• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: LANSING
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee for 75 per stay. Pet agreements must be signed at checkin. Call hotel for details.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:128
  • Total number of suites:128
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:128
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:128
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:MI0598

East Lansing Hotel's Located on MSU's Campus

The Candlewood Suites® East Lansing hotel is located on the beautiful campus of Michigan State University and is attached to the James B. Henry Center for Executive Development and the prestigious University Club of MSU.

If business brings you to Lansing, MI, our hotel's outstanding amenities are sure to meet all your needs. Each suite features free high-speed Internet access and an executive desk. With state-of-the-art conference
View More

East Lansing Hotel's Located on MSU's Campus

The Candlewood Suites® East Lansing hotel is located on the beautiful campus of Michigan State University and is attached to the James B. Henry Center for Executive Development and the prestigious University Club of MSU.

If business brings you to Lansing, MI, our hotel's outstanding amenities are sure to meet all your needs. Each suite features free high-speed Internet access and an executive desk. With state-of-the-art conference facilities, the Henry Center is the perfect choice for your Lansing meeting.

For this hotel's guests, there's no shortage of things to do in Lansing, MI. The hotel's convenient location on the campus if MSU makes it easy to explore the university's many attractions. Watch the Spartans compete in NCAA-Division I athletics, or catch a performance at the Wharton Center for the Performing Arts, attend an event at MSU's Pavilion, Breslin Student Event Center or Munn Ice Arena. Lansing is also home to Michigan's State Capitol building, the Lansing Lugnuts and the R.E. Olds Transportation Museum.

A Quality Excellence Award winner for two consecutive years, the Candlewood Suites® East Lansing hotel offers some of the best service and amenities in Lansing. This pet friendly hotel's perks include a Fitness Center, free guest laundry facilities and the Candlewood Cupboard, our 24-hour convenience store. Make your reservations today to enjoy all that we have to offer!

View Less
Features
In East Lansing, the hotel's location on MSU's campus is the perfect choice. Since we are attached to a private club, our guests enjoy access to the outdoor pool, fine dining, spa services and golf.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 84 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Pool and Treadmill Broke The quality of this location is slipping. I love the location and have stayed here numerous times. However I am finding the quality and service has changed. Cutting cost with writing paper toilet paper. Bathtub drained slowly most likely due to hair build up. I found two dirty socks near the luggage rack. I am a rewards member and was never offered a complimentary water let alone a snack. I will not stay at this location again. January 15, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Strong body odor on one bed I had a very good first impression on this hotel, it looked nice. Before I went to bed, I noticed strong body odor. I was not sure if they had changed bed sheets. I called the front desk and was told they could not change the sheets for me, so I had to go to the front desk, get a fresh set and change it myself. January 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Exercise Equipment still broken. Poorly managed staff. This is a nice property in some ways and is in a good location in East Lansing. Unfortunately, the cardio equipment is ancient and dysfunctional. I note from other reviewers that this is an ongoing issue. Promises for repair appear to be ongoing from the responses. Action, so far completely absent. During my stay, both treadmills and the cardio bike were broken. The bike has been broken for several months. I brought this up to staff and asked to speak with a manager and was advised that they don't answer their phone. No one made an effort to take my information for the manager to contact me later. Some staff feigned surprise that the equipment didn't work, but, one eventually fessed up that the bike had been waiting for parts for 3 months (must be searching antique stores). The staff also lied to me about the discount they were going to give me for being dissatisfied. The pool was also closed due to disrepair I may choose to stay at this property again due to the location, but, I'm going to inquire about the repair of the cardio equipment first. This property is very poorly managed. January 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Cheapo The hotel offers fresh baked cookies to guests, but not on Friday, Saturday, or Sunday because there are "too many guests". On weekdays, they run out. "Fresh" fruit on the breakfast bar consisted of rotten bananas with split skins. The thermostat in my room was broken and the room was way too hot. January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Friendly Staff and very accommodating After an ice storm hit and no power we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express (less than 2 miles from our house) in East Lansing for 4 nights. Every staff member we encountered were outstanding and very friendly. They were also very accommodating. The breakfast offered a variety of delicious food just wished it had more fruit. December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff We recently had a bad ice storm. The staff was very flexible and helpful as the hotel filled up fast. Great breakfast and the kids loved the pool! December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas at the Holiday Inn Express I had no power in my apartment from 12/22/13-12/26/13 and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in East Lansing for 3 nights, including Christmas Eve. The staff was excellent. Everyone was friendly, helpful, smiling and happy to help and the hotel was full the whole time with them having to turn people away as many people had no power. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the breakfast was good. Since I had to stay in a hotel I couldn't have picked a better one. I want to thank the staff for making my Christmas memorable and more positive than it might have been. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay during a Holiday Ice Storm Staff very nice, helpful and considerate during an extra busy holiday week. December 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Snow While I was at the hotel is snowed a few inches overnight. While I know you need to clean off the snow from the sidewalks and parking lot starting the process at 4:30am is a bit early. I had a full day of meetings ahead of me and to be woken up at 4:30am by blowers and plow made for a very long day. December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn in Detroit I absolutely loved the service. We were there for a hockey tournament and spent 3nights and days. The staff was Very accommodating, very help full and very clean. The front desk was amazing with kind words even when it got hectic. The rooms were very clean breakfast okay but overall our 4 days was spent good. December 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better Than Average This property appears to be newer than most I've been at. The dining room size is far better than the one I'm currently staying at in Merrillville. IN. It ws a little dificult to find when arriving at night. It has oneof those I can see it but not how to get there locations if you miss the turn off of Lansing Lake Rd. I was disappointed not to have a room with a fridge or microwae as a platiunum member that spends 200 nights a year with the IHG group. November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast choices were endless The hotel is very clean, staff is friendly. The free breakfast is awesome. From cereal to eggs, pancakes, bagels, and sausage. The also had this juice machine that had ice cold apple, orange, and a mango juice. It was very surprising to see all this stuff for a free breakfast. November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place for Business Travel & Hot Breakfast Stayed here for the first time in Sept. 2013 and found the hotel staff to be very welcoming and friendly. The room was well-cleaned and comfortable, with several pillow choices. In the morning, the breakfast staff was also quite friendly, and he kept the breakfast bar well-stocked. I love the cinnamon rolls and cheese omelettes! September 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful, friendly front desk staff but need improvement in other areas. Why does room rate change everyday (7 days a week)?...never seen this anywhere. Breakfast: Biscuits are hard and gravy watery every day. Tread mills in Fitness Center are entry level (1980 style). Rapid Checkout...why is there not a zero balance on receipt? What good is Rapid Checkout if you have to stop at front desk and get a zero balance receipt on the way out the door. September 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to MSU Nice location with easy acss to a mall and campus. quiet enough for a good night's sleep September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room for the price I would definitely room here again. The room was clean & spacious and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Thanks Holiday Inn Express! September 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad but could be better The bathroom was not cleaned well in my room. I found hair on the floor, in the shower, and around the sink. They were out of cinnamon rolls, there was only 1 yogurt flavor, and no fruit available at breakfast. They do not have a hot tub and the pool has a plastic liner to look like tile. Mostly just little things. Beyond that it was not a bad hotel. Nice decor and up to date. I have stayed in much worse, but for the money it was not a good value. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good HIE for business travelers Was in town for two consecutive weeks and stayed at this HIE. Desk staff made you feel at home as soon as you came in the door, Rooms comfortable and well appointed. Good value. My universal issue with all HIE's that I stay is that the desks in the rooms are not large enough to accomodate laptop, workpapers etc. Not meant as a knock on this hotel. Breakfast was standard HIE fare but served with a smile and friendly greeting each morning by the breakfast staff. Excellent restaurants a short drive away. I would go out of my way to stay here again. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We had a great one night stay at this hotel. The room was clean, secure and quiet when we came back to sleep. We felt secure and content, and we were able to thoroughly relax and enjoy the stay. The staff was courteous and kind, the breakfast amazing. Thank you for such a peaceful night! August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly Recommend HI-Express East Lansing I was very pleased with my recent stay (7/18-21) at the Holiday Inn Express - East Lansing. The room was very clean and the staff was superb in every way. Kudos to Barry and the young lady who was the breakfast attendant (sorry I do not remember her name). Barry was very professional and helpful during my stay . . . Check-in to check-out. The breakfast attendant was always polite and attentive to everyone in the breakfast room. My only disappointments were: 1) Not every room has a refrigerator and 2) The coffee pot is located in the bathroom (suggest moving to the corner of the desk). I highly recommend this hotel and plan to stay there again when I return to the East Lansing area. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean room with great service I was in East Lansing last weekend for a family reunion and stayed in this wonderful hotel, I had booked 5 rooms for 2 nights for my family on reward points as I am a Platinum Elite member of Priority Rewards,4 King rooms and 1 double room was what I had verified with "Barry" at the front desk 2 days prior to arriving,however when I arrived "Barry" upgraded all the King rooms to King suites upon check in without me even having to ask for it,needless to say,this was very much appreciated by my family,for the extra room and amenities,the breakfast on Sat/Sun morning were both delicious and allowed us extra rest time in our rooms without searching for a place to feed the children,the rooms were clean and each request was met with a smile,I will definitely stay in this hotel again when I'm in the area,and recommend it to any family/friends in the area,Thank you to Barry and all the fine staff of this hotel for a wonderful stay for myself and family. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best I'm a frequent traveler and this hotel was one of the best HIE properties I've stayed at. When I'm in Lansing again I plan to stay at this hotel. July 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy refrigerator. Good front desk service. The room was clean and comfortable, but the refrigerator was loud and not a constant sound. It kept waking me up. My second stay, I requested a different room, and that one had a quiet refrigerator. Much better. Breakfast closes too early. July 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by tub/bed tub was not cleaned very well - sheets were badly pilled. July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just what you expect..... Excellent stay, room was clean and comfortable, the hotel was quiet at night. The breakfast was outstanding, my family and I were very impressed with all the many different options and it tasted great. Great experience! July 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall I did enjoy my stay but here are a few suggestions for improving the experience. Upon checking in on 3 June 2013, I did a customary check out of the facility, where things are and what is available to me as a guest. They did have a pool, it was nice looking, no spa or hot tub on property. I next looked at the exercise room or mini gym it's condition was less than satisfactory. In the gym itself it had 2 treadmills, one totally is inoperable, the other is somewhat-you have to reset the treadmill by unplugging it from the wall and plugging it back in, then you apply the quick start button, then you use your own legs to get the belt started and it does not in my mind work accurately. The floor is hard and not padded at all, no free weights or elliptical are available on property. I, like many other guests during my stay reported these issues to the front desk and were promptly written down and reported to management, in the middle of my stay I wrote an email to Stacy who is the general manager and I was told that my concerns were passed onto the owner, but before I left nothing was ever done about this. So I did what I could as far as fitness. I would like to applaud the staff, Barry, Sara, Catalin and Aaron-they tried very hard to make my stay memorable-the room maintenance staff Colleen, Nara both exemplary young ladies and they treated me like I was at home and I appreciate that. One last suggestion-the desk did say they had a cooperative agreement with a local gym, but it costs 5.00 a day to go to it, if you have an inadequate gym you might want to waive that fee to satisfy the guests you have on property. July 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Broken toilet Reported problem in morning. Was not fixed when we returned in late afternoon. Had to change to another room farther away from our car and upstairs due to toilet not flushing. Then that room's a/c kept cycling on and off without the fan continuing to run (we like to have the fan on all night). Also would choose a hotel with a hot tub next time.Too costly for what we received. July 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Do not stay here Go some where else. We had a reservation and tried to check in at 2pm. We were told our room (2 beds) wasn't ready. I asked if there were any 2 bed rooms that were ready. I was told no. Our room would be ready in 30 minutes. We waited in the lobby until 2:30 and I asked again. Again I was told it would be about 30 minutes. At 3pm I asked again and was again told no. The manager came up and asked what I needed. I told him. He found us a room, that had been available the whole time. He didn't seem bothered that we'd been kept waiting for an hour. June 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place We stayed on my priority points for a bowling tournament. The staff was very pleasant. Great surprise was the mall across the highway which offered a variety of places to eat. June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by peaceful place Tucked away on a quiet back street but a short peacful walk to some eating places, I asked for the quiet crumpy old man section to keep the basket ball teams away from me and they did well. I got 2 comfortble nights sleep . It's all I ask for. I'm a happy guy May 24, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading