! Will do this again. We loved our stay cation! March 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxation Spent a relaxing night and day with my son and a friend of his. Didn't want to venture too far, so we chose this location. Had a nice little stay-cation...away from home, change of scenery, it was very nice. Enjoyed the pool and I was able to get a few things accomplished that I couldn't being at home. Accommodations were great! Couldn't find a cheaper rate though it was advertised in the site when I first logged in. Wireless connection kept dumping me. No one knew why. Overall though, it was very nice. Wouldn't mind doing it again...maybe just myself for some sanity time. March 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort room The room was great and the beds were comfortable. Yes. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AWESOME Hotel!!!!! I stay at this hotel quite often as it is near family that I visit. The staff is SO friendly! Especially, Ashley, Karen, & Cara! The GM-Ben is also wonderful! The Housekeeping Staff is awesome as well-everything is spotless in the room and throughout the whole hotel! The pool is a perfect temperature & the hot tub is very relaxing! Check out one of their Jacuzzi Suites sometime as they are wonderful! TONS of shopping & excellent restaurants nearby! And you can't beat their free hot breakfast! Quite delicious & a little something different every day. They definitely run a 1st Class Operation there! Kudos to all of the staff!!!!! March 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Surprise I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express as part of a wedding party, and it was a nice surprise. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. the rooms were a generous size and well appointed. Everything was very clean. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. March 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very noisy We are older and we're put in a room right by the pool...the hot tub was right next to our room and became extremely noisy at 11:00 at night...woke me up. Then around 12:00 apparently a fight broke out in room above us and police had to be called.... Never got any sleep that night....terrible experience. I am sure this was not usual, but should have been compensated with a free night for our inconvenience. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience!!!!! Could not of had a better stay! Staff was the best in every way and would go out of their way to find directions, make changes to my reservations even though I made 4 of them, and kept the best attitude the 3 days of my stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Everything was clean, breakfast was great, and the ladies @ the breakfast bar did a fantastic job!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will stay there every time we visit our son. February 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Hotel This is the best hotel that i have stayed in, my girlfriend also said the same thing, the staff was great, the room felt like it was a getaway, the value of the rooms were great as well January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, helpful staff, great breakfast, comfortable room Stayed here over Christmas 2013 and loved it. The staff were all very welcoming, the room was quiet and cozy. Excellent location- close to all the shops and restaurants. December 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by As anticipated Welcome by staff, clean room and utilities working. Just what we were looking for on an overnight stay. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our Holiday Favorite Great great place. We stay here everytime we visit family in the area. Staff is wonderful and rooms are very nice.....I wish I could buy a chair/ottoman like the ones in the rooms--SO comfy!! December 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk We spent Christmas eve - the woman at the front desk could not have been any nicer! Will stay there again December 29, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading