• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: INDIANAPOLIS
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Cats and dogs are allowed with a nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 dollar per pet. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at checkin. Call hotel for details. Record of complete and up to date vaccinations required.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Indianapolis Zoo
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians & Western Art
Distance From Hotel:2.4MI
Attraction:
IMAX Theater
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI
Attraction:
The Children's Museum of Indianapolis
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • On-site surface parking available complimentary.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:142
  • Total number of suites:142
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:120
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:22
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:142
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:12
  • FEMA Property Number:IN5082

Welcome to Candlewood Suites in Downtown Indianapolis, Indiana

Our extended stay hotel near downtown Indianapolis is a short drive to Indianapolis International Airport, making travel to the hotel easy and convenient.

Leisure travelers can appreciate our downtown Indianapolis hotel's close proximity to several local attractions. Indianapolis Zoo, Eiteljorg Museum, the Children's Museum of Indianapolis and the Indiana State Museum provide fun for all ages. For sports enthusiasts, the
View More

Welcome to Candlewood Suites in Downtown Indianapolis, Indiana

Our extended stay hotel near downtown Indianapolis is a short drive to Indianapolis International Airport, making travel to the hotel easy and convenient.

Leisure travelers can appreciate our downtown Indianapolis hotel's close proximity to several local attractions. Indianapolis Zoo, Eiteljorg Museum, the Children's Museum of Indianapolis and the Indiana State Museum provide fun for all ages. For sports enthusiasts, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Lucas Oil Stadium, NCAA Hall of Champions and Conseco Fieldhouse are just minutes from our hotel.

For business travelers we offer free high-speed Internet access, a business center and two meeting rooms. Nearby corporate locations include the IU Medical Center, the Indiana Convention Center and Simon Headquarters.

This Indianapolis extended stay hotel offers you free high-speed Internet access and free local phone calls. Our standard guest rooms are the largest in Indianapolis. A fitness center, free self-laundry facilities, barbecue grills, a DVD/CD lending library and the Candlewood Cupboard, our miniature grocery store, offer unparalleled comfort and convenience. The hotel provides a shuttle service (surcharge) (based on availability - contact hotel for details).

Call today to take advantage of our great Indianapolis hotel deals!

View Less
Features
We strive to make you feel comfortable at our Indianapolis hotel, so we are proud to offer barbecue grills, a DVD/CD library, a Fitness Center and free self-laundry services so you can feel at home while away from home.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 246 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Train car rooms The train car rooms were small, but a very fun experience for me and my grandson August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza Union Station The bathroom in my room was one ther smallest that I have ever seen. I am glad, that I am not a bigger man or I would not have fit in it. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the historic renovation Wonderful staff. Was warmly greeted at valet and this continued throughout my stay. The room was a bit noisy, however it was due to a loud neighbor which happens from time to time. The trains were not disturbing at all, I had no issues and they were quite comforting. Totally recommend the hotel. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great downtown location and comfortable room great place to stay if you are downtown Indi. very convenient to downtown restaurants, mall and bars. an added bonus is the historic building it is located in especially if you are a rail fan. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best Experience of Downtown Staying in Downtown Indy could not have been more enjoyable. The Crowne Plaza is built in the old Union Station, they did a great job incorporating the charm of a train station into the common areas. I highly recommend upgrading to the King Executive, the extra room plus complimentary snacks and drinks in the lounge is worth the extra cost. The rooms were clean and fresh, and very dark at night. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, it's walking distance to Lucas Oil and a lot of bars and places to eat. The check out time was noon but they extended it to 2 pm for us since we really had no reason to leave early. If you're staying in Indy stay here! August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Right in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, reasonably priced, clean, friendly staff. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect stay !!!!!!! This was 2nd time at this property, but this time i can't resist noticing $8 Million renovation second i walked in to lobby. Very fresh, modern look all over. Room had new decor and everything was new. Clean and comfortable room. Bathroom amenities, towels, desk space add to your experience. Staff was very friendly, shuttle service gave me ride to and from my destination right on time. Everyone was friendly. Thank you for perfect stay. Every department exceed my expectation. August 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room, lousy sound proofing The only issue was the lack of sound proofing. On the third floor, could hear people downstairs by the elevators. Also, the rooms are joined by a set of doors and if anyone in the other room is loud, you can hear them with little difficulty. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gen Con 2014 Was in town for Gen Con and we had a blast. The hotel staff were very friendly and the close proximity to the convention center is a huge plus. Will absolutely stay here again. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Gencon Nerd Paradise!!! I spend half of the year traveling the country and the world for work and I stay exclusively at IHG properties. I don't usually write reviews but I could not resist writing one after the experience I had this past weekend. I was nervous to say the least coming into town alongside my fellow nerds for Gencon 2014. 45k plus people can really frazzle a staff if they aren't ready for it. I was nothing short of impressed by the professional and friendly nature of everyone I came into contact with. From the Front Desk to the Restaurant to Housekeeping and the guys keeping the Executive Suite stocked and tidy. Everyone was readily available to help anyone they came into contact with, myself included. There were many people in the hotel simply there for the scheduled events but not staying at the hotel and I saw them treated no different then I or anyone else staying there. That made a big impression on me. Chris, the Front Desk Manager was a pleasure to speak with and a great help with the multitude of questions I had. I could not thank him enough for his time. I look forward to coming back for next years Gencon. I came out this year on my own because my initial concerns kept me from bringing the family. The weekend wasn't even over and I was calling my wife telling her to look into arrangements at this hotel for the 2015 Gencon. I know we are all in good hands. I look forward to seeing you all next year! August 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Convenient to Downtown Hotel remodel is very nice. Shuttle service is available to some downtown locations on a first come first served basis. Not available for our trip to Indians game. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great job. Thanks! I finally got to stay at the "Train Station" Crowne Plaza. It's right next to Lucas Oil Stadium - no car necessary. Fantastic experience. Great staff. Very interesting decor!!! See ya next year. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza Experience Staff was excellent! Heather, The Main Bar Tender, was amazing! Not only was she efficient and accurate with all in my group's orders , but she was kind and genuine! August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It's unusualness just adds to the charm! As a magnificantly converted railroad station, the Indianapolis Crown Plaza just teems with uniqueness. Its atmosphere is truly excellent, the decorative decor seems to get better each and every year, and the hospitality is absolutely outstanding! Much appreciated, Chuck August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love those train cars!! We had a wonderful stay. Just love staying in the train cars. Not just a room with two beds but a real experience. Even felt the movement of the car, oh yea, the real trains go through the building. I think that just adds to the experience. I get a train car every time I get down to Indianapolis. I just love it!!!! August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! Everything went awesome. Love the hotel, its layout, atmosphere. My wife and I had a great time having a beer in the lounge. Heather the bartender was simply a delight. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Availability of rooms We wanted to stay an extra night but the entire hotel was booked. The front desk assured me that if a room opened we could secure it by checking in the morning before checkout. I checked and they DID have a room and it was offered to us! The Day manager even spoke to us and helped us get our original booking even though the booking system on the east coast said that the hotel was booked solid. Great customer service! August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Historic Landmark that is an awesome place to stay! The quietest hotel that I have ever stayed at, the front desk clerk told me about the train rumble/noise but then he said oh… you are on the quite side, and quite it was! I have NEVER stayed at such a quite hotel, it was so nice and quite, it was so peaceful, I slept exceptionally well! Great staff, clean and up to date historic landmark hotel. A great restaurant with exceptionally well prepared and flavorful meals! The filet mignon plate, WOW!!! I have stayed at the Conrad in the past, a great place, but over-priced when comparing what you get at the Crowne Plaza Hotel! I'll go back to the Crowne Plaza! Do yourself and your family a favor, check it out, and check out the train car rooms! A creative, fun, and educational way to stay! August 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms nice, beds comfortable, maintenance updates needed bad overall our stay as far as comfort at the hotel was good. we had a few maintenance issues and some issues with service, but management more than compensated for our issues. August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel The room was impeccably clean and beautifully modernized. The bed was very comfortable and the service was very good. IMPROVEMENTS: I feel that the shower head needs to be updated. And I wish the room would have had the convenience of a microwave and a small fridge. August 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by If you like the atmosphere... This hotel was selected for me because of a conference in the area. I've never stayed at this or any other Crowne Plaza. If you're a fan of train stations and downtown hotels, it might be for you, but for me it just seemed old (yes, I know it actually IS old) and not up to par compared to competitive brands in other areas. August 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Unique hotel We stayed here on a Monday night during the summer, so it did not seem too busy. The hotel itself is kept very clean, pool was nice...although the air was a bit freezing in the pool area, but it was unusually cold for the time of year during our stay. Staff at check-in/check-out were extremely helpful and friendly, in fact ALL staff were! Definitely 5-stars for customer service at this hotel. Also, even though we had children with us who wanted to swim, the staff made sure all people were out of the pool at 10:00 exactly - a bonus IMO for those travelling without children. The bathroom was a bit small though, shower/toilet combo is separate from vanity/sink/mirror though, so it wasn't a huge deal. My ONLY complaint about this hotel are the sheets - my goodness, it was like sleeping with cheap paper towels for sheets! You could actually hear the crinkle when you moved, they were awful! Otherwise, it was a wonderful experience and we will definitely stay here again. August 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First stay at a Crown Plaza For the most part we had a very nice experience at this hotel. The architecture of the hotel, with the rooms being built around the old columns from Union Station was interesting. The location to dining and entertainment was within walking distance. Overall a pleasant stay. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay We found the executive level and Platinum level to be outstanding. The food in the executive lounge was very good in the evening and breakfast was a full breakfast including eggs and bacon. Only 1 suggestion would be to add a table so guests know where to stack dirty dishes. We just put ours in the sink but then if someone wanted to use the sink that would not be appealing. The table in the room had fresh fruit and there was no other space than where people would eat or relax. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Modern hotel in historic train depot I had a fantastic stay at this beautiful hotel. I travel a lot and honestly have found this to be the most impressive hotel I have stayed in. The employees at the front desk were quite proud of the hotel and the gentleman who checked me in gave me a brief history of the hotel. Make sure to check out the GreatHall -- it is breathtaking! As it still is an active train station (albeit downsized), you may feel vibrations due to trains passing through. This did not awake me, however. It makes for a convenient stay if you are traveling via train as I was. The hotel is also next to LucasOil Stadium, connected via skyway to the Indianapolis Convention Center, and is within walking distance of many downtown attractions and restaurants. If I find myself in Indianapolis again, I will definitely return to this hotel! July 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Check in experience The young man that checked me in did not ask about the option to have a train car room, did not mention internet service or the option to have a late checkout. He was not the friendly welcoming individual that you usually expect at check in. When I checked out, I did not realize until later that I had left something in my room. I inquired at the desk and the young lady was very helpful in contacting the manager of the room cleaning service and in a few minutes he brought the item that I had left in the room to me. She was very busy at that time, but made sure that he was contacted and that I was taken care of. Much appreciated. July 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay This is an excellent choice for Hotels in the Downtown Indianapolis area. You will hear a train go by, but that is part of the experience of this facility. They also have Train Cars that you can stay the night in. July 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Train car was unique but loud The train car room was an exteremely interesting option at this hotel. The room is an actual train car, but the interior feels like a long room. It is very nicely furnished, and a nice change of pace from standard hotel rooms. However it is loud. There are two rooms per train car, and there is little to no sound insulation between the two. We could hear the kids and the TV in the next room down. The trains going by wasn't a problem, it is just a low rumble but not noisy. Our car was at the very end, so I don't know if hall noise would be an issue or not, but it seems like it would. Overall we were happy with our stay, even if it was a bit loud. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable Room was very comfortable and we slept well. Railroad theme of the hotel was unique! You have to stay there to see and appreciate what we're talking about! Lots of history throughout the building. July 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT PLACE TO STAY Wonderful service, wonderful people, great food at their restaurant. Great things in the club room for PRIORITY members. All the workers had smiles and made you feel welcome. July 17, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Welcome to the Candlewood Suites! The front desk is available 24 hours a day!
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading