• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: LOS ANGELES
  • Distance From Hotel: 41.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable fee of 15 dollars the first night and 10 dollars every additional night, up to 150 dollars. Pet must be less than 80 pounds. Agreement must be signed at check in. A record of vaccinations may be required.
Pet deposit amount  15.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:150
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Suites,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:93
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:29
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:119
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA5147

Hotel Offers Comfort and Convenience Near the Irvine Spectrum Center.

Nestled among the palm trees and warm sunshine of Orange County, CA, Candlewood Suites® Orange County/Irvine Spectrum is a top choice when visiting the Irvine Spectrum Center. Our hotel is easily accessible from I-405, I-5 and we are located near the John Wayne Airport (SNA). Our business and vacation travelers choose our hotel because we provide everything you need to stay at your best.

Business
View More

Hotel Offers Comfort and Convenience Near the Irvine Spectrum Center.

Nestled among the palm trees and warm sunshine of Orange County, CA, Candlewood Suites® Orange County/Irvine Spectrum is a top choice when visiting the Irvine Spectrum Center. Our hotel is easily accessible from I-405, I-5 and we are located near the John Wayne Airport (SNA). Our business and vacation travelers choose our hotel because we provide everything you need to stay at your best.

Business travelers find that Candlewood Suites® Orange County/Irvine Spectrum is located in close proximity to major corporations. Irvine, CA is home to the headquarters of Blizzard, Toyota, Broadcom, Verizon, and Fluor. Stay connected with free Wi-Fi access and while you’re living on the go, take advantage of our free laundry service.

At Candlewood Suites® Orange County/Irvine Spectrum, guests find not only incredible scenery, but also shopping outlets and entertainment at The Irvine Spectrum Center. See your favorite band or have a few laughs at Irvine Improv. When you’re ready to settle into your suite, prepare a meal in the full kitchen, or finish a project at the executive desk in all suites. End your day with a movie from our Lending Library, a fun board game from our Lending Locker, a good work out in the Candlewood Gym or a comfort snack from our Candlewood Cupboard.

Whatever you are looking for, we are sure you can find it here at our hotel.

View Less
Features
The hotel's location in Orange County offers easy access to the excitement of Irvine without that busy, crowded feeling. The hotel is hidden away in the quiet Hoag-Irvine campus on Hoag Irvine Road.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 136 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good people, decent stay It was a decent stay. Firmly in the neutral territory all around. Very polite staff, and conveniently located to surrounding area attractions. Finding the hotel can be a little challenging, but it is clearly NOT the fault of the hotel, rather GPS global info. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent Hotel on a Steep Hill The staff was Great! Morgan, Riza, Charlie, the tall cool guy in the evening and my housekeeper were very nice and helpful. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay for a great price Staff are exceptional and accommodating. The hotel, while located near the interstate and in the back of shopping area, is a pearl waiting to be discovered. Inside accommodations are excellent, quiet, clean and up-to-date. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay with a lot of conveniences Checked in for a week long conference and there was a variety of shops and restaurants that fit my needs. The breakfast was always hot and well maintained. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What more can I say...IT WAS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!!!! This hotel, from the moment you check in to the moment you check out, is everything that you could ever want in a 'home away from home'. We booked the 2 queen suite, and it was so spacious, and so CLEAN! I slept sooooooo good and it was so easy to relax after a long day at work. I was on a business trip with my family for an entire week, and this hotel and it's entire staff met our every need, and even anticipated a few that we didn't even know about yet. Morgan at the front desk is totaly awesome!!!!! You go girl! The GM Charlie is so engaged in his hotel and guests! You can tell he takes a LOT of pride in what he does! There's just NOT enough nice things that I can say about this hotel. If I mentioned every single one of them I would have to write a novel! lol Bottom line...if you plan on ever visiting beautiful San Clemente?...STAY AT THIS HOTEL! You will NOT be disappointed! It is TOALLY worth every dime! July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a few minor quirks! loved this hotel, but a few minor quirks. the coffee is terrible and the shower curtain should be longer. we had a shower mat in the room the first and third day, but one was not provided the second day. very slippery! July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff We enjoyed our two days in San Clemente; hotel very relaxing and quiet. Rooms are nicely updated and have comfy bed and pillows. Happy to find refrigerator in room for beach picnic supplies. July 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed I was able to relax in a comfortable room after a long day of travel on an airplane and then tackling the joy of an unfamiliar rental car.. July 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty Room I opened my room door and was suprised to find dirty towels in the bathroom and an unmade bed. I'm not a clean freak but this was distrubing. Rooms are not quiet...expect to wake up several times while other folks return to their rooms. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Beautiful hotel We were very pleasantly surprised. It is a Spanish style hotel with nicely appointed rooms. The staff was great and the breakfast was actually nice. If the dining room is full, you can bring your breakfast outside which we did. It is a little difficult to find the hotel. You have to drive through a parking lot for some type of strip mall, but worth the effort as it is privately located above the area and a very nice hotel. We would definitely stay there again on our way through to San Diego. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by relaxing this is a excellent property, we have stayed here in the past and they continue to offer a great experiance June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by COMFORTABLE AND GREAT SERVICE WE HAD A GREAT TIME AND THE PEOPLE WERE NICE. THE WEATHER WAS BEAUTIFUL AND THERE WAS A SERENE AIR ABOUT THE PLACE June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, friendly Our room was on the second floor and very quiet. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. A five minute ride to beaches and the pier. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Great room with excellent staff that take pride in this hotel.. June 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Customer service wasn't adequate We were given a room and it was all tore up. Went back to the desk and the person called someone from walkie talkie. They confirmed room wasn't ready. We told them we needed a room ASAP becasue we were late to get my son to his game and needed to check in. He said it would take 30 minutes. We asked if there was another room and he said no. My wife told him what was going on he still said no. We wouldn't let him off the hook with that answer and he found us something. Why did it have to go that far. There were other things too. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Hotel for Business Trips Clean Easy to Access Comfortable Beds Nice Breakfast in the Morning Good WiFi June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Vacation Just wanted to get away for a few days mid-week to relax. All we wanted was a pool, the ocean, and a pier to fish from. We lucked into finding this hotel. 3 teenage girls, plus my wife and I. We also had my wife's service dog traveling with us. This is a pet friendly hotel, and they always had treat bags out for the dogs (a snack and a poop bag). The staff was fantastic. Always friendly and helpful. When we asked about a location, they immediately pulled it up on the computer and printed out directions. Anything we needed (extra towels, shampoo...) they gladly provided. Even when I was looking at the attraction brochures many hotels stock, they came over and asked if there was anything they could help me find. I've never had that happen before. Room was always clean, and was very comfortable. Even had a balcony. While the view was nothing special, it was nice to sit out there. We were on the 3rd (top) floor, and it was very quiet. Pool was nice, very relaxing. Even though we didn't make use of it, they had a lift at the pool for disabled individuals. No spa here. Breakfast room was open 24/7. Breakfast (6:30-9:30 weekdays) was fantastic. Items varied slightly from day to day. Pancakes, sausage, ham, cinnamon rolls, hot & cold cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, bread & bagels, juices, biscuits & gravy, scrambled eggs or cheese omelets. Really a great buffet, and always stocked. During non breakfast hours, there was always coffee & tea available, and most days fresh fruit. Location was easy to find if you use the hotels directions. DO NOT try to get directions from online or GPS. Down the hill (easy walking distance) is a shopping center with a 99¢ Only Store, Del Taco, Stuft Pizza (really good pizza!) and many other stores. And you're only about a mile from the beach. The front desk will loan you towels and supplies for the beach. Just ask. Unfortunately, the fishing wasn't great at the pier (which was about 3 miles away). Caught some small fish, and a small shark, but tossed them all back. It was still relaxing, which was the whole point of the trip. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect stay one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. Every staff member shows great pride in their work..Highly recommended June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Excellent branch. Very clean , good internet, friendly people. June 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by definition of mediocre I would fire anyone satisfied withe a mediocre performance. this place was mediocre. nothing screaming at me to go to the front desk and demand finding another place, etc. But the common areas were dirty; room in sore need of all new furnishings; porch included afilthy area. surroundings were great if you drive to the beach, etc. only stay here for work, business, or family events needing accomodations. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by jazzycouple Address rather difficult to find, but hotel great, service wonderful, and nicely appointed, clean room June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Service! Staff was very personable and went out of their way to meet our needs. Holiday Inn Express is my 1st choice in Hotel accommodations for business and pleasure. June 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, convenient hotel (if you can find it) The San Clemente North Holiday Inn Express was very convenient for my recent stay in San Clemente. The room and facility were clean and comfortable. The only problems I had were finding the hotel in the middle of the night (my navigation directed me to the neighborhood behind the hotel, which was stressful since I am unfamiliar with the area) and the breakfast provided was, in my opinion, horrible. I would recommend getting breakfast somewhere else and possibly call the hotel before you arrive to get directions. The front desk person told me they have tried to get the directions corrected with Google maps, but haven't been able to at this time. In their defense I would say the front desk person did stay on the phone with me and directed me to the hotel which I really appreciated. I will stay here again when I visit San Clemente. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent The staff, surroundings and breakfast were AWESOME! The only thing missing was a Jacuzzi. I will definitely stay here again. I can't wait! June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Location Convenient location and beautifully appointed hotel. June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room and breakfast were very nice I recently used miles I had to stay here with my husband and our 9 month old son for a mini getaway. The rooms and breakfast were great the staff was very nice. The only negative I had was that I was really looking forward to taking my son into the pool for his very first time. I liked that the pool was saltwater instead of chlorine for his delicate skin, unfortunate both days that we were there the pool was closed. So I was very disappointed as that was the one thing I was looking forward to was relaxing by the pool and taking my son in the pool for his first experience. Other then that our experience was great. I would have given all 5 stars, if I got everything I was hoping for. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff and well kept up facility We stayed recently in the flagship IHG property in Paris and our needs were much better addressed in San Clemente. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and friendly staff We stayed at this hotel after reading positive reviews about it. We knew we might have some trouble finding it because of its hidden location in the back end of a shopping center. There is one sign at the end of the street with another smaller "lodging" sign next to it pointing guests in the right direction. A few suggestions: More signs along the way would be very helpful just so people know they are on the right track. Maybe even the hotel logo or word "hotel" with an arrow on the pavement leading you toward the driveway. Installing stop signs near the lower parking lot because it is difficult to see cars coming up or going down the driveway. And putting a ramp at the lower level back door entrance to the hotel so you don't have to lift your heavy luggage up the steps. Other than that, the rooms were nice and clean with updated furniture and paint and a very comfy bed. Glad there was a frig, microwave, and coffee pot. Alan at the front desk was friendly and made us feel welcomed as soon as we walked in. May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Softball tournament Stay Alan at the front desk was terrific! Very friendly and helpful. This facility needs a Jacuzzi/Hot Tub!!!!! Maybe a bar/lounge area. May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Very welcoming staff from check-in to check-out. Beautiful rooms with comfy beds and large pillows (not square ones). Best breakfast ever! Will definitely recommend it to family and friends. May 28, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk Entrance to check-in lobby. Exterior Feature Exterior Feature
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading