• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HARRISONBURG
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Nonrefundable fee USD 25 per night. Maximum charge USD 50. 80lbs maximum weight per pet. Record of complete and current vaccinations required.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Rockingham Memorial Hospital
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Eastern Mennonite University
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Harrisonburg Children's Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
James Madison University
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:85
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open, well-lit parking lot provided. Free Parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:8
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:52
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:23
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5246

Guests Prefer Harrisonburg, VA Hotel's Location

If you are looking to stay close to downtown Harrisonburg and James Madison University, our hotel's location is perfect for you. Just one mile from downtown and less than 2.5 miles from JMU, the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel is ideal for guests' needs.

Business travelers enjoy our central location and short distance to major businesses like Cargill, Coors, Merck, Sysco and Tyson. The Business Center is open 24 hours a day
View More

Guests Prefer Harrisonburg, VA Hotel's Location

If you are looking to stay close to downtown Harrisonburg and James Madison University, our hotel's location is perfect for you. Just one mile from downtown and less than 2.5 miles from JMU, the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel is ideal for guests' needs.

Business travelers enjoy our central location and short distance to major businesses like Cargill, Coors, Merck, Sysco and Tyson. The Business Center is open 24 hours a day should you need to work late, and all printing and fax services are complimentary. If you're a pet owner who's relocating for a project, consider that we're one of the area's few pet friendly hotels.

Harrisonburg, VA is full of fun attractions for the leisure traveler, too. You can tour one of the area's caverns or see a Saturday show at John C. Wells Planetarium at James Madison University. Our hotel's location is also near several of the city's beautiful parks, so your entire family can enjoy a day out before settling in for a restful night in our pet friendly hotel's suites.

Harrisonburg, VA is filled with history and surrounded by natural beauty, and this hotel keeps our guests near it all! Free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel keeps you connected, and a 24-hour Fitness Center keeps you in your routine. If you are looking for hotels in Harrisonburg, VA, call today to book your suite at the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel.

View Less
Features
Do you want to stay close to downtown Harrisonburg, VA? Our hotel's location is one mile from downtown and just minutes from I-81 and both James Madison University and Eastern Mennonite University.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 117 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable. Great stay. Staff was great and hotel was clean and comfortable. Always a good deal. April 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 2night stay Room was clean. Front desk staff were helpful and pleasant. Hotel was crowded and very loud. Room was great. Food was late, cold, and service was not great. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Third time staying here...and will stay again. The front desk staff was nice and friendly, and very helpful. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. We love the large pool area. As I said, this was our 3rd time staying here and we will stay again!! :) Thank You March 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Our experience We stayed here this past weekend for a function being held at the same hotel. Upon entering our room, I noted small crunched papers on the carpeting by the bathroom. Additionally, there were spots on the bathroom floor that did not appear to have been cleaned. The toilet was very slow to flush and the sink extremely slow to drain. On Saturday morning we left for breakfast about 9AM and returned to the room about 11:30AM and the room had not been cleaned. I called to the desk and they said they would send towels up. We waited about a 1/2 hour but never received them. We could not wait any longer because we had to get ready for the function we were attending., so I went to the desk and told them our room had not been cleaned and about the slow draining. She said she could move us, but we didn't have time for that. I told her the room wasn't clean and we never got our towels. She called housekeeping while I was standing there to ask if they had cleaned our room. I HAD TOLD HER THEY HADN'T BUT SHE DIDN'T BELIEVE ME. That was very discourteous, in my opinion. I carried the towels back to the room and the room never was cleaned the rest of our stay. The desk attendants appeared immature. The waitress in the bar, and during our party was very very nice, however. I would NOT stay here again. I am very disappointed that there was no manager available and that the response was so matter of fact from the young desk attendants. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noise I recommend this property as it is close to food, the collage, price, however if you are a lite sleeper,you may have a problem,if you are on the front side,next to the I81 ramp and Rt 33. Also I complained about my heat sounding like a turbo jet taking off. The maint guy worked on it I think and was able to quit it down some but you still got woke up and it was hard to hear the TV. February 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Older property, but not bad Let me start by saying the staff is awesome. Just don't show up for breakfast too close to closing time, the server gets upset. Overall a good experience, older property, remodeled in last few years, but you can tell they went cheap. My bathroom door was broken at the latch, as if it was kicked in at some point. The front door, also appeared to have been kicked in, but was repaired. The heat unit functioned well, all too well. So well in fact it couldn't figure out if the room was warm enough, so it pumped heat. Lots of heat. And the toilet ran. Ok so that's the bad. I brought up these inconveniences to the front desk and was immediately offered another room. I declined because I really didn't need to close the bathroom door, Just jiggle the handle on toilet and it stopped running, and the heat, well, I just turned the unit off. Reminded me of my first apartment. Overall the experience was good. The staff was attentive, polite and courteous. The location is great. 5 mins to JMU, and a host of restaurants across the street. The bed was comfortable, the rooms were clean...so Yeah, next time I have business at JMU, I'll stay here again. February 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Hotel - convenient location Overall facility is nice and in a good location. Staff are very accommodating and nice! Restaurant food was good, but the décor could use some updating. I'd come back. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stopover We stopped around 3am for the night after traveling all day with two young children. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful! Beautiful lobby and pool area, sorry we didn't get to swim as it was quick stop over stay. Great room - highly recommend! December 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room was very clean and comfortable Had a great stay - room was great, very quiet for sleeping - and staff at front desk was great! December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay The room was clean, and the staff was very friendly. The parking lot was well lit. Good location: close to interstate, mall, theater, and shopping centers. Working, room A/C. December 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 1-Nite Stay Everything was generally OK, clean and comfortable. A couple of issues were brought to the attention of the front desk staff when I checked out. 1. There were picture hangers on the wall in one spot, but no picture. I don't know if someone stole the picture or whether housekeeping had removed it. 2. The shower control did not work properly. The closer you got to the hot setting, the cooler the water got. The best you could get was warm water in the mid-position November 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The restaurant We made the mistake of eating in the restaurant. It was 8 of us. The food took too long but that was ok. When we finally did get it, it was terrible!! My son who eats a lot took one bite of his chicken and noodles and left it all. Mine was bad, my husband got the fish, it was very strong. It also looked like it was under staffed. We needed a refill on drinks water etc. the waitress took way too long. It is a shame because the location was great and if the food and service was good it would be a great place to stay when we go to JMU. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room Recently traveled to Harrisonburg for a wedding and stayed here. The hotel rooms look newly renovated and are very nice. Amenities were nice. Easy access to rooms. November 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and relaxing Just what we needed for a get-a-way weekend Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Didn't have an opportunity to try the pool but it looked very inviting. October 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Facility - Sloppy Staff This hotel looks like it was recently renovated and the results were good - a nice lobby area and very comfortable rooms (especially the bed!). On the other side, the staff needs to get their act together. Our check in was somewhere between a nightmare and absurd comedy. The front desk staff was very young and very slow. When we got to our assigned room, the key didn't work; back to the front desk, a wait in line and another swipe key. When we used it, we found someone else already in the room relaxing in bed! Back to the front desk, another wait ("I don't understand how someone could be in that room because we assigned it to you" was the explanation) and another room was assigned this time. Thankfully, there were no more check in problems! Breakfast at the restaurant the next morning was average. Staff forgot to bring bacon and needed to be chased into the kitchen. The response "sorry, I don't normally work weekends so I didn't know what was included with your breakfast." The rest of the meal went well as did checkout. October 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Soggy Mattresses Mattresses are not firm at all. Pillows are not good for sleeping either. October 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy room and front desk with bad attitude We stayed in for just one night and tried to get rest after a whole day hiking. However, the room offered is extremely bad and noisy. It was near the elevator and every time someone using the elevator we can hear the signal and motor sound. It is very annoying in the night. And the front desk guy was very impatient to out complain. This is the worst experience I had in holiday inn and we will never come again. October 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A calm in a sea of stress The past couple of weeks had been very stressful. Most of the hotels I had stayed in the week before were the typical run of the mill hotels. Breakfast was always a hit or miss. The same went for the quality. as well as the quietness of the room. When I walked in to this hotel the staff greeted me with a warm smile and a great welcome. Even though I was early they still had my room ready. I was already feeling better about the day. When I got in the room it smelled fresh and clean. The temperature was great and the carpet was actually fluffy under my feet. The internet was fast enough and stayed connected all the time. The bed was very comfortable. I slept better that night than I had the past week. The shower was piping hot and had plenty of pressure. The breakfast was fresh and hot. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I have found my new comfort zone when I am in town. October 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by JMU Bandfest October 2013 Hotel Employees were very nice and helpful. Only minutes from JMU campus and stadium. Hotel was clean, beds were comfortable. Bathroom was small but clean. Carpet could be upgraded/replaced but again clean. Overall stay - Excellent. October 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Thought things might get better I have stayed at this hotel 5 times now. The restaurant/bar is rarely open, but I thought it would change during JMU football season. Nope, they close the bar at 11 or before, even though there were 15 people there. This is a Saturday night, the reason I pick a hotel with a bar, is so I don't have to leave to have a drink, eat and watch college football. Unfortunately, my fiancée' left her glasses on the night stand. Our fault for not double checking. I called as soon as we realized it. They did have them, and said they would mail them using my credit card info. We still haven't received them, and I have called back twice now and have not gotten an answer as to whether they were mailed back. So I am sending my son over to question them. I should have had him get them in the first place...I will now stay at another hotel when I visit JMU. October 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfactory room; breakfast buffet was cold, hard, and awful. Room was adequate. TV kept losing signal on basic channels. Restaurant food was awful. Notified staff and front desk and received a polite apology for the cold eggs, hard pancakes and expired yogurt. The room was fine but avoid the restaurant! October 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dissapointed Very dissapointed with this hotel. There was a smell throughout the hotel ( except the lobby where they blow in air freshner). Our room was by the pool and we had to hear screaming kids in the pool late into the night. The waitress in the restaurant was very unfriendly. I expected more for the price! October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff - Resuraunt Location Great well trained staff that is eager to please. They are a real plus for this hotel and the main reason I continue to stay at this location Main problem with this hotel is having to eat breakfast in the bar area. No windows which creates a dreary atmosphere. Once again it is the staff that makes up for this situation. October 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by my stay Very clean hotel. Rooms are a nice size & comfortable beds. Staff was excellent even when fully booked. Side note: I was very appreciative to an honest cleaning staff that caught me before leaving the parking lot after checking out to bring me my tablet that I had left behind. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 My Stay Wonderful experience with lovely amenities. The only thing missing was a guest laundry but who likes dong their own laundry anyway. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Food service You need more help in the am . What help you had we're good, but not enough people. The tables were still dirty from night before people. Tables not cleaned and prepared with silverware, clean glasses, etc, kitchen help was preparing buffet and lone waitress was overwhelmed. Then kitchen lost two orders and took over 30 minutes to get fixed. No excuse for this. Get some help!!! September 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel - wait..is that a kiddie pool? We enjoyed our stay. No complaints at all with the available amenities, staff, room. Only thing I would mention is that the pictures of the pool area make it appear as though there is a hot tub (Which would have been AWESOME following my rugby game), but, alas, it's just a kiddie pool. Not quite as awesome. I'd recommend upgrading to a hot tub - a nice place for us old folks to hang out while the kids are playing in the pool. Thanks! Amanda September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very nice hotel Very nice hotel. Great location and very friendly staff. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, staff and restaurant From check-in to checkout this is a great hotel, The staff was wonderful and the restaurant food was delicious. The room was very clean and comfortable. September 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Once again a good place to go I've been here on several occasions for other training sessions and this place continues to do a great job. September 7, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Front Enterance
Front Enterance
Select to close.
Front Enterance Hotel Exterior Lobby Hotel Exterior Lobby
Select to close.
Earn 1000 points per night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading