• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: JACKSONVILLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. Fee of 15.00 for the first night, and a 10.00 fee for each additional night with a cap of 150.00 for 7 plus nights. Pet can not weigh more than 80 lbs. Pet contract must be signed.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
St. Johns Town Center Mall
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
The Jacksonville Landing
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Prime Osborn Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:9.0MI
Attraction:
Jacksonville Beach Fishing Pier
Distance From Hotel:12.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:111
  • Total number of suites:111
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:111
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:111
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:FL4576

Prime Location for Your Extended Stay Near Jacksonville, Florida Beaches

Located off I-95 in the Southpoint Business District, the Candlewood Suites® Jacksonville hotel boasts spacious suites and great location for your short or long-term stay. Bask in the sun along sandy beaches, bustle about corporate parks and take delight in nearby shopping and entertainment. Be at your best while staying at our hotel in Jacksonville, FL.

Business travelers appreciate an easy commute
View More

Prime Location for Your Extended Stay Near Jacksonville, Florida Beaches

Located off I-95 in the Southpoint Business District, the Candlewood Suites® Jacksonville hotel boasts spacious suites and great location for your short or long-term stay. Bask in the sun along sandy beaches, bustle about corporate parks and take delight in nearby shopping and entertainment. Be at your best while staying at our hotel in Jacksonville, FL.

Business travelers appreciate an easy commute to downtown corporations: AT&T, CSX, Blue Cross Blue Shield and Fidelity National Financial. Our hotel is located near the Mayport Naval Station and JAX Naval Air Station. Medical guests travel to the Mayo Clinic, Shands Hospital and Baptist Medical Center in no time. After a long day, relax in spacious suites featuring full kitchens, executive desks, and plush bedding.

Vacationers visiting Jacksonville, FL love the hotel's proximity to downtown attractions like the Museum of Science & History (MOSH) and the Jacksonville Municipal Stadium, home of the NFL's Jaguars. Go shopping at St. Johns Town Center, only 10 minutes away.

We offer free amenities that compliment any schedule. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, our 24-hour Candlewood Gym, our Candlewood Cupboard convenience store and free laundry service. Our Lending Library is perfect for movie nights while our Lending Locker is stocked with household items and more. Come experience a better way to stay.

View Less
Features
Ensuring easy access to major area highways, including I-95, JT Butler Boulevard/Hwy-202, Florida 9A, I-10 and I-295, this Jacksonville, Florida hotel's location will suit every travel itinerary.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 429 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff, Room Great, Every Thing Just Wonderful !!!! Really Enjoy the Hotel and every thing that came with it. will stay there again. May 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Waste of money Upon arrival the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, the lobby seemed small but fairly updated. Upon checking into the room, it was clean but extremely outdated. The television was flat panel but the furnishings, wall paper, and outside balcony could have used some updates. As we were there for a festival, the bar, Starbucks and restaurant were all closed by 1000pm and unlike other hotels there was no snack counter or vending machines to purchase late night snacks. The room is more of a Motel standard than a 3-4 star downtown convention style hotel room. May 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Staff I was in Jacksonville for training. The facility was fine and accommodated our meeting needs nicely. The front desk staff were friendly, professional and always on their game. I wish I had gotten the names of the staff so I could have given them more recognition. One young man by the name of Terance gave me a recommendation for a barber (unfortnately I didn't have time to check out his recommendation#. The valet, Nik, was also outstanding. Here's where it gets tricky. The facility is LONG overdue for a "refresh." The headboard on my bed #Room 511) was cracked and had grafiti. The room was clean, but worn. I was also disappointed that the hotel didn't have an airport shuttle. The hotel got the job done, I just can't say that I would recommend it for a business or leisure. I really want to. Let's say that the staff was as exceptional as the physical facility was May 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the level of hotel I was used to with the Crowne Plaza name I have stayed at other crowne plazas before but this was a business trip and I had brought along a coworker who was staying in another room as well. I thought that booking him on a riverside view room would be pleasing, but as he reports, it was extremely noisy and windy and he was not able to enjoy the balcony. He went to eat dinner in the lounge area our second night and was harassed by a drunk man who was trying to get women to go home with him and other men to help him recruit. He had multiple difficulties with his room key and at one point we were 15 minutes late for a meeting because he was standing in line so long to get it reprogrammed. I called numerous times to have the valet pull my car around and they did not answer. When I called the front desk they just transferred me to the same extension where it just rang and rang. The parking situation is very poor and there's no place to park if you just need to run inside for a few minutes, or if you have visitors. The underground garage self parking is well lit, but still not a place I was willing to go at night as a female traveling alone. The room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable, however I did find a yellow stain on the sheets I was using and took a picture of it. The restaurant was nice and the drinks were made well, however it was very understaffed. The TV channel selection was good but the wireless internet was consistently slow. The provided hair dryer was extremely low powered and did not produce very much heat - with my long hair it was totally incapable of doing even an average job. My coworker is not going to let me pick the hotel for the next trip, and I will not be recommending this hotel to anyone. May 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed Feelings about the stay Overall our stay was just ok, my husband was very disappointed in the hotel because the web sit said the hotel had a spa and the spa was no where to be found. The house keepers never cleaned our rooms and we stayed two nights and house the keeper that was working our floor was rude. Other then that we was at the hotel for a wedding that was wonderful. May 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great view of St. John's river This is my 3rd stay (for business) and for last 2 trips, I asked for an upgrade with room facing St. John's river and both times were accomodated with ease and no extra charges! For this trip, there was a mix up with credit card usage and my personal card was charged the room charge versus my company's card. I had to ask twice to get this done correctly. Maybe more training in this area but I understand mistakes happen and Gabrielle (I think this is her name) was the one who fixed it.. she is a gem and great service! Susan May 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Quick Visit Stayed on April 19th for a quick overnight visit to see the Lewis Black show at the Florida Theater. Check-in was quick, dinner at the Ruth Chris Steak House before the show was very good - fast service so we could make it to the show on time. Very easy access to the theater by our own car. Tricky driving back and we missed the turn and ended up on the interstate for 2 extra miles before having to turn around. The bed in the hotel was extremely restful. Older room but neat and organized. Bath small but fine for a quick overnight stay. Valet parked car and it was easy and convenient. I would go back again for one night to see more shows or to spend the day at the river-walk area. May 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by noise extremely noisy .. highway noise also guest noise during the night.. had to change rooms for noise.. stayed once before and had the other side of the hotel and it was fine.. asked for a room on that side and they could not accomodate us.. the clerk was not very helpful.. made us feel that we were just inventing the noise.. look out the window.. highways..... May 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! Excellent location. Friendly staff. Great facility. Really enjoyed my stay. Having to choose to either pay a $10/day or $14/day fee for parking or valet was the only negative. May 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed I booked this hotel based on the reviews and feel that they were just not accurate. I agree with the one review that the property is out of date- it is. Our rooms, we had 2, smelled of smoke and we were in non-smoking rooms. The air conditioning was extremely loud as was the road next to the hotel. I had to sleep with a pillow over my head. The room looked straight out of the late 70s/early 80s. Old, dark, cramped and disappointing. It did not make for a good nights sleep. If we were staying in Jacksonville longer I would have checked out and found a different hotel. I travel often, staying in different hotels 3 times a month. I was extremely disappointed. I expected more from the Crowne Plaza. We had breakfast in the American Cafe and sent back half of the food. It was cold and had no flavor. It was not inexpensive either. The service in the restaurant was poor- I had to ask the waitress to come to our table numerous times. Half the food was taken off of our bill. On a positive note the front desk staff was professional and helpful. This property needs updating. I would not stay there again. May 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not the usual Crown Plaza Experience Surely this hotel was not built as a Crown Plaza. Bathrooms were small. Room layout was not comfortable. Staff was wonderful. Everyone was helpful and provided correct information. Front Desk was excellent. Helped with directions to the hotel. Due to two other events the nights we were there, we could not change rooms since the hotel was booked. May 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great place to stay for a short period I traveled to attend a workshop near the hotel and decided to rent a car to move in Jax, which was a good idea. When we arrived there was a parking spot to register. We did register in very little minutes which was excellent. We even had time to take our luggage to the rooms and leave immediately (the wholet hing took less than the permmited 15 mins parking). When coming back at night I had the chance to take a real good look at the room. It was comfy and clean though a bit old. The bathroom was ok but it could be easily renewed. Toilettries were neat though I had the feeling that the lotion was already used by a previous guest (it was almost empty). The shower was good too. The closet was good enough to fit all my belongings and it looked clean. I did not use anything from there though. The TV area was fine. I always read all the mags, sheets and stuff the hotel leaves in the room. The information folder had a sheet with the hotel logo but it was dirty (very dirty). TV was good, coffee machine was a bit old but worked fine (coffee was regular). The carpet on the room was fine, clean and did not smell funny at all. The working desk was confortable and did help a lot in my night work. I left the best for the last: The bed was AWESOME! All the pillows and the bed made a great night experience despite the very little hours of sleep I had. That was worth the whole trip. Checkout at 5am was just as good as checkin. We had some changes in my invoice but the lady on the clerk made them in a jiffy. It was great! One only detail that I found was that the room was a bit noisy from the other rooms, but that did not stop me from having a great rest. I did not have the chance to check the gym, the pool, the restaurants or the executive center, but I'm sure that they're just as good. The only little setbacks for me were, in one hand, that I had to pay for parking lot. For the price paid, a complimentary service would not hurt. On the other hand, being on a corner of the hotel, the wireless was pretty bad and most of my stay I had no connection or whatsoever. Maybe better/bigger wireless antennas would solve this small issue. In general, it was a great experience and would indeed go back to this hotel! May 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service My stay included a riverfront junior suite next to the elevators. My overall experience was excellent due to the exceptional staff. However, the elevators was a constant alarm, the fridge in the room was warm, and the microwave was missing. Thanks to Erin at the front desk, the microwave issue was resolved immediately. I have intentions to stay at this Crown Plaza again, faraway from the elevators. The view of the St. Johns and its surroundings are a beautiful site to see and view at night and in the morning. May 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Melissa at the front desk was the first person I saw when entering the hotel. She had a nice smile and was very friendly. I travel a lot and stay at Marriott properties mostly. This was nice change. Thank you, Tracey April 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good points/bad points Our room was large and comfortable. It looked as if it have been recently updated. The room was clean and the maid staff did a good job. I did not sleep well on the mattress. It was a memory foam type which I have had in other hotels and not slept well. There were no towel racks in the bathroom and no space to really leave things out. The shelving provided was in use with hotel "things". There was just one peg on the bathroom door. There was no refrigerator in the room and it wasn't until our stay was almost over that we found out we could request one. April 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Really out of date We came in for just one night before an early flight the next day. Kids tired after a great vacation, and Mom and Dad tired from the drive from Orlando. Looking for a nice comfortable room to just relax and get a good night sleep. Friendly staff provided us an unexpected surprise as we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite...cool, a really nice last night on vacation. Nope. The Presidential Suite looked straight out of the late 70s/early 80s. It was so outdated we would have preferred a small updated room. Also took the staff a long time to bring bedding up so our young kids could sleep on the pull-out sofa... Needless to say, was not a great way to cap off our vacation. Oh, and the water took forever to get warm in the AM, I thought I was going to get a cold shower to boot. Will not come back and pretty disappointed in the Crowne Plaza brand. April 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by servicing the room etc. Have been wondering why at 3:30 pm we had to ask to have the room cleaned. Also broken glass from a wine glass was in the hallway along with bits of paper for 2 days. This doesn't do much for the "ambiance". The breakfast buffet did not look very appealing with lots of green still on the cantaloupe and all the fruit cut so haphazardly. Gives the impression that someone doesn't care. Incidentally, some of your washcloths and handtowels should be retired. I have seen better quality in Walmart. April 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful Staff Guy at check in seemed a bit lost and no recognition as Platinum members. Valet guy was super friendly and patient while we unloaded two vehicles and our kids. Valet guy upon departure was also very friendly and helpful. No close restaurants or activities when walking with two small children, but sounded like there was a lot to do if you made the walk across the bridge. Valet recommended Kickbacks and gave us a menu. They delivered and was kid friendly as they had everything from Steak to Breakfast to Desserts and even Ramen Noodles and Hamburger Helper! Great pool area and nice walkway along the river. There are restaurants on premise but we did not try them. April 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Facility We held our Navy reunion at the hotel and they did a very nice job of accomodating us. It is a nice facility with a helpful staff. April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place! I use this property quite a lot and many of the staff now refer to me by name at the front desk and in the restaurant. It's nice to get a friendly "Welcome Back Mr. ______" A great place to stay. April 18, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by not worth the money First of all- I am a gold member in the priority club membership program- so I stay at many IHG hotels. I was in room 828- the emergency stairways takes up half of the space in the room. The room was on the parking lot side of the building. The hotel was not sold out and so I wondered why I had to looked at the parking lot instead of the river view that enticed me to stay at the hotel. The towels were old and mis-matched and very scratchy. The alarm clock had an instruction sheet to set the alarm- still could not figure it out (really we just want a wal-mart special- $10- no instruction sheet needed.) The bed is positioned so that the light from the hall is in view from the bed(go in there at night and turn off the lights in the room and see how much light comes into the room- really-try it) I'm sure there were better rooms available- did I mention I'm a gold memeber?? April 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable I loved my stay at Crown Plaza Jacksonville-Riverfront. It was quiet, clean and warm surroundings. The staff treated me very well, they were friendly and professional. I was so pleased that I was provided with a car to take me to the Port of Jacksonville. April 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Absent maid Fair room, adequate, nice river view. Maids were almost non existent. Bath was not cleaned at all during our 4 day stay. Room did not even get new towels or linens one day. Spoke to desk about it, no real improvement. April 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice but not 4 Stars Just stayed in April 2013. Room was in need of renovation, toilet kept running on and off alll night. Nice and bed was comfortable and I felt safe (single woman). Just would not consider this a 4 star hotel. April 13, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overall The hotel is very convenient and has a great view. However, it is very tired and, as a result, the employees are also tired. The lobby has been updated and is pleasant but the rooms, hallways, parking, etc are as they were decades ago. Even the towels were from the day it was built. April 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Put your wake up call in twice, or you will be late Wake up call for 6:30 was never given We woke up 45 min late, wife almost missed job interview. Shower was plugged and backed up with God knows what. It was totally gross. Staff was nice overall.Bed was very uncomfortable. April 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 stars across the board Front desk staff always go above and beyond to help me achieve my goals during my stay. Crowne Plaza is my only choice when visiting Downtown Jacksonville. Ruth's Chris on the same property is a bonus and the beautiful riverfront view to boot. Many "thank you"(s) Bridgette, LaToya and David. Apologies if I spelled any of the names incorrectly. April 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great value Location was great; service impeccable; ambiance exceptional. April 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice Very nice for the money! The entire staff treated us with kindness and respect, in particular the valets were awesome! April 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Riverfront beauty! While the property may be a bit dated the staff and location make this a lovely place to stay!!! Friendly, kind, accomodating and helpful all describe the staff, esepcially Terrance at the front desk. The view is awesome! April 4, 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 16 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Scenery / Landscape Front Desk St. Johns Town Center Mall - 5 Miles Entrance Hotel Lobby Entrance
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading