• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: FORT MYERS
  • Distance From Hotel: 11.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Seventy five dollar one time non refundable pet fee required up to seven days, eight days or longer is one hundred fifty dollars one time non refundable pet fee.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Butterfly Estates
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Tanger Factory Outlet Stores
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
San Carlos Bay- Bunche Beach Preserve
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Key West Express
Distance From Hotel:3.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:130
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary on-site ample parking with a well lit parking lot.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:120
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:64
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Choose Hotel's Prime Location in Fort Myers, Florida

Situated along the Caloosahatchee River, Fort Myers is a peaceful coastal town full of history, pristine beaches and outdoor activities. Come discover all there is to see and do in the "City of Palms" from the comfortable accommodations at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Fort Myers - Sanibel Gateway.

As our hotel's guest, you'll have access to the tools you need to be productive, including free Wi-Fi access and a Business Center.
View More

Choose Hotel's Prime Location in Fort Myers, Florida

Situated along the Caloosahatchee River, Fort Myers is a peaceful coastal town full of history, pristine beaches and outdoor activities. Come discover all there is to see and do in the "City of Palms" from the comfortable accommodations at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Fort Myers - Sanibel Gateway.

As our hotel's guest, you'll have access to the tools you need to be productive, including free Wi-Fi access and a Business Center. Need to host a business meeting while on an extended stay? Our hotel's Fort Myers, Florida boardroom can accommodate up to 10 people. We're near Lee Memorial Healthcare System and Chico's FAS, Inc.

This extended stay hotel's location in Fort Myers, Florida is perfect for your vacation. Located in a quiet, suburban area, we're just eight minutes from some of the world's best beaches! Don't miss popular sites like Lover's Key State Park and Sanibel and Captiva Islands. If you're a sports fan we offer easy access to both the Minnesota Twins and Boston Red Sox Spring Training facilities. The hotel is also minutes from the Wakahatchee Recreation Center and Lee County Sports Center Complex.

When it comes to Fort Myers hotels, we have some of the best perks around, including free guest laundry facilities, a 24-hour Fitness Center and a heated, outdoor pool. We also have a 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard, where you can buy meals, snacks and drinks. Reserve your suite today!

View Less
Features
Each spacious suite has a kitchen, complete with full-size appliances and utensils, to save time and money. Also, the Candlewood Cupboard offers a number of value-priced meals, snacks and beverages.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 120 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Excellent staff....especially front desk person... Mika.... gave us directions to hotel and recommended great place to eat. Plan on staying here next year when we attend the LPGA tournament in Naples. December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent! Excellent! Met all needs! Will stay again. Plenty of eateries nearby, including "Sweet Tomatoes". It's a great chain restaurant and great for families with its an all-you-can-eat buffet. Prices good and food excellent. Also, not far from Mel's Diners Restaurant, serving homemade food with fast, at prices everyone can afford. Old-Fashioned Home-Cooked Favorites, Signature Sandwiches, Famous Burgers, Mel's Diner Sensational Salads and our All You Can Eat Fish Fry. homemade meat loaf, roast turkeys, hand-patty famous burgers, hand-dip the ice cream for milkshakes, smoked baby-back ribs, hand-breaded fish, make mile-high pies and serve daily blue plates. Free breakfast at the hotel starting at 6:30 with eggs, sausage, juices, coffees, apples, bananas, pastries, cereals and oatmeal. Free paper, local and USA Today. November 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Older Hotel Our room had an unpleasant odor. This HI could use some fresh paint and remodeling. The elevator made loud moaning and groaning noises which gives one an uneasy feeling. Parking was inconvenient. There is a small lot at the front of the building which is supplemented by ample parking at the rear. Unfortunately, you have to drive out onto the streets to get from one to the other. Also, the only access to the building from the rear lot is through the breakfast area. November 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, quiet and great service Beds and pillows are comfortable. Staff always helpful and professional. November 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Professional Staff and Service My experience with staff was professional. Thank you. November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Internet service Everything was great about this property with the exception being the speed of the internet service. I would settle in at night and tried to watch a couple of programs streaming from my laptop, and just couldn't. With technology today people travel with their TV shows on their laptop and it was just disappointing. November 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was Nice, Nice, Nice We had a great stay! They had so much to offer for a low price!We hope to come again, and soon! Nun2 November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FGCU parents Although there was a Holiday Inn Express closer to my daughters house, we selected this one because it included breakfast. I rarely stay at a Hotel that does not include breakfast as it is so nice to wake up and go down for coffee etc and not have to wait for the rest of your party to wake up. This hotel was also very close to Bonita Beach which we had never been to and really loved! The staff was friendly, especially at check in. We will stay here again. October 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable odor Once we got off the elevator we could smell mildew throughout the hallway. We entered the room and the odor was even more concentrated. I chose not to disturb anything in the room and immediately walked out and requested another room on another floor. I was given a room in the next floor up. The mildew sent was still evident but not as strong. Had I not been staying with redeemed points I would have gone to another hotel. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room Most comfortable bed we have ever slept on in a hotel. Room clean and well organized. Enjoyed our stay very much. Very quite . Will definitely stay there again when in the area. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good hotel, very good location, very good people! Well located in a strategic position to reach all you can need: shop, restaurant, long white beaches on an enchanting sea. Rooms very good, comfortable and spacious, clean bathroom. Staff was very friendly and recognized me as a Platinum. Breakfast very good, with a variety of food. My compliments to the Staff, especially to Aaron and Paola! I definitively recommend this hotel and will come AGAIN. September 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bed was very comfortable,service was great The folks at the front desk were very nice, friendly and always ready to help us as things to see or places to visit. September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A WARM AND CONFORTABLE HOTEL IN A FANTASTIC LOCATION!! THE HOTEL IS PERFECTLY LOCATED CLOSE TO ANY SHOPS AND RESTAURANTS NEEDED. FANTASTIC BEACHES IN A FEW MILES FROM THE HOTEL. CLEAN AND CONFORTABLE ROOMS. GOOD BREAKFAST. NICE AMENITIES AVAILABLE FOR THE CUSTOMERS. BUT THE TRUE STRENGHNESS OF THE HOTEL ARE PEOPLE WORIKING THERE. THEY DID EVERYTHIG POSSIBLE TO HELP US IN MAKING OUR STAY SIMPLY GREAT AND CONFORTABLE!! TKS! A PARTICULAR TKS TO AARON. SEE YOU NETX YEAR! CIAO sg Platinum Rome Italy September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service When we arrived, Aaron made us feel so welcome. He should be recognized to he out going warm welcoming style. You should be very proud to have him as part of your organization. August 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience at value price We travel fairly often and look for good value and nice accommodations. We needed at least 2 queen beds since we were traveling with our two sons and preferably a king with a pullout and a roll-away. The staff was able to get the roll-away on 2 nites and this worked out great. Room was very comfortable and clean. A win for us in price and comfort. Breakfast was fairly good, standard cereal or eggs/bacon/toast. Staff was very friendly. Would stay again. August 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ordentlich Als Durchgangshotel bei unserer Florida-Rundreise gebucht, da direkt am Highway 41. Ordentliches HI Express mit normal großem Zimmer, kein Kühlschrank. Sauber, noch nicht so alt, sehr nettes Personal. Gerne wieder für eine Nacht. July 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by in disrepair While staying at the hotel, there was a pipe leak problem which resulted in completely flooded lobby and breakfast eating area. The hotel had about 20 industrial fans going to blow the air around, wet carpets, trim pulled away from the walls and curtains flung over the window sills in an effort to dry out the place. Noise and mess was out of this world. Please should have been closed down for repair! June 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dated property not up to the usual Holiday Inn Express experience The staff was pleasant and helpful, but this property was very dated. The pool and pool area was very small and really only provided space for one large family. Most Holiday Inn Express properties are new. This one was a property that had been re-purposed, and not updated. We had to change rooms because the toilet was not working. I would not stay at this hotel again. In the future when booking a Holiday Inn Express I will call and check on the age of the hotel. This building was most likely 20-30 years old with needed updates. June 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by spacious room very quiet The staff was wonderuful. We asked for a rollaway after the first night and were told we'd have it if there was one available..When we returned, it was in the room. The beds were very comfortable, the sheets were of excellent quality. There were four pillows for each bed as promised but they were lumpy. The bed skirts were out of sync with the rest of the room, as they were so wrinkled that they looked as if they had been crumpled in a laundry basket for days. Really out of place with the rest of the room. The shower/toilet room was very large, but the vanity outside it, was too tiny. There was no room for toiletries. Overlooking those minor things, it was a very pleasant experience. June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Front desk was extremely helpful with places to eat and making us feel special. June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good welcome on arrival . Excellent service The check in procedure was outstanding. We were made very welcome. Front desk rang to ask if everything was ok whe we got to our room. That was a first for us! Altogether a very pleasant stay. June 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good Choice My wife and I stayed for one night whilst visiting Bonita Springs. We were very happy with the Hotel. In fact I think it has the best SHOWER in any of the Hotels I have stayed recently. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast OK. (apart from pancakes) My only adverse comments are: the soda machine which refused to give me a coke despite putting in the correct money. The Receptionist refunded my cash without question. (I wonder if she has had complaints about the machine before?) the breakfast pancakes were AWFUL. A very poor machine. May 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good servuce very good experience staff very nice liked the continental breakfast April 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by April 2013 Stay This is our 4th year staying at this hotel. The first 3 stays were fine. The recent 4th stay was a comedy of errors. Fire alarm going off at 6:00AM, no hot water for 3 days, no TV for over 5 days. The staff seemed to be frustrated with complaints although 2 employees - one counter person and the maintenance/pool man were trying to deal with the situation the best they could. The lunch room can be crowded and the breakfast items are OK at best. Management was not on site and unreachable. My impression is the owners don't care and don't want to put any money into the hotel. Not having a plumber to come in on the weekend to deal with the boiler is a clear indication. GOOD POINT: Great pool area. Kept nice and clean. The outdoor pool shower came in handy for this stay. I was compensated for the trouble but did come here to relax. April 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff very helpful, great bed, good breakfasts I stay here when in Bonita Springs each year and have always been happy. That's why I keep coming back. April 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Needs some upgrading of bath and beds Room was clean and comfortable but more old furnishing then other HIE we have stayed at. Bath room needed some work. Overall a good stay. April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spring Break 2013 This is the 2nd year we stayed at Bonita Springs Holiday Inn Express for spring break. Close enough to drive to awesome beaches such as Fort Myers Beach, Sanibel Island, Bonita Beach and Marco Island without the huge cost of staying right on the water. Pancake machine for breakfast is Awesome. I need one for my home. See you next spring!! April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Genuinely more than adequate hotel Carefree stay - the room was just fine, clean, shower had power. It was my husband, and 10 and 12 year old kids. We felt no need to go out for breakfast - like we usually do. No complaints whatsoever. We were just able to do the things we needed to do while in Bonita Springs, and no worries about our hotel! April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing time We ended our five week condo vacation by staying at the Bonita Springs Holiday Inn Express. This was our third visit. We love the comfortable rooms, the pool and the breakfast! The location is close to the beach, shopping, restaurants and the airport. We always enjoy our stay here! April 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bonita Springs and Spring Training Overall a nice property. The parking lot is a bit unusual. Register at front desk before parking or you will be left wandering around the back and side parking lots without clear guidance how to enter the building. There is no direct sidewalk to the front of the building. You are left walking across a small unlighted ravine to get to the lobby. This could use improvement! Would have stayed multiple nights but Spring Break students left only handicapped rooms and we were told that we would be displaced if a handicapped traveler wanted the room (one handicapped room was cancelled by an incoming traveler as we were checking in). We should have had the opportunity to stay in the handicap room without fear of displacement. We moved onto our next reservation at another property the next night. This is a very nice (not perfect) property and the extension of our stay would have better fit our evening plans. Handicap pre-empt drove us away. March 22, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Entrance
Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
Hotel Entrance Hotel Entrance Lobby Lounge Welcome Hotel Exterior Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading