• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HARRISONBURG
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Nonrefundable fee USD 25 per night. Maximum charge USD 50. 80lbs maximum weight per pet. Record of complete and current vaccinations required.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
James Madison University
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Massanutten Ski Resort
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Eastern Menonite University
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Miller-Coors Brewing
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:85
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open, well-lit parking lot provided. Free Parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:8
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:52
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:23
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5246

Guests Prefer Harrisonburg, VA Hotel's Location

If you are looking to stay close to downtown Harrisonburg and James Madison University, our hotel's location is perfect for you. Just one mile from downtown and less than 2.5 miles from JMU, the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel is ideal for guests' needs.

Business travelers enjoy our central location and short distance to major businesses like Cargill, Coors, Merck, Sysco and Tyson. The Business Center is open 24 hours a day
View More

Guests Prefer Harrisonburg, VA Hotel's Location

If you are looking to stay close to downtown Harrisonburg and James Madison University, our hotel's location is perfect for you. Just one mile from downtown and less than 2.5 miles from JMU, the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel is ideal for guests' needs.

Business travelers enjoy our central location and short distance to major businesses like Cargill, Coors, Merck, Sysco and Tyson. The Business Center is open 24 hours a day should you need to work late, and all printing and fax services are complimentary. If you're a pet owner who's relocating for a project, consider that we're one of the area's few pet friendly hotels.

Harrisonburg, VA is full of fun attractions for the leisure traveler, too. You can tour one of the area's caverns or see a Saturday show at John C. Wells Planetarium at James Madison University. Our hotel's location is also near several of the city's beautiful parks, so your entire family can enjoy a day out before settling in for a restful night in our pet friendly hotel's suites.

Harrisonburg, VA is filled with history and surrounded by natural beauty, and this hotel keeps our guests near it all! Free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel keeps you connected, and a 24-hour Fitness Center keeps you in your routine. If you are looking for hotels in Harrisonburg, VA, call today to book your suite at the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel.

View Less
Features
Do you want to stay close to downtown Harrisonburg, VA? Our hotel's location is one mile from downtown and just minutes from I-81 and both James Madison University and Eastern Mennonite University.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 121 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The staff is pleasant and professional We have stayed here many times. We enjoy the hotel and the local area. April 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good overall experience We love your place. We've stayed there three times now and look forward to our return soon. April 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by what happened to the amenities? maybe we have been spoiled by previous stays, but no cookies, no bottles of water. our room smelled of bacon and when i mentioned this to the front desk the response was "don't you like bacon". April 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay here every year when we travel to FL We find this Holiday Inn Express to meet all our needs. The rooms are spacious, and the fact that they have a refrigerator and freezer is very important since we need to keep insulin cold and I freeze ice packs for the next leg of our trip. The beds are comfortable as are the pillows for assuring a good nights sleep! The breakfast is good and the hot items are hot, and the cold items are cold. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. April 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Greay place to stay Benjamin greeted us as we came through the door with a hearty welcome and a cheerful smile. He helped us with a few questions re acessing internet and where some good restaurants were. Room was clean and organized. Breakfast was fine except the layout doesn't flow well with the big crowd we encountered. Thing like the toaster should be in places where we aren't in other peoples way while waiting. Otherwise would definitely recommend highly. Thanks Benjamin for making us feel special. April 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel We stayed overnight traveling through Virginia. It was a great night sleep. Clean hotel, comfortable beds and breakfast in a pleasant room. Easy on and off the highway. I will stay here again when traveling through here. April 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff; great amenities for business travelers Hotel easy to find - just seconds off I-81. Friendly staff and an enjoyable stopover while on a business trip. Room was clean, quiet, and relaxing. The only downside was the limited variety of breakfast items. March 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by missing pillow I stay at this property every time I travel north to Connecticut. I usually bring my own pillow since it is now a trend to only provide half pillows. I am sure that mini pillows save money for the company but they are ridiculouse and provide only half as much support as a full pillow. This time I forgot my pillow in my room, I called the next day having realized it and spoke to a young man, Ben. He said he would look for it and I simply assumed that since it was so soon after I left they would find it. I never heard back and when I returned on my way home I asked if they had it. They did not. I cannot believe they just tossed my pillow. The pillow can be replaced, but the pillow case that goes with a king set, cannot ! I am thoroughly disgusted that they discarded my pillow and case. I am so angry I don't think I am staying there anymore. March 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast was good. The heated pool is a nice bonus, especially because it is easily accessible. I did not appreciate the surcharge because I needed a handicap room. Breakfast was good. It was the usual holiday inn Express fare, nothing unusual. The outlets for my handicap equipment were difficult to get to. I am thankful that I had an extension cord with me. The room could have been cleaner. My white socks got dirty when I walked around in stocking feet. March 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor quality breakfast but otherwise acceptable. Stopped here while traveling north. I am a frequent guest of Holiday Inn. Overall clean and comfortable, but I had to write a review regarding the breakfast. The standard fare, but the biscuits were so hard that I couldn't cut them. Ok, no biggie, they had bacon. Uh... Where did you get that bacon? Two strikes and I dumped it. Ended up buying something else when I got back on the road. So stay for comfort, not for the breakfast. March 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel The room was clean everyone was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the pool and breakfast was great. March 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dailey stay Everything was just what it should be perfect! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. March 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice visit! Excellent staff, and nice pool/hot tub area. The breakfast was really good! February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay. I was pleasantly surprised after a long day of travel to find this great place in Harrisonburg. Totally recommend if you are staying in the Valley any place close especially for the price value. February 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean ,comfortable, and good value Stayed one night on trip home from Fla. Convient to highway, food and shopping. Staff very helpful on finding same. Very clean and not over priced, al and all a good place to stay. February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We would recommend this hotel to everyone we see. Five Stars All The Way! The atmosphere is gorgeous. The staff is courteous and friendly. The beach makes you want to stay forever. February 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by bad service Was told I could check out by 6pm and not get charged another night. got back to the hotel from work at 6:05 and was trying to head home before the storm. I was told I would be charged another night and there was nothing they could do for me. February 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely Helpfull Staff This was a last minute choice as we were returning from down south and I was suffering from Pneumonia. I informed the clerk of my situation and she immediately ensured I was given a quiet room where my continuous coughing would not bother other guest and would allow me to relax. Thanks for the great service and I look forward to my next visit when I'm feeling better January 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to stay We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express "Harrisonburg" The check in was so quick, (less than two minutes....not kidding you) the room was spotless clean, everything is in working order, the kids enjoyed the swimming pool and we enjoyed the Jacuzzi, towels were provided in both swimming pool area and Gym., enjoyed the good breakfast that was always stocked up well at all times.....kids enjoyed the Pancake machine, staff were friendly, parking was ample, quiet rooms when sleeping, and very comfortable bedding and pillows The hotel is so close to Hwy 81, and close to many restaurants, Cracker Barrel was a walking distance from the hotel I would recommend this place to anyone that is visiting the Harrisonburg area We also enjoyed the two indoor Farmers Markets in the hotel vicinity (Shenandoah Heritage Market) and (The Shops at Dayton Farmers Market), that makes the hotel location so ideal for visitors I write many reviews for the hotels that we stay at on our trips, and I always could find one thing or another that I don't like about a place, but this hotel was so well managed, and well kept, I find nothing but good things to say about it.....thumbs up to the hotel management, and to Holiday Inn Express as a whole Frank Mo January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by winter trip The place is well located close to the Hwy but still far enough to be very quiet. Breakfast area is very nice with large bay windows which gives plenty on morning sunshine. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beauiful room, great service from the staff Our room was large and very comfortable. The desk clerk was extremely helpful in helping us choose a restaurant. I will definitely recommend this hotel. December 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean & comfortable We have stayed in this hotel 4 times now, and each time it has been clean and comfortable. Did not yet use the pool and hot tub, but the breakfast buffet is a very good value. it is included and is always kept hot, full and neat. December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable surroundings This Holiday Inn Express is clean, well lit and very friendly and accommodating people at the desk. I definite to stay there. This has been our second visit and was as good as the first experience. December 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The only thing that I would suggest would be to have microwaveable popcorn available to you guest's December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Favorite Place HIE@Harrisonburg is a favorite place to stay over on our trips South and back. Facilities, staff, and value always meet our expectations and reinforce our selection of this stop. November 27, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by do not reach holiday inn express standards Horrible location. Horrible lobby. Horrible business center Horrible room, clean but looked like a storage room. Nobody smiling overthere. Don`t feel welcome You do not feel secure. You wonder what kind of clients hotel has. November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service good breakfast Don't ever have to worry when I stay at a Holiday Inn, always excellant service and great rooms, that is why I,m a platinum member I always try to stay in IHG properties. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was great! The best thing about this hotel was the doors. Every other hotel I have stayed in ,the doors slam all the time and sometimes it is hard to sleep. This hotel seemed to have something built into the doors that prevented them from slamming and they closed softly instead of slamming and it was great! November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Happy Holiday Express Experience We travel the I - 81 numerous times going N & S and decided to stay in Harrisonburg again. We chose this particular Holiday Inn Express after reading feedback on Trip Advisor. Most comments were positive. It was a much better experience than other locations we had stayed in the past. Room was clean, mattress was comfortable and bedding decent quality. Shower pressure was awesome! As priorty members we received a goodie bag upon check In and water which was truly appeciated after a long day of driving. Staff was extremely pleasant and you felt like a valued guest. We were so pleased that the next evening we stopped at a Holiday Inn for the evening and it was an awful experience, the total opposite of our stay in Harrisonburg. There is no doubt we will plan our trip accordingly to stay at Holiday Inn Express in Harrisonburg on our way back north.... November 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean with the expected amenities... Well appointed room with some of the comforts of home. October 28, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Front Enterance
Front Enterance
Select to close.
Front Enterance Hotel Exterior Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Entrance Lobby
Select to close.
Earn 1000 points per night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading