• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: FORT MYERS
  • Distance From Hotel: 11.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Seventy five dollar one time non refundable pet fee required up to seven days, eight days or longer is one hundred fifty dollars one time non refundable pet fee.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Imaginarium Hands on Museum
Distance From Hotel:10.2MI
Attraction:
Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Tanger Factory Outlet Stores
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Broadway Palm Dinner Theatre
Distance From Hotel:6.9MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary on-site ample parking with a well lit parking lot.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:120
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:64
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Choose Hotel's Prime Location in Fort Myers, Florida

Situated along the Caloosahatchee River, Fort Myers is a peaceful coastal town full of history, pristine beaches and outdoor activities. Come discover all there is to see and do in the "City of Palms" from the comfortable accommodations at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Fort Myers - Sanibel Gateway.

As our hotel's guest, you'll have access to the tools you need to be productive, including free Wi-Fi access and a Business Center.
View More

Choose Hotel's Prime Location in Fort Myers, Florida

Situated along the Caloosahatchee River, Fort Myers is a peaceful coastal town full of history, pristine beaches and outdoor activities. Come discover all there is to see and do in the "City of Palms" from the comfortable accommodations at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Fort Myers - Sanibel Gateway.

As our hotel's guest, you'll have access to the tools you need to be productive, including free Wi-Fi access and a Business Center. Need to host a business meeting while on an extended stay? Our hotel's Fort Myers, Florida boardroom can accommodate up to 10 people. We're near Lee Memorial Healthcare System and Chico's FAS, Inc.

This extended stay hotel's location in Fort Myers, Florida is perfect for your vacation. Located in a quiet, suburban area, we're just eight minutes from some of the world's best beaches! Don't miss popular sites like Lover's Key State Park and Sanibel and Captiva Islands. If you're a sports fan we offer easy access to both the Minnesota Twins and Boston Red Sox Spring Training facilities. The hotel is also minutes from the Wakahatchee Recreation Center and Lee County Sports Center Complex.

When it comes to Fort Myers hotels, we have some of the best perks around, including free guest laundry facilities, a 24-hour Fitness Center and a heated, outdoor pool. We also have a 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard, where you can buy meals, snacks and drinks. Reserve your suite today!

View Less
Features
Each spacious suite has a kitchen, complete with full-size appliances and utensils, to save time and money. Also, the Candlewood Cupboard offers a number of value-priced meals, snacks and beverages.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 229 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Property Great location on the beach, umbrellas and chairs available for our use and plenty of them. We will visit again! August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice place to stay We choose a frontbeach room: it was great! The room was nice and newly remade. The swimming pool has a bar. The hotel is on the beach. Sun chairs and sun umbrellas are at guest disposition on the pool and on the beach...that's great! The staff should just be attentive no to let ouside people use the hotel chairs on the beach! It' already hard to get one... But our stay was pefect.(maybe the AC a bit noisy...) August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Had a room with of the ocean and overlooking the pool. Exactly as I expected. Room was clean and the staff friendly. The pool and ground area were well kept as well. The restaurant really needs work on the food quality. August 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place - not so nice staff Nice place and location. We only stayed for one night as a little get away on my husband's birthday, so we didn't get to experience everything, but from that little time we spent, we have a bad experience to share. It was at the pool bar. We checked in around 5:30 pm and after leaving things in the room we went to the pool. My husband decides to go to the bar to get a drink, but that didn't happened. The bartender never made it to him during the 20mins he waited, and it wasn't that busy. He went twice to take care of the people on the other side of the bar and three times to the one on the center, spent time making some numbers and never asked my husband what he wanted. Of course, my husband got upset and left. We thought about writing a complain at the front desk, but we didn't want to keep ruining our night beacuse of that, and decided to have fun instead. August 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Ground beautiful staff and rooms not so much The grounds of this hotel were very nice great access to the beach but the whole expience was not the best. Check in staff unfriendly and uneducated at there jobs. Rooms were full of sand and not cleaned very well. No one informed us of the draining of the lake so the beach water was dark not pleasing to us. Did not relax at all August 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad hotel Stayed here with my girlfriend for four days from Aug 6-9, 2013. Got there and they did not give ANY perks normally afforded to a Platinum member, and did not even thank me. How rude and cheap. Not even a room upgrade. They said it was "busy." The room was quite small and attached to another room through a paper thin door, whereby we were able to hear a crying baby as if it was in our room with us. Overall, a terrible experience at a great location, as it is right by the beach. This hotel should be ashamed to wear the Holiday Inn name, doesn't deserve it. August 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable vac love sanibell Love location Ok pool Sand flees XX! August 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reward Stay From The UK This was our second stop off point on our recent holiday, another Reward Stay this time for five nights. To be honest, we booked it because we wanted to visit Sanibel and this was the only IHG hotel on the island. Having read some of the mixed reviews we were a little concerned as to what we might find when we got there. Being a Reward Stay you get the basic room and that's it, no option to upgrade. The rooms were a little motel like in appearance but spacious enough for a family of four and well equipped enabling us to self cater for breakfast and lunches when we wanted to. Facilities we found to be good although the pool was small, the hotel was right on the beach with its own sun beds and umbrellas it also has a garden area with hammocks, tables, chairs and some two- seater sun loungers with canopies which made for a very pleasant atmosphere and location. As a PC member, we didn't really receive any recognition other than a welcome letter which was a little disappointing. We tried the Starfish Grille on our first night, food was very good although a little bit expensive when you have kids in tow. The Manager was very attentive (I think he was the Manager - nice French bloke) although I was a little put out after we had charged the meal to our room he came running after us to check that we had given him the correct name and room number. I was not happy with the way I was spoken to by one member of staff who had attempted to claim a payment on my card when I wasn't around - this was for the meal in the restaurant - the company rejected the payment and so I had to produce another card. If I charge to my room then I expect to settle my bill in full on departure and get my points. I did not expect to be spoken to in a manner which made me feel like I was a suspect customer. This happened in our first week of three and because of this persons repeated attempt at re-swiping my card I was unable to use it again for the rest of our three week stay until I got home and sorted the problem out. This caused me considerable inconvenience. Everyone else was great but not very impressed with her attempt at customer service which is why I have rated staff and service as average. That said, we will hopefully return in the not to distant future but will make sure that whatshername doesn't stuff up my card next time. August 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unworthy of HI name I stayed at this hotel from Aug. 6-9, 2013 on a vacation with my girlfriend. I am a platinum member and was not thanked for being one on check in. As well, this hotel provides NO benefits that we are entitled to, like a free newspaper, breakfast or room upgrades that we are promised. CHEAP! The hotel is more of a motel than a Holiday Inn. As such, the walls are paper thin, a baby was crying in the room next to ours the whole stay, it sounded so loud it may as well have been staying with us. I would not stay there again, and certainly not worth the price we paid. August 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by consolidated review from over the years I (or we) have stayed at this Holiday Inn many times over the years, generally in Nov, Dec, Jan, Feb, or March. The property grounds are always beautifully maintained, with noticeable and meticulous detail. It truly provides a tropical oasis in one of the best areas of the island. The staff has always been more-than-courteous to me. When traveling alone I sometimes get bored or lonely and I look forward to seeing some of the staff members who have conversed with me over the years. I don't know why I read all these reviews about dis-interested or rude employees... such as never been the case for me. I appreciate a hotel that has longevity of staff and I know that Sharon, Jesus, Bobbi and Richard have been there for years. Regarding some complaints I have read, it is SW FL and, if you are traveling during the summer, bugs are a part of life... deal with it... they come in when you open the door! If you think the restaurant is expensive, compare it to the other island restaurants: They serve real food here and the prices are not that much higher than the frozen/fried garbage some other restaurants serve. Sushi nights are particularly tasty and definitely worth the price. I agree that the pool is on the small side. It is also on the cold side in the cooler winter months. The rooms are brightly colored and usually quite clean while providing all the basics including a larger-than-some refrigerator and microwave. As others have stated, first floor rooms are tile-floored, and second floor rooms are carpeted. My one true criticism is the quality of the mattresses I have tried to sleep on for a few years now. Waaaaaay too hard for my back. I travel a lot, and these have been some of the most uncomfortable mattresses ever! It is my understanding, however, that new bedding is on the way. Hope so, cause I'll be back in November and look forward to seeing everyone! August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, Great hotel, with very kind, flexibel and service oriented employees. Go on! August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable and great service. From the time we checked in to the time we left, the visit was wonderful. The room was beautiful and clean. Having the beach towels in the room was a nice touch. The staff was very friendly and answered all our questions with a smile. We would stay here again. August 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beach Motel This is a typical Sanibel Florida beach motel. With Holiday Inn Quality behind it. The rooms are clean, somewhat dated. There is an HDTV with Direct TV and HBO. Nice touch. Refrigerator and microwave also come in very handy. The Beach Bar is great. Great staff and the food is tasty. Beach right there and it is Big and beautiful, chairs and umbrellas provided also a nice touch. Pool is on the small side but nice. I have been coming to this Holiday Inn every summer for the last 5 years and I always have a good time. There is bike storage and bike rentals on the property. My only issue with this Holiday Inn is that they do NOTHING for Priority Club members. Nothing means nothing, no bottles of water, no granola bar, no free drink, no room upgrade, no special late check out of early check inn. NOTHING. I am platinum and most places bend over backwards. Not here. They never have and I come back every year. It just suprises me every time. August 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Fabulous Week! My wife and I just returrned home from a fabulous week at this property. We had never been there before, and had read some of the so-so reviews prior to booking our trip. We firmly believe that a positive attitude goes a long way to your travel experience, and we booked a week at this hotel. Lucky us! We have nothing but great things to say about our stay. We found the staff to be friendly, helpful, and very accommodating. We were early for check-in, and no, our room wasn't ready (didn't expect it to be# so we were forced to visit the outside bar by the pool! What a shame! :) Danny behind the bar was more than helpful in helping us pass the time until our room was ready. The view from the pool is beautiful, as is the property as a whole. Our room was fine, large, and clean. After all, if your vacationing at the beach, how much time are you spending in your room? We thought the food at the Starfish Grille was outstanding. #Everything we had was great, but be sure to try the filet.) We appreciated the service we received at the Grille, especially Jake, who waited on us most of the week; also Rose and Melissa. Special thanks to Amy, who makes sure everything runs smoothly at the restaurant and the bar. We also appreciated the courtesy and efficiency of the housekeeping staff. Lastly, a shout out to Jesus and Paulette at the front desk- thank you for your friendly and welcoming attitude. We had a great week! Thanks to all!! August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great atmosphere! We wanted to get away & relax and that's exactly what we got! Friendly people; both staff & other guests. Perfect get-away spot. Thanx. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Get-Away! We enjoyed our weekend get-away and its only 3 hours from home. We have came to Sanibel before when our children were young but never stayed at Holiday Inn. I think for the money and peace and quiet it was a wonderful time. I have recommended on my Trip Advisor page also. August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome place to stay! We stayed there 7 nights. Hotel grounds are great....hammocks, an alligator in lagoon, beautiful landscaping. Close walk to beach. Lots of shells. The beach chairs and tents were great and you don't have to get up super early to get one. Very quiet. After 10 it is dead. Room was spacious and clean. You can always park very close to your room. Pool bar is awesome! Staff was awesome....especiallly Claudia and Jesus. The bartendar at pool from Ohio was spectacular. Restaurant is awesome for dinner or breakfast. Restaurant and pool bar are pricey but so is everywhere else on vacation. Great place for the price. Great location. We would stay there again. Take bug spray. July 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what was advertised If you are looking for a hotel room with a gulf view... don't go here. The hotel itself is close to the beach which was nice BUT we paid for a room with a gulf view and got none! It is true they have 12 rooms facing the gulf, but they are located behind the pool and Tiki Bar quite a bit back from the beach itself. It is a 2 story building so if you have the misfortune to get a 1st floor room (which make up 6 of the 12 rooms), the only view you have is the pool and bar... and the tops of some beach umbrellas in the distance! These rooms would be better called pool view rooms. If I had known this I would not have paid the extra money for the "gulf view room". We arrived very early and know early check in is not always possible, but if the rooms are given out first come first serve, we could have been given the better 2nd floor room, which I assume had a view of the water. The front desk staff were not friendly and really didn't care to resolve any issues. Three o'clock was checkin and there would be not exceptions! We did not receive any recognition for being IHG Rewards Club members. I saw that some people got a shelling bag... but not us. Maybe we hadn't reached the right status! I am extremely disappointed in this hotel. I will chose another hotel when I return to Sanibel Island. July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by On The Beach! Only steps from the beach, the location is wonderful. Near restaurants and shopping. Quiet room, small but nice pool, nice pool side bar & grill, live music Sunday afternoon. Mix of families, young couples and retirees. Beautiful grounds. Perfect for a long weekend get away. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Vacation Spot We had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Inn in Sanibel. Cute items in the lobby to purchase, room was perfect. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return soon. July 27, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by unhappy The internet stated the Inn had been renovated in 2012, but it must have been only the lobby area and grill as the rooms were old and musty and in need of repair. I would never recommend this place to anyone. July 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel for price!! I've been staying there for 4 years. Disappointed this time around though. In the past, the chairs and unbrellas were set up before 9:00 am. This time they were set up after 9:00 and the umbrellas were set up after the fact (a total of 10 were set up# It is much better#in my opionion if the chairs and umbrellas are set up as a set and in a row and not scattered all over the beach). Also, shells from the previous occupant was found underneath the curtains. Otherwise, the room and bathroom was clean. This is a nice place to stay. Close to the beach and staff friendly. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 4th of July Stay Great stay. We enjoyed it very much. Only Con was the resturant was not ready for a long weekend and took too long at times. July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by all around great place First floor rooms have tile floors , great for sandy feet; ; no messy carpet. Restaurant has good food at reasonable cost. Bar has great nightly entertainment , good happy hour prices on food & drinks 4 to 7; & excellent bartenders . The local regulars make you feel right at home . # 1 in Sanibel !!! July 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relax Love the place. Sanibel is beatiful and very relaxing. The hotel is very clean and the staff is there to please you. Will go back. July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by our trip 6/24-6/27 2nd time staying at this hotel. Good value. Location great. Rooms small. July 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beach retreat The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and well equipped. The cable TV has been replaced with satellite TV that includes HBO and Showtime. There is even a DVR in the room. Our toilet malfunctioned Saturday afternoon. A call to the desk got a quick response from the maintenance man. In a few minutes he replaced the flush valve and we were good to go. You can't ask for more than that. The Tiki bar by the pool serves an excellent burger and the bartender was attentive. The downside to the pool bar is that the music is loud. Together with the families with kids it makes for a raucous environment during the afternoon. If you want quiet time at the pool, plan to come out in the morning before the bar opens. Perhaps the management could consider opening the pool earlier in the morning for those who don't want the crowds and noise. The hotel is right on the the beach and this is the main reason we come. It is much less crowded than the public access beaches in Fort Myers. My wife likes the shelling. The hotel staff put out chaise lounges and umbrellas early in the day and keep them out until later in the evening. The hotel even provides beach towels in the room. Just bring your swimsuit and sunscreen. June 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Our first time in this property. We were greatly impressed. Perfect place to relax. The staff at the front desk very professional and courteous. We will definitely be back. June 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ladies Getaway! We made of reservation 3 days before arriving and forgot that it was Father's Day weekend. The staff at check was wonderful. We arrived early and was given a pool key to enjoy until our room was ready. Only complaint there was it was only 1 bathroom for the entire pool area we waited 30-40 minutes. we did not eat on the premises but were given GREAT advice where to eat on the island from the front desk staff. I highly recommending waking up before 10 to get a umbrella.. Richard who sets them up was AMAZING! He was able to help us with umbrella and chairs. He was full of information too! When the pool ran out of pool towels he even went out of his way to bring them to us on the beach. I had been waiting for 25 minutes after calling the front desk. Later found out there was a pipe that burst in one of the rooms. Great location and enjoyed searching for the sand dollars. Had a close encounter with 4 dolphins too. Less than 3 feet. Again GREAT Staff and wonderful beach hotel! I will be visiting again! June 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel for the best beach Reasonable resort feeling hotel on one of the best beaches in the state! Clean rooms and overall nice hotel. Friendly staff and welcoming feel. There are alligators and turtles in the ponds on property so has a really fun atmosphere...not scary, just neat and saw lots of kids stop to watch. The pool looked nice, included a nice poolside bar for happy hour. Short walk through the property to a beautiful beach. Chairs, umbrellas, and hammocks are complimentary! They also supplied nice sized beach towels in the room and others at the pool...very nice surprise. There is a shower to wash off the sand and a shell sink on your way back from the beach...very nice! Great getaway! Our only complaint was that one night was not long enough. June 18, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 next>>
Hotel Entrance
Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
Hotel Entrance Hotel Entrance Lobby Lounge Welcome Hotel Exterior Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Earn 1000 points per night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading