• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: LOS ANGELES
  • Distance From Hotel: 44.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in designated areas with a nonrefundable fee. Medical certification required. Fee will be 75.00 for reservations for up to 6 nights. Reservations 7 nights or more the fee will be 150.00

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Whiting Ranch Regional Park
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Newport Beach
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Wild Rivers
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI
Attraction:
Verizon Wireless Ampitheatre
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:124
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:107
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1948

Relax at Our Irvine East Hotel in the Lake Forest Community.

Minutes from the Pacific coastline, Lake Forest is a picturesque community with a central location in Southern California easily accessible to Highway 5 and 405.

With a prime location in Orange County, California, Candlewood Suites® Orange County - Irvine East is the ideal choice for your extended stay trip. We offer unparalleled service for both business and leisure travelers. Our hotel is located near major
View More

Relax at Our Irvine East Hotel in the Lake Forest Community.

Minutes from the Pacific coastline, Lake Forest is a picturesque community with a central location in Southern California easily accessible to Highway 5 and 405.

With a prime location in Orange County, California, Candlewood Suites® Orange County - Irvine East is the ideal choice for your extended stay trip. We offer unparalleled service for both business and leisure travelers. Our hotel is located near major companies: Western Digital, Kawasaki and Hyundai, making it simple to travel for business. Our hotel guests also enjoy a convenient location near some of the area's best attractions in Orange County, CA. Visit the Verizon Amphitheater, or bask in the California sunshine at Wild Rivers Waterpark and nearby Laguna Beach. For easy day trips, enjoy the beautiful SanDiego, CA

As a preferred choice among Lake Forest travelers, our hotel offers all the amenities necessary for a carefree stay, including free guest laundry service, outdoor grills and our 24-hour Candlewood Gym. When you want to wind down for the night in your suite, you can enjoy a quick snack from the Candlewood Cupboard or relax in your suite and prepare a home cooked meal in the fully-equipped kitchen.

Whatever your heart desires, we have it here for you at Lake Forest Candlewood Suites® Orange County - Irvine East Hotel—where living on the road is made easy.

View Less
Features
If you're looking for comfort and convenience, the hotel's suites in Lake Forest are the perfect choice. All of the suites feature a fully-equipped kitchen, complete with a dishwasher and cookware.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 146 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by jazzycouple Address rather difficult to find, but hotel great, service wonderful, and nicely appointed, clean room June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Service! Staff was very personable and went out of their way to meet our needs. Holiday Inn Express is my 1st choice in Hotel accommodations for business and pleasure. June 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, convenient hotel (if you can find it) The San Clemente North Holiday Inn Express was very convenient for my recent stay in San Clemente. The room and facility were clean and comfortable. The only problems I had were finding the hotel in the middle of the night (my navigation directed me to the neighborhood behind the hotel, which was stressful since I am unfamiliar with the area) and the breakfast provided was, in my opinion, horrible. I would recommend getting breakfast somewhere else and possibly call the hotel before you arrive to get directions. The front desk person told me they have tried to get the directions corrected with Google maps, but haven't been able to at this time. In their defense I would say the front desk person did stay on the phone with me and directed me to the hotel which I really appreciated. I will stay here again when I visit San Clemente. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent The staff, surroundings and breakfast were AWESOME! The only thing missing was a Jacuzzi. I will definitely stay here again. I can't wait! June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Location Convenient location and beautifully appointed hotel. June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room and breakfast were very nice I recently used miles I had to stay here with my husband and our 9 month old son for a mini getaway. The rooms and breakfast were great the staff was very nice. The only negative I had was that I was really looking forward to taking my son into the pool for his very first time. I liked that the pool was saltwater instead of chlorine for his delicate skin, unfortunate both days that we were there the pool was closed. So I was very disappointed as that was the one thing I was looking forward to was relaxing by the pool and taking my son in the pool for his first experience. Other then that our experience was great. I would have given all 5 stars, if I got everything I was hoping for. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff and well kept up facility We stayed recently in the flagship IHG property in Paris and our needs were much better addressed in San Clemente. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and friendly staff We stayed at this hotel after reading positive reviews about it. We knew we might have some trouble finding it because of its hidden location in the back end of a shopping center. There is one sign at the end of the street with another smaller "lodging" sign next to it pointing guests in the right direction. A few suggestions: More signs along the way would be very helpful just so people know they are on the right track. Maybe even the hotel logo or word "hotel" with an arrow on the pavement leading you toward the driveway. Installing stop signs near the lower parking lot because it is difficult to see cars coming up or going down the driveway. And putting a ramp at the lower level back door entrance to the hotel so you don't have to lift your heavy luggage up the steps. Other than that, the rooms were nice and clean with updated furniture and paint and a very comfy bed. Glad there was a frig, microwave, and coffee pot. Alan at the front desk was friendly and made us feel welcomed as soon as we walked in. May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Softball tournament Stay Alan at the front desk was terrific! Very friendly and helpful. This facility needs a Jacuzzi/Hot Tub!!!!! Maybe a bar/lounge area. May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Very welcoming staff from check-in to check-out. Beautiful rooms with comfy beds and large pillows (not square ones). Best breakfast ever! Will definitely recommend it to family and friends. May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent ambience and service A truly unique Holiday Inn Express in the Spanish hacienda style. The staff were outstanding, and the hotel is comfortable and very relaxing. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Staff were exceptional. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We have stayed there before and would certainly return when in San Clemente. May 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by April Vacation We had originally scheduled an 8 day vacation to Carlsbad, Ca. and we scheduled to stay at Ramada Inn. This was a mistake since the beds nearly killed me. We changed our reservations to Holiday Inn Express in San Clemente, Ca. and it was night and day. Of course we paid more for the better accommodations, but it was worth every penny. The Holiday Inn was very clean and the king size bed was wonderfully comfortable. The breakfast choices for multiple days was a bit less than what we have had in comparable hotels. Overall, we will always use Holiday Inn in the future. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and service I was very impressed with the service that the staff provided and how accommodating they were. A great place to stay and relax! April 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Freakin Awesome! Clean, friendly and the breakfast was amazing!!! Definitely will come back!!! April 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendliness of the staff, so warm . We were comfortable from the 1st step thru the front door. Honestly, everything was perfect... we had no complaints. Breakfasts were very good. lots of choices. I'll be back, and certainly will recommend it to family, and friends. Thank you April 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and facility The location in San Clemente is near the freeway, but very quiet and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The staff provides beach chairs, umbrellas, and beach towels for your trip to the many beaches close to the hotel. Nice size pool in a courtyard with shade and sun. Breakfast has lots of variety and was always hot. Staff really made the difference with warm greetings and accommodated every request. April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A little hard to find but once you are there it's really nice The driveway up the hill is a little hidden at night, but once I found it and made my way up the hill, the hotel was everything I expected and more. The rooms had a really nice tile entryway that added a bit of elegance to the room. Internet, water pressure, TV, Air all worked great. March 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly Recommend From the moment you check in it is clean, friendly and quiet. One of the best sleeps in a hotel I have experienced in quite some time. March 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great, Consistent Experience! Have experienced this hotel, both personally and with family, this hotel is consistently clean, friendly and hospitable! Great selection for breakfast. Would recommend to anyone visiting San Clemente to make this your hotel with confidence and satisfaction! March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of Sun I really enjoyed this property - very nice feel, much like a small boutique hotel. 2 areas of disappointment, but not deal breakers: 1 - lack of sun at pool, Pool is in small courtyard of building with a lattice overhang so sun was hard to find 2 - could hear noise from other rooms - above and beside February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the Nicest HIEs anywhere This place is fabulous, it's built on the side of a mountain and overlooks a good part of San Clemente. It's not your typical Holiday Inn Express as it was an existing resort hotel that was purchased, updated and reopened as an HIE. Service was excellent and my room was lovely. I will stay here anytime I'm in the area. February 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Well Maintained, Excellent Value We highly recommend this hotel. It is VERY clean and the linens are not only well laundered but also well pressed (as opposed to in some of the more upscale IHG beach properties within 2 hour radius of LA. February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This Hotel was great I stayed in this hotel for the first time and I have to say it was one of the best Hotel I have stayed in. I was able to sleep in and stayed comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and families. R/S John January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by visitor from Northern Cal on business very nice place. Older mission style. Has a unique feeling to it. Tricky route to get to hotel but nice and quiet. I will surely return to this place when I'm back in the area. January 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great amenities My daughters and grandchildren were visiting and I reserved suites for them to stay while they were here. They gave it high reviews, The children loved the pool, the breakfast and the staff. January 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Staff Service and Poor Communication My wife and I arrived at the San Clemente Holiday Inn Express just a few minutes after 8:00 PM on New Year's Eve, 12/31/2013. By the end of the check in process, i.e. already received my room keys, the male staff still hadn't advised me about the morning breakfast. From the booking website, I know this Holiday Inn location provides a complimentary breakfast. So I asked, "What time is breakfast tomorrow?" He goes, "From 7:30 AM to 10:30 AM." I was surprised. I responded, "That late?" He then said, "Because tomorrow is a Holiday, people don't have to wake up early" Then, he tells me how to get to my room. The next day, at about 7:45 AM, I went to the breakfast room and saw what kind of breakfast being provided; then went back to my room and gave a report to my wife who was still undecided about having breakfast at the hotel. At 9:35 AM, my wife and I arrived at the breakfast room. I was surprised that all of the hot breakfast items I saw about an hour earlier were all gone, and the containers were gone. I looked around and saw a lady cleaning up the place. I asked her about the hot breakfast items, and she said breakfast was closed at 9:30 AM. I told her that I was told by check-in staff breakfast was from 7:30AM to 10:30 AM because of the Holiday. This lady took me to the front desk. I told the front desk lady the same story. She answered, "No, we have breakfast from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM. We never have breakfast from 7:30 AM." (She had an unpleasant look on her face) I told her that I was surprised about the late breakfast time and specifically asked the check-in staff about it and he just responded, "It is a Holiday ....." I was a little annoyed by front desk lady’s blunt response. She probably didn’t believe me. Then, my wife and I went back to our room, picked up our luggage and ready to check-out. While we were leaving, my wife wanted some coffee. So we went back to the breakfast room. It was still a few minutes before 10:00 AM. While my wife was getting coffee (this is the only item left in the breakfast room), I saw a sign posted at the entrance of the breakfast room. It says" Complimentary Breakfast, 6:30 AM - 9:30 AM, Monday - Friday, 7:00 AM -10: 00 AM, Saturday and Sunday.” Then, immediately I went back to the front desk and said to the female staff that it was not my fault that the check-in staff told me the breakfast time was from 7:30 AM to 10:30 AM (because it was a Holiday). She finally said, "I am sorry." January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas stay we stayed in this hotel in 2007 before it became Holiday Inn Express. Nice hotel then. Now it is superb. Holiday Inn has done an amazing job of updating the rooms and the amenities. Most importantly is the new breakfast area and the microwave and refrigerator in every room. What a bargain for the price. Great beds, your own little kitchen AND a balcony with sliding door. And the pillows are marked soft & firm - very nice touch. This is a great facility for the price. We totally had a great 3 day stay. December 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas Arrived a bit early on Christmas, but the staff accommodated us and made us feel welcome. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service! I haven't stayed at a Holiday Inn for years, so when the baseball team said they were all staying I had too... Wow, has it changed... Rooms were beautiful, hotel staff was awesome, free breakfast in the morning, and great coffee!! I had a wonderful experience and I will definetely stay there again! (plus you can't beat the price) Enjoy, Angie ;) December 4, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Candlewood Suites-Irvine East / Lake Forest Hotel Exterior
Candlewood Suites-Irvine East / Lake Forest Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites-Irvine East / Lake Forest Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Candlewood Suites Exterior View Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Candlewood Suites Exterior View
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading