• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: JACKSONVILLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets must be declared during guest registration. A non refundable pet fee of US75 for 1 to 6 nights, US150 for 6 plus nights stay, fee is per pet. Each pet less than 80lbs, not to be left unattended, must be on a leash, pet walk area is available.
Pet fee amount  50.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Jacksonville Landing
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:95
  • Car Parking Available
  • Paved parking lot

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:95
  • Total number of suites:95
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:75
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:20
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:79
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:FL6084

Guests Love Jacksonville, FL Hotel's JAXPORT Location

Welcome to Candlewood Suites® Hotel Jacksonville East Merril Road / JAXPORT. Situated within minutes of the sparkling Florida coast, JAXPORT Cruise Terminal and NAS Mayport, this pet friendly hotel's accommodations in Jacksonville offer spacious suites suited for vacation, business, relocation and an extended stay.

The hotel's Jacksonville location offers Florida guests a quick commute to Mayo Clinic and Baptist Medical
View More

Guests Love Jacksonville, FL Hotel's JAXPORT Location

Welcome to Candlewood Suites® Hotel Jacksonville East Merril Road / JAXPORT. Situated within minutes of the sparkling Florida coast, JAXPORT Cruise Terminal and NAS Mayport, this pet friendly hotel's accommodations in Jacksonville offer spacious suites suited for vacation, business, relocation and an extended stay.

The hotel's Jacksonville location offers Florida guests a quick commute to Mayo Clinic and Baptist Medical Center, as well as academic institutions such as Jacksonville University and the University of North Florida. Blount Island and Dames Point seaports, Mayport Naval Base and the Foreign Trade Zone are all within a short drive, as are companies like Crowley Marine Services, Hanjin and Bank of America.

Leisure travelers seeking extended stay hotels near Jacksonville Cruise Terminal, the beach and Florida sports venues like the NFL's Jacksonville Jaguars love this hotel's central location. Other notable sites nearby include the famous Jacksonville Landing, the Anheuser-Busch Brewery, the elaborate Jacksonville Zoo and Gardens and retail giant Regency Square Mall.

Boasting such conveniences as free Wi-Fi access, 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers and free self-service laundry, as well as fun family features like an outdoor pool, a gazebo with guest grills and pet friendly suites, this hotel's accommodations in Jacksonville caters to you. You can "Consider Us Home!"

View Less
Features
Easy access to Florida 9A and I-295, as well as amenities like an outdoor swimming pool, make this Jacksonville, FL hotel's suites a great choice whether you plan to see the sights or stay and play!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 408 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific experience! I did not have a reservation, and was lost in Jacksonville late at night. I pulled into the parking lot - and was rescued! The front desk service was outstanding and helpful and cheery! After a long day - the bar was a welcome sight. The room was well equipped and the bed very comfortable. Every aspect of my stay was great. From the valet to the front desk to the bartender to the waitress at breakfast. Good hotel with an OUTSTANDING staff! May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view of river Beautiful view of river! Nice room with comfortable bed. Starbucks coffee available to start the morning! May 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Getaway I was on the 10th floor and it was very noisy. This stay was not as pleasureable. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service When our air conditioner malfunctioned late in the evening, all it took was a call to the front desk and a service person was there within 5 minutes. The air con was broke but the service man had it replaced within the hour and even called janitorial to clean the carpet. Thanks for the great service.......... May 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Renovations It is my understanding that some rooms were being renovated, however my bathroom was not up to par. The tub looked as if it was being stripped of the enamel & the water stood in te tub while I showered (gross!). I was also given a room with what seemed to be two full beds & was told I would have to wait for a king room. The location was great & in close proximity to where I needed to be everyday, but I did not enjoy my room as much as I would have hoped. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed This is my third stay at the crown. The only issue present with this stay was the construction, along the riverwalk. Which prevented guest from catching the waterboat to the park. Guest had to walk a block to catch the boat, and it was hot. The hotel should have considered having a shuttle. It was dark and for the safety of the guest walking back in the dark. May 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by The floors were like I was in a super 8 hotel My review of the Crowne Plaza hotel was very poor. We asked to have our room clean and came back after the concert; the room was still unclean. The trash can was thrown to the door and the used towels were still bundled up where we left them. On Sunday we went with out power in the restroom because they were working on the sixth floor. It came on and went off several times. I complain but all I was given was a "I'm sorry". I know they could have done better but, they didn't. May 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by V&A FROM GEORGIA REALLY NICE WASNT SURE AFTER READING NEGATIVE REVIEWS ALTHOUGH WE HAD TO WAIT FOR OUR ROOM TO BE READY IT WAS A REALLY NICE ROOM WITH AN EXCELLENT VIEW WILL DEFINTELY STAY HERE AGAIN THE GUY AT THE FRONT DESK WAS REALLY GREAT CANT REMEMBER HIS NAME BUT HE GAVE US EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE AND A GREAT ROOM May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My best easy escape from home I love to stay at the Riverfront Crowne Plaza in Jacksonville Florida. The view of downtown Jacksonville is stunning. There are many restaurants and two strong theatre/concert venues within walking distance. Hard to beat. May 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Staff I recently stayed overnight at this hotel and had a mixed experience. The front desk staff was wonderful ... knowledgeable and helpful. The wait staff in the lobby bar was also extremely good. My room was a nice size with a decent view. My issues were poor lighting in the bathroom, no grab bar in the shower and a very bad body odor smell permeating through the room. I'm guessing the carpet and/or furniture was in need of cleaning or refreshing. May 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday party next door without consideration of other First night was good, enjoying comfort and peace. Second night was terrible. Next door, a birthday party apparently started around midnight and ended around 3 o'clock in the morning. There was loud rap music and yelling/shouting going on. A front desk was notified to no result. If it was just me without children (9 and 10 years old daughters), the experience would have been understandable. Do not recommend this hotel for those with small family members. April 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staying in Jacksonville So I made a reservation for the 3 of us, and they of course provided me with a room for 2. The hotel then ran me around for 90 minutes to get me a roll away bed. Keep in mind, that 3 days before I confirmed the need for 3 people and that they needed to ensure this. The facility is pretty run down and is long overdue for an overhaul and the parking lot is very WET. So be prepared to wade to you car if there is any significant rainfall during your stay. The staff is very nice. April 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk staff great-bar and coffee service staff not! Too much chit chat among bar staff-some inappropriate. Coffee service staff not helpful and bad attitude. April 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Paper thin walls - Loud With paper thin walls connecting the rooms, just hope you don't have loud people next store. Unfortunately for me, with my daughter's wedding the following day, there was an all night party which kept us both up all night. The hotel did very little to alleviate the problem. You have to pay for a cup of coffee, and there is no breakfast, unless you want to pay for it.. April 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Reonvation coming and NEEDED Most of the hotel is old, dated, and dark. They are in the process of renovating, which was badly needed. The rooms that haven't been renovated yet have old carpet and fixtures. During my recent stay, two rooms had broken sinks. The old décor is dark and gloomy. It'll be nice once the remodel is complete. The rooms that have been updated are bright and more modern. The location and pool area are the biggest Pros for this hotel next too its staff. The staff has been exceptionally professional and courteous during the couple visits I was there in the past year. April 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleased and satisfied After reading some of the negative guest reviews and having some initial difficulties myself in making reservations, I was very uncertain about making reservations here. Fortunately, however, I was able to make contact with Karen G. of the hotel staff. She was most helpful and understanding in assisting with our reservation. Our room on the 9th floor was newly-renovated, clean and comfortable. My wife commented that her bed was "one of the most comfortable beds" that she had ever slept in in a hotel/motel. The bathroom was well-appointed and the shower provided a relaxing experience. As we were attending a professional function held at the Crowne Plaza, we had the opportunity to partake of a luncheon at the hotel. The banquet room was large and comfortable and the food was well-prepared and enjoyable. The entire hotel staff with whom we interacted was friendly and efficient. Kudos to Karen and Shawn for an enjoyable experience. John and Margaret April 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The beds were confortable The staff was friendly and in a good location. The hotel was very clean. I would stay there again. April 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room overall was not as expected from pictures provided. From the first night at the registration desk there were problems with the check-in clerk. She did not display quality customer service at all. She refused to believe that I had been promised a room that had been renovated due to the medical condition of my roommate. Her words were "It's not my fault." After telling her about the bad comments I had read on your all's website, she spoke with another person at the desk, maybe supervisor, and she told her to give me the room that I wanted. Housekeeping was awful!!!! Glasses were not changed. Our beds were never changed. There were either not enough towels or not enough wash clothes always! Used washed cloth was left in bathroom. On Saturday afternoon when we returned to our room, we found our door unlocked. I was livid!!! No safe in room and maid left the door open!!!! We received no help with our luggage. I have never stayed in a hotel of this size that was so poorly operated. Our organization books the best hotels for our conventions. Sadly, they missed the mark this time. I will never stay at the hotel again. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good room but loud The hallway was very loud all night and slamming doors. We would likely stay again if no weddings. Great view of Jacksonville. April 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Needs Work Stayed at the Crown for 3 nights and was disappointed, the hotel was going thru renovations and really should be closed until they are complete. The room had an older smell, cleaning was done late, as late as 2pm. There was an incident where our hotel room was left open after cleaning was done, which made us uncomfortable, thankfully we did not leave any valuables in the room, the incident was reported to the front desk, but nothing was done about it, I at least expected a call from the manager. I would definitely not recommend this property. April 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and reasonably comfortable Staff service was great. They were cheerful and helpful. Bed pillows were gigantic, if that's what you like...not me. Sheets felt like they had been starched or bleached. April 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and hotel undergoing facelift We stayed 3 nights using 3 separate award reservations. We booked a King and were upgraded to a King, Jr. Suite. The second night we were also able to keep the same King, Jr. Suite. This was a non renovated room. I went down the morning following the second night, and Brittany from the front desk moved us to a newly renovated King bed. The room was very nice and decorated well. We asked about breakfast vouchers, but we were told they were unavailable. We did receive drink coupons and/or bonus points as our welcome gift. I was not told of any available elite lounge. We would stay here again. I would be excited to see what a renovated King, Jr. Suite is like. Thanks for a great stay. April 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Travel stop Easy to get to off of 95, awesome staff, friendly and willing to help. Upgraded to a suite looking out onto the river. Everything went perfect for our quick one night stop while heading South. April 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service and VERY comfortable bed! Our overall experience was good. The bed was very comfortable and all of the staff were wonderful! Th only reason why I gave sleep quality an average rating is that there was a lot of construction going on outside of our room that started at 7am on Saturday morning. Therefore, I was unable to sleep in on my only free weekend from my son. It was a $6 river taxi to the Jacksionville Landing across the river, for all day. A lot of restaurants and great live music. It was only a $6 taxi ride from one side of the river to the other as well. I would definitely stay there again, after construction is complete. April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All Around Great Hotel Choice for A Weekend Getaway On March 28, 2014 we visited Jacksonville for the first time. We booked our room there but was a little worried because of some of the past reviews we read. I'm so happy that we booked at the Crown Plaza because it was definitely worth it. The hotel is located in a great location with beautiful views. It was all around a great weekend and a much needed one. Most definitely made some lasting memories! Thank you Crown Plaza!!! We will definitely be making this a more often event and will absolutely book our stay at the Crown Plaza. April 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs improvement. Could use some modifications. Couldn't find the coffee maker since it was in the dresser. Also, didn't have a micro frig. I had to ask for one and it was very beat up. Has no continental breakfast for a upscale hotel this I found unpleasant. The restaurants in the hotel were expensive and the gift shop had outdated items from Christmas. As a business consumer I was given a room overlooking the parking lot (the hotel calls this a city view). Valet parking was outside parking so my car was covered with pollen. It was easier to park under the hotel garage and use the elevator. Staff and service were very good along with the value of the hotel. March 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by First bad experience This was my seventh stay at Riverfront since last August and up until now, no complaints. However this last overnight was not good. Woman next door screaming at 3:30 in the morning woke me up. She was angry at someone, cursing and banging things. Then some man vomiting off his balcony at 4:00 am. And I was booked into an Executive Suite, which I didn't ask for, for more money than I should have spent. By way of explanation, front desk told me weekends are worst. March 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, wonderful view We recently stayed in a riverfront room with 2 double beds and were quite pleased with the view and hotel. The staff was fantastic, price was great, and the view was beautiful. My family of four stayed for 2 nights, on our way to orlando for a week at Disney. The staff making pancakes at the buffet breakfast surprised us and made mickey mouse pancakes for my two girls and it was perfect. I definitely recommend this hotel. We walked across the bridge and enjoyed the scenery and close stores/restaurants. 5 star in our book! March 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Experience We decided to stay at the Crowne for a nice evening away for a special occasion. We did have a beautiful view from the 10th floor, but were directly next the elevators which made an incredible amount of noise all night. The balcony had a gorgeous view of the bridge and the river, but the balcony itself was very dingy and dirty. Not what I expected from this hotel. The lighting in the room was very sterile and did not make for a relaxing environment. As a whole it seemed very dated. The room service took almost an hour, which they quoted about 35 minutes. Then forgot the coffee, which by the time we got it, we were about to check out. We used to frequent your hotel often before we had our three children, I'm sad to say we would not likely return. I hope you guys will pay attention to the details for future customers, as your hotel should be enjoyed on our beautiful river in Jacksonville. March 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Catch me if you can My stay at the Crown Plaza was great, everyone was very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff was very knowledgeable when it came to direction to an event that we were attending, Marcel made sure that we had everything we needed for a goodnight sleep, and the bacon pancakes that Sylencia recommend from the Grill was great, very pleased with my stay. March 20, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior - Front Entrance View
Hotel Exterior - Front Entrance View
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior - Front Entrance View Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior - NW View Hotel Lobby Front Desk Scenery / Landscape Reception - Lobby Exterior Feature - Gazebo With Grill Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading