• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
(e.g. Apr-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Punjabi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at checkin. Call hotel for details.
Pet fee amount  75.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Reliant Park - Stadium/Center
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is free and anything valuable left in the vehicle is not a responsibility of the hotel.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:80
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:61
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:19
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:72
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Find Convenience at Hotel's Houston, TX Location

Whether you're in town for business, leisure or for a visit to Houston's Texas Medical Center, our hotel's location is ideal for your needs. We're right off I-610 and just minutes from Reliant Park, Rice University and the world's largest medical center.

Our hotel's location in Houston is ideal for business travelers, as we're near area companies like Shell, Halliburton and Sysco. If you are in Houston visiting the Texas Medical Center,
View More

Find Convenience at Hotel's Houston, TX Location

Whether you're in town for business, leisure or for a visit to Houston's Texas Medical Center, our hotel's location is ideal for your needs. We're right off I-610 and just minutes from Reliant Park, Rice University and the world's largest medical center.

Our hotel's location in Houston is ideal for business travelers, as we're near area companies like Shell, Halliburton and Sysco. If you are in Houston visiting the Texas Medical Center, the hotel's location is also perfect for you. We offer shuttle service to major medical institutions such as MD Anderson, Texas Children's Hospital and Baylor Clinic.

For relaxation and family fun, enjoy a picnic or visit the zoo in nearby Hermann Park, or take part in a yearly tradition at the Livestock Show and Rodeo at Reliant Park. Love to learn? The Museum District a few miles away can keep you busy for days. The convenient access to the Stella Link Shopping Center and the opulent Galleria makes it easy to enjoy the best shopping in Houston.

You'll find it easy to stay on top of your exercise routine in the 24-hour Fitness Center. You can rest without a care at the Gazebo Grill. With the Candlewood Suites® Houston Medical Center hotel's free guest laundry facilities, affordable Candlewood Cupboard store and free coffee bar, you'll feel right at home. Come enjoy one of the most convenient hotels in Houston as our guest!

View Less
Features
No matter what’s on your itinerary, you will love our hotel's location. Houston, Texas is also home to the Texas Medical Center, located just 2 miles from the hotel, and home to the world's leading hospitals such as MD Anderson, Texas Children's, Baylor, Memorial Hermann and Methodist's Hospital. We offer medical rates for patients and families. Please give the hotel a call directly for rates.
Announcements
Our hotel truly understands the needs of the patient or family coming to the Texas Medical Center area. We offer special rates for your stay with us, wheter one day, or one thousand days, we make
View More
Announcements
Our hotel truly understands the needs of the patient or family coming to the Texas Medical Center area. We offer special rates for your stay with us, wheter one day, or one thousand days, we make your stay with us your "home away from home" Also complimentary shuttle to/from the hospitals and doctors offices located in the area is offered Monday - Friday, every hour from 7:00 AM - 6 PM.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 296 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by THE WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE IN MY 12 YEARS ON THE ROAD!! I was in Houston for a Franchise Trade Show (Franchise Expo South). I booked a King non-smoking room a couple of months in advance of my trip. I arrived at the hotel at 10pm and there was a line almost to the front door of people trying to check-in. After about a 30 minute wait, I was told by the front desk person that there we NO king rooms available. I was given a room with 2 double beds. I went to my room and found that it was already OCCUPIED! I was given a second room and that one was OCCUPIED also. The third room was not occupied but it was located about a mile away from the lobby and it looked as if the FF&E had not been updated since the early 90's. The carpets we and the floors in the bathroom were disgusting. I didn't take my socks off and I had to throw them away. I checked out the next day and found a different hotel. DO NOT STAY AT THIS PROPERTY!! February 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Somewhat disappointing I stayed in this hotel two nights. It is unusual in that it is a collection of buildings. Dining and bar were in the main hotel. I stayed in Rio Grande, a building at the back of the property. Upon arrival I was assigned a room, instructed to drive to the back of the property, go in and locate my room on the first floor. I was a long journey carrying bags with no bellman on duty. When I arrived at the room I quickly discovered that neither the lock on the door to the hall or the lock on the door to the adjacent room worked. I called the desk and asked to be moved. I was reassigned to a second floor room which did have working locks. The rooms were not too bad, but the hallways were poor, needing carpets re stretched and cleaned. The elevators were dirty, and the back stairs was like something out of a sci-fi movie. I needed the business center, but found the computers so out of date that I could not sign on to check my personal email. I ended up at fedex-kinkos several blocks away. I will not likely stay here again. Good luck if you choose to do so! February 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Worst hotel experience ever I was put in a old wing far away from the main building, Rio Grande bulding. I had to get housecleaning to reclean the bath room as soon as I arrived. I heard an air compressor kick on and off all night long as well as doors slamming, etc. Did not get much sleep to say the least. The bed was ok but not the usual comfort I get at Crown Plaza. There was no one there to open the door for you. Not a good experience at all. February 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Different but better than I expected Staff was excellent and the shower is the BEST I have ever had in any hotel ever!!! This was the only hotel left in Houston for this night but I was happy and pleased to have stayed here. February 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Structure and Lack of Helpful Instruction I was in Houston with a friend for a school/business conference. We were running late so we grabbed a luggage cart and unloaded our car on our own, never seeing a bellman. After checking in we learned our room was on the complete opposite side of the hotel and the only way to get to our room was to drive. We asked if our luggage could be delivered to our room since we had already unpacked it and were in a hurry and they said yes. Both my friend and I had already gotten to the room and showered individually before our bags arrived at the room. The structure of the hotel is extremely inconvenient and frustrating, and we had to ask 4 different staff members how to even find "building number 6" that our room was in before getting clear enough instructions to find it. I recommend the Wyndham nearby over this hotel. February 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always our first choice The staff is so nice. There was just I one thing we would have changed (although we didn't say anything at the time), the bathroom. The tub had a ring around it and the toilet bowl had a spider web crack but didn't appear to be leaking. February 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It was great! Thank You ! The stay at your facility was awesome . February 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice experience Was very pleased with the overall experience staying at the Crowne Plaza. Although not a pleasure vacation but related to Cancer treatment at MD Anderson they were very helpful and courteous at all times. Their shuttle service was extremely help full and the included free breakfast was always welcome. Both groups were always professional and very polite. The room cleaning service was also excellent and friendly. The fitness center was very large and convenient although they could maintain the equipment better. Some of the equipment is non operational. Curb appeal of hotel is excellent, a little noise because of location but does not effect the stay. Hotel is dated and if any negatives this would be the main complaint. For our overall experience we were extremely pleased with the value and convenience of the location. February 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bathroom was terrible We were in building 4, the toilet would not flush regularly, we had to wait a long time for the bowl to fill. The bathtub would not hold water. The doors were not sealed, you could see light all around the front and back doors. There were no little refrigerators like other rooms had in them. If someone was smoking downstairs you could smell it in your room. Very uncomfortable stay. February 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by The place is a pit The front desk looks upscale like but once you get to the room you realize you're in the ghetto. Holes in the walls, bubbled/ripped wallpaper, the smell of airfreshner hiding something, the tired looking tub and just simply dinghy. February 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by VERY UNHAPPY I would never stay at this hotel again. I had trouble starting with hotel registration. That department does not seem to know what they are doing and I could never receive an email confirmation. The rooms are dirty, carpets and floors are gross. Maids set alarm clocks to go off at midnight. They stack food trays outside of your room and leave them there ALL DAY and then pick them up LOUDLY at about 2 in the morning. Very dissatisfied with this hotel! February 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good experience This was by far the worst experience we've ever had at a hotel. The hotel was packed, our rooms were not available, they lost our reservation, the first two rooms we were in, did not have hot water for the showers, once we were split into two rooms on two different floors (we had small children with us and this was a huge inconvenience as we had requested adjoining rooms and were told that it would not be a problem) we shared beds with our children, one parent in each room, they gave my husband a key to an occupied room, thank goodness they were not in their room, then we were woken up in the middle of the night by a hotel employee trying to deliver sheets to us (we did not order any), that next morning, all I wanted was a cup of hot coffee, but the coffee pot did not have all the parts to make coffee, so even that was a disaster. We will never stay here again! February 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Drab and depressing Here for a large gymnastics meet. There was no restaurant suitable for kids. We ended up eating dinner in the bar on a couch in the corner in the dark. Impossible to get served. Room was passable but pretty dingy. Breakfast was very nice. Staff tried hard to be nice but there were not enough of them. February 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not their best day I've stayed here more than 10 times in the last 3 years. First because of their location, but I kept returning because of their staff, cleanliness, and breakfast. This time was out of their norm. The waitress in the bar ignored my table for nearly half an hour after she brought us our food. The waiter in the restaurant charged me for things that have always been included in their breakfast buffet. When I asked, he was rude. I've been returning to this location for nearly 3 years. When there's a change, I know it. Our bed was worn out. I don't know how I've stayed here more than 10 times and now got a mattress that had no padding in it. Every other time I was comfortable. The hotel is a bit old, but it is in good shape and was refurbished a few years ago. I'm going to give this hotel one more chance before I consider switching. February 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Shuttle Ride Loved the shuttle ride 'To' and 'From" Reliant. Saved us time In looking for parking February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Hotel The location was right across the street from Reliant Arena which was where our event was being held. The breakfast buffet was quite good and the accommodations were satisfactory. February 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service, air conditioning not working The air conditioning did not work in our room. I called the front desk and asked for someone to come fix it. No one ever came. We spent a hot, uncomfortable night. The check out person just said sorry when we checked out. February 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great service but a lot is missing This is a nice hotel with a great staff--very kind and helpful and very efficient. There were, however, quite a few things that went wrong with our room: The coffee maker had to be replaced and still did not work properly. The coffee itself (prepared by restaurant and in-room) was horrible. The microwave had to be replaced. The hot water did not work in the afternoon. There was no place to wash clothes in the hotel (laundry room) which is difficult for long-stay travelers. The first room we had was noisy (due to the highways and placement by elevator) cleaning staff was wonderful and kind. The bed was great. The restaurant was a lot better than we expected. February 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Heat in Room Upon arrival, our room door was not shut properly and the heater was not working. We were tired and hungry, and waited 20m to get resolved which was being moved to another room. The alarm in 2nd room went off at 5am, which we did not set. It woke us all up, and my daughter could not go back to sleep. We were there for her competition, so that was NOT the best way to start her morning. The room had not been vacuumed. I know I left a pair of earings there, but never got a call back from hotel either way on what their findings were. Very unpleasant visit, will not visit there again. February 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by dirty nasty hotel I just stayed at this hotel jan 30 , 14 and stayed in the rio grande wing , when you walk in it looks nice but as soon as you get into the hall the carpet is old and pulling up and very dirty , the room was not cleaned carpet was so nasty we kept on our shoes , for the price of the this hotel , it does not have free breakfast , but they charge 13.00 per person to eat , this hotel overall I would not recommend , February 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Change the name on my reservation I stayed with you and as a matter of fact I made the reservation online, I received this email and I also pay with my credit card but all the points and the stay went under my collegue's name. I think there was a mistake made when my collegue and I checked in and everything went into her account. Not good at all! January 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All around good job. My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a few days before his surgery. We had a room in the main building and it overlooked Reliant Stadium and the soon to be demolished Astrodome. The room was clean and the bed was comforatable. Check in and check out were beyond easy and room service was timely, affordable, and tasted good. Overall a pleasant stay for an unpleasant reason. Will definately stay here again if needed. January 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected I expected more comfort from a Crown Plaza. No refrigerator or servibar, no microwave, Furniture damaged. Coffee maker for 1 in a room for 4? A lot of supervisor looking personel, but not enough personel to help the guests. Our house keeper was very efficient and nice. In the breakfast buffet the waffles were dried and chewy. The waitresses including the head waitress could be friendlier. Not enough handicap spaces available close to the main door. It was ok but not what I expected from a Crown Plaza. January 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great proximity to Reliant Stadium Recently stayed to catch the Houston vs. Denver game. Hotel was a very short walk to the stadium which was the best. We stayed in the Gulf building 3 on the first floor. Room was very spacious for a family of 4. The room had a ground floor balcony with a view of the pool or garden view. Pool looked great although we did not use as the weather was too cool. The room offered two double beds that were comfortable. The living area had a pull out couch bed. The mattress on this bed should be replaced as all you could feel were the mattress springs. The room had two bathrooms and was very clean. We only used the restaurant for breakfast but felt the prices were a bit high. Breakfast buffet was offered at around $16. We ordered off the menu but still paid about as much. If in the area again, we would probably stay here again. December 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk very accomadating We had room in tower, but we wanted to stay on reliant side. Front desk was very quick about moving us to where we wanted to be. Thanks. We were there for Bronco/Texan game, and wanted to be more a part of football atmosphere. Restaurant was very nice and reasonable. We will stay there again. Good rate by contacting hotel directly. December 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service I've been staying at this hotel since November and I really like the convenience for getting to my appointments on time using the hotel shuttle service. Also you can't beat the breakfast that's served. The Hotel Staff are very polite and helpful. They responds quickly to any problem that you may have. December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home I was there on my last visit because I was having surgery at MD Anderson. It was very hard to be away from home and family. Staying at the Crown Plaza was a wonderful experience. The staff is wonderful and everyone is so accommodating. After surgery I came back to stay at the hotel until discharge and it was the next best thing to home. The Manager was so compassionate and showed so much empathy to my situation it was heartfelt. Thanks to your staff for a excellent job of providing superior customer service. December 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional staff and wonderfully comfortable room We had an exceptional experience at this location. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was amazingly comfortable and big. We highly recommend this hotel. December 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Great location, clean, confortable bed, small bathroom, great dinning area, but the whole facility is dated. However, I would stay here again. December 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable bed and pillows. The overall stay was very good and my guest and I will definitely stay again. The furniture was a little outdated but who cares, we enjoyed ourselves. We will stay here on our next trip to Houston. We recommend The Crowne Plaza Reliant Center Hotel. The restaurant was very good with excellent service. December 11, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Houston Medical Center Hotel
Houston Medical Center Hotel
Select to close.
Houston Medical Center Hotel Hotel Exterior Houston Downtown Aquarium The Houston Galleria Houston Zoo is just 10 minutes away Reliant Stadium within walking distance MD Anderson preferred Hotel Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Spread Out and Relax