• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: JACKSONVILLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. Fee of 15.00 for the first night, and a 10.00 fee for each additional night with a cap of 150.00 for 7 plus nights. Pet can not weigh more than 80 lbs. Pet contract must be signed.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
St. Johns Town Center Mall
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
The Jacksonville Landing
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Prime Osborn Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:9.0MI
Attraction:
Jacksonville Beach Fishing Pier
Distance From Hotel:12.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:111
  • Total number of suites:111
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:111
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:111
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:FL4576

Prime Location for Your Extended Stay Near Jacksonville, Florida Beaches

Located off I-95 in the Southpoint Business District, the Candlewood Suites® Jacksonville hotel boasts spacious suites and great location for your short or long-term stay. Bask in the sun along sandy beaches, bustle about corporate parks and take delight in nearby shopping and entertainment. Be at your best while staying at our hotel in Jacksonville, FL.

Business travelers appreciate an easy commute
View More

Prime Location for Your Extended Stay Near Jacksonville, Florida Beaches

Located off I-95 in the Southpoint Business District, the Candlewood Suites® Jacksonville hotel boasts spacious suites and great location for your short or long-term stay. Bask in the sun along sandy beaches, bustle about corporate parks and take delight in nearby shopping and entertainment. Be at your best while staying at our hotel in Jacksonville, FL.

Business travelers appreciate an easy commute to downtown corporations: AT&T, CSX, Blue Cross Blue Shield and Fidelity National Financial. Our hotel is located near the Mayport Naval Station and JAX Naval Air Station. Medical guests travel to the Mayo Clinic, Shands Hospital and Baptist Medical Center in no time. After a long day, relax in spacious suites featuring full kitchens, executive desks, and plush bedding.

Vacationers visiting Jacksonville, FL love the hotel's proximity to downtown attractions like the Museum of Science & History (MOSH) and the Jacksonville Municipal Stadium, home of the NFL's Jaguars. Go shopping at St. Johns Town Center, only 10 minutes away.

We offer free amenities that compliment any schedule. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, our 24-hour Candlewood Gym, our Candlewood Cupboard convenience store and free laundry service. Our Lending Library is perfect for movie nights while our Lending Locker is stocked with household items and more. Come experience a better way to stay.

View Less
Features
Ensuring easy access to major area highways, including I-95, JT Butler Boulevard/Hwy-202, Florida 9A, I-10 and I-295, this Jacksonville, Florida hotel's location will suit every travel itinerary.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 408 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disapointed We usually like this property. Our latest experience was really disappointing. At check in I was not recognized as a platinum member and my folio was not ready. Check in took way too long. The room we got was average, not the upgrade we were expecting. Very disappointing after a few nice stays, it may be that this person was not trained to recognize the chains best customers or the property doesn't value the higher level customers any more. November 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Amenities not as expected We booked two rooms for my friend school conference. Me and my other friend had a Test and Homework due that night. Valet staff took forever to come and get the car. When we got into the hotel the wifi had issues and when asked at front desk they said our WIFI is over capacity as there are more than 90% using it currently which wasn't even working at 2 am as we waited. When asked front desk to talk to supervisor she said i am the manager and said the same thing. Big inconvenience for business and college guests. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by thank you My #1 choice when in the area. Despite the renovations, I always choose Crowne Plaza. Southbank, Friendly Staff and Great Food.........Thank you. November 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good bed but hall noisy Beds very comfortable. Wait staff very attentive from dining to housekeeping and front desk. Maintenance repaired TV within 5 min of reporting. Meeting rooms sufficient for our needs. Breakfast plates could be warmed. Eggs got cold before I got to my table. Doors slammed shut when patrons forgot to hold them. In spite of signs asking patrons to keep quiet in halls we heard noise up to midnight. Complaints to the desk from other patrons finally quieted them down. Only three carts available for patrons to move belongings to and from room. Better signage naming hotels needed at the off ramp. It slips up on people not familiar with the area. (Many in my group stated having the same problem.) We had to circle around and backtrack after missing the off ramp to River place Blvd. November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Georgia vs Florida Game EVERY YEAR I book this location every year for the next year for the GA vs FL game. This year while spending time in the lounge downstairs left my purse with my credit cards, lisense and $200 cash by mistake. I did not discover that I had left my purse in the bar area until the next morning. I called down to the front desk with hopes that someone had turned it in. Someone HAD turned it in and to my surprise my credit cards, lisense and cash ALL untouched. I was so happy to have my faith in humanity returned in the honestly with the staff and customers that were involved with my situation. Thank you for such a AWESOME stay again this year GO DAWGS!!!! The bar could stay open later than the 11pm on Friday night the EVE of the GA vs FL game for those that choose not to go to the Landings. November 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by DID NOT REQUEST HANDICAPPED ROOM Crown Plaza is usually one of the nicest places I stay; however the Jacksonville riverfront location did not live up to the CP standard. I understand that it was a very busy weekend in Jacksonville, and the hotel was handling a very high number of guests, but as a Platinum member I expected more. I did not request a "mobility" room, and was very disappointed when we checked in. For almost 300 dollars a night, a very small, handicap-accessible room is not what I wanted. November 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Real Nice and Affordable I enjoyed my stay at the Crowne Plaza. The view was wonderful from my balcony BUT we didn't have any chairs out there to really enjoy it like we wanted to. Another flaw with this hotel was the fact the rooms didn't include a refrigerator nor microwave. I would highly recommend this hotel as they have a very nice staff and it is very clean. November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, great service We really enjoy staying at this property. The staff is excellent and always gives great service. The rooms are very nice with great views. The downtown location affords a pleasant experience where we can walk along the river or over the bridge and the water taxi is nice also. November 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! Very nice rooms and great beds! Staff was wonderful too! October 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room re-dos very swank Good up-grades. Shower up-scale. Secure parking. TV card enigmatic ... October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Military Reunion Friendly The Crowne Plaza Jacksonville is a great place for a military reunion. Not only is the hotel well located on the scenic waterfront, the staff knows how to make veterans feel welcome! From the meeting room to sleeping rooms and meals and refreshments, the hotel was AAA-1. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! I've stayed here once a week every week during the fall, and this hotel has been great. The staff is really friendly and very helpful, and the hotel is always well-kept, clean, and great. Definitely recommend! October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great time at the Crowne Plaza, but room for improvement We stayed at the Jacksonville Crown Plaza for one night to celebrate our anniversary. Overall, we had a very nice experience. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. We were able to check in around 2 even though check-in time wasn't until 4, and we were given a complimentary upgrade to a Jr. Suite -- Thanks, CP!! :) The room was clean, comfortable, and very spacious with a balcony that overlooked the St. John's river and the north bank of downtown. We also noted how quiet the rooms were. In the corridor between the elevator to the room, we could hear noise (TV, conversations, kids giggling, etc.). However, once in the room, we didn't hear a thing. The only two areas we thought could be improved were the pool and the breakfast. The pool looked nice. It was good-sized with two fountains, and the deck had plenty of chairs. However, the water was surprisingly cold. If it were in direct sunlight, it would probably have been refreshing. However, for the entire afternoon (at least this time of year -- Mid October), the pool is in the shadow of the hotel. My wife refused to go in past her knees. I swam for about 5 minutes. It would have been nice if the pool were heated. We did find a corner of the pool deck that was in the sun and overlooked the river. We very much enjoyed that. As for breakfast, we had reserved a room package that included breakfast, so in the morning we headed to the hotel's restaurant, which turned out to be very small. We had to wait about 15 minutes for a table. In addition to being crowded, it also appeared to be understaffed. We saw our waiter twice our whole meal: once when we sat down to take our drink order, and again to bring our drinks (ice water) halfway through our meal. I think he had to cover half the restaurant by himself. The food, however, was quite good. We had the buffet, which had the standard fare -- eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries, waffles, fruit, etc. The quality of food was good, but items would run out and not be replaced in a timely fashion. I would think that, especially on busy mornings, if the restaurant only offered the buffet (this morning, they offered both the buffet and menu service), and then had the beverages be self-serve on the buffet, this would alleviate things. The wait staff wouldn't be overburdened, and the guests could get their food & drinks more quickly. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Happy Took my sons to Jacksonville for a Jaguars game. Was able to take a water taxi from the hotel to the stadium. Very nice room and good staff. Very good value. I will be back. October 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Guest Service Overall, I believe that this property has potential if the staff issues were addressed. There is a sense of entitlement of many who make up the staff. The management does seem to strive to achieve its best, but when they're carrying the burden of the team they're leading, they'd be better off without the weight of them team they have. My front desk experience left me aggravated, the person checking me in showed no regard for guest service and seemed to want to be elsewhere. The evening manager did his best to remedy the issue that the front desk employee was unable to, but it did cause a billing issue which resulted in me spending several hours investigating 2 days after I checked out. The valet was very helpful, incredibly friendly, even under stress of working alone on a busy Friday evening. Our room was clean and comfortable, the view was city side and left much to be desired. If you have the option of riverside view, take it. The morning we checked out we had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. I felt so bad for the young staff member who sat us. She works the Starbucks counter and was having to wait tables, fill drinks, place orders, etc. while there were 4 other waitstaff members in the dining room. The breakfast rush was way over, in fact we ate around 11am. All 4 of the others, aside from the wonderful young lady who waited on us, was preoccupied with refilling sugars, condiments and rolling silverware. During the time we were there we were one of 6 tables, between 4 people, that sat guests. Our order was given to the chef through the heat lamps, because the buffet had not been replenished and what was left was dried up from sitting out so long. The floors were an absolute disaster. Trash, food and messes everywhere. I did express my disappointment when we were checking out, but there was no offer to remedy the experience and no empathy was shown. When we left, again the valet was prompt, courteous and incredibly helpful. On Monday I was reviewing the charges on my credit card and realized the wrong card was charged for the room fees, plus an additional $85 was authorized. The front desk manager was polite and proactive when I called, she stated she reversed the charges and would send a follow up email with a receipt. I haven't received that as of today. The property is nice, could be maintained better... but I'm certain that would be done if there were team members who were employed for their desire to serve others with a slave-like spirit, or in the spirit of being hospitable. There are many dynamic individuals who may not have hotel experience, but would shine in this property because they have a positive attitude, and are willing to pull their weight so that everyone wanted to be there to serve others. A few changes in staff is an absolute must for this hotel, that could have great potential, to be one that I'd ever consider staying in again or referring my friends to stay. October 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very enjoyable return to the Jacksonville- Riverfront Crowne Plaza I was a long term guest at this Crowne Plaza in February and March of this year (2013), while I was undergoing medical treatment in Jacksonville. To say that the Crowne Plaza Riverfront helped a lot is an understatement. All of the staff was great and what a treat it was to have Ruth Chris Steak House in the hotel. During that stay the king size temper-pedic bed and the extra large down filled pillows made every night a fabulous night. The room (a junior suite) was extra large and the view out to the river and The Jacksonville Landing was extra special. There were absolutely no complaints about anything on that stay. On my last visit on October 18th, I had a 10th floor river view smaller room with double beds. They were comfortable but not like the king size temper-pedic and the pillows were small and a little lumpy. I got spoiled by the first visit, but this one was very nice anyway. October 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Rude Greeting at Jacksonville Crowne Plaza I arrived at 3pm on 10/09/13, walked up to the only person on duty at the front desk and said "Good afternoon. I'm checking in." The response I received: "Our check in time is 4pm. I'll see if a room is available now."!!!! How rude! NOT "Good afternoon", NOT "Welcome" NOT any greeting appropriate for a IHG club member. Again, very rude & unwelcoming. October 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Elevator noise Our suite was located directly next to the elevator with the headboard immediately adjacent to the elevator. Sleeping was made almost impossible with the noise of the elevator running past the room on a almost continuous basis. October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Non renovated room for full price :( Stayed three nights here for conference. Great location, friendly hotel and restaurant staff. POOR QUALITY FOR FULL PRICE. Friends got a beautiful upper floor renovated at a discount on PRICELINE when I paid full price for an old room with ripped and stained carpet for FULL PRICE. Difficult time and huge hassle adding room nights to existing reservation prior to check in. Poor customer service at central reservations. Recommend skip calling and book online. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay a night or two ! Fantastic Service - Great location - Quiet rooms. Home away from home ! October 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Had a great stay We were your guests for 4 nights while attending a Navy ships reunion. Our stay was wonderful. The check in process was fast and had our reservations ready when we arrived. The rooms and the entire hotel was spotless. What was most outstanding was how friendly the entire staff was. Everyone we encountered spoke to us asking how our stay was and several said if we need anything let them know. You will definitely have our business the next time we are in Jacksonville. October 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for river view and access to Baptist health center The hotel has some refurbished rooms and you should ask for one if possible. River view is preferred over the other side, which is not ugly or industrial, just not as desirable. Location is at the foot of the bridge into downtown Jacksonville, across the river. Boardwalk along the river is nice amenity, and is adjacent the hotel property. Hotel is older but staff seemed well trained and friendly and that makes up for a lot. Breakfast buffet is so-so, not worth leaving the property to avoid. October 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by USS Saratoga Reunion attendee Our room was riverside. Unfortunately, we listened to the bridge traffic all night long. The music from across the river was also heard in our room. The sliding glass doors didn't appear to be well insulated. The beds were o.k. no major complaint with them. Our alarm clock didn't work. Our bedside phone didn't work. Very dim lighting in bathroom...found the vanity light not working at all. Reported to housekeeping, bulb replaced on the 3rd day of stay.The shower didn't seem to ever have hot water. Wouldn't recommend a river view room for the extra charge. Americana restaurant had good food and service. Our Reunion dinner in the hotel with approx. 380 seated for dinner was disappointing. Our food was served cold, broccoli was undercooked and almost impossible to cut with a knife. Fish was cold and roast beef was tough! No bread served with meal or salad. No ice tea and no refill on waters. Bread came after everyone had given up on food served. 10 at our table and no one ate their meal for which very good money was paid. Very disappointing for our table. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HH Reunion In October we had a reunion of the World Famous Hurricane Hunters at this hotel. The staff went out of their way to help us in every way. The rooms were excellent and the staff was always there to say hello and help. I would recommend this hotel to all for a great vacation stay. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Service; Great Location From the moment we arrrived at the hotel until the very last day of our stay, the service afforded my wife and I was exceptional. This staff is more than just trained, their service ethic is instilled in them. As in life in general, things can go wrong. The true measure of service is how the wrong is handled and made right. A couple of examples: We went to make coffee in our room the first morning of our stay and noticed the coffee pot was missing from the room. We called down to room service and they said they would bring up a pot. Our expectations were exceeded when a manager showed up at our door with a freshly brewed pot of coffee and 2 cups! Our in-room coffee pot came later with our order of breakfast in the room. Another example was one day when our in-room breakfast could not be delivered on time and we had to attend a function and therefore had to cancel our order. In addition to receiving complimentary breakfasts, a snack tray was delivered to our room with a hand-written note from the manager. Again, our expectations were exceeded. Everyone on the staff was very friendly and could not help you enough. As I was packing my card the morning of our departure, a member of the staff had just arrived for work and was going into the hotel entrance. Although I did not see her, she cautioned me about leaving driveway because other cars were coming in the same way. That's just an example of the concern that was shown by all of the members of the staff we came in contact with during our stay. We really enjoyed the location right on the St Johns River and view of downton Jacksonville. If we're ever in Jacksonville again, there is no doubt we will stay at Crowne Plaza- Jacksonville Riverfront. October 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected Room on 9th floor facing south (away from river) and the noise from loud vehicles woke us several times both nights. Shower tub had several hairs in it and several on floor of bathroom, it was obvious the maids did not vacuum the bathroom floor due to the hair. Bed was ok, memory mattress, but noticeably was not as firm on the sides as in the middle. Seemed odd since the room itself looked to have been updated in the last year or two. The bathroom vanity had a sink on top, but no counter space. Sliding glass door original lock was broken and hotel had installed a sliding pin lock instead. The sliding glass doors looked very old, and the balcony could easily be accessed by the room next door. No safe in room. Staff were extremely nice, but this is not enough to make us come back next year and will gladly pay the extra to stay downtown. Sorry Crowne Plaza. October 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pro's and con's Pro's: The staff was very helpful. The room was comfortable; the air temperature could easily be adjusted. Internet was easy to access and fast enough for my purposes. We were attending a wedding with a reception in the University Club, which was right next door, walking distance, from the hotel. Couldn't have been more convenient. The price was excellent, particularly with the AAA discount. Con's: our room had few easily accessible electric outlets. There was nowhere to plug in the coffee maker without moving a heavy bed or moving the coffee maker. Fortunately I had brought a power strip that permitted multiple devices in one outlet. We did self parking and the garage floor was wet and dirty. These are minor glitches. We basically enjoyed our stay and found that it was a great value. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff and Very Nice Rooms I stay here once a year for sure, as I attend an annual event in Jacksonville. The rooms are always very comfortable. I always get a king size bed to treat myself, and the room also has a sliding glass door that actually opens onto a balcony. I had the pool and riverfront view, which was just spectacular being able to see the bridge lit up at night, as well as the Friendship Fountain. I had a little hiccup with my A/C not working the morning I was departing, and for the inconvenience I was given a complimentary breakfast! I was already checking out, and they did not have to do this, but this just showed to me that they are genuinely concerned about the experience of the guests. I will continue to use their facility whenever my travels take me to Jacksonville. October 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Internet The internet while free was really slow. In the dial up class. September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff I stayed for 4 nights. I had my original room switched from the 8th floor to the 10th because the hallway smelled from cigarette smoke even though it is a non smoking hotel. The 10th floor has recently been renovated and the room was more than adequate. My only complaint is that the modern sink in the bathroom is too shallow and water kept getting on the floor as a result. The staff members couldn't do enough for me, especially Melissa at the front desk. The cleanliness was appreciated and the staff was always cleaning. The food on the premises is better than average. September 23, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Scenery / Landscape Front Desk St. Johns Town Center Mall - 5 Miles Entrance Hotel Lobby Entrance
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading