• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: FORT MYERS
  • Distance From Hotel: 11.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Seventy five dollar one time non refundable pet fee required up to seven days, eight days or longer is one hundred fifty dollars one time non refundable pet fee.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Imaginarium Hands on Museum
Distance From Hotel:10.2MI
Attraction:
Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Tanger Factory Outlet Stores
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Broadway Palm Dinner Theatre
Distance From Hotel:6.9MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary on-site ample parking with a well lit parking lot.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:120
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:64
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Choose Hotel's Prime Location in Fort Myers, Florida

Situated along the Caloosahatchee River, Fort Myers is a peaceful coastal town full of history, pristine beaches and outdoor activities. Come discover all there is to see and do in the "City of Palms" from the comfortable accommodations at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Fort Myers - Sanibel Gateway.

As our hotel's guest, you'll have access to the tools you need to be productive, including free Wi-Fi access and a Business Center.
View More

Choose Hotel's Prime Location in Fort Myers, Florida

Situated along the Caloosahatchee River, Fort Myers is a peaceful coastal town full of history, pristine beaches and outdoor activities. Come discover all there is to see and do in the "City of Palms" from the comfortable accommodations at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Fort Myers - Sanibel Gateway.

As our hotel's guest, you'll have access to the tools you need to be productive, including free Wi-Fi access and a Business Center. Need to host a business meeting while on an extended stay? Our hotel's Fort Myers, Florida boardroom can accommodate up to 10 people. We're near Lee Memorial Healthcare System and Chico's FAS, Inc.

This extended stay hotel's location in Fort Myers, Florida is perfect for your vacation. Located in a quiet, suburban area, we're just eight minutes from some of the world's best beaches! Don't miss popular sites like Lover's Key State Park and Sanibel and Captiva Islands. If you're a sports fan we offer easy access to both the Minnesota Twins and Boston Red Sox Spring Training facilities. The hotel is also minutes from the Wakahatchee Recreation Center and Lee County Sports Center Complex.

When it comes to Fort Myers hotels, we have some of the best perks around, including free guest laundry facilities, a 24-hour Fitness Center and a heated, outdoor pool. We also have a 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard, where you can buy meals, snacks and drinks. Reserve your suite today!

View Less
Features
Each spacious suite has a kitchen, complete with full-size appliances and utensils, to save time and money. Also, the Candlewood Cupboard offers a number of value-priced meals, snacks and beverages.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 221 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unworthy of HI name I stayed at this hotel from Aug. 6-9, 2013 on a vacation with my girlfriend. I am a platinum member and was not thanked for being one on check in. As well, this hotel provides NO benefits that we are entitled to, like a free newspaper, breakfast or room upgrades that we are promised. CHEAP! The hotel is more of a motel than a Holiday Inn. As such, the walls are paper thin, a baby was crying in the room next to ours the whole stay, it sounded so loud it may as well have been staying with us. I would not stay there again, and certainly not worth the price we paid. August 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by consolidated review from over the years I (or we) have stayed at this Holiday Inn many times over the years, generally in Nov, Dec, Jan, Feb, or March. The property grounds are always beautifully maintained, with noticeable and meticulous detail. It truly provides a tropical oasis in one of the best areas of the island. The staff has always been more-than-courteous to me. When traveling alone I sometimes get bored or lonely and I look forward to seeing some of the staff members who have conversed with me over the years. I don't know why I read all these reviews about dis-interested or rude employees... such as never been the case for me. I appreciate a hotel that has longevity of staff and I know that Sharon, Jesus, Bobbi and Richard have been there for years. Regarding some complaints I have read, it is SW FL and, if you are traveling during the summer, bugs are a part of life... deal with it... they come in when you open the door! If you think the restaurant is expensive, compare it to the other island restaurants: They serve real food here and the prices are not that much higher than the frozen/fried garbage some other restaurants serve. Sushi nights are particularly tasty and definitely worth the price. I agree that the pool is on the small side. It is also on the cold side in the cooler winter months. The rooms are brightly colored and usually quite clean while providing all the basics including a larger-than-some refrigerator and microwave. As others have stated, first floor rooms are tile-floored, and second floor rooms are carpeted. My one true criticism is the quality of the mattresses I have tried to sleep on for a few years now. Waaaaaay too hard for my back. I travel a lot, and these have been some of the most uncomfortable mattresses ever! It is my understanding, however, that new bedding is on the way. Hope so, cause I'll be back in November and look forward to seeing everyone! August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, Great hotel, with very kind, flexibel and service oriented employees. Go on! August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable and great service. From the time we checked in to the time we left, the visit was wonderful. The room was beautiful and clean. Having the beach towels in the room was a nice touch. The staff was very friendly and answered all our questions with a smile. We would stay here again. August 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beach Motel This is a typical Sanibel Florida beach motel. With Holiday Inn Quality behind it. The rooms are clean, somewhat dated. There is an HDTV with Direct TV and HBO. Nice touch. Refrigerator and microwave also come in very handy. The Beach Bar is great. Great staff and the food is tasty. Beach right there and it is Big and beautiful, chairs and umbrellas provided also a nice touch. Pool is on the small side but nice. I have been coming to this Holiday Inn every summer for the last 5 years and I always have a good time. There is bike storage and bike rentals on the property. My only issue with this Holiday Inn is that they do NOTHING for Priority Club members. Nothing means nothing, no bottles of water, no granola bar, no free drink, no room upgrade, no special late check out of early check inn. NOTHING. I am platinum and most places bend over backwards. Not here. They never have and I come back every year. It just suprises me every time. August 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Fabulous Week! My wife and I just returrned home from a fabulous week at this property. We had never been there before, and had read some of the so-so reviews prior to booking our trip. We firmly believe that a positive attitude goes a long way to your travel experience, and we booked a week at this hotel. Lucky us! We have nothing but great things to say about our stay. We found the staff to be friendly, helpful, and very accommodating. We were early for check-in, and no, our room wasn't ready (didn't expect it to be# so we were forced to visit the outside bar by the pool! What a shame! :) Danny behind the bar was more than helpful in helping us pass the time until our room was ready. The view from the pool is beautiful, as is the property as a whole. Our room was fine, large, and clean. After all, if your vacationing at the beach, how much time are you spending in your room? We thought the food at the Starfish Grille was outstanding. #Everything we had was great, but be sure to try the filet.) We appreciated the service we received at the Grille, especially Jake, who waited on us most of the week; also Rose and Melissa. Special thanks to Amy, who makes sure everything runs smoothly at the restaurant and the bar. We also appreciated the courtesy and efficiency of the housekeeping staff. Lastly, a shout out to Jesus and Paulette at the front desk- thank you for your friendly and welcoming attitude. We had a great week! Thanks to all!! August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great atmosphere! We wanted to get away & relax and that's exactly what we got! Friendly people; both staff & other guests. Perfect get-away spot. Thanx. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Get-Away! We enjoyed our weekend get-away and its only 3 hours from home. We have came to Sanibel before when our children were young but never stayed at Holiday Inn. I think for the money and peace and quiet it was a wonderful time. I have recommended on my Trip Advisor page also. August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome place to stay! We stayed there 7 nights. Hotel grounds are great....hammocks, an alligator in lagoon, beautiful landscaping. Close walk to beach. Lots of shells. The beach chairs and tents were great and you don't have to get up super early to get one. Very quiet. After 10 it is dead. Room was spacious and clean. You can always park very close to your room. Pool bar is awesome! Staff was awesome....especiallly Claudia and Jesus. The bartendar at pool from Ohio was spectacular. Restaurant is awesome for dinner or breakfast. Restaurant and pool bar are pricey but so is everywhere else on vacation. Great place for the price. Great location. We would stay there again. Take bug spray. July 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what was advertised If you are looking for a hotel room with a gulf view... don't go here. The hotel itself is close to the beach which was nice BUT we paid for a room with a gulf view and got none! It is true they have 12 rooms facing the gulf, but they are located behind the pool and Tiki Bar quite a bit back from the beach itself. It is a 2 story building so if you have the misfortune to get a 1st floor room (which make up 6 of the 12 rooms), the only view you have is the pool and bar... and the tops of some beach umbrellas in the distance! These rooms would be better called pool view rooms. If I had known this I would not have paid the extra money for the "gulf view room". We arrived very early and know early check in is not always possible, but if the rooms are given out first come first serve, we could have been given the better 2nd floor room, which I assume had a view of the water. The front desk staff were not friendly and really didn't care to resolve any issues. Three o'clock was checkin and there would be not exceptions! We did not receive any recognition for being IHG Rewards Club members. I saw that some people got a shelling bag... but not us. Maybe we hadn't reached the right status! I am extremely disappointed in this hotel. I will chose another hotel when I return to Sanibel Island. July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by On The Beach! Only steps from the beach, the location is wonderful. Near restaurants and shopping. Quiet room, small but nice pool, nice pool side bar & grill, live music Sunday afternoon. Mix of families, young couples and retirees. Beautiful grounds. Perfect for a long weekend get away. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Vacation Spot We had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Inn in Sanibel. Cute items in the lobby to purchase, room was perfect. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return soon. July 27, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by unhappy The internet stated the Inn had been renovated in 2012, but it must have been only the lobby area and grill as the rooms were old and musty and in need of repair. I would never recommend this place to anyone. July 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel for price!! I've been staying there for 4 years. Disappointed this time around though. In the past, the chairs and unbrellas were set up before 9:00 am. This time they were set up after 9:00 and the umbrellas were set up after the fact (a total of 10 were set up# It is much better#in my opionion if the chairs and umbrellas are set up as a set and in a row and not scattered all over the beach). Also, shells from the previous occupant was found underneath the curtains. Otherwise, the room and bathroom was clean. This is a nice place to stay. Close to the beach and staff friendly. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 4th of July Stay Great stay. We enjoyed it very much. Only Con was the resturant was not ready for a long weekend and took too long at times. July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by all around great place First floor rooms have tile floors , great for sandy feet; ; no messy carpet. Restaurant has good food at reasonable cost. Bar has great nightly entertainment , good happy hour prices on food & drinks 4 to 7; & excellent bartenders . The local regulars make you feel right at home . # 1 in Sanibel !!! July 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relax Love the place. Sanibel is beatiful and very relaxing. The hotel is very clean and the staff is there to please you. Will go back. July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by our trip 6/24-6/27 2nd time staying at this hotel. Good value. Location great. Rooms small. July 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beach retreat The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and well equipped. The cable TV has been replaced with satellite TV that includes HBO and Showtime. There is even a DVR in the room. Our toilet malfunctioned Saturday afternoon. A call to the desk got a quick response from the maintenance man. In a few minutes he replaced the flush valve and we were good to go. You can't ask for more than that. The Tiki bar by the pool serves an excellent burger and the bartender was attentive. The downside to the pool bar is that the music is loud. Together with the families with kids it makes for a raucous environment during the afternoon. If you want quiet time at the pool, plan to come out in the morning before the bar opens. Perhaps the management could consider opening the pool earlier in the morning for those who don't want the crowds and noise. The hotel is right on the the beach and this is the main reason we come. It is much less crowded than the public access beaches in Fort Myers. My wife likes the shelling. The hotel staff put out chaise lounges and umbrellas early in the day and keep them out until later in the evening. The hotel even provides beach towels in the room. Just bring your swimsuit and sunscreen. June 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Our first time in this property. We were greatly impressed. Perfect place to relax. The staff at the front desk very professional and courteous. We will definitely be back. June 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ladies Getaway! We made of reservation 3 days before arriving and forgot that it was Father's Day weekend. The staff at check was wonderful. We arrived early and was given a pool key to enjoy until our room was ready. Only complaint there was it was only 1 bathroom for the entire pool area we waited 30-40 minutes. we did not eat on the premises but were given GREAT advice where to eat on the island from the front desk staff. I highly recommending waking up before 10 to get a umbrella.. Richard who sets them up was AMAZING! He was able to help us with umbrella and chairs. He was full of information too! When the pool ran out of pool towels he even went out of his way to bring them to us on the beach. I had been waiting for 25 minutes after calling the front desk. Later found out there was a pipe that burst in one of the rooms. Great location and enjoyed searching for the sand dollars. Had a close encounter with 4 dolphins too. Less than 3 feet. Again GREAT Staff and wonderful beach hotel! I will be visiting again! June 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel for the best beach Reasonable resort feeling hotel on one of the best beaches in the state! Clean rooms and overall nice hotel. Friendly staff and welcoming feel. There are alligators and turtles in the ponds on property so has a really fun atmosphere...not scary, just neat and saw lots of kids stop to watch. The pool looked nice, included a nice poolside bar for happy hour. Short walk through the property to a beautiful beach. Chairs, umbrellas, and hammocks are complimentary! They also supplied nice sized beach towels in the room and others at the pool...very nice surprise. There is a shower to wash off the sand and a shell sink on your way back from the beach...very nice! Great getaway! Our only complaint was that one night was not long enough. June 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Place Been coming here for 28 years its an awesome place that is always a great get-away. Facilities are top notch, staff is incredible...always feel welcome here. May 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay! Enjoyable resort! Fantastic Beach access. Comfortable Room, great service. Would definitely return when visiting the Island again. May 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Outdoor Area I really like the area between the hotel and the beach. A very nice bar and pool with great covered cabanas. Nice picnic tables, hammocks, open lounge chairs with umbrellas. I great way to be outside, but also be out of the sun! Nice chairs with umbrellas on the beach too! May 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff - customer service oriented My wife and I stayed here during May, 2013 to celebrate our 38th wedding anniversary. The entire staff was outstanding. Always a smile and always a willingness to please. During our stay, a lightning strike disrupted computer functions. I watched the pool bar manager (Danny) bend over backwards for guests to ensure they received their meals and drinks which required a Herculean effort as everything had to be done manually...no computerized meal orders and no computerized credit card transactions. The pool, the hotel property, the beach...all well maintained. Remember, this is an old building as are most hotels and cottages on Sanibel. Holiday Inn has done a great job keeping this one current. The staff has my abiding thanks. May 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Looking Forward to Returning Our recent visit to the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island was a real treat for us. We were very pleased with out stay. From the moment we entered the lobby we were made to feel welcome. The entire facility is very well maintained and our room was particularly clean. Service from all staff members is very good. We particularly liked the park-like area between the pool and the beach. With hammocks, tables, and shade by the palms it is a perfect area to relax outdoors but off the beach. There is no doubt that we are intending to return. It was a great visit! May 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great vacation spot This is the second time we have stayed here. The property is beautiful. Right on the beach and has a nice pool. Our only complaint is the quality of the bedding. Mattress was soft and lumpy and the box spring was noisy. Fix this and this hotel gets an easy 5 stars. May 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The place to stay on Sanibel This was a quick 3 day trip and it was outstanding. The location right on the water could not be beat. The location of the Tiki bar and the whole way the area is set up is so convenient. There is shade if you want to lounge around on a hammock. The hotel has bike rentals and you can bike anywhere from this location. Staff was extremely attentive. Room was fresh and you felt like you were on a tropical island. My wife is already planning a return trip. May 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Last minute trip This was a last minute 2 day stay so we felt lucky just to get a room. The room was clean, which is what I care about the most. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Very little time is spent in the room, since you are here for the beach. The hotel supplied plenty of chairs for the beach but could had used a few more umbrella's. Two large hammocks on palm trees were really nice, as well as the pool and bar. We had a very relaxing two days and are planning to go back. April 25, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 next>>
Hotel Entrance
Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
Hotel Entrance Hotel Entrance Lobby Lounge Welcome Hotel Exterior Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Availability
Loading