• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Max 2 pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. Contact the Hotel front desk for details about fees, weight restrictions, and pet health policy.
Pet deposit amount  15.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Memorial Park
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Museum District
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Greeway Plaza/River Oaks
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Rice Village
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Uncovered parking, lighted, easy in and out access, room for larger vehicles, complimentary

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:111
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:TX0826

Hotel offers Southern Hospitality in the Houston Galleria Area

The Candlewood Suites® Houston by the Galleria hotel is ideal for tapping into the full Texas experience. This hotel has a close proximity to the Galleria and other Houston attractions that offers guests access to popular city features. Close to parks, shopping and business districts, our extended stay hotel helps you explore Houston, TX and everything the city has to offer.


For the business traveler, our
View More

Hotel offers Southern Hospitality in the Houston Galleria Area

The Candlewood Suites® Houston by the Galleria hotel is ideal for tapping into the full Texas experience. This hotel has a close proximity to the Galleria and other Houston attractions that offers guests access to popular city features. Close to parks, shopping and business districts, our extended stay hotel helps you explore Houston, TX and everything the city has to offer.


For the business traveler, our apartment-style suites create a sense of home, as well as provide all the modern technology you may need to accomplish your work goals while on an extended stay at the hotel. Houston is home to many major businesses and industrial parks and our location gives guests centralized access to many of them.


Our beautiful city is a great place for vacation travelers as well. Close to Reliant Park, Lakewood Church and downtown Houston, there's something for everyone. Easy access to the Galleria makes us a Houston visitor's shopping haven, and the theater district has multiple shows playing throughout the year.


During your stay, enjoy our 24-hr Candlewood Gym, full kitchens and free laundry services. Visit the Outdoor Gazebo Grill, grab a movie from the Lending Library and stop by the Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. Book a suite with us today and experience all that we have to offer!

View Less
Features
Travelers love the features in our hotel's suites! Visit Houston, the Galleria and area attractions while making yourself at home with complimentary HSIA, free laundry facilities and a Fitness Center.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 401 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what expected Check in went smoothly. Then we get put in the old run down part of hotel. Doors don't seem to close properly had to get new room keys twice. Rodeo parking takes away from hotel guests parking. Pricy restaurant and breakfast was horrible. Definitely not what we expected from crowne plaza. March 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk staff Nicole P. at the front desk was very helpful , for several weeks, with my requests at time of check out. Very helpful. March 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't book this hotel I have stayed at a Crowne Plaza before and was very impressed so I did not check the reviews. If I had read the reviews in advance I would not have made reservations as most of the negative things I read came true. the only redeeming feature of this hotel was the lobby; however it was misleading. the decor in the "New Part" was dismal at best; think retro 70-80s gold tone carpets and faux velvet drapes that needed a clip to stay together; The service was terrible; there was no greeting when we pulled up; the associate at the desk was rude and while in the middle of our conversation with her someone walked up abruptly and told us we had to move our vehicle. A parking pass was provided but I was concerned about the safety of putting our room number on it and it expired the next day instead of at the end of our stay. Further, they were selling parking to the rodeo participants and would not guarantee us a parking space. We therefore felt that we needed to walk to dinner as the hotel menu was pricy. The good news is one night was paid for with points and the second night with a medical rate. It was good that I was not out much money, but my points would have been better spent. The regular price of a room is not a value March 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great girls weekend in houston I recently typed a review and not sure if it actually was submitted. A girlfriend and I was in houston march 21 and 22, 2014 for a girls weekend of shopping and to attend the rodeo. We booked rooms in the tower and was pleased with the hotel. We visited the hotel bar Friday and Saturday night and had a wonderful time and made new friends. The parking is a challenge when there is an event at reliant stadium and I would rather a sign on my dash than the sticker on my windshield that is a challenge to remove. Also, the breakfast is a little pricey but the restaurant is nice and quiet to enjoy a cup of coffee. We look forward to returning next year and hopefully seeing some of these friends that we made. March 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel. questionable staff First ill start by saying that'll the reviews that state the hotel is a dump...are wrong! Sure it's not the Taj Mahal but very clean and comfy. The room was very clean. Beds were super comfy. Room was updated and modern. Now to the staff. Majority of them were rude and seemed put out that you asked any questions. I left my room one day at 11am and returned at 5pm and it had not been cleaned yet. Minutes later the maid came to the room and yelled at us to leave because she needed to clean it. I called to have one of the refrigerators brought to our room. They never delivered it. Days later we got it when we called again. We had to get to a breakfast voucher every morning for our included buffet that we paid for. Depending on who was at the front desk they would question you like you were trying to steal the food. And they would sigh and roll their eyes when you asked for it. Hotels location was amazing and close to rodeo. Rooms were spotless and comfortable. Staff in restaurant was super friendly, but other hotel staff was terrible. March 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Updated Nice updates to the hotel. Clean facility. Needed more people at check in to help get guest registered. Only had two. Restaurant staff at breakfast was lacking in waitress skills. March 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Girls weekend at the rodeo 2014 We came to houston for a girls weekend for shopping and rodeo 2014. The hotel is a fantastic location and very nice. We visited the hotel bar Friday March 21 and Saturday March 22 while staying. The staff was very friendly and efficient at the bar. The band was fantastic and we met and made many friends. My only complaint was that the breakfast is a little pricey. We will definitely be back for the rodeo next year. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location/service This hotel is excellent if you plan on attending something at the Reliant Park. We were able to park our car and then walk all weekend to the Rodeo. The doorman showed us that we could walk by walking all the way down the hotel hallway and then just go across the street vs walking all the way outside of the block like we had planned to do. The room service food was good. How often do you find a Homemade hamburger patty in room service?! The fries were your typical fast food but the burger was awesome! Everyone was nice and helpful. Will be staying again when we go back next year! March 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 checking in I made 14 group reservations for our group in December and in Feb. I made a rooming list and did not get the list back until a week before our stay. Every room during check was incorrect including my one and I made the reservations. They had my brother who was not even staying there checking in and nothing for me, but we all got rooms and the personal at the front desk were very helpful. We stay at a lot of hotels and I make all the group blocks and this was the worst one and it is safe to say we will not be back. I check in at midnight and get a key to our room and go the room and the key would not work because someone else as already checked into the same room, now I have two kids and a wife, that was not much fun. But we got a room. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I really like this property. Not being from Houston, you hear stories of places that you DON'T want to get off the highways at. This hotel was recommended to us by a friend last year when we went watch Jeff Dunham. This time however apparently there was a rodeo/fair across the street that we had NO knowledge of. Of course that's no one's fault really I would have just liked to have seen something on their site. Of I would have known that I'd have to fight with a bunch of drunk Cowboys to get a parking spot which was two building (almost) away.from the door to our room I would honestly found somewheres else to stay. We do love this facility though. It's always clean. Staff is always nice. Area is safe. March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tops We come to Houston at least once a month for multiple day. You guys are tops. March 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected When I arrived at your hotel I thought I was getting a good deal, it looks nice and the door man were a nice touch, but come to find out the hotel was a complete waste of my money. I arrive and seems like I had gotten the smallest room on the property. The bathtub had old stains in it which was completely unacceptable. I had made simple request to have a refrigerator in my room because my family member needs to refrigerate her medication and the staff member was very rude. The central air kept turning off and we kept waking up in a sweat. We were in a foreign city and didn’t know our way around, so we asked the door men where the Famous Galleria was, and none of them spoke English, that alone set us off about your hotel. I am happy to say that this experience helped me learn that Crowne Plaza is not a place to stay or have any of my friends/ family stay here. March 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay Excellent staff and very helpful. Rooms could use updating. But all in all, awesome stay. Plan on staying there again! March 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Unhappy at breakfast We had a great stay at the hotel until the breakfast. First, the buffet food was extremely cold and cost way too much. $31 for a cold breakfast did not make for a happy ride home. March 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by dishonest When I booked the room, I asked if a shuttle service would be provided to nearby locations. I was told yes. I booked the room although the rate was quite expensive. When I arrived I was told they did not provide a shuttle service to the nearby location I needed. I asked to speak to the manager and he was quite rude. I would not recommend staying here. March 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and friendly service It was close to the venue but provided no shuttle,the parking was horrible. Our room didn't have good plumbing, and was loud at night. Everything else was fine March 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better than expected Stayed one night for rodeo performance at Reliant Stadium. Location was unbeatable. Room quite nice -- not tired or dirty as suggested by some internet reviewers. Staff was extremely polite and professional. Breakfast buffet was better than most. March 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds, small room! Parking was a joke! We were in Houston for the Stock Show, so only needed the room for sleeping at nights. First night the parking "guard" tried to charge me $30 extra to park my truck in front of my entrance door to go to my room! Forget asking front desk or manager to try to accommodate their guest with parking spaces! Will not stay again! March 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No hotel parking during the livestock show I booked a hotel stay for 4days and 3 nights as we were showing in the horse show and steer show. We were gone all day and we back to our hotel room about 9:30 pm on 2 of our 3 nights to find that they had rented out the parking lot to people going to the shows. There was nowhere to park our truck as they rented out our space too. People were even parking in the fire lanes. You couldn't even get to your room for the traffic in the hotel parking area. I complained but it happened again the next night. When you pay $$$ a night, you assume that includes a place to park. March 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hospitality at it's finest! We were in for the Houston Livestock & Rodeo. On Friday and Saturday the Crowne Plaza furnished a wonderful country band. We had a blast! Everyone is so helpful and kind at the Plaza. We are planning to stay again for next year's rodeo. March 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location We really enjoyed staying so close to our destination, the reliant. Breakfast was too expensive though, $17 a person was outrageous. March 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Deceiving The lobby looks new, clean, and updated. I was under the impression that my accommodations would be two rooms, two baths, and a living room/kitchenette - it was called the Garden Suite by the way. It was two hotel rooms with a cut out doorway between the two. The matresses had to be from when they opened in 1970 because they sunk to the ground. The bathrooms were so small that to close the bathroom door you had to step to the side of the toilet and there was no room for anyone else at all. Very dingy and with extra guests (roaches) that didn't pay their part and were larger than my 6 year old child. I don't care how close it is to the Reliant Center. I will stay farther away for a cheaper price and better accommodations and most likely a shuttle. March 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort of bed was less than a discount hotel chain bed. My husband was checked into a room with a king sized bed when the reservations were made for a room with two double beds. The shower wouldnt turn off. When I arrived I had to corect our room and was told that I was correct inbstatingbi had reserved a room with double beds. OF COURSE I WAS-I MADE THE RESERVATION! The clerk proceeded to share with me how the mistake cost time and extra work for housekeeping. The bed had to be the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. I will never select Crowne Plaza again. I was expecting extreme comfort and was very disappointed. March 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location but not with out issues We had some issues with the security not helping out. We could see a fight was going to break out with some young people and they turned the other way and walked away as the fight started. Not who I want protecting my March 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly, competent and helpful service from all staff encountered. My wife and I were in Houston for her to receive treatment at M. D. Anderson Cancer Center. Our stay was made much pleasant due to quality of service we received at the Houston Crowne Plaza. Thank you. March 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Over all exsperience I would rate as needing improvement. The Hotel Main entrance was inviting, up to date and a beautiful experience. The check in experience I would rate appropriate, but with needed improvement. There was a line and wait time. We stayed during the Houston Rodeo and was told that was the issue but,the Rodeo is an annual event. Planning needs to be revised by the Hotel for future to accommodate customers. The staff was professional, prompt and knowledgeable. The negative issues where beyond there control. Planning from an administration should be revised for Rodeo season. It is an annual event. The room that I booked was in the older part of the hotel, the Rio Grande. The building was outdated, in need of major beatification to the walls, building and outside. My husband and I had to walk carrying our luggage a long walk without hotel assistance. There were no luggage racks available. All luggage racks were all being used. We were very unclear on how to get to our room. There was no staff member to assists us in finding our way to our room. Rodeo traffic, to whom were not paid guest of the hotel were directed through the parking lot. It was a major inconvenience to guest like myself trying to park and navigate parking lot. We spoke to many other guest. The traffic of the non guest was an inconvenience to them as well. Upon arriving there was no available parking due to the amount of traffic.We were told it was because of the Houston Rodeo. We were instructed by staff working the parking lot, to park in the grass, a non parking area or anywhere we could find to park. To have a second car arrive, which had been part of our plains we had made for the rodeo we had to pay an additional 30.00 for a guest parking tag. As a paid guest one additional vehicle should have been complimentary in our hotel fee. For the amount of money was spent on the hotel the overall quality of the experience I would rate as unsatisfied. The reason was in the low quality of the building of the Rio Grande, and its need for upgrade. The carpet was old. The building smelled with a foul odor. The walls had peeling paint. The floors made loud cricking noise when you walked down the hall ways to room. The additional one car 30.00 parking I felt was insulting. March 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Great service from the minute I arrived, The room was clean and quiet March 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by shuttle service Your shuttle service has greatly improved since I was there last. Last 2 or 3 times I have waited at the hospital over 2 hrs to be picked up. This time I never had to wait more tha 30 mins. Thank you for listening and improving as the shuttle service is a large reason I have stayed with you for 5 yrs. March 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Rodeo vs We stayed in the rio Grande Part. Needs remodeling and outside area needs more lighting. Wehad to walk from the tower to the back and I did not feel safe. The tower was very nice and I wish we had been given the option to stay there. The room did not appear very clean but it also needed remodeling. BR pretty clean March 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice at first glance.... Walking in the lobby, this property seems very nice, however, once you get past the lobby and bar the place really needs some work. The hallway to our room smelled very old and musty and reeked of smoke. Carpet is really awful looking and needs replacing. Our room was nice enough but the air conditioner was not working properly, never cooled to the temp it was set on....I was actually sweating while trying to sleep. The mattress was ultra firm. Like sleeping on concrete. I would ONLY recommend because it is next door to reliant. As for me, I'm not sure I'd stay again before thoroughly checking my rooms air and bed. On a good note, room service was excellent, on time and all staff were professional and very cordial. March 12, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15 next>>
Candlewood Suites Hotel by the Galleria
Candlewood Suites Hotel by the Galleria
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites Hotel by the Galleria Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Exterior Feature Candlewood Suites Houston by the Galleria exterior view Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading