• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: INDIANAPOLIS
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Cats and dogs are allowed with a nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 dollar per pet. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at checkin. Call hotel for details. Record of complete and up to date vaccinations required.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Indianapolis Zoo
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians & Western Art
Distance From Hotel:2.4MI
Attraction:
The Children's Museum of Indianapolis
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
IMAX Theater
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • On-site surface parking available complimentary.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:142
  • Total number of suites:142
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:120
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:22
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:142
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:12
  • FEMA Property Number:IN5082

Welcome to Candlewood Suites in Downtown Indianapolis, Indiana

Our extended stay hotel near downtown Indianapolis is a short drive to Indianapolis International Airport, making travel to the hotel easy and convenient.

Leisure travelers can appreciate our downtown Indianapolis hotel's close proximity to several local attractions. Indianapolis Zoo, Eiteljorg Museum, the Children's Museum of Indianapolis and the Indiana State Museum provide fun for all ages. For sports enthusiasts, the
View More

Welcome to Candlewood Suites in Downtown Indianapolis, Indiana

Our extended stay hotel near downtown Indianapolis is a short drive to Indianapolis International Airport, making travel to the hotel easy and convenient.

Leisure travelers can appreciate our downtown Indianapolis hotel's close proximity to several local attractions. Indianapolis Zoo, Eiteljorg Museum, the Children's Museum of Indianapolis and the Indiana State Museum provide fun for all ages. For sports enthusiasts, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Lucas Oil Stadium, NCAA Hall of Champions and Conseco Fieldhouse are just minutes from our hotel.

For business travelers we offer free high-speed Internet access, a business center and two meeting rooms. Nearby corporate locations include the IU Medical Center, the Indiana Convention Center and Simon Headquarters.

This Indianapolis extended stay hotel offers you free high-speed Internet access and free local phone calls. Our standard guest rooms are the largest in Indianapolis. A fitness center, free self-laundry facilities, barbecue grills, a DVD/CD lending library and the Candlewood Cupboard, our miniature grocery store, offer unparalleled comfort and convenience. The hotel provides a shuttle service (surcharge) (based on availability - contact hotel for details).

Call today to take advantage of our great Indianapolis hotel deals!

View Less
Features
We strive to make you feel comfortable at our Indianapolis hotel, so we are proud to offer barbecue grills, a DVD/CD library, a Fitness Center and free self-laundry services so you can feel at home while away from home.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 213 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relax and enjoy Just an overall pleasant experience. Great staff, great location, and just a great hotel. June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Indy Weekend I have stayed at this hotel once before during Race weekend. This year my brother and friends were meeting us for the race. I booked this hotel last year knowing it would be able to accommodate everyone. Arrival and check in was simple. Rooms were great, with the exception of the bathroom size. It was very small. when we arrived one of the two elevators was broken. By Friday the wait for the other one could be long. Race day, both elevators were out. We were staying on the third floor and my friends could not make it up the three flights of stairs. I understand that updates were being worked on at the hotel, including the elevators. I feel that this work in particular should have been delayed until after this weekend. It was hard for me to justify the cost of the rooms to my family and friends. Other than that our stay was great. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great lodging experience We stayed in one of the rooms aboard an old train car. It was a wonderful experience and all the ambiance needed for a weekend getaway. Easy walking to great dining and night life. May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice update. The hotel looks very nice since the renovation. We were very comfortable in our room. The only request that I have is to add refrigerators to the rooms. There are so many awesome restaurants in the area, it would be nice to refrigerate our leftovers! May 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice property, some issues This is a very attractive hotel with nice rooms. Made a great venue to stay for a wedding in the attached Unuin Station. A couple issues. The doors have cracks in them. They don't shut tight. You could see in the room thru the door crack. A train woke me up twice. Very loud and lots of vibration on far side of hotel. Elevator was out so I asked for first floor room and they gave me one only to find out I had to walk down two flights of stairs on a recent knee replacement. Not all first floor rooms are on the first floor. Front desk comped my parking for the elevator trouble which I appreciated. May 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk staff not to be believed Every thing I desired in the hotel, train carriage room, ambiance etc was everything I expected and have nothing but praise for the building. I had booked independently but on check in I asked for the special conference rate for the conference I was attending. The guy checked up and said yes he could give me the conference rate. So four days later I was checking out and found that I had not been charged the conference rate but the original higher rate. On questioning this, the lady on the front desk said she would have to check with the manager who was not in yet. I had to leave straight away so the lady said to leave an email address and she would get the manager to contact me. No contact has been made. I would have accepted the higher rate if at check in I was told "no you cannot get the conference rate" but I cannot accept being lied to - twice. May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved it! All staff members were helpful and friendly. Everything was immaculate. I liked having skywalk access to the convention center and other hotels that were part of our conference. I was in one of the railcar rooms. I loved the nostalgia of the train station and railcars. My railcar was located on the side of the hotel near the current railroad so my car shook and rattled a little when a train came through. It wasn't bad but it kept waking me the first night of my stay. To be fair this was explained to me while I checked in. It didn't bother me the other two nights of my stay. I was told that the railcars on the other side of the building did not rattle as much. May 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Unique train car experience This place is FANTASTIC in every way except 2. #1: I wish I would have known our train car would be on the South side of the building. Who would have thought to ask that question? Lets just say about 215AM it sounded like the train blowing its whistle was coming through OUR train car room rather than the tracks DIRECTLY BEHIND us as the lamps and picture frames shook as much as I was! Next time we will ask for a North train car (higher numbers are on the N side) #2: The pool is nice and warm but unfortunately the chemicals were off and even after 2 showers damaged our hair and skin. Hopefully after we notified the front desk the next morning this was corrected. Even with these 2 unpleasant events I still give this hotel a 4 star overall. My husband and I had stayed in one of the train cars years ago and thought it would be a fun place to stay with our kids. We were pleasantly surprised when we discovered the night we were staying there was their Grand Reopening after their fantastic remodeling. My daughter said she felt like she was "Cinderella at the Ball". The train cars are no longer "theme cars" as their website states but they are very nicely decorated. Being train cars they are narrow but quite long and have plenty of room in my opinion. My only warning is they are not for people who have difficulty climbing stairs, since they are on the original tracks and you have to climb up into them from the hall. In addition to the train cars they have plenty of standard rooms that are also newly decorated and provide more space. Since we did not stay in one of them I am assuming if you are a light sleeper you will also want to request a NORTH side room. April 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall, a quite satisfactory experience I was not in Indianapolis as a tourist, but as a surgery patient. My stay at the Methodist hospital as an outpatient turned out to be only about 23 hours. I booked a room in this hotel for the entire time slot, Sun night through Thurs AM, even though I spent Mon night in the hospital. I was alone (i.e., unaccompanied) during this entire period. The room was quite comfortable, and the staff was exceptionally helpful. The restaurant was convenient, and, for the most part, the food was very good. Room service was prompt when I needed it. Thus, my general plan of using the hotel room as a sort of "recovery room away from home" worked. The only real problem I had was that my sleep was interrupted on two nights by the loud roars of trains passing through the hotel. I knew that this hotel was built around an old railroad station and had a generally "railroad" theme, but I somehow managed to miss the fact that the railroad was still in service! I come from a part of the country where the railroads have long been out of service, and this simply did not occur to me. I think that prospective guests need to be told about this more specifically. April 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaze Lounge The lounge was at best plain and had nothing special to offer its members. The food was terrible and never stocked. Only had seating for 8 people. April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Visit at the NEW Crowne Plaza On a recent trip to INDY, I stayed at the NEWLY RENOVATED Crowne Plaza Hotel Downtown Union Station; the charm of the Union Railway Station themed hotel remains as you experience a walk back in time feeling of those railroad travel days, created by the statues spread throughout the hotel; that said, EVERYTHING else is brand new. All the rooms and even the special sleeping railcar rooms have been totally refurbished. The beds are wonderful! The décor is refreshing to the senses (walls, art, carpeting, wall décor, little reading lights at bedside, the comfortable desk chair, the lamps that have built-in electric, the BIG fluffy pillows, the large shower head, and more) and its all brand new. The hotel is also connected by pedway to the Indiana Convention Center which is a bonus. The Exercise Room is loaded with equipment and has been moved to the front lobby ( SAFE). The dinning room has been reworked and the breakfast buffet was extraordinary and attractively presented. I love the many wonderful improvements they have made! You must try this NEW experience! April 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sleeping under the railroad tracks I stayed in Romm 152. It sounds like a freight train passes over this room each night at 2 AM. The sound is so loud, you think the building is going to collaspe. This made it very difficult to get a good nights sleeep. April 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cool hotel, comfy, great staff Everything here was nice, and the trains inside the building (site of old train station) were really cool. Some of the white statues of train passengers were just a bit creepy to me tho, mostly the one that appeared to be a child falling off the top of a train car. (see pic) I didn't eat or drink there, so can't rate that. But really appreciated that the skywalk connected right to the convention center so I didn't have to go out in the cold. I'd totally stay there again! April 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great atmosphere, a little disappointed in service My family and I (2 adults and 2 children) spent one night at the Crowne Plaza Union Station in Indianapolis. The building is really interesting and our room was nice. However, the bathroom was VERY small. We are lucky that our children are small. Trying to get them cleaned up after swimming was not easy. 2 people did not fit in the bathroom. I was also disappointed when we accidentally left my 5 year olds sleeping blanket there and it was not found. We checked in at 8:30pm the night of our stay. The blanket went to bed with our child and we got up the next morning, got ready and checked out. We didn't go anywhere and the blanket did not make it into our car. I contacted the hotel's housekeeping manager, Kevin, and he made a great attempt to find it. Unfortunately, someone on his staff is not telling the truth about finding the blanket. The laundry was searched and it didn't turn up. So, that tells us that someone on the housekeeping staff kept it. What a shame. A 5 year old is out of their favorite sleeping blanket. It was very difficult to break that news. I would recommend this property for couples or request a larger room for families. April 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a great place! A++++++++ I will stay here whenever I get to Indy it is wonderful! March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Very central and convenient, love the train cart room. March 31, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Squeaky , Slow moving train at the window,,,, I arrived 11:45 pm, on the 25th , the room that I booked,,,they gave me, was all ready occupied, why, it was booked ?. The bell hop had to get the card key activated twice, for the room next door, while I stood in the hallway. After 15 minutes of waiting, finally was let in. The room had a odor, the sheets were like glass and the slow moving, squeaky train right out side my window mostly all night. The daytime staff was very helpful. My truck needed a boost in the underground garage and they boosted my truck and put it in the valet parking and watched it while it ran for 30 minutes. While i was waiting in my room, a staff member knocked on my room door and wanted to check the smoke detector WHY! I'm still using this room!! I never had anything like that happen to me before. it was time for me to checkout 11:30 the next morning 26th, I was told by the night staff I would be getting cash back, $35.00 when I check out the next day we'll they didn't give me money back. I don't recommend this hotel to anybody! March 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very unique experience! We stayed in a train car room, and they were really awesome. My 5 year old twins loved it. My only complaint was that even though we turned off the heat, the room never went below 72 degrees. I did not want to turn the a/c on with my five year olds, in 40 degree weather outside, The pool area was really nice and very clean! The reception staff were all very nice and helpful. March 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Setting I have stayed here many times; always great. The lobby remodel is excellent. The sound of the trains coming through will put you to sleep. Very polite staff. And, of course, the ghosts.................. March 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Many mistakes made by staff Room had twin beds instead of King ( had to get another, very time consuming, I mean how hard could this be when you're in the hotel business ), then thermostat didn't work, then charged for 2 cars when I only own one. Then told not to use tunnel to stadium - when it was the best option. Just a series of unfortunate events. And for the price there shouldn't be any mistakes. March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location and wonderful staff Had a great stay in Indianapolis and definitely will be be back when in the area. Food and service were top notch and will be back for the World GP. thanks again. March 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Expected More The staff was very friendly. The hotel and train cars being in the old Union Station was worth seeing. But compared to other hotels in the area of the same price you are better off spending your money elsewhere. The hotel isn't connected to the Skywalk to Circle Center w/o walking outside or through the convention center. It had snowed this weekend and the walks were not cleared well. You had to walk through snow piles to cross the parking lot. One of the sliding doors were closed, I assume because of the cold. However, there wasn't a sign on the outside of the door and customers kept trying to walk in through the door only to have to go to the other door. The onsite restaurants' for the cost were not up to par compared to restaurants at other hotels nearby. The food wasn't very tasty for the price. The wings were dry and tasted like they were microwaved and the filet sliders were dry. The nachos were awesome though. The bar service drinks were good and worth the cost. Maybe it was the time of year and when warmer, the experience and ambiance would be better. February 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Maybe next time? We attended a wedding and had an issue with heat/cooling system in the train car rooms that was unable to be fixed by engineering. We had to get ready for a formal affair in an 85 degree room and then switch rooms when the cooling system didn't work. The next room also remained warm, but was down to 71 degrees. I lost some very sentimental earrings during room switch. Not the Crowne Plaza's fault...but very irritating! February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Friendly We have 4 children ages ranging from 8 months - 9 years old. We were in Indy for a gymnastics meet at the Convention Center and the skywalk from Union Station to the Convention Center was a MUST with 4 small children. The hotel was clean, and the staff was wonderful! We will be coming back soon to stay in a train car!! Thanks so much! February 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Love this location Normally I have a very good experience at this hotel. First room I was in did not have any hot water at sink or any water in the shower. The staff was nice enough to upgrade me after that but even that room had some shotty work done when they redid this hotel. You can see drywall dust on switch plates, loose screws on switch plate, a toilet not lined up correctly. Attention to detail did not seem to be priority on the remodel. Maybe it will get better after remodel. Also, usually get more recognition for being priority member? February 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Hotel was nice and clean. They are remodeling so that was a small eye sore but not too bad. I would stay here again. Comfortable bed and clean room! January 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable rooms The king room was agreat size and the bed was very comfortable . The open I -beam structure and riveted I-beams added to the ambiance . The staff were quite knowledgeable and very helpful .offering us the use iof the shuttle to take us to a pharmacy . We would stay there again . January 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Train Car Suite My wife and I stayed in one of the Train Car Suites and it was awesome and will be staying there again. The room was super clean and comfortable, remember its a train car so don't think big it was narrow and long which was just fine for us...come on its a train car. The hotel is in a great location for the city, you can walk to everything from here. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by loved the train car...will share this wonderful experience Very pleasant staff. Loved the train car. Felt like we were back in time. Will remember this stay for along time. Beautiful surroundings. ..even the ghosts! January 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Trains = No sleep Everything would have been perfect if not for the Train right outside our room. The whole room would shake and it was very loud. Did not sleep all night. The Room was nice and clean. Comfortable bed but we did not realize a train went through all night long. Will not be back. January 1, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Welcome to the Candlewood Suites! The front desk is available 24 hours a day!
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Earn 1000 points per night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading