• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: JACKSONVILLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets must be declared during guest registration. A non refundable pet fee of US75 for 1 to 6 nights, US150 for 6 plus nights stay, fee is per pet. Each pet less than 80lbs, not to be left unattended, must be on a leash, pet walk area is available.
Pet fee amount  50.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Jacksonville Landing
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:95
  • Car Parking Available
  • Paved parking lot

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:95
  • Total number of suites:95
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:75
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:20
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:79
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:FL6084

Guests Love Jacksonville, FL Hotel's JAXPORT Location

Welcome to Candlewood Suites® Hotel Jacksonville East Merril Road / JAXPORT. Situated within minutes of the sparkling Florida coast, JAXPORT Cruise Terminal and NAS Mayport, this pet friendly hotel's accommodations in Jacksonville offer spacious suites suited for vacation, business, relocation and an extended stay.

The hotel's Jacksonville location offers Florida guests a quick commute to Mayo Clinic and Baptist Medical
View More

Guests Love Jacksonville, FL Hotel's JAXPORT Location

Welcome to Candlewood Suites® Hotel Jacksonville East Merril Road / JAXPORT. Situated within minutes of the sparkling Florida coast, JAXPORT Cruise Terminal and NAS Mayport, this pet friendly hotel's accommodations in Jacksonville offer spacious suites suited for vacation, business, relocation and an extended stay.

The hotel's Jacksonville location offers Florida guests a quick commute to Mayo Clinic and Baptist Medical Center, as well as academic institutions such as Jacksonville University and the University of North Florida. Blount Island and Dames Point seaports, Mayport Naval Base and the Foreign Trade Zone are all within a short drive, as are companies like Crowley Marine Services, Hanjin and Bank of America.

Leisure travelers seeking extended stay hotels near Jacksonville Cruise Terminal, the beach and Florida sports venues like the NFL's Jacksonville Jaguars love this hotel's central location. Other notable sites nearby include the famous Jacksonville Landing, the Anheuser-Busch Brewery, the elaborate Jacksonville Zoo and Gardens and retail giant Regency Square Mall.

Boasting such conveniences as free Wi-Fi access, 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers and free self-service laundry, as well as fun family features like an outdoor pool, a gazebo with guest grills and pet friendly suites, this hotel's accommodations in Jacksonville caters to you. You can "Consider Us Home!"

View Less
Features
Easy access to Florida 9A and I-295, as well as amenities like an outdoor swimming pool, make this Jacksonville, FL hotel's suites a great choice whether you plan to see the sights or stay and play!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 69 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great sleep Very well organized property. We were treated well, the facility was clean and we had a great nights sleep with a great breakfast bar the following morning. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed during vacation travel During family vacations we travel to visit family and the distance requires we stop in route - we almost always look for a Hoilday Inn Express. The rooms are dependable in the amentities and cleanliness. Rate are a bit higher than I think they should be, but with my family in tow I go with what I know will be satisfactory. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Choice with great location The hotel is just off 95 in before the Jacksonville traffic. We were on our way to Naples from NC for our Grandson's graduation and choose this hotel to break up the drive to be more manageable. The room was comfortable, good bed and very quiet. The breakfast was excellent with many selections to choose from. They even had a takeaway bag in case you were in a hurry. The breakfast lady was helpful and took pride in her job, keeping the food full and tables clean. I recommend this hotel as it is one of the better stays we have had. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by front desk agent front desk agent always there when I check in in the evening.and I never get his name.but he is a awesome guy I will be there in a few weeks and I am hoping to get his name.he always tell me about the weather and what to look for in the weather on the next day. May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable Nice room and comfortable. Having to ask for additional towels each day was a bit of an annoyance... Since there was four in our room three towels was just not going to be enough on any given day. By they end of our four days the breakfast choices were getting a little stale but over all it was good. We will probably stay again since our daughter is moving down to the area. May 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location and great comfort and value Located just north of Jacksonville which avoids heavier traffic in that area. Clean, comfortable room with breakfast buffet served til 9:30am in a large area seating area. Best value based on location and amenities. April 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks sooooooooooo much!!! Stayed at this hotel for the first time, as we were driving north from our annual Phillies Spring Training Holiday. There is not much close by for restaurants, but a KFC dinner was a short walk from the hotel. The front desk people were absolutely great! They were able to give me easy directions to buy items we needed for our trip. Upon leaving the next morning, we accidentally left 5 of my sports t-shirts behind. We realized this when we got to our next stop in South Carolina. I called the hotel, and was told the t-shirts were found and would be returned to my home address. I wish to thank ALL at this hotel for their pure honesty, and the return of my sports t-shirts. When in the area again, we will be sure to stay again!!! April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfort, helpful & friendly On our annual trip from Canada to Florida, which includes two stopovers both ways, we always stay at the Holiday Inn Express. As we are now familiar with the hotels, it facilitates our stay. Very welcoming after a long day travelling. Congrats, a gob well done!!! Great staff!! April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for an Amelia Island visit This hotel works well when visiting Amelia Island and other area spots. It is cheaper than staying closer to Jacksonville and there are some restaurants in the area with good regional cooking. We were greeted very warmly by the desk clerk and appreciated this welcome due to the rain and cold we had just had to drive through. March 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We Love HIE WE always look for Holiday Inn Express, because we can guarantee a clean room and a wonderful breakfast. March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Overnight Stay This is a very conveniently located facility. We arrived late and the desk manager was very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this location and will stay there again ourselves I am sure. March 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best stay Wifi did not work correctly Television remote only turned on the tv, could not change channels Restaurant recommendation was poor and when we returned to the hotel another guest was saying the same to the front desk clerk. Was not recognized as a priority club member in any way. February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We thoroughly enjoyed our stay We are so glad that we stopped at your hotel. If we are in this area again we will stop again. January 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor mattress, questionable cleamliness of sheets, no bath towels in room, halls needed cleaning. By far, the worst experience we have had at a Holiday Inn or Holiday Inn Express. Would not recommend. December 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay I stayed at this property for 2 weeks while traveling on business. My room was clean and the hotel was very quiet. I ate breakfast there a couple of times. The food choices were good. The only issue that I experienced during the stay was that the internet was slow and unpredictable at times. I would definitely stay at this hotel again should I return to that area to work. December 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Only Bad thing about GA-Fla. Weekend Check in took 45 min. Was not recognized as a Rewards Club Member. Desk Clerk spent 20 min. Trying to come up with theory as to way rate was $20.00 more than when the room was booked. Then spent another 15-20 min. on the phone with the manager and they tried to rationalize why the room rate was different. I felt as though I was being accused of presenting a falsified conformation print out by the manager as the clerk continued to answer his question and telling him the date of the print out, that the print out had the web site address printed on the bottom. A complaint was sent to the IHG rewards club and was answered within 48 hours (November 8,2013). The response was that the hotel management had been notified and that I should hear from them via e-mail within 48 hours. As of today (November 21, 2013) no response has been received. On a positive note the lady that was on duty during breakfast done an excellent job. Every thing was good and for the first time after many stays at Holiday Inn Express properties across the south east the biscuits were very good, not the normal hockey pucks. November 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Safe Parking, Clean and Quiet, We were impressed with our safe parking, Cleanliness and quietness of our most comfortable room. Thankyou for having us. Also loved your Fernadino Beach.. Was very much impressed with your Fernadino Beach, how clean it was kept. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay This is one of the best Holiday Inn Express motels where I have stayed. The room was attractive, clean and comfortable. The morning breakfast was very good. The staff members with whom I had contact were cheerful and helpful. My wife and I were very impressed and would highly recommend to others that they stay at this Holiday Inn Express when in the Fernandina area. I know that we will. November 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Unfriendly from beginning to end! Arrived at 1:30 PM and greeted with Kelsey telling me that rooms aren't to be occupied until after 3 PM. The rest of the defensiveness was just unbelievable! Where was "Hello! Glad to have you as a guest."? Just became a place to try to sleep and get a good night's rest......... instead of an enjoyable stay. Actually, we have stayed here before; however, "something changed"? November 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by ok stay The hotel in general was good. Comfortable rooms. The breakfast in this hotel for some reason was not up to Holiday Inn Express standards. Very poor selection. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience overall Two stays a week apart. Returned for second stay because of the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff. We have put it on our list of places to stay while traveling in the area. Recognized as a Priority member on first visit but not the second. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good location, great service very friendly staff, good quality for the price. Clean and felt very safe. October 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very good hotel This is one of the better Holiday Inn Express hotels I have stayed in. Very nice room with comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good as most express hotels are. The staff was very helpful. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service great location, affordable, service upon check in was great, very helpful staff, overall good experience except the people in the room next to me was very loud. but a great hotel for the price October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Short Stay Comfortable Bed Just a quick stopover on the way home. Would return again. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean room and freindly staff. The coffee pot in my room was broken. The work out room has no free weights. The breakfast was good but there was no meat to go with the eggs (bacon, ham, sausage etc.). Also at other hotels rewards members get a gift bag when arriving, not here. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Holiday Inn Express! The staff was great and the hotel was clean and comfortable! It is very close to 95 and there are quite a few places to eat near by. It is about 15 minutes from Amelia Island. We had a great time! September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reception Kelsey is the best!. We arrived early, and we are Ambassador Club members. We had been on a late night flight, had traveled in the wee hours, and arrived at the hotel at around 10:00 am, tired, in need of a shower, and had to be somewhere nearby at 11:00am. Kelsey said she could give us an upgrade, and get us into a room right away that was available. She was a God-send!! Our stay was made pleasant due to the service and kindness of the staff, particularly Kelsey, who was at-the-ready to accommodate us in the best way possible. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Making work easier In the area for business, the staff made my time there very enjoyable. Glenn was outstanding in addressing appliance issues. The breakfasts were wonderful and the cook did a great job. THANKS! August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice rooms Clean and comfortable stay. Breakfast was very good with a very nice lady helping with any needs at the bar. A good choice of a hotel to stay at overnight or to visit the area. August 24, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior - Front Entrance View
Hotel Exterior - Front Entrance View
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior - Front Entrance View Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior - NW View Hotel Lobby Front Desk Scenery / Landscape Reception - Lobby Exterior Feature - Gazebo With Grill Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading