• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: FORT MYERS
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a nonrefundable fee. Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. Call hotel for details. Record of complete and up to date vaccinations required.Pet crated reuire to leave Pet unattended in the Room
Pet deposit amount  150.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  30.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Seminole Casino
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Murder Mystery Dinner Train
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Sun Harvest Citrus
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Broadway Palm Dinner Theatre
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:120
  • Car Parking Available
  • We have parking spaces available for cars and trucks semi parking will need to call in advance so we can provide proper parking spaces There is no fee for parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:80
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:52
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:80
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

You'll receive top service and competitive rates at the Candlewood Suites of Fort Myers, Florida. Our hotel, conveniently located on I-75, is just seven miles from Southwest Florida International Airport (RSW).

A variety of attractions are available while lodging in Fort Myers, such as spring training games for the Minnesota Twins or Boston Red Sox, both four miles from our extended stay hotel. Fort Myers Beach and the Sunsplash Family Water Park are both perfect places for
View More

You'll receive top service and competitive rates at the Candlewood Suites of Fort Myers, Florida. Our hotel, conveniently located on I-75, is just seven miles from Southwest Florida International Airport (RSW).

A variety of attractions are available while lodging in Fort Myers, such as spring training games for the Minnesota Twins or Boston Red Sox, both four miles from our extended stay hotel. Fort Myers Beach and the Sunsplash Family Water Park are both perfect places for cooling down during the summer. The Sidney & Berne Davis Art Center hosts performances year-round, and you can catch a movie at the movie theater at the Bell Tower Shops.

With Southside Industrial Park just 1.5 miles from our hotel, Fort Myers' business travelers benefit from our ideal location. Other nearby businesses include General Electric, Chico's, Lee County government offices, Lynx Services LLC and Lee Memorial Hospital. Our extended stay hotel in Fort Myers makes business travel easier by offering a meeting room, 24-hour business center and free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel.

Every guest of our pet friendly hotel in Fort Myers is invited to enjoy a free CD or movie rental from our lending library. We take away the worry of travel by providing an on-site Candlewood Cupboard convenience store as well as free laundry services for all guests. Book your stay today at our Ft. Myers hotel.

View Less
Features
We are conveniently located to many different shopping areas and historical sites.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 231 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location !! Great Location to relax, Lounge Chairs available, Umbrellas in short supply, Nice small bars (outside June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room rated 145 The room we stayed in seriously needed to be updated... the furniture looked like it came from a thrift store. nothing matched.. The bed was comfy, pillows and bedding nice. Appearance of room not up to holiday inn standard at all... Would not stay there again . we would find somewhere else to stay on Sanibel That price... disappointing.. June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful location The staff makes you feel like family. Very responsive to your needs. Outstanding location. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great beach location. The Holiday Inn Sanibel Island is a great place to relax an enjoy the beaches. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay with a friendly staff Location, location, location. This hotel was fantastic and super convenient to the beach. It is a bit older but kept very clean and neat. The staff is super friendly and very accommodating plus easy parking. The hammock swing was so relaxing at sunset. I will definitely plan to stay here again. May 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Need Vacation The stay at the Holiday Inn on Sanible Island was just perfect. The staff was friendly and courteous and very responsive to all our needs. The room we had overlooked the pool area out to the Gulf which was just amazing. The beach was clean and the sand was as white as driven snow, just beautiful. The food at the pool and the restaurant was excellent and we loved our frozen pina-colita's on the beach. Sunrise on the beach was incredible as was the sunset out on the end of the Island out by the Mucky-Duck. We will be back and have recommended this place to others already...... May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Experience at Sanibel Holiday Inn We stayed at Sanibel Holiday Inn for our 3 night mini-vacation and were VERY pleased. The staff were so polite, positive and very customer service oriented. Nice room, clean and comfy. Towels everyday smelled so fresh and clean. This hotel is a smaller, older Holiday Inn that has a quaint feeling which we really enjoyed. Right ON the beach...with a nice pool, three hammocks in the palm trees, ping pong table, Shelling cleaning station, Tiki bar near the pool and beach, free beach umbrellas and chairs and a very pretty tropical landscape. The hotel is easy to get to arriving on the island and easy access to EVERYTHING...restaurants, museums, nature preserve, shopping! We agreed we would definitely stay here again having saved money and having had a great experience. May 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation This is our 13th time @ the Holiday Inn Sanibel over the past 7 years. Unfortunately being a platinum member and using points gains you very little recognition at this property. Again this trip not recognized for being platinum. On the positive side, Jesus, Richard, and the new restaurant bar tender / manager from Ohio are fantastic people. We love Sanibel and this property is a great location. We will be back. May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Paradise Our second time here. Access to beach wonderful and tons of shells!! Free lounge chairs and umbrellas were an added bonus, just wish there were more available umbrellas. Pool area very nice, with covered patio area and comfortable lounge chairs. Easy to rent bikes to explore island. Very relaxing. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms very clean. Breakfast delicious! Will definitely be back! April 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great vacation spot We enjoyed this location and our stay greatly. Overall our room was excellent and clean. Service was great and the front desk staff was very helpful. We did try the breakfast at the hotel restaurant and is was not the best, however there are plenty of other places to eat that are much better. The hotel provided complimentary coffee in the lobby, but my wife was disappointed there was not tea available. Nice experience overall. April 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful vacation spot I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who has a few bucks to spend - it's a little pricey, but everything is on the island. With that said, staff was friendly and extremely helpful - especially the staff who takes care of the beach area - always quick to get you a chair or umbrella always a hello and a smile...overall great experience. April 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing, restful place We recently stayed here and it was a clean place with great staff. Loved the tiki bar by the pool and the access to the beach. The beach is shallow for the ocean and had very minimal waves so great for all kids. The rooms were very small and simple for the price but clean and modern. Tiny fridge and tiny microwave hidden in the tv stand cupboard. There is a restaurant on site that is convenient and good food but adds an extra couple hundred dollars to eat there per day for a family of four. I would stay here again but would bring a cooler with food or plan on going off site to eat possibly. Or find a condo for the same price that has a kitchenette so you do not have to eat every meal "out". April 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Pool Area and Beach Access Spent a week at Holiday Inn Sanibel and had a great time with my family. We particularly enjoyed the pool and beach access. My son had fun playing outdoor ping-pong and tennis. Property is well maintained and staff is courteous and helpful. Rooms are a little small but clean and comfortable. Only real negative was the Starfish Grille. We only ate one meal there, breakfast. The service was extremely slow even though there were only a few people in the restaurant. Food was also not that great. My recommendation is to eat off-site as there are plenty of choices close by. All in all we had a good time and enjoyed our stay. April 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and comfortable bed overall, we had a great stay at the holiday inn on Sanibel island. One day it rained, I tried multiple spots to find tea and then a tea bag with no success. Food service was a little slow at all locations, but typical for the island. To make this a 5 star experience, I would offer tea bags in the room and some type of pastry with the complimentary coffee in the lobby for those early rising individuals. Service at the Tiki bar and the restaurant could be a little quicker. S March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Perfect Stay My husband and I stay here about once a month. Each time the experience is the BEST. Staff here always goes the Extra mile. Especially Paulette! Special thanks also for going the extra mile is Claudia, David and Jesus! Thank you all for making our stay so nice! Grounds are always neat and clean. Rooms clean. Couldn't ask for more. Looking forward to our next visit! March 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service coupled with a solid room this was my third stay in the past year and I would recommend the property to others. the rooms are clean and nicely furnished except for the safe in the room that was rusted and didn't have a key. the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. In particular, Dave at the front desk was very pleasant yet very professional. March 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't waste your money!!! Hotels looks nothing like online pictures. This place is stuck in the 70's. The only nice thing about this place is the beach. The room was terrible. Hasn't been updated in decades. The Tiki Bar was located next to the pool. My husband and I couldn't hear each other talk because of the screaming and running kids. Half of the bar stools had little kids in them. Everytime anyone entered or left the bar area the metal gate slammed. It became very annoying. This place was over priced for what we got!!!! March 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 10th year in a row! We were back to Sanibel from the Great White North for the 10th year in a row. We always stay at the Holiday Inn. It is conveniently located, right on the beach, provides beach chairs and umbrellas, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff really made us feel welcome, many have been there since we started going! Victoria does an amazing job keeping the chairs on the beach sorted out and ensuring that everyone was comfortable. Richard was always friendly and helpful with chairs and umbrellas in the morning (though the hotel needs more umbrellas), and Besley was kind enough to let us finish our wine on the beach at the end of the day. Thanks to all of these individuals for making our stay so great. Also, thanks to the dolphins for coming to visit us every day, and joining us on our walks up the beach. New this year, the waiter from the bar came around and was taking orders from guests on the beach. This is a great idea. Only negative is the cost. Sanibel is an expensive place to visit, I guess that is part of what keeps is to special. March 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Property is very clean. Relaxing atmosphere! Staff is very friendly and helpful. Everything was great. The only thing I would change is have the outside bar open longer and maybe have some fireplace chat tables to sit around on chilly nights by the pool. Would definitely stay there again! The beach chairs and umbrellas are very nice! March 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice property in a lovely setting Very clean. On par for the price, everything on Sanibel is pricey. The pool/bar is a relaxing and friendly environment. Rent bicycles from the hotel, it is very convenient and a fun way or see the island. I love that the hotel puts out chairs and umbrellas on the beach. You might want to grab one early or to watch the sunset. March 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bang for the Buck! I've stayed at some very high-end hotels in my life, and when we decided to take a last minute trip to Sanibel, I must admit I wasn't exactly excited to be staying at Holiday Inn. I now must admit I was entirely wrong. Everything about our four-night stay was beyond expectations. While the rooms weren't lavish, they were certainly acceptable and were completely immaculate. Every day, the staff cleaned, vacuumed and remade the beds to make it look just like the first day we walked in. The front desk was very helpful, and accommodating to all of our needs, as was the staff at the adjoining Starfish Grill. The beach was literally two minutes from our room, and beach chairs were out and lined up every morning by 9 am, with umbrellas if you asked for one. The grounds to the rest of the hotel were gorgeous and well-kept by a friendly staff we called by name after two days. Need something else to do? Rental bikes are on the property at very reasonable rates for an hour or a day. What put it over the top? Having an evening flight, and having the hotel allow us an extended check out to 1 pm, and then still have access to the beach and pool and towels the remainder of the entire afternoon. The rates were much lower than we expected to pay, which made it a great value vs. the other local hotels. All in all, we can't wait to go back. March 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room cleanliness I lost an earring and had to look under the bed, and that was definitely not cleaned. Overall we were definitely pleased with our stay there. I never did find my earring though. March 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, awesome location,short walk to beach. My mom is 89 and went to beach everyday shelling. Really appreciated. Paulette at the checking counter and her warm welcoming smile. February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Hotel stay was wonderful. Room so clean and staff very friendly. Very relaxing vacation. Not much to do at night but many great restaurants. We would go back again ! February 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor food service worst food service I have had in a long time. manager was rude, restaurant dirty and staff not well trained. February 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable Clean rooms, though a dated design, neat, beds were very good. Service by front desk was cordial and responsive, brought towels and washcloths very quickly. Tiki bar was good for lunch, beautiful beach, and the service provided by the staff for chairs and umbrellas on the beach was very good. Restaurant was good for breakfast and dinner, though some of the waitstaff were less than punctual. To get to the second floor stairs were the only way up and down. If you have access issues, you might ask for a first floor room. February 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ask about Happy Hour Our latest stay was January 31-Feb 6, 2014. We have stayed here several times over the years and love the location, along with the easy walk to the beach. New management has made several changes to the property over the last year or two. Breakfast specials and drink prices have increased with the restaurant and tiki bar remodeling -- disappointing, but no doubt more in line with other hotels. The outdoor Starfish Bar is a nice feature, but Happy Hour specials weren't well-advertised - we had to ask the bartender if there were any food/drink specials, and what the hours were. We do miss the "featured" cocktail of the day, and hope that will be brought back. All said, the staff is always helpful and the grounds are well-kept. We will be back in spring and look forward to it! February 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Property has a good location but is way over priced for the quality of the room. February 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Premises need updating The beach and location are fantastic; however, the buildings, guest rooms, bathrooms and air conditioning units need updating. The overall resort is very tired looking and the air conditioners must be turned off to sleep!! February 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Accommadating with the Atlanta Snow Storm Your staff and the property there were so accommadating when we couldn't fly home the last week of January. Everything was so clean and comfortable. We were a last minute reservation and you made us feel like it was a planned resort stay. Thank you so much. February 3, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Gazebo & Grill Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Earn 1000 points per night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading