• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HARRISONBURG
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Nonrefundable fee USD 25 per night. Maximum charge USD 50. 80lbs maximum weight per pet. Record of complete and current vaccinations required.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Rockingham Memorial Hospital
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Eastern Mennonite University
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Harrisonburg Children's Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
James Madison University
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:85
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open, well-lit parking lot provided. Free Parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:8
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:52
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:23
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5246

Guests Prefer Harrisonburg, VA Hotel's Location

If you are looking to stay close to downtown Harrisonburg and James Madison University, our hotel's location is perfect for you. Just one mile from downtown and less than 2.5 miles from JMU, the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel is ideal for guests' needs.

Business travelers enjoy our central location and short distance to major businesses like Cargill, Coors, Merck, Sysco and Tyson. The Business Center is open 24 hours a day
View More

Guests Prefer Harrisonburg, VA Hotel's Location

If you are looking to stay close to downtown Harrisonburg and James Madison University, our hotel's location is perfect for you. Just one mile from downtown and less than 2.5 miles from JMU, the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel is ideal for guests' needs.

Business travelers enjoy our central location and short distance to major businesses like Cargill, Coors, Merck, Sysco and Tyson. The Business Center is open 24 hours a day should you need to work late, and all printing and fax services are complimentary. If you're a pet owner who's relocating for a project, consider that we're one of the area's few pet friendly hotels.

Harrisonburg, VA is full of fun attractions for the leisure traveler, too. You can tour one of the area's caverns or see a Saturday show at John C. Wells Planetarium at James Madison University. Our hotel's location is also near several of the city's beautiful parks, so your entire family can enjoy a day out before settling in for a restful night in our pet friendly hotel's suites.

Harrisonburg, VA is filled with history and surrounded by natural beauty, and this hotel keeps our guests near it all! Free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel keeps you connected, and a 24-hour Fitness Center keeps you in your routine. If you are looking for hotels in Harrisonburg, VA, call today to book your suite at the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel.

View Less
Features
Do you want to stay close to downtown Harrisonburg, VA? Our hotel's location is one mile from downtown and just minutes from I-81 and both James Madison University and Eastern Mennonite University.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 189 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and great rate The overall staying at hr Holiday Inn Express was excellent. It was a great service and we like the staying. We will definitely stay again next time we pass thru our destination. Thanks September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice franchise Nice stay. Very quiet hotel and nice staff. I cannot comment on the breakfast because I did not partake. Just grabbed a coffee and headed out. I would definitely stay there again. Probably on my return trip in October. August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable stay Holiday Inns have become predictably clean, comfortable and pleasant places to stay, with a minimal of unsavory surprises. May it remain so! Staff was helpful, finding us a great restaurant (Panos) that I would recommend most highly - hint, they cut and trim their locally bought beef, the rib-eye was perfect in every sense - and a golf range that we couldn't avail because it started raining. The only discordant note was when I inadvertently selected the wrong movie - the selection must have shifted when I was pressing the button! I called the front desk and he promised to make a note for the manager who would take care of it. So we selected the movie we originally wanted and enjoyed it. Next morning, my bill included $12 for two movies, although they were advertised for $4.99 each. The lady at the front desk couldn't find any note, so she promised to make another note for the manager so that we'd be charged for only one movie. Six days later, nothing has happened yet - I have not received any credit to my credit card. Charging $6 instead of $4.99 is clearly wrong and should not happen at a Holiday Inn. The duplicate movie charge also should not have happened because I called the front desk the instant I discovered that we were watching a different movie than the one we selected (about 35 seconds, because we had seen this movie before!)! August 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed but not a good location BEing by a truck stop was disappointing and the noise interferred with our sleep. August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reliable Holiday Inn The hotel staff was excellent, food and service was a good value, and the location was perfect for my needs. Close to downtown and great access to hwy 81. August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel was above average in comfort and cleanliness I enjoyed my stay and feel that this hotel was a great value.Only thing I would change if possible is to eliminate the carpet and use tile with a throw rug or two.Carpets are difficult to keep free of dirt and stains and they contain allergens. August 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room, Breakfast is average at best Everything about the room was nice. The guest room was a little dated but still very nice. The lobby did not look dated at all. The bed was very good. The breakfast got really good reviews and I have no idea why. Bottom line is this. Its a great room to stay for a short stay. My minor complaints would be the TV is a little small, They did not have a printer in the biz room, and the breakfast while adequate was not great unless you like yogurt, banannas and apples. I was hoping for eggs bacon and real sausage. Not microwave or toaster oven stuff Still. The room and stay was very nice and we all slept well. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Clean and Great Staff We stay here quite often due to location of the college nearby for our son. It is very clean and quiet. The food is the standard fare and just average, but sill convenient. We highly recommend Holiday Inn Express and stay at the chain in other locations as well. August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just what you'd expect (in a good way) I like Holiday Inn Express hotels, including this one. You know what you are getting and the quality is good. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, an updated facility, and free breakfast - all for a reasonable price. The gym was a little small here, but since I was the only one in it - I have no complaints. I would stay here again. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable rooms and great service at check-in I stayed at the Harrisonburg Holiday Inn Express for a quick night sleep while travelling. The service at check-in was superb and the room was very clean, comfortable and modern. The pool was well maintained and enjoyable, August 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by our stay the bed was comfy the room and bathroom were clean, water pressure a little too much. try not to stay in the odd numbered rooms there is a truck stop next door and the beeping of the trucks backing up is gets annoying at night August 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not enough parking and Air Conditioning did not work Difficult to find parking. Air conditioning did not work. Staff was very accomodating by offering to move me to another room. Room furniture was less than comfortable. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Consistently good choice in Harrisonburg, VA We have been staying at this HIE for more than 5 years, as we have children in a nearby university. I can always count on the room cleanliness, the helpful staff and enough breakfast choices and quantities to feed everyone. The location is great for sightseeing and visiting kids attending the local universities. Whenever possible, we choose this HIE. We stayed in the HIE in Waynesboro for Graduation this year and we were mighty disappointed, but that is a review for another day. The HIE in Harrisonburg, VA is top notch and has never disappointed us! August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Quite Hallways and comfortable bed Nice rest and the staff was very friendly and nice. Very talkative. August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Smoking Travelers Convenient location right off I-81. Clean, quiet, and front desk staff (Jonathan, especially) were quite helpful and knowledgable about area attractions. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and a hot tub Hot tubs seems to be difficult to find in H-Burg. This hotel has a nice one and it is hot. (not warm) May seem like a trivial detail to some, but when you travel a lot and have had back surgeries, it is mandatory. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good for a night's stay This Holiday Inn Express is located conveniently near I-81 but without highway noise. We stay here from time to time on our way to Southern Virginia. It's good for a night's stay and with breakfast included, the cost is reasonable. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay! everything about my stay here was excellent. iam a choice hotels member and could not get a hotel here and decided to stay here and join their rewards program and iam glad I did. iam not going to plan my stays with holiday inn express's. the hotel was extremely clean and the staff was spot on! great work whom ever manages this property! I hope all holiday inn's are like this one. keep up the great work! August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel and staff! was here on business and pleasure and though iam a choice hotels member iam certainly going to be staying with holiday inn express as a member now. the hotel was really clean and squared away! the staff was excellent and I cannot say one bad word about my stay here. I hope all holiday inn expresses are like this one! iam certainly going to plan my work and vacations out of town with holiday inn. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! We only stayed one night, but no problems at all. Room was very quiet- could hear no outside noise. Ben at the front desk was very pleasant even calling us after we got to our room to make sure we did not need anything. Would definitely stay there again. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great pool and hot tub Traveling with a 9 and 10 year old grandchildren for 4 days, it was wonderful to find a hotel that was clean and comfortable. The kids really enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The breakfast was very good, the food hot and coffee tasty. The room was clean and beds/pillows comfortable. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel It was a value for money - pleasant stay. Loved the breakfast! August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good experience Called property while traveling on Rte 81 for vacation. They arranged room and use of Priority Club (frequent sleeper) points to pay. Folio ready and very nice greeting upon arrival. Eggs not so good. Many heated until very dry and cheese yuky. Pastries ( not cinamon r9lls) were really old and dry. Cushion on foot stool is shot and very uncomfortable to use for over 3 minutes. August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place It was a very nice place. The desk clerk even recommended a good place to eat and it was great. Definitely would stay again even on a casual visit. August 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room Enities Refrigertor, legs broken, door would not close, heavy frost on the freezer section, facier board on the bathroom vanity very loose, could have been pulled down. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Familiar All the basics were fine: cleanliness, convenience, comfort, etc. There were only two items that I mentioned to the staff upon checkout and neither of them affected my stay 1. Water fountain had such low flow that you could not get a drink from it 2. The clothes dryers used by staff for the linens was dumping a lot of lint into the sidewalk area at the exit near the pool August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great quiet good night's rest we stayed only one night and found the hotel extremely clean and comfortable with a very attentive staff July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a night away enjoyed ourselves very much would recommend this Hotel to family and friends July 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Will look further down the road for an HIE My handicap room had a broken shower head making showering difficult. Sleep mode on tv didn't work. Extra key given at check-in did not work. Pillows are fine if you 5 years old. Planning on finding another HIE next year on this trip. July 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by First time disappointed We almost always go straight to HIE when we need a hotel. However, this time our room was extremely musty smelling when we arrived...like an old damp basement or a room that had been closed up tightly for a long time. We considered asking for a new room because the smell was so strong, but we had booked a room with a Jacuzzi, and we were looking forward to trying that out after a long drive. The Jacuzzi appeared clean until we filled it up and turned on the jets. Within minutes, there was a dark ring around the tub of some kind of lint or grime. We turned the AC on high and set the fan to run constantly in hopes that it would freshen up the air in the room a little, but it didn't do much, if anything. Once you were in the room for a while you didn't notice the smell as much, but as soon as you left and returned, the smell was just as bad. We will more than likely shop around a little more the next time we need a hotel, instead of just going straight to HIE. July 30, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading