• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: FORT MYERS
  • Distance From Hotel: 11.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Seventy five dollar one time non refundable pet fee required up to seven days, eight days or longer is one hundred fifty dollars one time non refundable pet fee.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Butterfly Estates
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Tanger Factory Outlet Stores
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
San Carlos Bay- Bunche Beach Preserve
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Key West Express
Distance From Hotel:3.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:130
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary on-site ample parking with a well lit parking lot.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:120
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:64
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Choose Hotel's Prime Location in Fort Myers, Florida

Situated along the Caloosahatchee River, Fort Myers is a peaceful coastal town full of history, pristine beaches and outdoor activities. Come discover all there is to see and do in the "City of Palms" from the comfortable accommodations at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Fort Myers - Sanibel Gateway.

As our hotel's guest, you'll have access to the tools you need to be productive, including free Wi-Fi access and a Business Center.
View More

Choose Hotel's Prime Location in Fort Myers, Florida

Situated along the Caloosahatchee River, Fort Myers is a peaceful coastal town full of history, pristine beaches and outdoor activities. Come discover all there is to see and do in the "City of Palms" from the comfortable accommodations at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Fort Myers - Sanibel Gateway.

As our hotel's guest, you'll have access to the tools you need to be productive, including free Wi-Fi access and a Business Center. Need to host a business meeting while on an extended stay? Our hotel's Fort Myers, Florida boardroom can accommodate up to 10 people. We're near Lee Memorial Healthcare System and Chico's FAS, Inc.

This extended stay hotel's location in Fort Myers, Florida is perfect for your vacation. Located in a quiet, suburban area, we're just eight minutes from some of the world's best beaches! Don't miss popular sites like Lover's Key State Park and Sanibel and Captiva Islands. If you're a sports fan we offer easy access to both the Minnesota Twins and Boston Red Sox Spring Training facilities. The hotel is also minutes from the Wakahatchee Recreation Center and Lee County Sports Center Complex.

When it comes to Fort Myers hotels, we have some of the best perks around, including free guest laundry facilities, a 24-hour Fitness Center and a heated, outdoor pool. We also have a 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard, where you can buy meals, snacks and drinks. Reserve your suite today!

View Less
Features
Each spacious suite has a kitchen, complete with full-size appliances and utensils, to save time and money. Also, the Candlewood Cupboard offers a number of value-priced meals, snacks and beverages.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 249 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 perfect location Liked the excellent location of this hotel and its proximity to the beach August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel and a great time! My family loved this hotel, it was so nicely decorated inside and out and the grounds and beach were beautiful. We have actually already gone back and will stay there every time we visit Sanibel Island! August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice stay at the Holiday Inn Sanibel We traveled to Florida from California with my sister and brother-in-law to celebrate a special birthday. We couldn't be happier with the choice to stay at the Holiday Inn in Sanibel. The hotel was centrally located and not far from restaurants and grocery stores. The hotel itself gets five stars from me for accommodations and services provided. The Front Desk staff was welcoming and friendly and Danny, the Director of Sales August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by serenity Vacation We came after my husband suffered a major heart attack and required a quadruple bypass. The doctor recommended no stress and to relax and enjoy life, There is no better place than H. I . at Sanibell. I took pictures of my husband sleeping in one of many hammocks between palm trees, The staff was so courteous we were on first name basis. The parking lot is made of pavers and is constantly swept clean of sand. The staff was great in accommodating to our needs for my husband. Food was great at bar although they ran out of Buffalo wings. They obviously were a hit. Rooms were quite clean and very comfortable. We pic nick at one of a few tables with umbrellas watching children play. It had something for everyone. I came home and booked 3 nights for end of month. two just wasn't enough. August 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great hotel and great location. Only negative is that I was not acknowledged as a IHG rewards club member. August 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great location but some let-downs Not enough umbrellas on the beach, where to seek shade? . The property is a 60s design and makes poor use of this lovely location. Whilst well maintained and clean, it has no imagination or soul. Pool is too small for a beach hotel, swimming was not possible. The guest rooms are small and cluttered. The noise from the ac units interrupts sleep and use of TV. I found service at the bar and at breakfast very slow, waited 15 minutes to get a drink at the bar so never went back and 20 minutes to get an orange juice at breakfast. Compared with Asian hotels this is a one star. July 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Location, but check the bill When I checked out and returned home, I found that I had been overcharged for my stay. I called the hotel and spoke with one of the staff. They were indifferent and ill-informed. When I tried to explain what I was calling about, the person kept interrupting me. I finally had to call my bank and dispute the charges. July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location It was confusing to have 2 airconditioning units in same room. One was VERY noisy and we turned it off. Then it was a bit warm, but better than the noise. Could not get WI Fi to work...were able to in other hotels in Clearwater, Miami, and Ft. Lauderdale in our stay. Appreciated shell sink outside. Was unaccustomed to so much smoking at the pool and public areas around the hotel. July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Summer Holiday The hotel is of the older style but appears to be well maintained and is very comfortable. The restaurant was of good quality with a limited breakfast menu but had a great sushi bar and dinner menu. The Tiki bar was helpful and located well for viewing the beach and pool. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by bright, comfortable room, courteous service We were pleasantly surprised withour stay.The room was clean and comfortable and the staff at the front desk were courteous and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. July 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Eher unter dem Niveau von Holiday Inn Hotels Sanibel ist eine schöne Insel mit einem ruhigen Lifestyle. Leider konnte unser Hotel unsere Erwartungen an ein Holiday Inn Hotel nicht erfüllen. July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sanibel Great place to relax. Beach was peaceful and kids were at a minimum, except for the pool. Different vibe from Fort Myers Beach...good way to end trip. July 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy room Had a very nice room. definitely big enough for 2 adults The staff is awesome, tho , we did not need to ask for anything. Nice heated swimming pool. Awesome burgers at their restaurant very nice and relaxing July 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Customer Service and Staff The hotel itself was nice and had easy access to the beach. But the hotel staff was less than professional. My daughter fell on a step by the pool due to negligence in maintenance by hotel. Not one single hotel staff member came to help us even though they witnessed the fall. We had to call the front desk ourselves to try and get help to get her to the room. They had not wheelchair and provided us with a walker. The manager would not come down so we could fill out an incident report before taking her to the ER. She sprained her ankle very badly. The manager would not give us a copy of the report for our records. We were stuck in the room the rest of our stay. Not once did the manger ask if we were OK or if there was anything they could do. The maintenance fixed the step right away, while my daughter was still on the ground and we were trying to get her up. When we checked out we asked to speak to the manager and tried again to get a copy of the incident report. They refused. We called three times and left message for the manager to call us and no one has returned our call. They know they are at fault for the fall, they will not take responsibility and all we are asking for is the incident report so we can try to get her ER charges covered. I have never seen such an issue with the staff at any hotel like we did here,. Very disappointed. July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worth the experince Older property But in great shape. Beach a short walk. Staff is great, I am a early riser. Night staff always offered me fresh coffee. Only issue was with the maid service. One call to the front desk cured the problem July 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Did not post I did not post this place with a very high rating on the 9th and for some reason it was taken off . The staff was great but rooms and grounds did not meet what was expected for the cost. They have a lagoon on the premiss that is stagnant and and smells, the beach was not maintained and dirty, rooms had and odor and tub was rusty. I feel the facilities did not meet Holiday Inn standards or what I would expect from them. July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A nice property Being located directed on the Gulf of Mexico gives this a Caribbean isle feeling to this property. That combined with the excellent restaurant on the grounds makes for a wonderful vacation get a way. The rooms are dated, but are kept spotless. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Not what you expect This should be a higher Rated Hotel. Everything was awesome. I cannot say enough about the Restraunt. What a treat for the palate. My wife and I keep saying is this Hotel Food. This is gourmet food at the finest. The presentation, Quality, and Staff were all amazing. My wife and I eat out a lot. We are also Home Chefs. This is one of the top ten restraunts we have eaten at. Did I say I really relaxed and had fun. I defiantly will return often. July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Long weekend getaway Enjoyed my stay. Room very clean and comfortable beds, though bathroom a bit small with no place to put bathing toiletries. Staff was helpful and friendly, although bar attendant ignored customers while engaging in long chats with other customers. Very nice grounds and beach. Good dining experience at restaurant Appreciated full TV programming. Would visit again. July 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Facilities Need Updating We stayed for 2 nights and the stay was comfortable. However the facilities do look run down. The room we stayed in (246) had rust along the bottom of the tub and floor, the exhaust fan in the bathroom did not work. It was nice to have a dedicated beach and loungers for the guest. The staff was courteous and helpful (not many of those that interact with you at your room speak English - anyway they claim they do not). Do not expect to keep anything frozen in your room, the refrigerators are just that - refrigerators - there are no freezers in your room. The ice machines are in a different building and are outside, the one on the bottom floor did not work very well, had to go to the upstairs machine to get ice. Would not stay here again for the price charged. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping. I think the housekeeping could be better--they took our pool/beach towels and did not give us new ones. Also, they did not give us new shampoo on the 2nd day. Other than that, everything was excellent. July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable First time at this location it was a great stay. The room was clean, plenty of towels, including beach towels. Quite and plenty of parking spaces. July 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the convenience to the beach This was a perfect location for the family. Loved the convenience to the beach. Room was clean and staff was very helpful. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfekte Lage, überschaubar Die Lage ist traumhaft und man kann wunderbar zw. Pool und Meer "pendeln". Das Personal war sehr kinderfreundlich. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Destination Relaxation Holiday Inn was great get-away from the hustle of life. I took the time to disconnect! Hotel was very nice and reasonable. Wish it was so high per night, but given the location, I understand that. I'd like a week there! July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful location and great amenities. Lovely hotel with clean, comfortable rooms. Ours overlooked the pool, which is a little small, but is mainly used to cool off. The Tiki bar was popular, but we did not avail ourselves of it. They could use more umbrellas for the beach, but there seemed to be adequate chairs. The beach and pool staff were quite friendly, but the front desk staff was unapproachable and the maid was downright churlish. Big recommendation for the hotel restaurant, the Starfish! It is a bit on the expensive side, but the food is amazing; and Jean Claude is fantastic! July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and great view of the ocean Overall the stay was great, we will be going back for the third time just as soon as we can! Love looking for seashell in the ocean, can back with a walmart bag full. \ July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for a beach vacation Impressed with the overall feel of this hotel - both in its appearance and friendliness of the staff. The location on the beach is spectacular, with lounges and umbrellas already in place by 9-10 am.. The sand and water is clean and inviting. The food in the restaurant is well prepared and tasty - don't miss their special sushi nights - best we've ever had!! Other than the size of the room - which was kind of small, we have no negative comments. Of course when you go to this location you are going for a beach vacation, not to stay in the room! June 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by nice location but really unfriendly staff at the front desk i had never so unfriendly and unhelpful staff at the front desk! especially claudia was very unfriendly at the check in...no information, unhelpful and miserable mood... June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by On the beach Nice quiet location on the beach. The main road in Sanibel seemed busy, but once at the hotel it was quiet and relaxing. Would stay here again. June 29, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Entrance
Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
Hotel Entrance Hotel Entrance Lobby Lounge Welcome Hotel Exterior Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Terms & Conditions
Earn 1000 points per night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading