• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: LA CROSSE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:11
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets fee of USD 75 for 1 to 6 nights and USD 150 for 7 nights up
Pet deposit amount  150.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Historic Downtown La Crosse
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Great River Road Bike Trail
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Pump House Regional Arts Center
Distance From Hotel:1.1MI
Attraction:
La Crosse Queen Cruises
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:109
  • Car Parking Available
  • There are numerous outdoor electric plug-ins available for engine block heaters, RVs, Trailers, etc.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:92
  • Total number of suites:16
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:53
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:23
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:92
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:11
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Walk Downtown from this Hotel's La Crosse Location

If you're looking for extended stay hotels in La Crosse, choose the Candlewood Suites® La Crosse, WI hotel and you may be able to forget a rental car. Located within walking distance of popular businesses and restaurants in historic downtown, Riverside Park on the Mississippi and Queen Cruise riverboat tours, this La Crosse, WI hotel is your ticket to endless entertainment options during your stay.

Corporate travelers can take
View More

Walk Downtown from this Hotel's La Crosse Location

If you're looking for extended stay hotels in La Crosse, choose the Candlewood Suites® La Crosse, WI hotel and you may be able to forget a rental car. Located within walking distance of popular businesses and restaurants in historic downtown, Riverside Park on the Mississippi and Queen Cruise riverboat tours, this La Crosse, WI hotel is your ticket to endless entertainment options during your stay.

Corporate travelers can take advantage of convenient access to I-90, US Hwy-53 and Hwy-35, which lead to many of the area's major businesses. From this La Crosse, Wisonsin hotel's location, you can easily travel to Kwik Trip Corporate Headquarters, SAP Business Objects and Trane Company/Ingersoll Rand. Franciscan Skemp Healthcare/Mayo Clinic and Gundersen Lutheran Hospital are also just a short drive.

You'll never go hungry with popular local restaurants like The Waterfront, Piggy's and The Freighthouse within walking distance of the hotel. Even college visits are easy with this La Crosse, Wisconsin hotel's proximity to UW La Crosse.

You can work off the stress of a long day in the state-of-the-art Fitness Center. After you work up a sweat, you can refuel your body and cook out with the gas grills in the outdoor pavilion area. Return to a comfortable suite and use the free Wi-Fi access to email your family about your trip. Don't hesitate; make your extended stay La Crosse reservations today.

View Less
Features
Our professional staff does everything possible to ensure that the hotel's guests in La Crosse, WI feel more at home. Free guest laundry facilities are available, so guests feel prepared every day.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 106 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by They do not recognize Platinum Member I checked in and I was thanked for being a Platinum member but did not get anything for it. No free water, no points and no room upgrade. The room was larger than most BUT there was a lot of dust/hair on the phone. We checked out early so I did not get to sample the free breakfast. I thought the price of the room was pretty steep. April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place Great accommodations! Nice room and good breakfast! March 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy and quiet we enjoyed our comfortable and spacious room after a long drive. Great not to be right along a noisy highway which allowed us to relax and sleep well. March 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff The staff at this Holiday Inn Express are the best. I stayed there 4 times within 3 weeks and each time they were wonderful. March 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff very unwelcoming Our hockey team recently stayed in this hotel for a tournament. We were welcomed with a full page of extra rules for athletic teams. I was informed I was not welcome to bring my son's hockey gear into our hotel room. When I told them he would have to put on frozen gear if it was left in the car. I was told that was too bad, it was part of the "agreement" I signed in order to stay in the hotel. We tried to ask the hotel for a space to get the team together for pizza after a game and were told the only space available was the lobby. We were kicked out of the lobby shortly after the pizz arrived due to vague noise complaints. When we booked the rooms, it was made clear we were booking a block of rooms for a hockey team. If they were not willing to accommodate us, the reservation should have been refused. VERY UNWELCOMING! Will not return. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent!!! We stayed there Friday night January 24th and everything was fabulous. I recently stayed in a Crown Plaza in St. Louis, and this hotel was nicer than that by far. The rooms were immaculately clean, and the pool was great and even had a kiddie pool with a frog water slide. The rooms were spotless and had every amenity you would need, and even a Television in the bathroom. The bed and pillows were as good as any 5 star hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and amazingly professional. I would give this a 5 star rating in a heartbeat and recommend this place to anyone. January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The staff is very helpful and care about their customers. The breakfast could be better, but the cinnamon rolls are good. The fitness center is very nice --- there are plenty of machines so several people can work out at the same time. January 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Experience We were so pleased with the Winona Holiday Inn Express. The room was spotless, the beds were very comfortable, the Continental Breakfast was the best we've ever had (and so many food choices). The only disappointment....we didn't have enough time to enjoy the pool or the workout room. A wonderful Experience. December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and comfortable Hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was very accommodating. Great value. Free breakfast is not wonderful, but it is free! Kids loved the pool. Will absolutely stay here again when we are in Winona. December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT EXPERIENCE It was out first trip to Winona, and staying at this Holiday Inn was an added bonus...Very clean, comfortable, excellent breakfast, convenience food locations waling distance from the hotel, perfect pool / play area for the kids, and the staff was very friendly and helpful....Definitely will be staying there again on our next trip....THANKS November 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk clerk helpful! All went well with our stay. We will come again. Only negative was that all 3 garbabe cans that we could see in the breakfast area were overflowing and we couldn't throw our paperplates and cups away. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome hotel We stayed here for a barrel race and it was great! The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was actually open when we had to go feed the horses. The staff was also great about us checking in late and checking out late. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice stay We have stayed here before and always enjoyed it. This time was no different. Check in was fast and easy and room was ready and clean. Staff was very friendly. Everyone saying hi and have a great day! Bed was very comfy. The only issue was the people in the room above us were very loud the first night. A lot of yelling in the parking lot which caused difficulty sleeping. We should have complained but didn't so don't know if staff was aware. Breakfast was very good and good variety. Will definitely stay here again. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Spot tucked in a great river town We were in town on a short weekend trip and it was very nice hotel with great rooms, great beds and most importantly for us... quiet. Thanks for the nice and easy stay. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great night sleep! Wonderful staff. After a long, long day of driving your hotel was a welcome respite. Friendly, clean and so comfortable. I will stay here again! October 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by TV in Bathroom This hotel is one of the nicest I have ever stayed in. TV and make-up mirror in the bathroom are nice touches. Staff was super friendly. October 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Didn't like "pet friendly" hotel We were disappointed because our room had an odor and the hotel was full and they could not move us to another room. They did offer to "bomb" our room but we would have to be out for at least 30 min. After we checked in, we noticed the entire hotel was "pet friendly" which I believe was the cause of the odor. The staff was excellent but in the future, I will definitely avoid hotels which are "pet friendly". October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice clean room and nice amenities This hotel is a bit newer than some. It is well kept and has everything you need, fitness area, restaurant across the parking lot, breakfast included, 2 tvs (one in the main room and other in the bathroom. it is nice if you want to catch the news while getting ready in the morning! This is a solid hotel and I will return. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wondefrul place to stay! Our family had a wonderful experience at your hotel in Winona, MN. The pool area was a big hit with all. The room was very spacious and extremely clean. The service was excellent, the staff was very polite and helpful. The FREE breakfast was very nice, many choices and well stocked. This hotel is in a great location, minutes from a lot of great things Winona has to offer. Overall, we will definitely be returning to this location in the future. October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 The Red Top Hotel I have traveled quite a bit in the Midwest and eastern United States, but this was the first Holiday Inn I have seen decorated with a red lighted boarder at the top. We looked right beyond that building looking for our hotel until we saw the Holiday Inn Express logo. We have always had our favorite HIE breakfast location and have never found one to match it's quality, cleanliness and selection and quantity of breakfast items until now. The HIE Winona is now our favorite breakfast location. Everything about the hotel was superior and the breakfast has warranted a highest quality rating for the HIE fare. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Had a great time staying here! We'll be back Everything was spectacular-We will return again and again-We were able to bring our dog with us which was great and the room was perfect (clean, comfortable, roomy, up to date, etc) The breakfast was superb and we were treated so well by all the staff we encountered. We were extremely impressed and would highly recommend this be your lodging choice over everything else in Winona. Large gathering space off the lobby and next to the pool for groups to visit or to monitor the kids swimming. I honestly have never had such a good experience-Well done Holiday Inn Express! October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Accommodating I was in town for a funeral and all the staff were very courteous, understanding and accommodating. Housekeeping was flexible about cleaning the room. Overall good experience. October 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel Have stayed at this location before and very happy with past stay and would make a reservation again at this location. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and entire hotel area is clean. October 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Typical Holiday Inn Express...just don't expect assistance from management Typical Holiday Inn Express experience with clean rooms and decent breakfast. However, we encountered an issue that required assistance from management which ended up being one of the worst customer care encounters I have ever experienced. I spoke to several employees at the front desk regarding the trouble, and was told they could do little more than offer a minimal rate reduction. When I said this would not be satisfactory, I was told I could call the manager. I stated that I felt that this was not my job as the customer. The staff subsequently called the manager who again offered a minimal rate reduction, but no solution. I suggested a room change and other potential solutions, but was told that they could do nothing else, and I could call the general manager if I liked. I expressed my dissatisfaction with the situation and later received a call from the staff stating that the general manager would do nothing more to resolve the issue. We were forced to make other plans. Although we did receive the reduced rate, I was shocked at the lack of concern for customer satisfaction expressed by management. The on-site staff, however, were courteous, and did what they could to help. We stay in Winona on a regular basis, and will find other accommodations in the future. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a wonderful place to stay! We had reserved 4 rooms and all rooms were comfy and exceptionally clean. What impressed me the most was the cleanliness of the entire property.. What a great Breakfast Dining and Lounge areas. The desk staff was very helpful with our check-in and check-out. We encountered the housekeeping staff in passing in the hallways. It was good to engage in pleasant conversation with them. They were very courteous and knowledgeable about the Winona area. Great stay. Highly recommended! It's the best Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in. October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OH MY GOSH!! PERFECT!!! I LOVED MY ROOM I LOVED the room I stayed in this past weekend for a night. The room was super clean, plenty of towels, TV's in BATHROOM, MASTERBEDROOM, AND LIVING ROOM. Microwave, small refridge JUST PERFECT. I never heard a peep out of anyone the entire night and the hotel was full. Thank you so much !! October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Access to all you need Holiday Inn Winona is super from a comfort standpoint, and being able to stay in one place with great Amenities available. The beds are very comfortable, and breakfast is tops! And right across the parking lot is the Green Mill Restaurant with finest selection of lunch and dinners. And McD's within a short walk if you so desire... I'll be back, hopefully soon. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Favorite Stay Our second visit this year was as great as the first. We received a two room connection consideration this time and was very pleased with the location. The front desk staff was welcoming, well informed and friendly. Lovely rooms that provided clean areas with a spotless bathroom and comfortable beds. This is our first and only choice for future visits. September 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It is a Holiday Inn Express It is a typical Holiday Inn Express. Staff were friendly. Having worked in housekeeping in a prior life, I might be a bit picky, but dusting needs to occur more often in the rooms. When coffee is used, it needs to be replaced, not ignored. (Luckily I carry coffee with me what I travel.) Please don't leave stray hairs in the shower. I don't know whose those are. I like the Holiday Inn chain, each stay has always been a decent experience. This property included. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Stay I've come to enjoy my stays in Winona and I will stay nowhere else but here. I like the people and location and the property is put together well. Quiet and comfortable. The parking lot is confusing when full, but other than that, nothing negative about my stay at this location. They recognize me as a IGH member and are respectful of my status and refer to me by name. If there is anything I need or information about the community I know i can get it and it is reliable.. August 22, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Lobby & Business Center Guest Service Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading