• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
(e.g. Jul-15-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HARRISONBURG
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Nonrefundable fee USD 25 per night. Maximum charge USD 50. 80lbs maximum weight per pet. Record of complete and current vaccinations required.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
James Madison University
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Massanutten Ski Resort
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Eastern Menonite University
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Miller-Coors Brewing
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:85
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open, well-lit parking lot provided. Free Parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:8
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:52
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:23
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5246

Guests Prefer Harrisonburg, VA Hotel's Location

If you are looking to stay close to downtown Harrisonburg and James Madison University, our hotel's location is perfect for you. Just one mile from downtown and less than 2.5 miles from JMU, the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel is ideal for guests' needs.

Business travelers enjoy our central location and short distance to major businesses like Cargill, Coors, Merck, Sysco and Tyson. The Business Center is open 24 hours a day
View More

Guests Prefer Harrisonburg, VA Hotel's Location

If you are looking to stay close to downtown Harrisonburg and James Madison University, our hotel's location is perfect for you. Just one mile from downtown and less than 2.5 miles from JMU, the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel is ideal for guests' needs.

Business travelers enjoy our central location and short distance to major businesses like Cargill, Coors, Merck, Sysco and Tyson. The Business Center is open 24 hours a day should you need to work late, and all printing and fax services are complimentary. If you're a pet owner who's relocating for a project, consider that we're one of the area's few pet friendly hotels.

Harrisonburg, VA is full of fun attractions for the leisure traveler, too. You can tour one of the area's caverns or see a Saturday show at John C. Wells Planetarium at James Madison University. Our hotel's location is also near several of the city's beautiful parks, so your entire family can enjoy a day out before settling in for a restful night in our pet friendly hotel's suites.

Harrisonburg, VA is filled with history and surrounded by natural beauty, and this hotel keeps our guests near it all! Free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel keeps you connected, and a 24-hour Fitness Center keeps you in your routine. If you are looking for hotels in Harrisonburg, VA, call today to book your suite at the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel.

View Less
Features
Do you want to stay close to downtown Harrisonburg, VA? Our hotel's location is one mile from downtown and just minutes from I-81 and both James Madison University and Eastern Mennonite University.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 101 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 good comfortable beds This hotel offered excellent facilities, hotel staff efficient and courteous. June 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent night for a hard trip Travel with 3 adults and child Dinner in hotel because to tired to elsewhere Kiddy pool filthy (Note: We swam close to closing time). Pool deck area was clean Room. How many times to I have to say it. "OSHA Regs are there for a reason". Breakfast was so/so. Wait staff was not attentive June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay in Harrisonbuurg Had a very nice stay. I would stay again. thank you such a nice hotel and hotel chain June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value A nice, clean room and very convenient location. Although highway was right beside it, it was quiet. There were many restaurants nearby as well as supermarkets. We could use a coupon obtained at the visitor information center, so the value was great. June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 NICE PROPERTY OVERALL GOOD PLACE TO STAY GOOD WAIT STAFF IN BAR/RESTAURANT ROOM CLEAN COMFORTABLE BED June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay For once we found a hotel with a comfortable bed and pillows that didn't squirm away in the night! Room and lobby looked updated. Front desk staff was very friendly and answered all of my questions. If I had to quibble, the window curtain design allowed a lot of the morning sun to flood our room before we may have wanted to wake up and the hallways were not air-conditioned. The big surprise was breakfast at their restaurant - it was very good and reasonably priced. They served one of the best omelets I've had in a long time. Overall, a great stay! June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable and spacious room The breakfast buffet was awful. Do not waste your time. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Quick trip to Harrisonburg for my son's State Track Meet. The hotel was pristine and felt safe. Staff was very helpful as I am disable. They assisted me with my luggage and every part of reservations to check out was smooth. June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff. Well trained and want to make sure they respond in a professional manner Main concern is the fact that you must have breakfast in the bar area. Dark with no windows and not the atmosphere to start the day. Unfortunately the owner of this property ignores the issue. Even though the morning staff is great most of my associates go else where for breakfast. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel and nice bar! Room was nice but I expect that from a Holiday Inn. I stay at this hotel (and I've stayed there several times) primarily because they have a bar, with supporting snacks and room service. In these days of the Express hotels, bars are increasingly rare. May 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 One of the best in Harrisonburg I normally don't stay at Holiday Inn but I am glad I did this time. Lobby is inviting, rooms clean, pillows made for a great sleep and the staff / service was terrific especially Sam (a female) at the front desk. May 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by recognizes platinum members I have been to 4 different IHG hotels to use reward points this spring. This has been the only hotel that has recognized the "platinum membership" that they are supposed to at checkin. Excellent customer service at the front desk. Fantastic value for the breakfast buffet and friendly waitstaff. The kiddos loved the pool. April 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Experience The worst Holiday Inn I have stayed in. Our room was dirty, I felt I was at a $20 motel, Wi-Fi signal was poor, and it took me a while to try to get stable internet connection to look for another place to stay in. I have no luck; it was a difficult task to achieve especially on a Friday night. I decided to call the front desk and complaint about room condition, and then we were relocated to a much better room. Also, the fitness room needs a complete upgrade in equipment and the smell there was terrible. Overall, it was a very bad experience. I'm very disappointed, especially since I'm a rewards member, and usually choose Holiday inn as my home away from home. April 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel We haven't stayed at an actual Holiday Inn in probably around 20 years as they always seemed to be run down and dirty (we stay at Holiday Inn Expresses#. What a change since the 1980's. This property was clean, the staff was prompt and polite. The room was quiet. We even ate breakfast in the dining room #breakfast was included in our rate). We were impressed with the breakfast - it was very good and served hot. Even if we hadn't had breakfast included, we would have eaten there as the prices were great - not the normal hotel inflated prices. Only thing not 5 star was the mattress. Although it was comfortable enough for sleeping, it had the "gully holes" from being used too often. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. April 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable. Great stay. Staff was great and hotel was clean and comfortable. Always a good deal. April 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 2night stay Room was clean. Front desk staff were helpful and pleasant. Hotel was crowded and very loud. Room was great. Food was late, cold, and service was not great. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Third time staying here...and will stay again. The front desk staff was nice and friendly, and very helpful. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. We love the large pool area. As I said, this was our 3rd time staying here and we will stay again!! :) Thank You March 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Our experience We stayed here this past weekend for a function being held at the same hotel. Upon entering our room, I noted small crunched papers on the carpeting by the bathroom. Additionally, there were spots on the bathroom floor that did not appear to have been cleaned. The toilet was very slow to flush and the sink extremely slow to drain. On Saturday morning we left for breakfast about 9AM and returned to the room about 11:30AM and the room had not been cleaned. I called to the desk and they said they would send towels up. We waited about a 1/2 hour but never received them. We could not wait any longer because we had to get ready for the function we were attending., so I went to the desk and told them our room had not been cleaned and about the slow draining. She said she could move us, but we didn't have time for that. I told her the room wasn't clean and we never got our towels. She called housekeeping while I was standing there to ask if they had cleaned our room. I HAD TOLD HER THEY HADN'T BUT SHE DIDN'T BELIEVE ME. That was very discourteous, in my opinion. I carried the towels back to the room and the room never was cleaned the rest of our stay. The desk attendants appeared immature. The waitress in the bar, and during our party was very very nice, however. I would NOT stay here again. I am very disappointed that there was no manager available and that the response was so matter of fact from the young desk attendants. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noise I recommend this property as it is close to food, the collage, price, however if you are a lite sleeper,you may have a problem,if you are on the front side,next to the I81 ramp and Rt 33. Also I complained about my heat sounding like a turbo jet taking off. The maint guy worked on it I think and was able to quit it down some but you still got woke up and it was hard to hear the TV. February 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Older property, but not bad Let me start by saying the staff is awesome. Just don't show up for breakfast too close to closing time, the server gets upset. Overall a good experience, older property, remodeled in last few years, but you can tell they went cheap. My bathroom door was broken at the latch, as if it was kicked in at some point. The front door, also appeared to have been kicked in, but was repaired. The heat unit functioned well, all too well. So well in fact it couldn't figure out if the room was warm enough, so it pumped heat. Lots of heat. And the toilet ran. Ok so that's the bad. I brought up these inconveniences to the front desk and was immediately offered another room. I declined because I really didn't need to close the bathroom door, Just jiggle the handle on toilet and it stopped running, and the heat, well, I just turned the unit off. Reminded me of my first apartment. Overall the experience was good. The staff was attentive, polite and courteous. The location is great. 5 mins to JMU, and a host of restaurants across the street. The bed was comfortable, the rooms were clean...so Yeah, next time I have business at JMU, I'll stay here again. February 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Hotel - convenient location Overall facility is nice and in a good location. Staff are very accommodating and nice! Restaurant food was good, but the décor could use some updating. I'd come back. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stopover We stopped around 3am for the night after traveling all day with two young children. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful! Beautiful lobby and pool area, sorry we didn't get to swim as it was quick stop over stay. Great room - highly recommend! December 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room was very clean and comfortable Had a great stay - room was great, very quiet for sleeping - and staff at front desk was great! December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay The room was clean, and the staff was very friendly. The parking lot was well lit. Good location: close to interstate, mall, theater, and shopping centers. Working, room A/C. December 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 1-Nite Stay Everything was generally OK, clean and comfortable. A couple of issues were brought to the attention of the front desk staff when I checked out. 1. There were picture hangers on the wall in one spot, but no picture. I don't know if someone stole the picture or whether housekeeping had removed it. 2. The shower control did not work properly. The closer you got to the hot setting, the cooler the water got. The best you could get was warm water in the mid-position November 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The restaurant We made the mistake of eating in the restaurant. It was 8 of us. The food took too long but that was ok. When we finally did get it, it was terrible!! My son who eats a lot took one bite of his chicken and noodles and left it all. Mine was bad, my husband got the fish, it was very strong. It also looked like it was under staffed. We needed a refill on drinks water etc. the waitress took way too long. It is a shame because the location was great and if the food and service was good it would be a great place to stay when we go to JMU. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room Recently traveled to Harrisonburg for a wedding and stayed here. The hotel rooms look newly renovated and are very nice. Amenities were nice. Easy access to rooms. November 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and relaxing Just what we needed for a get-a-way weekend Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Didn't have an opportunity to try the pool but it looked very inviting. October 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Facility - Sloppy Staff This hotel looks like it was recently renovated and the results were good - a nice lobby area and very comfortable rooms (especially the bed!). On the other side, the staff needs to get their act together. Our check in was somewhere between a nightmare and absurd comedy. The front desk staff was very young and very slow. When we got to our assigned room, the key didn't work; back to the front desk, a wait in line and another swipe key. When we used it, we found someone else already in the room relaxing in bed! Back to the front desk, another wait ("I don't understand how someone could be in that room because we assigned it to you" was the explanation) and another room was assigned this time. Thankfully, there were no more check in problems! Breakfast at the restaurant the next morning was average. Staff forgot to bring bacon and needed to be chased into the kitchen. The response "sorry, I don't normally work weekends so I didn't know what was included with your breakfast." The rest of the meal went well as did checkout. October 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Soggy Mattresses Mattresses are not firm at all. Pillows are not good for sleeping either. October 30, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Enterance Front Entrance Hotel Exterior Lobby Lobby
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-15-2014)
Check Availability
Loading