• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: FORT MYERS
  • Distance From Hotel: 11.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Seventy five dollar one time non refundable pet fee required up to seven days, eight days or longer is one hundred fifty dollars one time non refundable pet fee.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Butterfly Estates
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Tanger Factory Outlet Stores
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
San Carlos Bay- Bunche Beach Preserve
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Key West Express
Distance From Hotel:3.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:130
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary on-site ample parking with a well lit parking lot.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:120
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:64
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Choose Hotel's Prime Location in Fort Myers, Florida

Situated along the Caloosahatchee River, Fort Myers is a peaceful coastal town full of history, pristine beaches and outdoor activities. Come discover all there is to see and do in the "City of Palms" from the comfortable accommodations at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Fort Myers - Sanibel Gateway.

As our hotel's guest, you'll have access to the tools you need to be productive, including free Wi-Fi access and a Business Center.
View More

Choose Hotel's Prime Location in Fort Myers, Florida

Situated along the Caloosahatchee River, Fort Myers is a peaceful coastal town full of history, pristine beaches and outdoor activities. Come discover all there is to see and do in the "City of Palms" from the comfortable accommodations at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Fort Myers - Sanibel Gateway.

As our hotel's guest, you'll have access to the tools you need to be productive, including free Wi-Fi access and a Business Center. Need to host a business meeting while on an extended stay? Our hotel's Fort Myers, Florida boardroom can accommodate up to 10 people. We're near Lee Memorial Healthcare System and Chico's FAS, Inc.

This extended stay hotel's location in Fort Myers, Florida is perfect for your vacation. Located in a quiet, suburban area, we're just eight minutes from some of the world's best beaches! Don't miss popular sites like Lover's Key State Park and Sanibel and Captiva Islands. If you're a sports fan we offer easy access to both the Minnesota Twins and Boston Red Sox Spring Training facilities. The hotel is also minutes from the Wakahatchee Recreation Center and Lee County Sports Center Complex.

When it comes to Fort Myers hotels, we have some of the best perks around, including free guest laundry facilities, a 24-hour Fitness Center and a heated, outdoor pool. We also have a 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard, where you can buy meals, snacks and drinks. Reserve your suite today!

View Less
Features
Each spacious suite has a kitchen, complete with full-size appliances and utensils, to save time and money. Also, the Candlewood Cupboard offers a number of value-priced meals, snacks and beverages.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 289 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by unfriendly staff and dated hotel no eye contact at check in or welcome or thank you for staying at check out, did not feel welcome at all October 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by hard beds super soft pillows extra firm beds and too soft pillows great food clean grounds great beach staff October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty Happy We stayed here for the first time Labor Day Weekend. Overall the Hotel is very nice. There were a few areas in our room that were not clean. We found someone elses Hair Scrunchie on the floor near one of the beds. We had used our towels for the pool the first day and were never left any replacement towels throughout our stay. We had breakfast our first morning at the hotel and the food was fantastic. I have to say I was a little concerned when we got there because they were short staffed and were not able to seat us right away. Once we were seated everything was fine. Our food was fantastic. My only other complaint is that the pool bar closes too early! I think this should be addressed because there is nothing better than having a relaxing drink by the pool after dinner. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beach House I Always Wanted I wanted 24 hours access to the beach during my stay and that is what I got. I felt more like I was staying at someone's beach house as opposed to a hotel. The experience was more than I thought it would be. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! We had a great stay at the Holiday Inn. It had everything we were looking for and so relaxing and comfortable. Didn't have any problems so we did not need to call the front desk for anything but the staff we encountered while getting morning coffee or on the grounds were all friendly and greeted us with smiles. Clean, colorful and relaxing. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just passing through We were on the way to Key West and visited a friend in the area. The Sanibel Holiday Inn was so delightful we wanted to stay longer. The pool and the beach are wonderfull. Room has everything you need and it all works September 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location, clean and comfortable room. A family member told us we'd love the Holiday Inn in Sanibel and they were right! The grounds are beautiful and well maintained and there is direct beach access. Our room was comfortable and exceptionally clean and well maintained. From other reviews online, we requested a ground floor room with tile floors. It was convenient to have a guest laundry on the premises. There is an outdoor shell sink for washing off shells. We enjoyed having the beach chairs and umbrellas set out in the morning. If we'd had more time, we would have lounged in the hammocks. We can't wait to return in the future. September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awesome stay nice view, comfortable room, excellent service. would definitely recommend to family and friends and really looking forward to visit soon September 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to stay Overall, this was a great experience. Very nice grounds, eye appealing, relaxing. Great staff, nice clean rooms and AWESOME pillows! September 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great visit. This was a friend and my "fourth annual" trip to your property. And one more time we had a fantastic time. We have come down four years in a row to relax and soak up the sun. The staff, from the front desk welcome,to everyone we came in contact with,was great. Very friendly and helpful. The beds are very comfortable and we made use of the refrigerator and microwave in the room. Would recommend this place to everyone. Just expect to come down and be addicted to returning year after year. We are already talking about next years trip. Thanks again for a great stay! September 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service and location the hotel is a bit dated but overall, a great experience. The housekeeping staff was very good. Our favorite part was the ability to relax and enjoy the beach. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Paradise What a great location on the Island. We had a wonderful stay and the view is superb. Starfish Grille was excellent and staff extremely friendly. Looking forward to our next visit. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely grounds and relaxing atmospher This is a great place to stay on a beautiful island. The grounds were lush and beautiful. The staff were smiling and friendly. The beach area was clean and beautiful with comfortable chairs for sunning and plenty of open beach for other activities. We enjoyed walking, looking for shells and even a little Snook fishing in the area behind the hotel. The bartender was friendly and knowledgeable. All in all, one of the best vacations ever. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Beach Resort I really loved Sanibel Island and this hotel's proximity to the beach. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by weekend getaway We had a lovely time at the Holiday Inn. Location! Location! Situated on the wonderful beaches of Sanibel Island it was a 2-minute walk to the white sands. The staff at HI were courteous and helpful. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. We'll be back. September 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location with a very friendly staff. We loved our stay on Sanibel Island. The Holiday Inn met all of our needs and it was a great getaway. Our room had just been redecorated and had lots of amenities. We recommend it and we will be back. September 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great time Me and my wife had a wonderful time , it was better than we had expected. my wife told me that the beach and the view remind her of cancun mexico. we are already thinking of going back to Sanibel, this was our first time.she even asked me not to erase the address on my g.p.s. September 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Well, it's a room.... Room is small and dark, fairly clean although old and worn. A/C didn't work well, dehumidifer in room kept getting full and housekeeping didn't bother to empty it. We had to empty it every few hours. Parking is nice if you can find it. short walk to pool and beach, but the no-see-ums were TERRIBLE on the beach. Restaurant was ho-hum. Treat yourself to other local restaurants on the island instead. Lowest price on the beach and unfortunately reflected in the room and surly staff. Spend a little more to get more. No recognition for IHG rewards, crappied room given. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a great stay We have stayed at the Holiday Inn numerous times and find it the best value on the island. Clean rooms, great location and friendly staff. We come back again and again and will continue to do so in the future. September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by mattress uncomfortable both wife and I had stiffness in the morning was not a comfortable nite sleep August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to "chill" My wife and I went to Sanibel Island for our thirtieth anniversary. It was a really hot/sunny week , just right for hanging at the beach and exploring the island! Sea shell "hunting"? Forget it . There is no "hunting" involved!!! Just look down! No hills...biking is fantastic. No signal lights....traffic flow is smooth. Sanibel-Captiva is a wonderful adult vacation destination. August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Gulf View We were very happy with this hotel. We would stay here again when in this area. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Gulf View The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The beach was great and the staff was great with the beach chairs and umbrellas. The gulf view was great. The pool area was well maintained and the pool was great. The room was clean and well maintained. The grounds around the property were also well maintained. We would return to this property again. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Grounds and Location Very enjoyable stay. The grounds are beautiful and kept up nicely. The beach is just a 2 minute walk away with private chairs and area for guests. The tiki bar was great and the bartender (Daniel) was awesome. The room was old, but extremely clean and nicely furnished. I only wish I had stayed longer! August 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sanibel Nice location ! The location was very nice, great beach access and lots of seashells. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The Air Conditioning unit needed work. I kept waking up because of the noise and felt like someone was at the door. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What I was Looking For I had been viewing the Sanibel Holiday Inn webcam from time to time the past few months and when I decided to take a August vacation, this was the first place that I considered. My wife and I were Looking for something relaxing and we wre not disappointed. This Holiday Inn is the perfect getaway! Be sure to check out the Island Cow for breakfast... August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Resort not a hotel This hotel felt closer to an all-inclusive resort with it's friendly staff to it's first class restaurant. It's location was secluded making relaxation easy. All in all I consider this a first class resort. August 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service The staff was friendly and accommodating. Nice location on island. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by room was crisp and clean This was an overnight, "take a break" stay. It was quiet and restful for an afternoon nap. We loved visiting the small park across from our room. the waterfall and area was very tropical and soothing.......even the baby alligators, turtles etc. We enjoyed a glass of wine and then had a delicious dinner served by a delightful lady....their menu was great and the pizza and salad were so good. The crust was buttery and baked just right. We like our own bed so we adjusted to the bed here but still had no trouble sleeping. The staff was very polite and provided requests easily. It was a delightful stay and we are looking forward to our stay in Tennessee in September......... August 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sea shells and Noseeums We enjoyed our stay overall. The noseeums will eat your alive at the shell washing station. The property needs a kiddy pool for small children. Not a fan of the alligator moates. Beautiful, clean beach. I was not presented with a bill at check out, so I had to call to get my statement faxed to me. The hotel could not email it. Odd because most Holiday Inns are converting to a new system that includes emailing the statement. I did not feel that the IHG Reward Club Membership held any significance. August 18, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Entrance
Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
Hotel Entrance Hotel Entrance Lobby Lounge Welcome Hotel Exterior Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading