• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Punjabi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at checkin. Call hotel for details.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
NRG- Stadium/Center
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is free and anything valuable left in the vehicle is not a responsibility of the hotel.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:80
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:61
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:19
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:72
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Find Convenience at Hotel's Houston, TX Location

Whether you're in town for business, leisure or for a visit to Houston's Texas Medical Center, our hotel's location is ideal for your needs. We're right off I-610 and just minutes from NRG Stadium Rice University and the world's largest medical center.

Our hotel's location in Houston is ideal for business travelers, as we're near area companies like Shell, Halliburton and Sysco. If you are in Houston visiting the Texas Medical Center, the
View More

Find Convenience at Hotel's Houston, TX Location

Whether you're in town for business, leisure or for a visit to Houston's Texas Medical Center, our hotel's location is ideal for your needs. We're right off I-610 and just minutes from NRG Stadium Rice University and the world's largest medical center.

Our hotel's location in Houston is ideal for business travelers, as we're near area companies like Shell, Halliburton and Sysco. If you are in Houston visiting the Texas Medical Center, the hotel's location is also perfect for you. We offer shuttle service to major medical institutions such as MD Anderson, Texas Children's Hospital and Baylor Clinic.

For relaxation and family fun, enjoy a picnic or visit the zoo in nearby Hermann Park, or take part in a yearly tradition at the Livestock Show and Rodeo at NRG Stadium. Love to learn? The Museum District a few miles away can keep you busy for days. The convenient access to the Stella Link Shopping Center and the opulent Galleria makes it easy to enjoy the best shopping in Houston.

You'll find it easy to stay on top of your exercise routine in the 24-hour Fitness Center. You can rest without a care at the Gazebo Grill. With the Candlewood Suites® Houston Medical Center hotel's free guest laundry facilities, affordable Candlewood Cupboard store and free coffee bar, you'll feel right at home. Come enjoy one of the most convenient hotels in Houston as our guest!

View Less
Features
No matter what’s on your itinerary, you will love our hotel's location. Houston, Texas is also home to the Texas Medical Center, located just 2 miles from the hotel, and home to the world's leading hospitals such as MD Anderson, Texas Children's, Baylor, Memorial Hermann and Methodist's Hospital. We offer medical rates for patients and families. Please give the hotel a call directly for rates.
Announcements
Our hotel truly understands the needs of the patient or family coming to the Texas Medical Center area. We offer special rates for your stay with us, wheter one day, or one thousand days, we make
View More
Announcements
Our hotel truly understands the needs of the patient or family coming to the Texas Medical Center area. We offer special rates for your stay with us, wheter one day, or one thousand days, we make your stay with us your "home away from home" Also complimentary shuttle to/from the hospitals and doctors offices located in the area is offered Monday - Friday, every hour from 7:00 AM - 6 PM.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 252 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed amd swimming pool Very friendly! Great Shuttle bus! great location with good food choices near by. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great place to stay! This is a Lovely hotel. Since I was in Houston because of my husbands illness, I didn't have the opportunity to use all of the facilities - the pool, the workout room, etc. However, they are available and when we come back over for pleasure, we will surely enjoy staying here. I was impressed with the lobby sitting area. It was comfortable and very pleasant. June 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by n/s Service for breakfast was poor, also reservations clerk not aware of the MD Anderson rate. June 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Reservation not as confirmed I requested and was confirmed twice there would be a room with a microwave and refrigerator that was needed for medical reasons. I checked again an hour before I arrived and it was reconfirmed. There was none available when I arrived. The person at the desk said she had not talked with me earlier even though she said she was the only one there. I had written her name down. When I pushed it, suddenly there was a room available as I had requested. The service was slow, food way too salty. Most of the milk was expired by 2 days. No buffet the second day. I ordered a take out with 4 items that didn't need cooking. I had to go the café 2 additional times to get everything I ordered. June 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by The staff gave great service The room had not been cleaned. I told the staff and they quickly put me in another room. June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly, helpful staff The staff was friendly and helpful. The convenience of the shuttle to MD Anderson was good. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable place to stay Nice place to stay. We went to the museums and it was very easy to get to them and also to places to eat. Easy in and out. The staff was very helpful. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HOME FOR OUTPATIENT AT M.D. ANDERSON CANCER HOSPITAL THE RELIANT HOLIDAY INN IS THE HOME AWAY FROM HOME DURING STRESSFUL DAYS AT HOSPIAL FACILITY. THE STAFF SEEM TO UNDERSTAND YOUR SITUATION AND CATERS TO EVERY NEED YOU HAVE IN UPLIFTING YOUR MOOD AND FEELINGS. June 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't count on the shuttle! Promised shuttle transportation on check in. Confirmed times of departure. When showed up for transportation two shuttle vans were parked at the door, and we were told there was no shuttle service to our destination (1/2 mile away) and that we would have to walk, even though one of the guests was elderly and unable to walk that distance in the heat. We booked this hotel for its location and shuttle service. Staff was not helpful and uncaring for the elderly lady. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Access to MD Anderson in the Medical Center I come to Houston for medical treatments at MD Anderson. Have stayed at this location several times. This hotel is exactly what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. Standard rooms with comfortable beds and refrigerators. Had no trouble obtaining one with a microwave when I needed one. They have a very nice breakfast buffet and a free shuttle to either the MD Anderson or Mays clinics. Also a workout room, pool, hot tub, bar, no-cost parking and very helpful staff. Overall an excellent deal. June 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value poor over priced food Mostly a good stay. I ask to have two light bulbs replaced in the room. Did not happen. The food cost went up and the quality went down. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location We were close to the stadium, Interstate and nice places of eat. June 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service by front desk Arrived at hotel was greeted as IHG reward member, went to assigned room to see it was mess and door open saw cleaning lady around who said room is not ready yet , want back to front desk with all luggage and was assigned another room which did not had fridge or microwave as I was told at time I made reservation. Had interview next day and asked front desk night before to call for cab but they did not and even though hotel has shuttle which travels with in 2-3 mile radius it works only at certain times. May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice bed great service The location was close to M D Anderson and shopping was within walking distance. The bed was nice and the A/C worked well, however the dresser was broken and the chair was worn, but comfortable. The pool and hot tub were nice. My steak was ok but overpriced at the sports bar and they had soft music playing instead of sports volume, but the bartender put my NASCAR race, which I could not get in my room, which was strange. It would have been nice to have a small refrigerator in the room. May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Staff and clean rooms The best thing I can say is the front desks staff was great. The hotel is fine, in a good location however floors were poorly decorated - nothing inviting. I ate breakfast in the restaurant once and it was nothing to brag about not to mention overpriced. May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Double Queen room Room and service were great. Everyone was courteous. Shuttle was on time and helpful. Breakfast buffett was good everyday. Fresh fruit. Internet was fast and reliable. We relied on the internet a lot and appreciated the free internet. Plenty of food locations near plus two stores and a walgreens. Near metro bus. May 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by REDO This property is ready to be remodeled. I know the desire to keep making money is the "American Way", but you have to spend a little to get a little and whomever owns this property obviously doesn't realize that. I suppose being at Reliant Stadium creates a perfect opportunity because most people are staying overnight, or us business travelers are stuck because we don't have time to change hotels. The wi-fi is very, very bad. I had two co-workers, each on a higher floor and they said same thing; you can't browse regular pages and the 800 number staff play games by having you perform functions that most people would think are helpful, but I work in IT and had to call them out on it on the second call, plus they return you call the following morning (when they know you're at work). I say this because I told them specifically to call me back before midnight (twice); I got a call the next morning around 9:00 on the first try and no callback the second time around. The A/C unit stopped on its' own the second night, and a co-worker said he had the same issue, so I called and had someone come fix it and while they claimed they fixed the wi-fi and A/C problems (and I do not know how they could have fixed the wi-fi because the problem is the owner is too cheap to add more wi-fi routers/access points), I still wi-fi that crawled and would not connect 90% of the time or would connect and not proceed to the next webpage and an A/C unit that needed to be put in FAN mode first, then switched to COLD mode in order to work. Housekeeping was great and the only bright spot as my room always had perfectly made beds, neatly placed towels (and all of them). May 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Great location, quiet hotel! My only concern would be that our room was a little dirty. I found cobwebs in the corners, and our table had not been cleaned under the glass. The housekeeping is excellent! They were friendly ladies, if we needed anything from laundry, to extra towels or wash clothes, coffee, etc...they were always ready and willing to help. The front desk was very helpful in helping us extend our stay at a short notice. April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Accommodating and professional Clean and accessible facility, professional and accommodating staff. I have preferred to stay close to the HQ office downtown on my stays, but this proved to be equal in quality--just farther from my destination. The fact that I did not have to pay for parking was a plus. April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service! Easy check-in. Nice room on the top floor - we called it "the penthouse". Pat & Jose were extremely helpful with the only difficulty - a plugged drain when we arrived. Wish the bar/restaurant still had a happy hour. Great selection of hot and cold food at the breakfast buffet. We were comp'd #thanks!# but check to see if breakfast is included in your reservation. Thanks for an enjoyable stay. April 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, comfortable bed, clean room BUT very tired decor The decor is rough, getting to plugs for computers and phones almost impossible by desk. Bed is comfortable and bathroom clean. Staff very nice and good. April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, wonderful time Check in time was a breeze. The lobby clerk was friendly and helpful. The room was what I wanted and comfortable, if you know what I mean. Sometimes, at other places, you ask for a certain kind of room but when you get there, your room has changed from what you wanted, so I was pleased with my room. The only thing I did desire in my room that wasn't there was a bottle of water. I got thirsty during the night and I sure could have used a bottle of water. Above all, everything else was great. April 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Great! That's all I want to say! Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you April 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Reliant Park Area Houston This hotel is located right across from Reliant Stadium and close to area restaurants and grocery stores. It is a "full service" Holiday Inn with a restaurant and bar. It services many cancer patients visiting the great hospitals in the area. The outside of the hotel was very well kept. Each room had a microwave and fridge. The furniture was old and had stains/spots/scratches everywhere. The carpets were clean but still had an odor. Everything worked well in the room including Wi-Fi and there was a 6 plug adapter by the desk for charging devices. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Bathroom was good size and everything in there worked well. Price for room was WAY TOO HIGH and price for breakfast buffet was also TOO HIGH. Hotel staff including check-in and buffet were friendly and helpful. March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay but needs a few updates We stayed for a trip to the Medical Center and first thing at check in, Telisa gave us EXCELLENT customer service. She made sure that we had sufficient time to check out the next day since I had a dr's appt that morning. The rooms were nice and had a great view of Reliant Stadium. They did need some updating and the mattresses DEFINITLY need to be replaced but it was clean and quiet. The shuttle driver, George, was very friendly and helpful. Room service was okay for coffee but buffett is way expensive. I will be coming back to Houston for a surgery in the near future and I will make another stay here. March 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room--VERY BAD FOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Our room was very comfortable and clean. The food in both cafes was too expensive for food that is almost inedible. A hotel as good as this one should have much better food. March 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst experience ever! In over 30 years of travel this is by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in! Staff was semi unprofessional and we had to change rooms 3 times in four nights. We booked this hotel 1 year in advance as I have a neuromuscular condition and the convenience to the stock show made it possible for me to rest. However, our entire trip was a nightmare and rest was the last thing I got. Such a shame that just because you are closest to the show you can treat people that way. I plan on registering a complaint with your corporate office . I have stayed in five star hotels that were worth more than what I paid. This hotel wasn't even worth half of the price. We will never stay at that hotel again and have recommended our friends do the same. So disappointed!!!!!! There are many hotels in Houston that will provide so much more next year and that's where we and many of our friends will be staying. March 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very disappointed We stayed at this hotel because my daughter had a doctor's appointment with MD Anderson. The initial check in to get a room took somewhere between 30 min to an hour before we even got to speak to a representative to get our hotel room. We requested a stay for 2 nights thinking that the doctor's appointment would be possibly 2 days-thinking there might be some tests to be ran on my daughter the next day. When we got to our room--the door to our hotel room was ajar. You could clearly see that something was wrong with the door/doorjam. My husband went into the room and checked it out and we(my daughter and I# went into the room after his saying it was ok. Since we were Hilton honor members the hotel representative gave us the extended checkout time of 2pm. We went to my daughter's doctor appointment the next day at 1pm and the doctor released my daughter so we didn't need to stay a second night. We got to the hotel pretty close to 1:45 - 2pm. Once again--there was at least a 20 to 30 min #maybe longer) wait on getting a representative to talk to about not needing a second night. We asked the representative if we could not be charged for the second night.. He in turn --went and asked the manager--- and came out and told us no we would still be charged the second night. So...disappointed we said ok, went up to our hotel room and our key cards would not work. So we went back down to the desk, once again it took 20 - 30 min to be waited on and asked to why our key cards wouldn't work. AFter 3-4 times of going back and forth to our room and back down to the check in desk--we heard the reasons that our key cards wouldn't work was 1)that we had already checked out 2) that we possibly put our key cards against our phone. Finally--after speaking with the manager and her telling us that she would only charge us for half the room rate, we told her we didn't want to stay another night and by the way...just fyi...the door was ajar when we checked in last night. SHe said she wouldn't charge us at all after hearing that. We still had the issue of getting our belongings out of the room because our key cards wouldn't work to the door. They finally sent up security and a maintenance person and determined that the key card battery was dead. It was certainly a fiasco!!!!! I am hoping it was just the weekend and not the normal service. Thank you for letting me share. March 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast bar was a nice way to start the day. March 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and clean rooms. I have stayed at this hotel many times as an M.D. Anderson patient. Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean and tidy. Hotel is quiet and staff are friendly. The breakfast buffet has a lot to choose from. I especially appreciated the buffet staff. They are friendly and made me feel at home when I had to be away from mine. March 13, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Houston Medical Center Hotel
Houston Medical Center Hotel
Select to close.
Houston Medical Center Hotel Hotel Exterior The Houston Galleria Houston Zoo is just 10 minutes away NRG Stadium within walking distance Houston Downtown Aquarium MD Anderson preferred Hotel Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Availability
Loading