• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DENVER
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed with a nonrefundable fee of 15.00 for the first night and a 10.00 aditional fee every night, not to exceed the amount of 150.00.
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:106
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CO0513

Guests Love Golden, Colorado Hotel's Mile High Location

Set in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, this hotel's location in Golden, CO, is the perfect destination for all travelers. Plan your next vacation or business trip with the Candlewood Suites® Denver West Federal Center hotel, & you will find much more than you expected.

There are a wide variety of employers and businesses surrounding the hotel's location in Golden, CO. The hotel's guests find many business opportunities
View More

Guests Love Golden, Colorado Hotel's Mile High Location

Set in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, this hotel's location in Golden, CO, is the perfect destination for all travelers. Plan your next vacation or business trip with the Candlewood Suites® Denver West Federal Center hotel, & you will find much more than you expected.

There are a wide variety of employers and businesses surrounding the hotel's location in Golden, CO. The hotel's guests find many business opportunities with employers and companies like the Denver Federal Center, NREL, Jacobs Engineering and Vitamin Cottage. Conveniently located right off of I-70, the hotel is about 30 minutes from Denver International Airport (DEN).

You'll find more than just business opportunities in Golden, CO. The hotel's location provides guests with a multitude of entertainment options. Catch a performance or movie at the Red Rocks Amphitheatre or attend a professional sporting event at Invesco Field, Coors Field or the Pepsi Center. Browse the stores at Colorado Mills Shopping Center or head up to one of the nearby ski resorts for the day. Elitch Gardens Amusement Park is also close by & fun for the entire family.

No matter what you're looking for, we have it here at this hotel in historic Golden, Colorado. The hotel's suites & amenities are sure to make you feel at home during your stay. Enjoy access to guest laundry facilities, an on-site Fitness Center & more. Book your stay today!

View Less
Features
Here in Golden, Colorado, our hotel's main concern is your convenience. We offer fast and free Internet access and a fully-equipped kitchen in each suite, as well as complimentary laundry facilities.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 72 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and Comfortable The staff were courteous and friendly. Room temperature was nice although the window blower was a constant low hum to keep the room cool given the hot temperatures outside. The fitness room is nice with new equipment, clean and well maintained. Breakfast was plentiful with much variety and well laid out for easy flow during high traffic times. Only criticism was that it took a bit of time for maintenance to come replace a shorted wall hair dryer, but they did take care of it. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service. The staff was great. Fix our problem without a blink. Got a good night's sleep. Very clean. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely comfortable beds, clean rooms, great service We've always been very pleased with our stays at HI Express. Our room in Boulder was very clean, fresh smelling as was the facility. One of my favorite things about HI Express is their very comfortable beds July 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Disappointed Upon check in at front desk the attendant sent us to an occupied room at 1:30AM. Walked right into a room with two people sleeping. Spoke to desk attendant about debit card hold policy and he assured me that their policy was to take 20% so I gave him my debit card, big mistake. They ran card for 120% of the entire stay (which I came to find out later is their policy) so I complained to same attendant, he said he was sorry and said he removed the hold. The next morning not only was the original amount not removed they had now doubled the hold amount bringing it into the thousands of dollars. At this point I was no longer comfortable dealing with the original attendant so I asked for a manager (He threatened to kick me out of the Hotel).Even after this it didn't get much better, the hold on my account was there all week and not released until Friday. Meanwhile as far as the room went the first night the phone went off in the middle of the night waking everyone in the room we didn't know what to do it just kept wringing so we disconnected it from the wall. On Tuesday I was in the room when the cleaning people came so I asked them to take all the garbage from the last two nights (some bags and a pizza box). Not only did they not take all the garbage they never replaced the towels all week. They left garbage and an empty pizza box on the counter top for the entire week and never gave us fresh towels until I complained on Thursday night. At this point in the week I was not happy with my stay and I figured for sure the front desk will make this right and compensate me for the stress they put me through all week but instead they said the cleaning people told them I had my "do not disturb" sign on the door and that's why they did not take the garbage or replace the towels. The funny part about that is the beds were made every day and the do not disturb sign was on the floor all week. This was by far the worst experience I have ever had at a Hotel. Some of this I can understand to a certain extent but being called a liar after they put me through the ringer all week was the straw that broke the camels back. I tried to have a calm conversation with the manager asking him to take this week into consideration when you put my final invoice together, reminding him about the Hotels "Hospitality Promise" but they decided not to credit me for any of the night's I stayed at the Hotel. I hope this review makes the website because this is my only way to let other people know what type of establishment they are dealing with. For such a large Hotel group I would expect better customer service. I would expect the staff to come to my side and do whatever they could to make it right but instead its just sad that I have to write this review. I'm writing this review three days later and I'm still just as disappointed as when I left there on Saturday. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location and Friendly Staff The location of this hotel was excellent as was the service from the staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean!! I would recommend this to anyone! Great stay! July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and great service Strongly recommended! The staff, the service, really clean hotel and quiet!. I will just add more channels to the t.v. and better internet. July 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room was dark, depressing. Poor value for the price. Despite fridge and microwave, no utensils or glasses were provided. Bathroom needed upgrading. Breakfast OK. Staff pleasant. July 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK if you get at the right price Definitely a "value" experience. I heard some people checking in for double what I paid and I thought that it was much too high for that price. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for a Boulder Visit Came down to Boulder to compete in the 70.3 Ironman. This is a perfect hotel for the cause. Its 10 mins from the reservoir and right up the road from downtown shopping and restaurants. The staff were great and didn't mind the bikes coming in and out of the hotel and using the elevator. Breakfast choices were good and complementary! Would definitely return. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay at The Holiday Inn Express in Boulder Another relaxing stay at The Holiday Inn Express in Boulder! Everyday started with a complimentary hot breakfast that includes biscuits and gravy, bacon, sausage, cereal, pancakes, and many cold juices available. I spent nearly every night in the hot tub and pool. Both were clean and very well maintained. The staff is one of the best staffs of any hotel I have stayed at. Always have a smile for the customer, always a "Hi, how are you?" Very attentive and professional. I have recommended this hotel to friends heading to Denver, and will continue to do so..... June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by front desk friendly enjoyed stay. family visit. convenient location. room very comfortable and easy to get around. June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Great place to stay when visiting Denver and Rocky Mountain National Park. Friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfasts! Popcorn in the afternoon and warm cookies in the evening. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and friendly staff I only spent 1 night at this location as it was a layover. It was very comfortable, clean & the staff was extremely friendly/helpful. I would stay at this location again. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Favorite hotel on the road Again, another relaxing stay in Boulder at The Holiday Inn Express!! May 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bad internet, poor gym, very nice otherwise Room and facilities were nice - clean and well kept. Breakfast was well stocked. Popcorn was popped fresh easy day at 4pm and fresh bakes cookies were served at 7pm. Nice touch! Internet connection was very poor - could not maintain a solid connection. My smartphone kept connecting and disconnecting every few minutes. I heard other guest complaining of the same problem. Workout room is very sparse - a single treadmill, bike, and 2 orbitals. That's it. Not even a basic set of dumbbells or a yoga mat for ab work. The workout room is extremely small - barely enough room for a single person to use a yoga mat anyways. In spite of the shortcoming mentioned above, I would still recommend this HI Express - especially since it's the only one in Boulder. April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pet friendly Only place in Boulder that was pet friendly. They had our room ready. They were friendly and we were able to swim and work out! Breakfast was great! April 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Fair Not a bad hotel, just stayed at nicer. Had a few issues that never really were resolved and for that I wouldn't go back or recommend. April 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel with awesome staff I've been bringing my family to this hotel for spring break, every year since 2004. It is a great hotel and the staff are wonderful. Quite a few of the staff have been there every year we have visited. The welcome we received from Dan when we entered, made us really feel at home. We called in advance, and let him know that we would be early and he had our room available at noon for an early check in. Alex, the facilities manager always welcomes us during our stay and gives us an update on the improvements they have made. He even scraped the snow and ice from our car one year! This year they had a new team member called Teresa who managed the breakfast lounge, and she was incredible. This is a great place to stay if you are planning on visiting Boulder. April 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My wonderful experience I usually never write comments, but after this wonderful weekend I felt that I needed to write something. I recently retired from Law Enforcement & did my share of traveling. I just became an IHG member a few months ago & I'm glad that I did. I went to Boulder to visit my son in College & my stay was wonderful from day one. The front desk employee was full of information & the female employee doing the breakfast in the morning was a blast. I think she was from PERU... My son even made a comment on how nice the hotel made him feel. Thank you Holiday Inn, for a nice & memorable stay. March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable room and great breakfast! We were at your hotel 5 dayslast week while we attended a family funeral. It was clean, quiet, and the staff was helpful and efficient. The breakfast was very nice. Each day a little different. The attendant for breakfast did an excellent job of keeping it clean and filled. We would recommend it to anyone! February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The staff is very helpful and friendly. The staff was always available to answer my questions about the local community and where to find restaurants and other local landmarks. They always had time to chat and wanting to get to know you. January 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Nice clean place to stay in Boulder with a great hot breakfast and excellent service. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice In a cute little town. Off the main drag however not too far away from everything in the town. December 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel! I absolutely love this hotel! I would definitely stay there again if I ever were to come back to Boulder. The room had everything I needed. Breakfast was served every morning and there was a wide variety of foods to satisfy even my discriminating tastes. The only thing missing was there was no ice machine on the second floor, but it was not too big of a deal for me to go to the 1st or 3rd floor for ice. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Service and Value Wow! What a fabulous stay we had again! We have stayed here many times because adult children live in Boulder and have always had excellent service and an over-all great experience for a very reasonable price for Boulder. The beds are very comfortable and the room was squeaky clean. I also enjoyed the work-out room and the hot tub was clean and wonderful. This time I left my beloved pillow and called Aaron ( front desk most of the time we were there), and he took the time to have housekeeping find it and stash it until family could retrieve it! He was so pleasant and courteous during our stay. Other staff were equally so. Thank you so much. In fact, we are staying there again in Dec. and am looking forward to it. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by North Boulder Gem Clean, modern hotel in North Boulder. Good value for the money. Visited son who is going to school at University of Colordo. Only about a 10-15 minute drive to the campus. Good variety of restaurants a short distance away on Broadway. Check-in very efficient and front desk clerk very helpful with information about the area. Comfortable beds. Complimentary breakfast items were of good choice and quite tasty. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again here for a return trip. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Wonderful property, great condition, outstanding staff, clean room, good breakfast, quick check in and out. I would stay here again. November 1, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst hotel experience ever Sorry. Need to be honest. Have stayed everywhere. Upscale. Downscale. Roadside dumps. Palatial penthouses. This particular hotel, at this particular time, was a perfect storm of pain. Perhaps not an artifact of anything more than circumstance. But horrible nonetheless. 3:15 am. A party explodes in the adjacent room. A call to the front desk elicits a weak response. A clerk clearly resigned to apathy, does little if anything to quell the outbreak Nothing changes. 4:15 am. Same intensity. I vow never to stay in this hotel again. I paid for three nights. Checked out a few hours later. Informed the clerk of my experience. He confirmed it was a confluence of college football and wedding parties. Offered a $15 condolence. I declined and asked him to refund my next two nights. Which he did. And I headed to another hotel. Again. Is it the hotel's fault? Difficult question. Perhaps not. Could the walls be thicker? Sure. Could they have expressed a clearer defense for their sleeping guests? Sure. Easier just to let you know straight up, what went down. October 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place, Convenient Stay This is nice hotel, pretty convenient in most of the aspects. The staff is great - polite, friendly and helpful. Breakfasts indeed need major improvement - hardly found something to eat, the food is not too healthy though. The location is outside of downtown but not too distant as Boulder generally is not a large place. Overall in 5-10 minutes it is possible to reach everywhere. October 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by update needed Overall appearance of public areas has degenerated since my last stay. Looking old and somewhat shabby. Back door to parking lot does not always lock-allows access without a room key. Not good for safety. October 6, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Earn 1000 points per night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading