• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: LOS ANGELES
  • Distance From Hotel: 44.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in designated areas with a nonrefundable fee. Medical certification required. Fee will be 75.00 for reservations for up to 6 nights. Reservations 7 nights or more the fee will be 150.00

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Whiting Ranch Regional Park
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Newport Beach
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Wild Rivers
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI
Attraction:
Verizon Wireless Ampitheatre
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:124
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:107
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1948

Relax at Our Irvine East Hotel in the Lake Forest Community.

Minutes from the Pacific coastline, Lake Forest is a picturesque community with a central location in Southern California easily accessible to Highway 5 and 405.

With a prime location in Orange County, California, Candlewood Suites® Orange County - Irvine East is the ideal choice for your extended stay trip. We offer unparalleled service for both business and leisure travelers. Our hotel is located near major
View More

Relax at Our Irvine East Hotel in the Lake Forest Community.

Minutes from the Pacific coastline, Lake Forest is a picturesque community with a central location in Southern California easily accessible to Highway 5 and 405.

With a prime location in Orange County, California, Candlewood Suites® Orange County - Irvine East is the ideal choice for your extended stay trip. We offer unparalleled service for both business and leisure travelers. Our hotel is located near major companies: Western Digital, Kawasaki and Hyundai, making it simple to travel for business. Our hotel guests also enjoy a convenient location near some of the area's best attractions in Orange County, CA. Visit the Verizon Amphitheater, or bask in the California sunshine at Wild Rivers Waterpark and nearby Laguna Beach. For easy day trips, enjoy the beautiful SanDiego, CA

As a preferred choice among Lake Forest travelers, our hotel offers all the amenities necessary for a carefree stay, including free guest laundry service, outdoor grills and our 24-hour Candlewood Gym. When you want to wind down for the night in your suite, you can enjoy a quick snack from the Candlewood Cupboard or relax in your suite and prepare a home cooked meal in the fully-equipped kitchen.

Whatever your heart desires, we have it here for you at Lake Forest Candlewood Suites® Orange County - Irvine East Hotel—where living on the road is made easy.

View Less
Features
If you're looking for comfort and convenience, the hotel's suites in Lake Forest are the perfect choice. All of the suites feature a fully-equipped kitchen, complete with a dishwasher and cookware.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 113 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 2 star hotel at best This hotel is directly on the freeway in San Clemente. It was not noisy other than the large group of kids with the baseball team and their parents who caused a huge amount of noise. They continued to bang doors and yell until 10:00 when we asked the manager to quiet them down, which he did. The room was clean, but very cheap linens and towels. We only stayed here as it was near my parents, but would pay more not been bothered by screaming kids at the pool area. The kids also knocked on our door several times as they were playing in the hall. I will not stay here again. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hospitality and Accommodations are top-notch I stayed five days recently at the Holiday Inn Express North, San Clemente, CA and it exceeded my expectations. I am not one to give unwarranted compliments, but the staff was superior, helpful and professional. The only downside is...the hotel is behind a shopping center and hard to find. Better signage is needed. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Corporate Business The entire services recieved were amazing..Thank you November 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The free breakfast was great and much more than I expected. Rooms were very comfortable and a good size. It was very frustrating after an 8 hour drive to have the directions take us to a random residential court and should be noted the Hotel is behind a shopping complex up a very large hill. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific weekend stay for a wedding We had wonderful service from the beginning to the end. The staff and property were top notch! I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking in the area. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable, attractive setting We enjoyed our two nights stay. Comfortable, clean, pleasant and courteous service. Beautiful grounds and setting. Odd access via rear of strip shopping center. Con: no recognition as Rewards Member. October 6, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poorly managed Facility ran out of hot water during morning. One fruit selection...ripe bananas. No apples or oranges. Hot water for oatmeal ran out and no one was available to notify. We cancelled 5 days of our anticipated stay and relocated to Newport Beach October 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice overnight stay Pleasantly surprised. Clean updated rooms & a good price. Would definitely stay again when visiting San Clemente. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Time We came for a wedding and had a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn! The rooms were so clean and very nice! The beds were very comfortable too! Thank you for such great service!! The Frey's September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business/Pleasure trip I have stayed here several times, and always recieve top service. The hotel is always clean, feels safe, and quiet (for being close to Fwy). Great place to stay! September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service We had a great customer service experience with Steven at the front desk when we arrived. We hadn't booked a room prior to arriving and he was extremely helpful with getting us checked in quickly. After we had checked into our room, Steven provided several recommendations for dinner in the area and then also wrote down detailed directions to each option. We also had a good experience with other staff members during the complementary breakfast the next morning. Highly recommended based on the staff alone! September 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overbooked Suite I made my reservation for a suite using the online booking method. I booked online rather that on the phone because I did not want to be put on hold for an extended period of time while customers were being checked in. I booked a suite at this hotel because it had great reviews on trip advisor and it claimed to be able to accommodate six people. I was planning my sister's calm bachelorette party. It was very important to me that all six of the people in my group would be in the same room, all together because my sister had been living out of the country for the past two years. Being together was our priority and your hotel claimed to be able to meet that need. Although I made the reservation ahead of time, I received a call about a week before the scheduled stay. I was very disappointed to be informed that your hotel would not be able to live up to our agreement because the suites had been over-booked, the reasoning being that I had made my reservation online. We were to be split into two separate rooms, the thing I had been trying to avoid. If I would have been informed earlier I would have been able to seek accommodations at a different hotel, but it was too late to do so by the time I was informed. I was on the phone for 25 minutes trying to sort out the mistake, most of that time I was on hold because customers needed to be checked in. Please do not offer online booking if it is not reliable. Also, it would be helpful to bring in more front desk staff to avoid putting customers on hold for extended periods of time, the thing I was trying to avoid in the first place by making my reservation online. The facility is well maintained and the front desk staff (Steven) was particularly welcoming and attentive, however the breakfast was not as high quality as I remember it from previous stays and the situation was less than ideal. I would have liked to be told immediately if there was a problem with my reservation in order to make other accommodations that fit my priorities. September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Visit to Orange County overall an excellent experience. The room was spacious, clean and the housekeeping staff were excellent. I would recommend this H.I . Express to anyone staying in San Clemente area. The breakfast each day was nutrious and very good. Upon check in, the staff were very helpful and always cheerful. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, attractive and efficient. As an HI Express, this hotel is perfect. Clean and attractive rooms, free wi-fi, a fridge, nice bathrooms, clean pool, decent free breakfast and an accommodating staff. Ask for Guzi, she is an amazing asset that singularly helps set this hotel above the others in the area. Easy to get to many places from this locale... from the beach, to Camp Pendleton to San Juan Capistrano. Easy freeway on/off, too. August 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Property/Bad Insulation A good property but made the mistake of being on the first floor. Very poor insulation and could hear every room around us and especially every foot fall above us. Not a happy situation at 4 in the morning. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for what we needed. We were staying in San Clemente overnight so this was perfect for us. Our room had everything we needed. The staff was really helpful and the welcome bag of treats including water, an orange and cookies really hit the spot when we arrived. We were exhausted so they gave us some take out choices that delivered for dinner. August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Great Stay! Always thoroughly impressed with this particular hotel. The accommodations are excellent and are in a perfect location. What really makes it worth the stay here is the manner in which you are taken care of by the Staff. Extremely Professional and courteous, I'd like to give a special thanks to the Front Desk Team, Guzy, Steven, Eddie and the new join Liz; you all are awesome and and a large part of why I continue to stay with your establishment. Thank you! August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay This is a fantastic little gem of a hotel, a solid 3-star + experience. I was scouting out hotels for my group travel company, and I would definitely recommend it for individuals or groups. There's a nice pool, indoor facilities for a large event with circular tables, etc. The rooms and beds are comfortable, there's a free breakfast (they do need to spring for a couple of extra toasters!), they just updated the WIFI, which is free, and the staff is friendly and helpful. It's just about a mile from the beach, maybe less, and they'll even loan you beach towels, umbrellas, and beach toys. That's pretty great, in my opinion! I'd never been to downtown San Clemente by the pier, etc.... it's really cute, and I can't wait to go back and spend more time there. We had pizza slices and the kiddos played on the beach after our long car ride down. We saw that there were fire pits on the beach where people could make smores and enjoy a night at the beach. Fun! We were visiting Legoland, and it was just under 30 minutes away... simple, no traffic both days (lucky us!), and near plenty of food and entertainment options. August 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for Orange County Good value for Orange County. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Room was clean and breakfast was fine. I was on business and rely on good wireless internet access. The internet was slow and spotty. For a pleasure visit, the hotel is a very good choice. However, for a business trip I would not recommend it. I was able to hear shouting from a room next door and and could also hear "plumping" noise through the pipes whenever another room was the shower. August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Vacation The hotel located in an nice place in San Clemente. Have easy access to the highway. Easy to check in and check out. You can prepaid for the room a head of time this way you don't have to check out. The room was nice and clean. I have really good sleep. It is really close to the Pier. I am going back for sure. August 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for a young family We spent one night at HIE as a stop off between LAX and our family reunion in Ortega, and were very pleased we did. The location beside the I-5 made us worry it would be noisy, but it was actually one of the quietest hotels we've stayed at in California! The architecture and plantings, with the large reception hall, shaded pool in the courtyard, plenty of room to relax outside of one's room all added to the good stay for our family of four (kids aged 5 and 7). Staff were welcoming and helpful with every request too. There seemed to be a variety of visitors from all over the world, lending it a real international feel and made us right at home! August 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Ok Experience Check in staff friendly at the lobby. After first night, informed about room refrigerator knocking noise (other than compressor turning off & on) along with condensation leakage) nothing was done to fix/change the refrigerator. Rooms are bit smaller as compared to other Holiday Inn express & feels a bit crowded with furniture. Found couple of worms in the bathroom on the second day but was glad to check out of that place. August 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by traveling with a dog We were pleased this lovely hotel allowed dogs and we never complained because we're so grateful. When we travel with our 10 lb Bijon we understand our options are limited and do hope Holiday Inn Express continues to provide that service. With that being said, the room was small for the price but in an area where you could take a pet outside. Most important to report, however, was that the air conditioner was so loud I didn't sleep that night. It was a necessary evil because without AC the room would have been too warm and stuffy. We used it intermittently. I doubt there's a solution; my guess is that all the rooms have the same AC. But the breakfast choices made up for this downside, and everyone was friendly and hospitable. August 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! I was in town on business and this hotel was an oasis, one of the best Holiday Inn's I have stayed at. Beautiful area and property, would recommend to anyone on vacation or business in Southern California! August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay We really enjoyed our time here, very relaxing and the rooms were immaculate. Outside area to enjoy the warm weather and beach within walking distance. Staff very helpful. Shopping handy. August 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large, comfortable rooms! I stayed at this property for a 5 night stay. This hotel is conveniently off the 5, however GPS cannot navigate you. If you put in the address, you end up on a incomplete street above and not connected to the hotel. I would start by noting this on your directions link. The staff upon arrival were wonderful. The room was quiet and awesome. The bathroom is clean and large, but I would correct the lighting problems. You cannot have any bathroom light without turning on the extremely noisy vent fan. It's great to have a bathroom vent fan, but I got a headache from it's extreme noise. The pool is immaculate and beautiful! The temp is perfect; it is much smaller than in photos and needs a slightly larger deck as you cannot fit the lounge chairs around it. The pool is adjacent to the main lobby and there was a loud convention in the rooms next to the pool - no rest there! Breakfast was very nice, but some fresh eggs would be great and some better coffee. It was well tended though and substantial. Overall very nice, with just a few minor improvements to make it a great Holiday Inn Express! August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for this trip Balcony with a breeze, safe, lovely, comfortable, can't expect more. I travel much, this was one of the nicest places where the folks at the front desk went out of there way. July 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No surprises We just wanted somewhere to relax for the night, with nothing other than a clean, quiet room. That's what we got. Clean, comfortable, and the staff were friendly and accommodating. July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful customer care I overall experience was great! My wife and I had a last minute change in schedule which put us in San Clemente, CA several hours before the standard check-in time. The hotel staff was very understanding and caring and allowed us to check-in early, which allowed us to freshen up and get to our scheduled appointments. This thoughtful accommodation certainly lowered the stress we had anticipated. I also very much appreciated the staggered rates which allow to use some points and make-up the balance with cash. I also noticed the staff going out of their way in assisting other clientele, such as senior citizens and handicapped persons with checking in and also checking out and getting into their vehicles. This demonstrated a high level of empathy and professionalism and very commendable. June 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relax + Our first night in the San Diego area and we were able to breeze in and enjoy. The property was well kept and nicely appointed. I was impressed with the entrance and convenience of how the property was laid out. June 22, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Candlewood Suites-Irvine East / Lake Forest Hotel Exterior
Candlewood Suites-Irvine East / Lake Forest Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites-Irvine East / Lake Forest Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Candlewood Suites Exterior View Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Candlewood Suites Exterior View
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Earn 1000 points per night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading