• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 15.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Dogs and cats welcome. Non refundable fee applies, 3 pets per reservation, 10.00 fee per pet, per day up to 150 max. charge. Pet agreement must be signed at check in, call hotel for details. Pitt Bull, Pitt Bull mix are illegal in Wyandotte County, KS.
Pet deposit amount  10.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sporting Park/Sporting Kansas City
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
Hollywood Casino
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
Kansas City T-Bones Baseball Club
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
The Legends at Village West Open Air Mall
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:127
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:98
  • Total number of suites:98
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:66
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:32
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:98
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Extended Stay Hotel in Kansas City, Kansas, Welcomes you! The Candlewood Suites in Kansas City is built specifically for extended stay travelers and will make you feel at home during your stay in Kansas City. Our hotel's convenient location makes it perfect for business or leisure travelers. Leisure travelers enjoy our hotel's Kansas City location, as we are less than one mile from the Kansas City International Speedway and just across the street from the Legends Shopping Center. Nearby, you will
View More
Extended Stay Hotel in Kansas City, Kansas, Welcomes you! The Candlewood Suites in Kansas City is built specifically for extended stay travelers and will make you feel at home during your stay in Kansas City. Our hotel's convenient location makes it perfect for business or leisure travelers. Leisure travelers enjoy our hotel's Kansas City location, as we are less than one mile from the Kansas City International Speedway and just across the street from the Legends Shopping Center. Nearby, you will find the Nebraska Furniture Mart, Cabela's, and the Sandstone Amphitheater. Downtown Kansas City and a variety of museums and attractions are just a short drive away. Our hotel is also ideal for those in Kansas City for business. Providence Medical Center, Heart of America Surgery Center, Fort Leavenworth Army base and the University of Kansas are all nearby, and a variety of other businesses are just a short drive away. Each of our suites features an executive work desk and free high-speed Internet access, so you can stay connected during your time on the road. Those looking for comfortable extended stay lodging in Kansas City will feel right at home. With amenities including the Candlewood Cupboard, which offers food and sundry items for purchase, a 24-hour fitness center, free laundry facilities and a free lending library, we are the perfect place to stay during your visit to Kansas City. Check our great Kansas City hotel deals today.
View Less
Features
Guests of our Kansas City hotel will enjoy our spacious suites with their fully equipped kitchens, as well as free high-speed Internet access and complimentary laundry services.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 138 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Yikes 80;s hotel in 2014 Sorry to say probably the worse HI I have stayed in. The bar guys are very good, location, ambience are not good, bizarre chlorine infused hotel due to pool location. Rooms good size although a little dated and ground floor rooms smelt very damp, requested a move. August 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for the $$$ This hotel could use some updating, but for a one day business trip it was great. August 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by a Room was musty and hotel is Outdated and in need of renovation August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight Romm was clean and quiet, I was surprised that there wasn't a frig, and the television was a bit small. August 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Only few things to complain--the heater is not warm at all, so I requested am additional blanket. Except that everything is very great. Anyway, the price is quite high. Location is quite far from Downtown. Except these tiny complaints, everything is very great! LOVE the service! August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Switched Hotels Left a non Holiday Inn hotel because of inadequate service and poor standards of quality. Holiday Inn more than met my needs. Thank you for your professionalism. I will book my next visit to Lawrence Ks. with your Hotel. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Happy with flexible check-in and check-out! Our weekend stay was to attend a swim meet and desk staff was great because we were able to check in early on Friday and get some rest before returning to the pool for the finals competition. We also were allowed a late checkout on Sunday so we could rest prior to finals. Had no problems booking this stay using reward points. July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Require harder beds The overall stay was quite excellent , The hotels appearance both outside and in , were receptive . The overall room great , the bed of course as mentioned , a little to soft for my taste. This of course is one's opinion . as others wish the softness . The pool area and cafe , though not personally used looked great and inviting . People at wedding did comment they were pleased .. The bar was visited , the service was great and the sports theme , approved .. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, property a little worn I had a great experience at this hotel thanks to the staff. I got upgraded to a room with a microwave and refrigerator, which was nice, but it also had no windows to the outside. The windows were to the atrium with the pool. I was there during sports team season, I think, because there were a lot of screaming teenagers until 11pm at night. But it was a comfortable stay with reliable internet. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by about my stay The breakfast staff were very polite and attentive. I also appreciated the ladies who operated the front desk during the daytime. They were energetic and desirous to please. Particularly the young woman with glasses. The noise and overall peacefulness of the hotel makes this an attractive place to stay. One thing they may consider is having small refrigerators in the larger rooms (king bed). It is very useful for those who are staying for a couple days and want to store some food. July 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Hotel is deteriorating Their staff was very friendly, but that was about all that saved this place. It was expensive for what I got. Their hot tub did not work. Their shower's water pressure was weak. There was room service dirty dishes outside in the hall all night long and it started to stink. The Comfort Inn across the street is 5 times nicer. Stay there!!!! July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by improved Since the last time we stayed here, the hotel has added a breakfast buffet that is a reasonable price or even included with certain room rates. This buffet is a great addition to a hotel that is not close to other breakfast places. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic service! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Lawrence Holiday Inn on my recent business trip to Kansas. The hotel was clean and the service was fast and friendly. I will stay at the Lawrence Holiday Inn again, and will recommend this hotel to others. July 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Conference Stay My room was mostly clean, but I noticed my white socks were very soiled from walking on the carpet. Yuck. The room had a mildew smell and there was condensation all over the AC Vent in the room... hmmm maybe a connection there? I wish I had requested a different room. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay! We had a great stay at this hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff is SUPER nice. Food was great - loved all the beer selections. Thanks for a great stay! June 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Value just a terrible smell and out dated furniture.. very comfortable beds. for the amount of money too expensive period. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel. Beds need upgraded. Overall my stay at this hotel was pleasant. Everything was as expected for a Holiday Inn. My only complaint is with the beds. The beds, in my opinion, should be higher quality. Yes, I know it's a hotel. But you still should be able to sleep the night without a back ache. Other than that, it is a nice place to stay. June 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible coffee; incompetent billing I don't want brand of coffee is used but if it's because it's cheap, you should change. The coffee in the room, the restaurant and at meeting breaks was horrible. Also, the billing had several errors. June 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lawerence H Inn The Holiday Inn in Lawrence KS is just off the I 70 turnpike and has a very large parking lot. Breakfast was a well stocked Buffet and ample helpings were always refilled. Service staff cleared away finished dishes and took an extra moment and check on guest. Overall the site was well maintained and staff made aery effort to be accommodating. Very nice weekend stay. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Steve's visit The property was very nice in terms of staff, room comfort and services. The carpet in the convention area smelled and needed serious cleaning or replacement. The general cleanliness of the common area near the check-in (chairs/tables/etc) pool area and pool side restrooms were basically ignored!! They were terribly unkempt and needed considerable attention. I realize the hotel was full, but staff needed to be assigned to public/common areas to keep it cleaned and picked up. I had to call the front desk to inform them about the men's room that was pool side. It was a disaster!! But, everything else about the stay was delightful. Thanks. June 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but hotel lacks I was told that I would not recieve my IHG points for using this hotel. The bedroom smelled of smoke. Pool was decent and fun for kids but it closed promptly at 9pm. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay June 2014 Hotel staff was great! The rooms were decent for their age and our overall 3 day stay was decent. Relatives liked the pool June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fun Wedding Our family stayed at the HI Lawrence because we attended a family wedding. The service was great, the room was clean and bed was comfortable. It was convenient to just walk back to our room after the party. It was a positive experience. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay The staff were pleasant and the reception in the bar very nice. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WILL STAY HERE AGAIN This property was clean, inviting, spacious rooms, a really nice indoor pool in an atrium setting, friendly staff, and in a quiet location. The pool does not open until 9 am which miffed my wife (who likes to do laps in the morning). And there are a number of rooms that overlook the atrium/pool. We did not stay in those rooms and I would not want to (noise, the rooms have a feel of being in an outdoor motel setting). Our room was a regular hotel type room and we were very happy with it. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly and quiet always friendly and quiet, huge parking with easy access to rooms. very nice facility. June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good decent hotel Very accommodating staff- rooms are clean- breakfast buffet just OK. Room AC seemed to be stuck at 64- moved it up but it always went back to that. Overall a good hotel though rooms could use refridgerators. I got a group rate so may not of been as happy if I had paid a higher rate. Hallways and entranceways are a bit outdated but rooms are clean June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by NIce Hotel Friendly service at the front desk, nice clean rooms and good local beer selection in the bar. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay with great service The stay was very enjoyable. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was quiet and clean. We had a great stay and enjoyed the hotel and our room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in the area. It was the perfect location for the events we participated in. June 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok hotel stay We were here for a family wedding. Initially I was told that there were no king beds available in the hotel when I inquired if we could get one in the room block. I found them online via their web site and the person said that she had no control over their online inventory. When we arrived the front desk staff was really helpful at putting our group together. This was great for reuniting with family. The room was ok. I was glad we got the room with the fridge, not all have them and my family all used it because their rooms didn't have one. We had issues with our AC, it wasn't working for the first few days and then it was working in full force and our room was a freezer. We also had issues with fruit flies in our room. This was also the case in my brother and sister's rooms on either side of us. We didn't have any garbage in our room either. I heard complaints from all of my extended family about there not being breakfast included in the stay. This is so common now and would have been nice. There is a restaurant, but when you have a family of 5 you don't want to spend $9/person on a breakfast buffet. The pool was nice, but it's in the open air lobby. The AC was cranked so low that it made swimming not appealing because the air temp was so cold. The stay was so so. I would not choose to stay here again. June 16, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading