• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 15.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Dogs and cats welcome. Non refundable fee applies, 3 pets per reservation, 10.00 fee per pet, per day up to 150 max. charge. Pet agreement must be signed at check in, call hotel for details. Pitt Bull, Pitt Bull mix are illegal in Wyandotte County, KS.
Pet deposit amount  10.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sporting Park/Sporting Kansas City
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
Hollywood Casino
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
Kansas City T-Bones Baseball Club
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
The Legends at Village West Open Air Mall
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:127
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:98
  • Total number of suites:98
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:66
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:32
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:98
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Extended Stay Hotel in Kansas City, Kansas, Welcomes you! The Candlewood Suites in Kansas City is built specifically for extended stay travelers and will make you feel at home during your stay in Kansas City. Our hotel's convenient location makes it perfect for business or leisure travelers. Leisure travelers enjoy our hotel's Kansas City location, as we are less than one mile from the Kansas City International Speedway and just across the street from the Legends Shopping Center. Nearby, you will
View More
Extended Stay Hotel in Kansas City, Kansas, Welcomes you! The Candlewood Suites in Kansas City is built specifically for extended stay travelers and will make you feel at home during your stay in Kansas City. Our hotel's convenient location makes it perfect for business or leisure travelers. Leisure travelers enjoy our hotel's Kansas City location, as we are less than one mile from the Kansas City International Speedway and just across the street from the Legends Shopping Center. Nearby, you will find the Nebraska Furniture Mart, Cabela's, and the Sandstone Amphitheater. Downtown Kansas City and a variety of museums and attractions are just a short drive away. Our hotel is also ideal for those in Kansas City for business. Providence Medical Center, Heart of America Surgery Center, Fort Leavenworth Army base and the University of Kansas are all nearby, and a variety of other businesses are just a short drive away. Each of our suites features an executive work desk and free high-speed Internet access, so you can stay connected during your time on the road. Those looking for comfortable extended stay lodging in Kansas City will feel right at home. With amenities including the Candlewood Cupboard, which offers food and sundry items for purchase, a 24-hour fitness center, free laundry facilities and a free lending library, we are the perfect place to stay during your visit to Kansas City. Check our great Kansas City hotel deals today.
View Less
Features
Guests of our Kansas City hotel will enjoy our spacious suites with their fully equipped kitchens, as well as free high-speed Internet access and complimentary laundry services.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 150 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff staff is excellent here! Rooms very nice and spacious March 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by M&M 44 Counter Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean and comfortable. February 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Business Trip They just dont care. The keys dont work. I continually had to go up to my room then back to the front desk to get the key to work. I told the clerk that I wanted 5000 points for my inconvience and never even heard from a manager and never received the 5000 points. Forget about getting breakfast. Did it one day, then went somewhere else for the rest of my stay. This is a great example of how HI does not monitor their brand. I have been a member for 25 years and maintain a very high status with them but I am getting sick of the continued lack of service and franchise owners who just dont care. February 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Blue sky hotel with cloudy water This hotel has a very nice updated lobby and amenities, with a wonderful gym and game room and pool, and the staff were so helpful and friendly from the desk clerk to the restaurant staff. Just one complaint: the bathrooms. The water in the shower, toilet and sink were brown, and the lavoratory faucet was installed incorrectly and hard to use, spraying up when turned on. There was also no exhaust fan. January 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best overall value! We love to stay at this Holidome when we visit family in Lawrence and have done so regularly for nearly 10 years to visit family. The kids love the pool and Jacuzzi, the adults love the restaurant and bar. Always a win/win. We were sad to see that they removed the Putt Putt area though. We typically stay over the Christmas holiday for a few days and this year was a bit disappointing that the front desk staff wasn't aware of the schedule for the bar/restaurant and there wasn't any information posted on the door. We were told that they wouldn't serve breakfast on Christmas day, but learned later (too late) that they had indeed been open. But that is only a small inconvenience in an overall great experience. January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas visit I was in town to visit relatives for the holidays. The receptionist who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. The rooms looked and smelled clean. The restaurant served a delicious breakfast. I would definitely stay again. January 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by clean,good, food Over the Christmas Holiday. The weather was quite cold outside and the kids were antsy. We decided to take our son &his family to the Lawrence KS Holiday Holidome The hotel was very clean. Also the staff was very helpful. We did experience cool water in the swimming pool & in the hot tub.(we were hoping for a WARM pool & HOT Tub experience.) When we complained to the staff . Maintenance came right over and checked the water temp. Sure enough the temp was off. It would take overnight to warm. The next morning both pools were a pleasure to be in. By the way did I mention that check out time is 11am. Not much time to enjoy the WARM waters.(We did ask for a late check out. we were able to stay until noon) NOT exactly what we had in mind when we booked this. December 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay The room was clean & comfortable. The restaurant was open Christmas morning (thankfully) and served a wonderful breakfast. Unfortunately when asked on Christmas Eve if it would be open Christmas morning, the desk clerk said no it wouldn't. Lack of communications, but a pleasant surprise. This is the 3rd or 4th Christmas we have stayed and probably will continue the tradition. December 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas Eve Super sweet employee Christmas Eve ,very quick check-in & afforded me late check-out. Christmas Day: I did not expect food to be available, however the in-room coffeemaker was not clean, so I was pretty bummed not to have coffee. Also the keypad on the phone, and the remote control were dirty. I left a note for the room attendant, as well as a small tip and a package of imported cookies. The morning attendant was not very pleasant. The hot tub was nice and HOT, which was the primary reason I stayed at this hotel. Thank you for working on Christmas, so that I might have a place to rest. December 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice room and breakfast was great! Really liked the stay except for the fire alarm going off at 6 a.m.! Guess they were announcing my birthday since we came for that! Our waiter in the lounge on Saturday night was great! Didn't get his name, but he brought the nacho's to our table. Beautiful lobby! December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great stay here in Lawrence I had not stayed at this property in a few years, and I was pleasantly surprised with my stay. The front desk staff was amazing during checkin and provided my with great benefits since I am a platinum rewards club member. They offered me different options for the breakfast since I was on a weird work schedule those few days. I recommend getting an outside facing room, that way if you don't want to hear all the pool noise, you will avoid it. The room was very comfortable, great working ventilation, and good reception on the internet access. I wish the bedside lamps had outlets built into them for phone charging, but I did locate a multi outlet surge protector under onside of the bed, so I used that... Hope to see you again soon. November 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not what we were promised! I have stayed at this hotel numerous times for business. This particular time, I called to arrange an early check-in, as we had an early wedding to attend. When I called to confirm, I was told on the phone that our room was ready. Upon arrival, our room was not yet ready. We waited approximately an hour before being able to check in. Although I truly appreciate the staff's efforts to get our room ready prior to the standard check-in time, I feel like they should communicate better so we don't get one report on the phone, and another upon arrival! November 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had a football tournament and all of our needs were meet. With all the rooms booked for a weekend football tournament. All of our needs were met with and taken care of during our two day stay. The pool was great for the kids and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves during the stay. Thanks, sh November 13, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotels know how to get ya Beware of the advanced pay special rate. Yea great price, but you cannot cancel even if it's a life and death situation. Just make sure you're planning on staying otherwise you can't get your money back. I'm a tall guy and while standing in the shower I had to practically hunch over to reach the shower head and if I stood completely vertical my head touched the ceiling. Bathroom vents didn't work and shower leaked everywhere. Couldn't swap rooms because hotel was packed. No shuttle? Really? College town with a bunch of sports all the time and no shuttle? Poolside room wasn't even a pool side room. It just gave you a separate walk out from your room. And the poolside door had so much give that if you drop kicked the door you could break into any room there. November 13, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Average hotel with inept staff Reasonable value at discounted price. Limited food on premises. Tiny workout room. Small pool. The only remarkable aspect of the property is the inept staff. November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Lawrence We stayed one night and had a very enjoyable experience. Room was very clean and enjoyed the resturant and service there. We came in a little before check in and Christy behind the desk was extremely helpful in getting us a room. Overall rate the experience we had as excellent! October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Everything is great. The best breakfast I had all week on the road. I will drive the extra miles to Lawrence to stay here instead of staying in Topeka or KC. The restaurant staff in the morning is the best. October 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old HoliDome design. Smell chlorine everywhere. Musty old rooms. Horrible design The strong smell of chlorine makes the lobby sitting area terrible, unusable. This is a bad representation of the Holiday Inn brand. Indoor pools are great. But not when they are open directly to the rooms which causes the sounds and the humidity and chlorine smells to permeate the guest rooms. October 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Wake up call did not come Manager refunded some points; but lucky I did not have a deadline to meet October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and good service Service at front desk was good and was helpful. Room was nice and bed was comfortable. Dissappointed that a hot breakfast was not part of the room rate. They did have breakfast available in their restaurant. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and quiet! Easy to get to, clean and comfortable, a little overpriced. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place Hotel is conveniently located right of the major highway. Upon arriving we were greeted by a welcoming lobby and a friendly desk staff. We were checked into a nice quiet clean room and free internet! Hotel is well equipped for a family traveler, plenty of things to do inside the hotel for the kids. Enjoyed dining in the evening and a good breakfast in the morning. October 18, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible experience Broken down bed. Locked entrance door that you couldn't get back in with your key. A/C's that wouldn't regulate the heat. Asked for shower cap, never received. Noisy with pool noise and couldn't open the drapes for any light/air because it looks right out to the pool. Whole place, including the rooms, smelled musty, like mildew. Absolutely would NOT recommend this facility. October 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unexpected Stay for a Platinum Member As a Platinum member, I have never seen an IHG property this unacceptable. Spent 2 days at this hotel. First, I was provided the wrong room number and key. I opened the door and luckily the deadbolt was on or another guest would have been upset. Then when we went to our new room it smelled like urine and the A/C was not working. I didn't want to deal with it since it was late at night. So after coming back from breakfast the next morning in Lawrence, the A/C was still not working. I went to the front desk to address my problems with the A/C and the smell. The front desk staff was nice. The maintenance staff addressed the situation but the AC was still not pushing out cold air. And the smell was still there after we left. While the staff did everything they could to help us in our situation, it did not make the stay enjoyable. And unfortunately, I unable to recommend this hotel either due to this. October 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs improvements Our room was adequate, but I found a roach on the wall. The breakfast grill was poorly managed and the food, for almost $10.00 a person, was not quite as good as complementary breakfasts in other hotels. October 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Average hotel, very overpriced My wife and I stayed for a night in Lawrence to attend a local activity. Many of the local hotels were fully booked due to a convention in town, and when I called the Holiday Inn reservation line, they told me they couldn't tell me what kind of room we would get until we checked in. After we made our reservation, I spoke to someone at the local hotel, who explained that "standard room" typically indicates a room with 2 beds. We decided to stay anyway since we needed a room. While the lobby itself was relatively clean, the entire hotel smelled of chlorine. When we were directed to the C entrance, the stairs are in very poor shape, the entrance is very dirty, and the exterior doors, which are supposed to be locked at all hours, are not. It looks as though one of the doors doesn't close properly. Our room was fairly average, though the lack of exterior windows makes for a very dim room. The biggest issue we had was that the cardkey lock for our room was not working, the staff wasn't aware, and it took 45 minutes to get it fixed. The hotel clearly marked up the rooms to take advantage of the conventions, and it was nowhere near worth it. October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Missing chair for the desk Overall good experience. Very comfy bed. We needed a chair for the desk in the room. (The armchair just didn't fit the bill.) The Front Desk said that such a chair was not included in the room's furnishings. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! We were in Lawrence for the Mother Earth News Fair for the weekend. The motel staff was very nice and the motel was quiet and exceptionally clean. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Great place to stay! October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and Comfortable Beds The large hotel was incredibly quite the entire stay and we were never disturbed. The beds were incredibly comfortable with multiple pillows. October 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Irritable staff The front desk staff was unhelpful and rude at both checkin and checkout. The only positive aspect of the customer service was the friendliness of a young man picking up trash in the parking lot. Perhaps the front desk staff should pick up trash and the young man should take over the desk. October 6, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading