• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HARRISONBURG
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Nonrefundable fee USD 25 per night. Maximum charge USD 50. 80lbs maximum weight per pet. Record of complete and current vaccinations required.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Rockingham Memorial Hospital
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Eastern Mennonite University
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Harrisonburg Children's Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
James Madison University
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:85
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open, well-lit parking lot provided. Free Parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:8
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:52
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:23
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5246

Guests Prefer Harrisonburg, VA Hotel's Location

If you are looking to stay close to downtown Harrisonburg and James Madison University, our hotel's location is perfect for you. Just one mile from downtown and less than 2.5 miles from JMU, the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel is ideal for guests' needs.

Business travelers enjoy our central location and short distance to major businesses like Cargill, Coors, Merck, Sysco and Tyson. The Business Center is open 24 hours a day
View More

Guests Prefer Harrisonburg, VA Hotel's Location

If you are looking to stay close to downtown Harrisonburg and James Madison University, our hotel's location is perfect for you. Just one mile from downtown and less than 2.5 miles from JMU, the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel is ideal for guests' needs.

Business travelers enjoy our central location and short distance to major businesses like Cargill, Coors, Merck, Sysco and Tyson. The Business Center is open 24 hours a day should you need to work late, and all printing and fax services are complimentary. If you're a pet owner who's relocating for a project, consider that we're one of the area's few pet friendly hotels.

Harrisonburg, VA is full of fun attractions for the leisure traveler, too. You can tour one of the area's caverns or see a Saturday show at John C. Wells Planetarium at James Madison University. Our hotel's location is also near several of the city's beautiful parks, so your entire family can enjoy a day out before settling in for a restful night in our pet friendly hotel's suites.

Harrisonburg, VA is filled with history and surrounded by natural beauty, and this hotel keeps our guests near it all! Free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel keeps you connected, and a 24-hour Fitness Center keeps you in your routine. If you are looking for hotels in Harrisonburg, VA, call today to book your suite at the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel.

View Less
Features
Do you want to stay close to downtown Harrisonburg, VA? Our hotel's location is one mile from downtown and just minutes from I-81 and both James Madison University and Eastern Mennonite University.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 152 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by bad experence I stayed at this hotel before and got a good room. But this time I used my Chase free night and I got the worse room in the hotel. It was so noisy it woke me up during the night, something to do with the plumbing in the wall.The bathroom needed remodeling and not enough light in bathroom and it was not in the best of shape. Some of the furniture needed dusting. If I had to pay for this room I would have asked for my money back and went somewhere else. I will give this hotel one more chance and if I get another room like this I will never use it again July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Nice room and very quiet. Comfortable beds with good internet connection. July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Your staff, especially manager Zachary, is exceptional. Zachary got us a hot cup of tea with milk, not creamers, when we checked in late in the afternoon. He provided us with excellent restaurant choices and found a phone charger when ours broke. The facility is very clean, quiet, and comfortable. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service As soon as we checked in, the front desk manager was more than helpful. The check in was fast and we got to our rooms almost instantly. The ac unit was complicated to set, so the manager came in and got it working for us. We were provided with extra pillows and blankets for our children. Breakfast was nice. Since it is a free full breakfast, it saves quite a bit of money. It was 4th of July weekend and the hotel was booked, so we had to get a smoking room. Although I knew we had a smoking room, in my opinion, they could've vented the room better so it didn't smell like an ashtray. We kind of got used to it though. All in all we had a very pleasant stay and if we are ever back in that area, we will stay there again. July 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Room Conditions My initial room smelled of smoke and the room I was changed to wasn't much better. It was very humid and had a musty odor. I was in the middle of a long road trip and just wanted some rest so I didn't make another trip to the front desk for a third room. I would not stay here again. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly surprised I was extremely pleased with the Service, Staff and amenities offered at this hotel. Conveniently located with easy access to I-81 and Rt. 11. Breakfast was great and of course FREE! Love the pancake making machine... pancakes roll out perfectly! July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One person can make a difference For our stay, Zach made all the difference. First. Zach is the first person in 5 stays who recognized us as club members. A storm Had cause a power outage before arrival. The elevator was out of order. We had lots of luggage and Zach put us on the dreaded 1st floor. However, This turned out to be fine. Thank you Zach. Breakfast was just okay, eggs were over cooked and tasteless. Check out was a non-event. Zach made the difference for us. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcomed guest and great value We recently discovered Holiday Inn Express and find it to be a great value with excellent employees in every one that we have visited. The staff have been genuinely welcoming and knowledgeable about their area. We have found some excellent non-chain restaurants based on their recommendation. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by dependable quality I have been staying at this hotel for business in the area for the last three months and have stayed in a number of rooms and they are all well maintained and taken care of. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by tired of driving We were on the way home from a lax tournament at Lehigh University and were tired of driving. Pulled in at 10:30 PM and with no reservation, staff provided us a nice room and enjoyed the break from our 13 hour return commute. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to stay My wife and I enjoy staying at Holiday Inn Express because it gives us a quality nights stay at a reasonable price. July 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Somewhat unhappy I've used this hotel many times, and generally I was very pleased, but this last visit, was not as good. I was not greeted as a rewards member, I had to fix the toilet to make it flush, and for whatever reason, the price was higher by quite a bit and no longer seems to be a good value. Additionally, my wife likes to bath, and the tub did not hold water. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good experience did not get receipt on checkout, other than that, cannot say enough good things... June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service The front desk staff went out of their way to make sure I had everything i needed. The best service of my two weeks away. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awesome I have been working in thus area for four months now and I can't imagine staying anywhere else . June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, Comfortable, Neat facility with great service. Accommodations were very nice and clean. The service was great and the atmosphere was very enjoyable. The breakfast provided a good selection and variety of items. The location of the facility was easy to find. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great access to the mountains Great value with great access to the Skyline Drive and Blue Ridge Parkway June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New Hotel This is a new hotel! Grounds, lobby and rooms are great looking. It was a pleasure to spent 2 nights at the hotel. It is centrally located and easy to spot from the Hwy. The staff was friendly and helpful. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff Very easy check-in process. Knowledgeable front desk clerks. Easy to find rooms and everything else we needed. Great choice of shampoo/conditioner/bath gel, and lotion. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great stay I stayed at this hotel with my 2 children. Was grateful the indoor pool / spa was open until 11 as we arrived late and needed a swim! At breakfast, the eggs were bad. Once I pointed this out to the breakfast bar hostess, they were removed and replaced. Overall, a great stay. Will be back. June 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Staff extremely friendly and the room clean and roomie Just stayed one night but was very pleased with every part of our stay. June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, clean rooms Zach was very nice when we checked in. Offered to provide us with recommendations on restaurants or things to do in the area. We booked a suite because we needed sleep space for 3 children. The extra cost was worth it! I can't imagine having to cram them on a queen for 2 nights. The room was clean and taken care of. Some of the lights didn't work in the room but it wasn't a major issue. The only issue with the room is the bed is directly across from the air conditioning unit. We needed to keep the air on 63 to keep everyone cool in the room. I slept on the side of the bed next to the unit and I froze both nights. I came home with a cold. The pool and spa were clean and the kids had a great time. All the windows in the area overlook a semi-truck repair and gas station. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One night stay The staff was very courteous and helpful quick check-in check-out, very nice and clean with an updated modern look, Good quality bath soaps, shampoo, and lotion and clean bath rooms June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ice machine and elevators Need an ice machine on each floor. Could use another elevator. Otherwise everything was very good. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Buena atención Muy buena atención en la recepción, tanto al llegar como al salir del hotel. No tienen suficiente fruta en el desayuno. May 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by CUSTOMER Always stay here when I'm in town,front desk staff has always been very neat in appearance nice and friendly.And the rooms always looked clean and smelled clean.But when I stayed this time I was very disapointed.The front desk staff wasn't really friendly they seem like they didn't want to be there.They need to work on their appearance and working with the public.I don't know if they used a sour mop but the room smelled like urine and cigarettes and I was in a non smoking room.I still recommend this place I just hope that they clean up their act. But over all still a nice hotel. May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A pleasure The staff is top notch and everything else is perfect! May 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Undesirable location There is a landfill just across the highway from this hotel and when I walked out of the hotel in the morning the stench was so bad I could not stay outside. The hotel is a fine hotel, it's just that you have to go from the hotel to your vehicle in very bad air, and when you open your vehicle door, you will ride with that smell for a long way. May 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the beds! Breakfast has good choices. ALL staff very attentive We stayed here on our way home from South Carolina. Check-in area very nice. Great beds. Breakfast can be light, if you so choose. Holiday Inn Express seems to know exactly what I like for breakfast! Staff were very attentive. Gave us a great recommendation on a restaurant right down the street. Next time I stay, will try the diner next door. Swam in the pool, very warm and used the hot tub too. Overall, a great stay! Very easy to fine off I-81. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellence in service and comfort Very happy with our stay, staff was very attentive. Pleasant breakfast every morning and one of the nicest swimming areas to relax at the end of the day. April 29, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Front Enterance
Front Enterance
Select to close.
Front Enterance Hotel Exterior Lobby Hotel Exterior Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading