• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: LOS ANGELES
  • Distance From Hotel: 44.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in designated areas with a nonrefundable fee. Medical certification required. Fee will be 75.00 for reservations for up to 6 nights. Reservations 7 nights or more the fee will be 150.00

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Whiting Ranch Regional Park
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Newport Beach
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Wild Rivers
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI
Attraction:
Verizon Wireless Ampitheatre
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:124
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:107
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1948

Relax at Our Irvine East Hotel in the Lake Forest Community.

Minutes from the Pacific coastline, Lake Forest is a picturesque community with a central location in Southern California easily accessible to Highway 5 and 405.

With a prime location in Orange County, California, Candlewood Suites® Orange County - Irvine East is the ideal choice for your extended stay trip. We offer unparalleled service for both business and leisure travelers. Our hotel is located near major
View More

Relax at Our Irvine East Hotel in the Lake Forest Community.

Minutes from the Pacific coastline, Lake Forest is a picturesque community with a central location in Southern California easily accessible to Highway 5 and 405.

With a prime location in Orange County, California, Candlewood Suites® Orange County - Irvine East is the ideal choice for your extended stay trip. We offer unparalleled service for both business and leisure travelers. Our hotel is located near major companies: Western Digital, Kawasaki and Hyundai, making it simple to travel for business. Our hotel guests also enjoy a convenient location near some of the area's best attractions in Orange County, CA. Visit the Verizon Amphitheater, or bask in the California sunshine at Wild Rivers Waterpark and nearby Laguna Beach. For easy day trips, enjoy the beautiful SanDiego, CA

As a preferred choice among Lake Forest travelers, our hotel offers all the amenities necessary for a carefree stay, including free guest laundry service, outdoor grills and our 24-hour Candlewood Gym. When you want to wind down for the night in your suite, you can enjoy a quick snack from the Candlewood Cupboard or relax in your suite and prepare a home cooked meal in the fully-equipped kitchen.

Whatever your heart desires, we have it here for you at Lake Forest Candlewood Suites® Orange County - Irvine East Hotel—where living on the road is made easy.

View Less
Features
If you're looking for comfort and convenience, the hotel's suites in Lake Forest are the perfect choice. All of the suites feature a fully-equipped kitchen, complete with a dishwasher and cookware.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 127 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great, Consistent Experience! Have experienced this hotel, both personally and with family, this hotel is consistently clean, friendly and hospitable! Great selection for breakfast. Would recommend to anyone visiting San Clemente to make this your hotel with confidence and satisfaction! March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of Sun I really enjoyed this property - very nice feel, much like a small boutique hotel. 2 areas of disappointment, but not deal breakers: 1 - lack of sun at pool, Pool is in small courtyard of building with a lattice overhang so sun was hard to find 2 - could hear noise from other rooms - above and beside February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the Nicest HIEs anywhere This place is fabulous, it's built on the side of a mountain and overlooks a good part of San Clemente. It's not your typical Holiday Inn Express as it was an existing resort hotel that was purchased, updated and reopened as an HIE. Service was excellent and my room was lovely. I will stay here anytime I'm in the area. February 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Well Maintained, Excellent Value We highly recommend this hotel. It is VERY clean and the linens are not only well laundered but also well pressed (as opposed to in some of the more upscale IHG beach properties within 2 hour radius of LA. February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This Hotel was great I stayed in this hotel for the first time and I have to say it was one of the best Hotel I have stayed in. I was able to sleep in and stayed comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and families. R/S John January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by visitor from Northern Cal on business very nice place. Older mission style. Has a unique feeling to it. Tricky route to get to hotel but nice and quiet. I will surely return to this place when I'm back in the area. January 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great amenities My daughters and grandchildren were visiting and I reserved suites for them to stay while they were here. They gave it high reviews, The children loved the pool, the breakfast and the staff. January 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Staff Service and Poor Communication My wife and I arrived at the San Clemente Holiday Inn Express just a few minutes after 8:00 PM on New Year's Eve, 12/31/2013. By the end of the check in process, i.e. already received my room keys, the male staff still hadn't advised me about the morning breakfast. From the booking website, I know this Holiday Inn location provides a complimentary breakfast. So I asked, "What time is breakfast tomorrow?" He goes, "From 7:30 AM to 10:30 AM." I was surprised. I responded, "That late?" He then said, "Because tomorrow is a Holiday, people don't have to wake up early" Then, he tells me how to get to my room. The next day, at about 7:45 AM, I went to the breakfast room and saw what kind of breakfast being provided; then went back to my room and gave a report to my wife who was still undecided about having breakfast at the hotel. At 9:35 AM, my wife and I arrived at the breakfast room. I was surprised that all of the hot breakfast items I saw about an hour earlier were all gone, and the containers were gone. I looked around and saw a lady cleaning up the place. I asked her about the hot breakfast items, and she said breakfast was closed at 9:30 AM. I told her that I was told by check-in staff breakfast was from 7:30AM to 10:30 AM because of the Holiday. This lady took me to the front desk. I told the front desk lady the same story. She answered, "No, we have breakfast from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM. We never have breakfast from 7:30 AM." (She had an unpleasant look on her face) I told her that I was surprised about the late breakfast time and specifically asked the check-in staff about it and he just responded, "It is a Holiday ....." I was a little annoyed by front desk lady’s blunt response. She probably didn’t believe me. Then, my wife and I went back to our room, picked up our luggage and ready to check-out. While we were leaving, my wife wanted some coffee. So we went back to the breakfast room. It was still a few minutes before 10:00 AM. While my wife was getting coffee (this is the only item left in the breakfast room), I saw a sign posted at the entrance of the breakfast room. It says" Complimentary Breakfast, 6:30 AM - 9:30 AM, Monday - Friday, 7:00 AM -10: 00 AM, Saturday and Sunday.” Then, immediately I went back to the front desk and said to the female staff that it was not my fault that the check-in staff told me the breakfast time was from 7:30 AM to 10:30 AM (because it was a Holiday). She finally said, "I am sorry." January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas stay we stayed in this hotel in 2007 before it became Holiday Inn Express. Nice hotel then. Now it is superb. Holiday Inn has done an amazing job of updating the rooms and the amenities. Most importantly is the new breakfast area and the microwave and refrigerator in every room. What a bargain for the price. Great beds, your own little kitchen AND a balcony with sliding door. And the pillows are marked soft & firm - very nice touch. This is a great facility for the price. We totally had a great 3 day stay. December 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas Arrived a bit early on Christmas, but the staff accommodated us and made us feel welcome. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service! I haven't stayed at a Holiday Inn for years, so when the baseball team said they were all staying I had too... Wow, has it changed... Rooms were beautiful, hotel staff was awesome, free breakfast in the morning, and great coffee!! I had a wonderful experience and I will definetely stay there again! (plus you can't beat the price) Enjoy, Angie ;) December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this hotel! My boyfriend and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express a few weeks ago. He is visiting from Australia. We had originally booked one night at this hotel. We ended up adding 2 more nights to our stay after our pleasant experience the first night. We even stayed an additional night a few days later! The location isn't the best but everything else makes up for it. The room was clean and comfortable. I miss the bed and sheets. The bathroom is a little small but is beautiful with granite countertops. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room which was nice for leftovers and beveradges. The front desk staff was very friendly and courteous. The continental breakfast leaves much to be desired.. So I recommend going to a local restaurant. One of the best parts was the complimentary fresh baked chocolate chip cookies every evening! Made us feel welcome and at home. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much. November 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Decor and Comfortable Bed Nicely decorated room and lobby. Great amenities and breakfast. This place is little difficult to find and need better signage leading to the hotel. November 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! If you're coming to San Clemente, stay at this fantastic hotel. The rooms are wonderful, the amenities are terrific and the staff is warm and friendly. They will go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. Steven and Guzy in particular were just the best! I highly recommend this hotel. Also a great place to have a meeting or event. Lovely banquet room. November 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 2 star hotel at best This hotel is directly on the freeway in San Clemente. It was not noisy other than the large group of kids with the baseball team and their parents who caused a huge amount of noise. They continued to bang doors and yell until 10:00 when we asked the manager to quiet them down, which he did. The room was clean, but very cheap linens and towels. We only stayed here as it was near my parents, but would pay more not been bothered by screaming kids at the pool area. The kids also knocked on our door several times as they were playing in the hall. I will not stay here again. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hospitality and Accommodations are top-notch I stayed five days recently at the Holiday Inn Express North, San Clemente, CA and it exceeded my expectations. I am not one to give unwarranted compliments, but the staff was superior, helpful and professional. The only downside is...the hotel is behind a shopping center and hard to find. Better signage is needed. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Corporate Business The entire services recieved were amazing..Thank you November 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The free breakfast was great and much more than I expected. Rooms were very comfortable and a good size. It was very frustrating after an 8 hour drive to have the directions take us to a random residential court and should be noted the Hotel is behind a shopping complex up a very large hill. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific weekend stay for a wedding We had wonderful service from the beginning to the end. The staff and property were top notch! I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking in the area. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable, attractive setting We enjoyed our two nights stay. Comfortable, clean, pleasant and courteous service. Beautiful grounds and setting. Odd access via rear of strip shopping center. Con: no recognition as Rewards Member. October 6, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poorly managed Facility ran out of hot water during morning. One fruit selection...ripe bananas. No apples or oranges. Hot water for oatmeal ran out and no one was available to notify. We cancelled 5 days of our anticipated stay and relocated to Newport Beach October 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice overnight stay Pleasantly surprised. Clean updated rooms & a good price. Would definitely stay again when visiting San Clemente. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Time We came for a wedding and had a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn! The rooms were so clean and very nice! The beds were very comfortable too! Thank you for such great service!! The Frey's September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business/Pleasure trip I have stayed here several times, and always recieve top service. The hotel is always clean, feels safe, and quiet (for being close to Fwy). Great place to stay! September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service We had a great customer service experience with Steven at the front desk when we arrived. We hadn't booked a room prior to arriving and he was extremely helpful with getting us checked in quickly. After we had checked into our room, Steven provided several recommendations for dinner in the area and then also wrote down detailed directions to each option. We also had a good experience with other staff members during the complementary breakfast the next morning. Highly recommended based on the staff alone! September 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overbooked Suite I made my reservation for a suite using the online booking method. I booked online rather that on the phone because I did not want to be put on hold for an extended period of time while customers were being checked in. I booked a suite at this hotel because it had great reviews on trip advisor and it claimed to be able to accommodate six people. I was planning my sister's calm bachelorette party. It was very important to me that all six of the people in my group would be in the same room, all together because my sister had been living out of the country for the past two years. Being together was our priority and your hotel claimed to be able to meet that need. Although I made the reservation ahead of time, I received a call about a week before the scheduled stay. I was very disappointed to be informed that your hotel would not be able to live up to our agreement because the suites had been over-booked, the reasoning being that I had made my reservation online. We were to be split into two separate rooms, the thing I had been trying to avoid. If I would have been informed earlier I would have been able to seek accommodations at a different hotel, but it was too late to do so by the time I was informed. I was on the phone for 25 minutes trying to sort out the mistake, most of that time I was on hold because customers needed to be checked in. Please do not offer online booking if it is not reliable. Also, it would be helpful to bring in more front desk staff to avoid putting customers on hold for extended periods of time, the thing I was trying to avoid in the first place by making my reservation online. The facility is well maintained and the front desk staff (Steven) was particularly welcoming and attentive, however the breakfast was not as high quality as I remember it from previous stays and the situation was less than ideal. I would have liked to be told immediately if there was a problem with my reservation in order to make other accommodations that fit my priorities. September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Visit to Orange County overall an excellent experience. The room was spacious, clean and the housekeeping staff were excellent. I would recommend this H.I . Express to anyone staying in San Clemente area. The breakfast each day was nutrious and very good. Upon check in, the staff were very helpful and always cheerful. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, attractive and efficient. As an HI Express, this hotel is perfect. Clean and attractive rooms, free wi-fi, a fridge, nice bathrooms, clean pool, decent free breakfast and an accommodating staff. Ask for Guzi, she is an amazing asset that singularly helps set this hotel above the others in the area. Easy to get to many places from this locale... from the beach, to Camp Pendleton to San Juan Capistrano. Easy freeway on/off, too. August 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Property/Bad Insulation A good property but made the mistake of being on the first floor. Very poor insulation and could hear every room around us and especially every foot fall above us. Not a happy situation at 4 in the morning. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for what we needed. We were staying in San Clemente overnight so this was perfect for us. Our room had everything we needed. The staff was really helpful and the welcome bag of treats including water, an orange and cookies really hit the spot when we arrived. We were exhausted so they gave us some take out choices that delivered for dinner. August 27, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Candlewood Suites-Irvine East / Lake Forest Hotel Exterior
Candlewood Suites-Irvine East / Lake Forest Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites-Irvine East / Lake Forest Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Candlewood Suites Exterior View Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Candlewood Suites Exterior View
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading