• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: JACKSONVILLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. Fee of 15.00 for the first night, and a 10.00 fee for each additional night with a cap of 150.00 for 7 plus nights. Pet can not weigh more than 80 lbs. Pet contract must be signed.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
St. Johns Town Center Mall
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
The Jacksonville Landing
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Prime Osborn Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:9.0MI
Attraction:
Jacksonville Beach Fishing Pier
Distance From Hotel:12.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:111
  • Total number of suites:111
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:111
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:111
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:FL4576

Prime Location for Your Extended Stay Near Jacksonville, Florida Beaches

Located off I-95 in the Southpoint Business District, the Candlewood Suites® Jacksonville hotel boasts spacious suites and great location for your short or long-term stay. Bask in the sun along sandy beaches, bustle about corporate parks and take delight in nearby shopping and entertainment. Be at your best while staying at our hotel in Jacksonville, FL.

Business travelers appreciate an easy commute
View More

Prime Location for Your Extended Stay Near Jacksonville, Florida Beaches

Located off I-95 in the Southpoint Business District, the Candlewood Suites® Jacksonville hotel boasts spacious suites and great location for your short or long-term stay. Bask in the sun along sandy beaches, bustle about corporate parks and take delight in nearby shopping and entertainment. Be at your best while staying at our hotel in Jacksonville, FL.

Business travelers appreciate an easy commute to downtown corporations: AT&T, CSX, Blue Cross Blue Shield and Fidelity National Financial. Our hotel is located near the Mayport Naval Station and JAX Naval Air Station. Medical guests travel to the Mayo Clinic, Shands Hospital and Baptist Medical Center in no time. After a long day, relax in spacious suites featuring full kitchens, executive desks, and plush bedding.

Vacationers visiting Jacksonville, FL love the hotel's proximity to downtown attractions like the Museum of Science & History (MOSH) and the Jacksonville Municipal Stadium, home of the NFL's Jaguars. Go shopping at St. Johns Town Center, only 10 minutes away.

We offer free amenities that compliment any schedule. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, our 24-hour Candlewood Gym, our Candlewood Cupboard convenience store and free laundry service. Our Lending Library is perfect for movie nights while our Lending Locker is stocked with household items and more. Come experience a better way to stay.

View Less
Features
Ensuring easy access to major area highways, including I-95, JT Butler Boulevard/Hwy-202, Florida 9A, I-10 and I-295, this Jacksonville, Florida hotel's location will suit every travel itinerary.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 93 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Staff and service were excellent The overall experience was very pleasant. The staff was very competent and professional. We would not hesitate to book another stay at this hotel. February 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dinner This hotel had a light supper for the guests. This was very nice for us because we were hungry and tired. Didn't have to go out for dinner. February 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel This hotel is located on the west side of Jacksonville, far back from the main road. The lobby and breakfast area was very nice. February 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The room When I first went into the room it smelled clean after looking around checking out the bathroom everything was nice and neat . I really like the amount of pillows to choose from. About the service I forgot my toothpaste and shaving cream the lady at the front desk was more than happy to help. When I left I ran into the maid service they were very nice. For breakfast all the food was very well displayed Everything was very clean and the nice lady took care of all the tables . If I am in the area again I would like to stay there I had a great time. Hey happy traveler Matt. February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, as always The service and care we received was excellent, as always. I had my entire family staying there, due to a death in the family and they enjoyed the amenities of the hotel and the care of the staff. This property is our choice over every other hotel available in the JAX Metro area; I recommend it to friends that are traveling to or through JAX. February 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fits the standard for Holiday Inn Express This is what you expect from a Holiday Inn Express - comfortable and reliable. Fitness Room needs attention. January 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Only problem was the breakfast closing at 9:30 instead of 10:00 January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to lay your head for a night Was tired from driving all day and the check-in, bed and room met my needs. Thanks. January 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs some help!!!! Not recognized as Priority Rewards Club member upon arrival. Did not give a receipt at desk either on check in or on check out until I asked for it. Did not get Club courtesy packet upon arrival. Ran out of hot water during morning shower. The breakfast bar was unacceptable ... omlettes were burned and the staff member left only two burned ones in the tray and preferred to talk with a few guests rather than tend to her duties at the counter. And there was no gluten-free cereal for my wife, who cannot eat gluten based foods. I am accustomed to a much better experience at the other Holiday Inn Express hotels I have stayed at. This facility in Jacksonville needs to have some service upgrades. December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always wonderful Have stayed here many times and it is always great. Clean, comfortable rooms. Great staff as well as being pet friendly makes this location hands down the best place to stay while traveling Would certainly recommend December 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lucky find This hotel environment is clean, well maintained, and conveniently appointed. My room was quite clean, well equipped and maintained. I found the room to be very comfortable, and the bed quite pleasant to sleep in. This hotel featured one of the better breakfast services I've seen. The Hostess I dealt with was cheerful, efficient and very helpful to me. Withstanding my late arrival time, and the fact that I did not make a reservation, she provided me a good room at a surprisingly low cost. (I felt like I had ripped them off, but she was very cheerful about the whole thing so I took advantage of it). I would certainly recommend this hotel to travelers, families, and senior folks all. November 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Unprofessional Staff I am embarrassed to say I stayed at this hotel. I arrived after midnight on the coldest night of the season - and was unable to enter the hotel because two employees were choosing to leave their post together instead of one of them staying to check in guests - for well over 10 minutes. I would not want to hazard a guess to the actions of those two employees but was told that one was fired so far due to the video footage of their behavior. Once I was able to get an employee to respond to repeated telephone calls, her attitude was atrocious, berating me for not using the buzzer which I had been doing since my arrival, not properly checking me in to a room type I reserved, not providing internet access code, etc. The manager and general manager compounded the poor service. As a repeat customer, my expectations were to be compensated for my hotel expense through a complimentary room rate or points. I would suggest IHG reconsider this franchisee (Merks) as a representative of their company. (And, I was refused any information on how to reach the owner of this hotel). November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The room was comfortable and cozy. The staff has always been extremely professional, especially Samantha. She's always helpful and pleasant no matter what time of day it is. I would recommend this hotel if you want a nice relaxing stay. November 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Air conditioning I found the air conditioning unit to be very noisy. November 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by thoughtful staff the day that we arrived we were told we were supposed to be in a room on the 2nd floor. She told us she was moving us to a higher floor because there was an event going on and she did not want us disturbed that night. Thanks for thinking ahead. October 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by In a pinch After staying at the Holiday Inn Express in St. Augustine the week before, this location failed to meet the HIGH BAR set by the previous location!! The facilities are more worn and don't seem to have the same attention to detail or pride of ownership exhibited in St. Augustine. This is comparing apples to apples as both are HIE!! The drunk construction workers who were dribbling beer in the elevator and who were lined up on the curb at the entrance as they welcomed me with their smoke didn't set a good tone, but I was exhausted and did get a good night's sleep. I just realized I didn't receive a Priority Club gift! October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Very Nice Hotel Property is beautiful and nicely located. Staff was very courteous and professional. Any needs were immediately attended to. We were given a very spacious corner room that was as nice as any luxury hotel. The king bed was very comfortable and the amenities plentiful. We felt safe and welcome. This was our second stay at this property and will be sure to stay here again. Highly recommended! October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to Stay Driving home from Atlanta, I hit the "wall" at 1 am and had to pull over. My GPS directed me to this little GEM! Everyone was SOOOOOOOOOO nice and my short stay was perfect. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, pet-friendly property Arrived early to attend a funeral. The front desk manager expedited our check-in though initially there was no clean room available. Our king suite was very comfortable, clean, and convenient. October 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by front desk Very disappointed with front desk staff - felt like we were bothering her. We have a long history with your chain and feel this was the most unfriendly hotel we have visited. Had 2 interactions with no change in attitude. September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, Great location, Great service Great experience, the night clerk Chet was very customer focused, represented HI outstanding. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful rooms plenty of space Good facility good staff clean rooms breakfast ok but would like to see more variety September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, helpful at all times Nice roomy rooms. Comfortable beds Great breakfast selection Great location Great staff; very helpful at all times August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ON MY TOP 10 LIST From the minute you check in you will notice a difference at this hotel. Staff very freindly, helpfull. Rooms are quite nice and house keeping staff does a great job on servicing the rooms without disturbing late night workers who sleep in. Thanks and I will return to this location. August 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good place to stop We don't often stay in a holiday inn as we have more availability to another brand. However, this was a good experience and we will consider a Holiday Inn Express again. August 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, not so nice service Everything was as expected upon arrival to the hotel. Nice, entrance, clean, everything you'd expect, except there was nobody at the desk. Waited a while (maybe 10 min) and nobody came. I decided that I would find the public restroom as I'd been on the road a while. As I walked down the hall I saw the employee and a female. It looked like he was doinga tour of sorts so I didn't have an issue with it. He saw me and asked if I needed help to which I responded I needed to use the facilities but after I would need to check in. I did my business, and made my way back toward the front desk. Nobody was there. I waited a bit more and he appeared with the female still in tow. She went and sat in the dining room area and he proceeded to now greet me, rushing of course. Turns out the IGH website allowed me to book a room that was unavailable according to the hotel. After 15 min of waiting, listening to the employee talk to another customer on the phone (phone rang while I was waiting) before being given a room key. Other than this horrible check in the stay went well. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of my favorite I've spent quite a few nights here this year due to work very close to your hotel. Your staff and housekeeping are to be recognized. Thank you and I will return to this location. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by cool rooms room excellent but if you like a chilly room during summer not here, air conditioning not very good. August 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average hotel I have stayed in many Holiday Inns, this one is nice hotel. However, sadly the staff was not properly trained and some of them were not readily to help guests. For example when asked for a tray from the kitchen during breakfast at 9:00 am EST, I was given one all wet and dirty, and the person who helped me did not clean it or dry it out because she was eating. She was actually upset that I was interrupting her while she was having breakfast. The business center printer was not working, I was told that it was going to be fixed (7:00 AM) , I came back (09:00 PM) to print my business docs that I needed to print, it was still not working, and they asked me to please come back later, funny. July 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Pathetic reservation system For confirmation number 60295759, booked: Number of Rooms: 1 Room Type: 1 KING BED LEISURE NONSMOKING per your email. Upon arrival, they showed room type of 2 double beds. This is the second time my confirmed booking shows up as something else at the destination. Unacceptable! June 18, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Scenery / Landscape Front Desk St. Johns Town Center Mall - 5 Miles Entrance Hotel Lobby Entrance
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading