• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: FORT MYERS
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a nonrefundable fee. Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. Call hotel for details. Record of complete and up to date vaccinations required.Pet crated reuire to leave Pet unattended in the Room
Pet deposit amount  150.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  30.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sun Harvest Citrus
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Seminole Casino
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Murder Mystery Dinner Train
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Broadway Palm Dinner Theatre
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:120
  • Car Parking Available
  • We have parking spaces available for cars and trucks semi parking will need to call in advance so we can provide proper parking spaces There is no fee for parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:80
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:52
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:80
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

You'll receive top service and competitive rates at the Candlewood Suites of Fort Myers, Florida. Our hotel, conveniently located on I-75, is just seven miles from Southwest Florida International Airport (RSW).

A variety of attractions are available while lodging in Fort Myers, such as spring training games for the Minnesota Twins or Boston Red Sox, both four miles from our extended stay hotel. Fort Myers Beach and the Sunsplash Family Water Park are both perfect places for
View More

You'll receive top service and competitive rates at the Candlewood Suites of Fort Myers, Florida. Our hotel, conveniently located on I-75, is just seven miles from Southwest Florida International Airport (RSW).

A variety of attractions are available while lodging in Fort Myers, such as spring training games for the Minnesota Twins or Boston Red Sox, both four miles from our extended stay hotel. Fort Myers Beach and the Sunsplash Family Water Park are both perfect places for cooling down during the summer. The Sidney & Berne Davis Art Center hosts performances year-round, and you can catch a movie at the movie theater at the Bell Tower Shops.

With Southside Industrial Park just 1.5 miles from our hotel, Fort Myers' business travelers benefit from our ideal location. Other nearby businesses include General Electric, Chico's, Lee County government offices, Lynx Services LLC and Lee Memorial Hospital. Our extended stay hotel in Fort Myers makes business travel easier by offering a meeting room, 24-hour business center and free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel.

Every guest of our pet friendly hotel in Fort Myers is invited to enjoy a free CD or movie rental from our lending library. We take away the worry of travel by providing an on-site Candlewood Cupboard convenience store as well as free laundry services for all guests. Book your stay today at our Ft. Myers hotel.

View Less
Features
We are conveniently located to many different shopping areas and historical sites.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 267 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 4th of July Stay Great stay. We enjoyed it very much. Only Con was the resturant was not ready for a long weekend and took too long at times. July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by all around great place First floor rooms have tile floors , great for sandy feet; ; no messy carpet. Restaurant has good food at reasonable cost. Bar has great nightly entertainment , good happy hour prices on food & drinks 4 to 7; & excellent bartenders . The local regulars make you feel right at home . # 1 in Sanibel !!! July 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relax Love the place. Sanibel is beatiful and very relaxing. The hotel is very clean and the staff is there to please you. Will go back. July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by our trip 6/24-6/27 2nd time staying at this hotel. Good value. Location great. Rooms small. July 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beach retreat The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and well equipped. The cable TV has been replaced with satellite TV that includes HBO and Showtime. There is even a DVR in the room. Our toilet malfunctioned Saturday afternoon. A call to the desk got a quick response from the maintenance man. In a few minutes he replaced the flush valve and we were good to go. You can't ask for more than that. The Tiki bar by the pool serves an excellent burger and the bartender was attentive. The downside to the pool bar is that the music is loud. Together with the families with kids it makes for a raucous environment during the afternoon. If you want quiet time at the pool, plan to come out in the morning before the bar opens. Perhaps the management could consider opening the pool earlier in the morning for those who don't want the crowds and noise. The hotel is right on the the beach and this is the main reason we come. It is much less crowded than the public access beaches in Fort Myers. My wife likes the shelling. The hotel staff put out chaise lounges and umbrellas early in the day and keep them out until later in the evening. The hotel even provides beach towels in the room. Just bring your swimsuit and sunscreen. June 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Our first time in this property. We were greatly impressed. Perfect place to relax. The staff at the front desk very professional and courteous. We will definitely be back. June 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ladies Getaway! We made of reservation 3 days before arriving and forgot that it was Father's Day weekend. The staff at check was wonderful. We arrived early and was given a pool key to enjoy until our room was ready. Only complaint there was it was only 1 bathroom for the entire pool area we waited 30-40 minutes. we did not eat on the premises but were given GREAT advice where to eat on the island from the front desk staff. I highly recommending waking up before 10 to get a umbrella.. Richard who sets them up was AMAZING! He was able to help us with umbrella and chairs. He was full of information too! When the pool ran out of pool towels he even went out of his way to bring them to us on the beach. I had been waiting for 25 minutes after calling the front desk. Later found out there was a pipe that burst in one of the rooms. Great location and enjoyed searching for the sand dollars. Had a close encounter with 4 dolphins too. Less than 3 feet. Again GREAT Staff and wonderful beach hotel! I will be visiting again! June 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel for the best beach Reasonable resort feeling hotel on one of the best beaches in the state! Clean rooms and overall nice hotel. Friendly staff and welcoming feel. There are alligators and turtles in the ponds on property so has a really fun atmosphere...not scary, just neat and saw lots of kids stop to watch. The pool looked nice, included a nice poolside bar for happy hour. Short walk through the property to a beautiful beach. Chairs, umbrellas, and hammocks are complimentary! They also supplied nice sized beach towels in the room and others at the pool...very nice surprise. There is a shower to wash off the sand and a shell sink on your way back from the beach...very nice! Great getaway! Our only complaint was that one night was not long enough. June 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Place Been coming here for 28 years its an awesome place that is always a great get-away. Facilities are top notch, staff is incredible...always feel welcome here. May 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay! Enjoyable resort! Fantastic Beach access. Comfortable Room, great service. Would definitely return when visiting the Island again. May 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Outdoor Area I really like the area between the hotel and the beach. A very nice bar and pool with great covered cabanas. Nice picnic tables, hammocks, open lounge chairs with umbrellas. I great way to be outside, but also be out of the sun! Nice chairs with umbrellas on the beach too! May 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff - customer service oriented My wife and I stayed here during May, 2013 to celebrate our 38th wedding anniversary. The entire staff was outstanding. Always a smile and always a willingness to please. During our stay, a lightning strike disrupted computer functions. I watched the pool bar manager (Danny) bend over backwards for guests to ensure they received their meals and drinks which required a Herculean effort as everything had to be done manually...no computerized meal orders and no computerized credit card transactions. The pool, the hotel property, the beach...all well maintained. Remember, this is an old building as are most hotels and cottages on Sanibel. Holiday Inn has done a great job keeping this one current. The staff has my abiding thanks. May 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Looking Forward to Returning Our recent visit to the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island was a real treat for us. We were very pleased with out stay. From the moment we entered the lobby we were made to feel welcome. The entire facility is very well maintained and our room was particularly clean. Service from all staff members is very good. We particularly liked the park-like area between the pool and the beach. With hammocks, tables, and shade by the palms it is a perfect area to relax outdoors but off the beach. There is no doubt that we are intending to return. It was a great visit! May 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great vacation spot This is the second time we have stayed here. The property is beautiful. Right on the beach and has a nice pool. Our only complaint is the quality of the bedding. Mattress was soft and lumpy and the box spring was noisy. Fix this and this hotel gets an easy 5 stars. May 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The place to stay on Sanibel This was a quick 3 day trip and it was outstanding. The location right on the water could not be beat. The location of the Tiki bar and the whole way the area is set up is so convenient. There is shade if you want to lounge around on a hammock. The hotel has bike rentals and you can bike anywhere from this location. Staff was extremely attentive. Room was fresh and you felt like you were on a tropical island. My wife is already planning a return trip. May 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Last minute trip This was a last minute 2 day stay so we felt lucky just to get a room. The room was clean, which is what I care about the most. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Very little time is spent in the room, since you are here for the beach. The hotel supplied plenty of chairs for the beach but could had used a few more umbrella's. Two large hammocks on palm trees were really nice, as well as the pool and bar. We had a very relaxing two days and are planning to go back. April 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable beds and great service we enjoyed our stay at the holiday inn at sanibel island florida immensely. the pool and tiki bar were great. the star grille restaurant was excellent. we only had two complaints. need more ice machines. every nite we couldn't get any ice ad the other thing smoking at the pool. you should make the pool area non smoking especially for the children. otherwise i recommend this hotel highly. April 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by update Hotel needs a general update. The towels and sheets were thread bare. Too bad the restaurant doesn't take in the ocean view and same for the rooms. Window a/c was noisy. The restaurant was terrific! The best latte and fish and the service was attentive and nice! April 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lower key Florida location This location is much lower key than Panama City and Destin. Its not a high-rise property with all commercial trappings. Which can be good and bad. As a LONG time Platinum member I am used to having a room with beach view. Because this property is only 2 story and spread out away from the beach, there are very few rooms that face the beach. However, there are fewer people than what you expect at a high-rise property. They also need to upgrade their internet/wifi access for those of us who do a "working" vacation. The wifi signal was weak, at best, in our room or anywhere else. Overall good experience. Hard to not have a great time at the Florida Gulf. But, HI has much better properties at other locations. April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Shady Palms With family and friends on Sanibel, my wife and I have been visiting the island for years. So many times, I've ridden, rode, or walked past the Holiday Inn and admired its location, colors, and general curb appeal. Last week, we had just a night to spend on the island, so we booked a room and it was just what we were hoping for. The staff was accomodating (thanks Jesus!#, the tennis courts were ready, the poolside bartenders were funny and nice, the waves only steps away, and our room was very comfortable. It has this kind of down-to-earth charm, with just the right comination of sun, shady palms, young people, old people, and free roaming gators #yep!) I literally almost ran into one on a path. We rode bikes all over the island, had cuban sandwiches at the East End Deli, stopped at the Lazy Flamingo for raw oysters, and conch fritters, then dropped by Huxter's for some take home beach beers and lazed on hammocks while the sun went down. I will definately return next year and hope to request the same room. April 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect I would recommend this place to anyone who is family oriented and wanting a relaxing and pleasant vacation. The staff is very customer-oriented and accomodating. The onsite and easy access to restaurants, bike rentals and most importantly the beach was a definite plus! April 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to beach. Great staff. My family really enjoyed our brief stay. We ate at two local restaurants thinking the food would be better than at the hotel. However, we discovered your facility had better food and a much friendlier staff. My family had a great breakfast, and we all had a great dinner our last night at the hotel. The room was clean. We would definitely stay here again. Great pool. No fitness center. Wi-fi. April 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to beach This hotel is very close to the beach, with everything easy to get to. The rooms are small, but are clean and the staff very nice and accommodating. The restaurant, tiki bar and grounds have recently been updated and are very nice. The area around the pool is very comfortable. We enjoyed music poolside one afternoon....a very nice little extra. April 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience at the Sanibel Island Holiday Inn My son and I had a very positive experience at the Sanibel Island Holiday Inn! The staff is gracious and kind and provide exceptional hospitality. There is a nice restaurant on site and a bar adjacent to the pool and ocean that serves delicious drinks. The shelling is great and you can stroll along the pristine beaches that lie right outside your hotel room. We spotted dolphins within 50 feet of the shoreline and had a better view than when we went on a dolphin cruise. The Holiday Inn provides bike rentals and has a nice supply. The Sanibel Island Lighthouse is a short bike ride and reasonable walk away. The views, shelling, and dolphin sightings are wonderful on this beach as well. This is an outstanding hotel and one we highly recommend. April 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Okay but too expensive Recently stayed there for a night but the hotel is not worth the price they are asking for. Furniture was fairly old and the room was not properly cleaned at all. March 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service throughout our stay All aspects of the hotel were excellent, especially the restaurant. This was an enexpected gem providing an excellent & exciting menu with personal service. March 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for our family This was our first trip to Sanibel! The Holiday Inn was perfect for our family. We couldn't see the ocean from our room, but it was a very short walk! The pool area and hammocks were beautiful! Our favorite part were the beach chairs and umbrellas that were put out every morning! And there were plenty for a busy spring break week! Bike rentals on the property was great too! The rooms were older but very clean. The staff was always friendly and helpful! March 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room Location My family has stayed at the Holiday Inn several times and found it very relaxing. However, this trip we were in a room on the bottom floor at the end. Guests were loud as they passed the room at all times of the day as they went to the hotel office or the restaurant. The desk clerk at check-in said it was a very quiet room. Needless to say, we got very little sleep. In the future, if we choose to stay here, we will request an upper level room and certainly not one close to a busy human traffic way. The room was a disappointment. March 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sanibel Holiday Inn Experience For spring break being a college student, I wanted to go somewhere relaxing and calm with my two friends. We chose the Holiday Inn because of it's location and pricing. We loved the location, our room, the pool, restaurant, beach, and other guests we met. Although during our stay we ran into a very unfortunate problem. While being three college females at a calm resort where many guests are families and grandparents with their relatives, we were treated poorly since we were three college females. We were lied to about bike rentals and treated poorly because of the wild college spring break stigma. I wouldn't suggest people to go to this resort due to the poor treatment if you don't fit their typical guest. March 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a repeat guest What a great 6 day getaway we had. Not one issue or complaint with the Inn or staff, even the weather co-operated. I will contnue to be a repeat guest. March 25, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Gazebo & Grill Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading