• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: JACKSONVILLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets must be declared during guest registration. A non refundable pet fee of US75 for 1 to 6 nights, US150 for 6 plus nights stay, fee is per pet. Each pet less than 80lbs, not to be left unattended, must be on a leash, pet walk area is available.
Pet fee amount  50.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Jacksonville Landing
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:95
  • Car Parking Available
  • Paved parking lot

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:95
  • Total number of suites:95
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:75
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:20
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:79
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:FL6084

Guests Love Jacksonville, FL Hotel's JAXPORT Location

Welcome to Candlewood Suites® Hotel Jacksonville East Merril Road / JAXPORT. Situated within minutes of the sparkling Florida coast, JAXPORT Cruise Terminal and NAS Mayport, this pet friendly hotel's accommodations in Jacksonville offer spacious suites suited for vacation, business, relocation and an extended stay.

The hotel's Jacksonville location offers Florida guests a quick commute to Mayo Clinic and Baptist Medical
View More

Guests Love Jacksonville, FL Hotel's JAXPORT Location

Welcome to Candlewood Suites® Hotel Jacksonville East Merril Road / JAXPORT. Situated within minutes of the sparkling Florida coast, JAXPORT Cruise Terminal and NAS Mayport, this pet friendly hotel's accommodations in Jacksonville offer spacious suites suited for vacation, business, relocation and an extended stay.

The hotel's Jacksonville location offers Florida guests a quick commute to Mayo Clinic and Baptist Medical Center, as well as academic institutions such as Jacksonville University and the University of North Florida. Blount Island and Dames Point seaports, Mayport Naval Base and the Foreign Trade Zone are all within a short drive, as are companies like Crowley Marine Services, Hanjin and Bank of America.

Leisure travelers seeking extended stay hotels near Jacksonville Cruise Terminal, the beach and Florida sports venues like the NFL's Jacksonville Jaguars love this hotel's central location. Other notable sites nearby include the famous Jacksonville Landing, the Anheuser-Busch Brewery, the elaborate Jacksonville Zoo and Gardens and retail giant Regency Square Mall.

Boasting such conveniences as free Wi-Fi access, 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers and free self-service laundry, as well as fun family features like an outdoor pool, a gazebo with guest grills and pet friendly suites, this hotel's accommodations in Jacksonville caters to you. You can "Consider Us Home!"

View Less
Features
Easy access to Florida 9A and I-295, as well as amenities like an outdoor swimming pool, make this Jacksonville, FL hotel's suites a great choice whether you plan to see the sights or stay and play!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 211 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT HOTEL Very clean rooms, Super friendly staff, Very Confortable Beds and dark out curtains are wonderful for sleeping In.. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Stay The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was welcoming and friendly. We will definitely be back to stay. An added bonus they allow pets for a small fee. August 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HIE JAX EAST The room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. However, one can hear neighbors if they turn up the volume of their TV. The breakfast featured a pancake printer! This was the best of all. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay All joking aside from sleeping at a Holiday Inn Express, it wasa wonderful experience. Great staff, friendly and attentive. Clean and accomadating, breakfast was excellent, room was spotless. August 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by stinky room I was coming from I-10 and was very difficult to find. Should have directions listed on page. The evening desk clerk was not the friendliest. I was supposed to have a non smoking room but it smelled like someone was smoking in it. When I asked about the room they did send someone to spay a fragrance to mask the smell. It only helped a little. She said they did not have any other room to put me in. I always stay at Holiday Inn express whenever I can. There are several reasons but one is the cookies. They offer free cookies and my children really like them. We checked in around 6pm and they were out of cookies. May not seem like much but my children look forward to them. She stated that she only makes one batch and when it is out that is all there is. They are suppose to be available till 8pm. Breakfast, the comfort of the bed and the quietness of the a/c were very good. August 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk has no idea what customer service is If you are a loyal member of IHG and have become accustom to being welcomed as a platinum member this is not the hotel for you. This is the first hotel where I've been asked to wait three hours for a room because the house cleaning crew came in late. Michael at the front desk was just rude and never offered any welcome gift or said anything about my status. Breakfast was also lack luster in that 4 or the 6 hot items were empty one of my days, but Michael came over and got his sausage. August 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Elevator squished rooms We stayed the weekend to meet up with in laws for a college graduation. If you get put in one of the rooms that is in the elevator area, ask to be switched immediately,. Not only is it smaller than the same price rooms located elsewhere, it is noisy, does not get dark and just plain awful. Staff was always super busy so we didn't bother with it but I didn't get good sleep. Breakfast was ok. Everything is microwaved... if you asked staff to bring out something that was out she would just kind of look at you and say, i will get to it..... at the closing time of breakfast.... on the dot, she threw everything away, even if people were still eating. You couldnt even refill your juice... August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable I found this hotel to be very updated and nicely decorated. The staff were congenial but not to the extent that others had mentioned in their reviews. The breakfast was decent--it was free, after all. The suite was crowded with furniture, it seemed. There was barely enough room to pullout the sofa bed and then to get past it to go to the bathroom. The regular beds, however, were very comfortable. I was not disturbed by noises from other guests. I slept very well. Overall, it's a decent hotel I would probably stay there again August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent value Great place to stay. Easily accessible from highway. Best place to stay for a visit to JU and other schools. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Guest Bed And Great Accommodations My family and I loved our stay here at this hotel. I have no complaints except for one. There were no linen or towels left for the Guest. It took a bit more effort to get linen or towels for guest. I think if some one stay is for guest room accommodations there should be everything needed for the guest. It would be a good policy to make sure your guest have everything he or she needs. Thank you for listen to my opinion. Overall the stay for Hannah family reunion was the greatest. Thank You. Hannah Family Reunion August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent excellent I really enjoyed the stay and the service July 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds, very nice decor, but location--blah I found this hotel to be very updated and nicely decorated. The staff were congenial but not to the extent that others had mentioned in their reviews. The breakfast was decent--it was free, after all. My primary complaint was the view from my hotel room--a rundown trailer park. The problem is, apart from the pool, there WERE no good views on the premises, yet the cost of the hotel was comparable to those with beautiful views downtown. The suite was crowded with furniture, it seemed. There was barely enough room to pullout the sofa bed (which was very uncomfortable, according to my nephew) and then to get past it to go to the bathroom. The regular beds, however, were very comfortable. I was not disturbed by noises from other guests. I slept very well. Overall, it's a decent hotel, and if it were in another location with better views, I would probably stay there again---if I could get it at a discount as I did this time. July 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not so happy about the stay My husband would like another hotel to stay at for our visit to Jacksonville. However, I insisted in booking a room at Holiday Inn Express instead because I have been to few HIE hotels in Asia and the experiences were amazing - just like staying in a regular 5 star hotels. But contrary to our experience recently at Jacksonville East with no basic bathroom supplies such as toothbrush, bathrobes and slippers, so we may not be staying in any Holiday Inn Express hotels here soon. July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quality Hotel, Dependable Well trained staff in a dependable location, expectations meet. Dependable is a boring word unless you travel a bunch, then it really is very important. No surprises. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convient to Jaxsonville Bed are comfortable rooms are nice If you are tall, you willl like the shower height Pancakes need improvment July 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sleepless in Jacksonville This hotel did not seem to be sound proof. Not the fault of the staff. We changed rooms to no avail. Nice staff and property, but I need my rest. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Value stay When traveling, I have found Holiday inn Express to be the most consistant Value , comfort, courtesy, and staff to exceed all of my expectations. They are the most accessable and ease to find throughout the world. Thx Holiday Inn Express for being there for us! July 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor staff attitude The hotel condition is slightly above average but the hotel staff is poor. Though the room was clean, the soap shelf in the caulking in the shower/tub and several areas of sheet rock show disrepair. Though the minor issues with the physical room are acceptable, the staff has a less than professional attitude that is intolerable. From the check-in, to the 1:00AM problem with the air conditioner, to the staff butting in line to fix their plate for breakfast, the overall feeling of the guest is less than acceptable. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Consistently Excellent We stay here alot as my daughter lives nearby and attends UNF. Great customer service, comfortable and clean rooms with fridge and microwave. Hot breakfast with eggs and bacon, fruit and an assortment of breads, pancakes and bagels. July 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Happy! This seemed to be a nice hotel stay till the 3rd night when the room was not serviced and cleaned. I won't recommend this hotel to anyone. The Management staff seemed not to care and argumentative. Even tho they tried to comp a night's stay, it just seemed too little to late. There where some enjoyments at breakfast, that staff were pleasant to be around and stocked the breakfast bar fully. Overall I was disappointed with the last night's stay and that left a bad taste for this hotel. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good Service We didn't arrive until very late, I called to let the hotel staff know, we wanted to make sure we didn't loose our reservation. The hotel manager had our room keys ready when we arrived. Hotel staff was very attentive and courteous. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by CLEAN GREAT STAFF GOOD BREAKFAST GREAT STOP CLEAN HOTEL AMERICAN ENGLISH SPOKEN HERE. GREAT BREAKFAST, SERVES BACON!!!! FRONT DESK STAFF WERE GREAT AND FRIENDLY July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 9 min to beach and a great STAY The staff were great. The room was clean. Easy to enter and exit motel parking lot. Close to beach. July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by pet friendly I liked it here once I.found it. Look for hertz, it's right behind thete. Very nice front desk. Recommend a pool for dogs.they get hot too. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Staff We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Your staff was eager to help in any way they could. They helped us find our way around town, as this was our first visit to Jacksonville. Our room was more than we expected. We especially liked our little sitting area. It made us feel more like we were relaxing in our own living room at home. Thank you for all your help. We will definitely recommend you to our friends and family, and stay with you the next time we are in Jacksonville. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great nights rest Needed a mid drive place to get some rest , as usual HI came thru again . Will stay here again if I am passing thru . June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful stay Our room was exactly what we expected from our previous stays at other locations. Friendly staff ! We will stay again in the future. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Favorite Hotel Sheila is an excellent manager and her staff are very friendly especially Jasmine . I stay there almost every weekend. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and GREAT Service Outstanding service from staff from check in to check out June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ATL Visitor Extremely helpful and friendly staff...the hotel is physically located in a great location. The beds are extremely comfortable...just overall a great place to stay June 11, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior - Front Entrance View
Hotel Exterior - Front Entrance View
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior - Front Entrance View Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior - NW View Hotel Lobby Front Desk Scenery / Landscape Reception - Lobby Exterior Feature - Gazebo With Grill Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading