• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 45.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:11
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee of 15 for 1st night and 10 for every addl night up to 150. Entire fee charged at arrival. Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at checkin. Current vaccination records may be required.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Six Flags Great America
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking. Do not leave valuable items in the vehicle. User assumes all risks.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:11
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:IL1425

Top Choice Extended Stay Libertyville Hotel Near Des Plaines River.

Located along the Des Plaines River, Libertyville is a quiet suburban community with a picturesque downtown. The Candlewood Suites® Chicago - Libertyville hotel offers a convenient location near Hwy-45, approximately 30 miles from I-94W, and located near the Prairie Crossing-Libertyville Train Station. Come stay at your own pace and book your extended stay with us.

Being located near the Libertyville, IL
View More

Top Choice Extended Stay Libertyville Hotel Near Des Plaines River.

Located along the Des Plaines River, Libertyville is a quiet suburban community with a picturesque downtown. The Candlewood Suites® Chicago - Libertyville hotel offers a convenient location near Hwy-45, approximately 30 miles from I-94W, and located near the Prairie Crossing-Libertyville Train Station. Come stay at your own pace and book your extended stay with us.

Being located near the Libertyville, IL business district, gives us an advantage when it comes to our business travelers. With companies like Motorola, USG, Brightstar, and VW located near our hotel, you’ll make it to your meeting with time to spare. We provide you with all the tools needed for a productive business trip. Stay connected with free Wi-Fi access and a flexible work space to keep your daily routine going.

Our spacious suites accommodate the entire family. Enjoy Six Flags Great America and Water Park. And to wrap it all up, enjoy a grand shopping experience at Gurnee Mills.

Our guests take pleasure in our free amenities. We offer the 24- hour Candlewood Gym, a fully-equipped kitchen in all suites, and for those early mornings when you want a quick breakfast, just saunter down to the Candlewood Cupboard for get-up-and-go breakfast options. During your extended stay, help yourself to our free laundry service, Lending Library and Lending Locker. Living on the go has never been easier.

View Less
Features
If you're looking for hotel's in Libertyville, IL with great accommodations, look no further. All of our suites have a full kitchen, complete with cookware, a dishwasher and a full-size refrigerator.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 114 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean hotel This was a generally comfortable stay. The breakfast was fair, fruit was poor quality. Toaster launched items to the floor due to placement on a titled pedestal rack. Check in was very slow, even though not busy. Did love the high shower head for showers. May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely recommendable Everything was really good Clean and facilities Can improve on options for breakfast May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Little Hotel Have been staying here for years on a regular basis when traveling in to my firm's headquarters. Provides my company good value at reasonable cost, and is quiet and comfortable. Staff are dependable and courteous. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay, GREAT STAFF!!! All of the staff we encountered were absolutely wonderful. Mr. S, from the front desk found us a luggage rack and even offered to assist us to our room. Housekeeping on the 3rd floor was wonderful. Smiled, greeted us and asked if she could assist. The room was very clean and welcoming! We were with a large competition dance company and scheduled to leave the hotel before the breakfast buffet actually was scheduled to open. The staff made sure to accommodate us. The staff had items available as the girls (and Mom's & Dad's) caught a quick bite and coffee, juice etc. on the run. What a pleasant surprise!! They knew the group was leaving early and the woman setting-up the breakfast bar was just great!! Thanks to all! I will be happy to return to this location! April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I stay in Holiday Inn Express a lot for work. The customer service at this one is tops! Checking in was a breeze and it was the gentleman's first day by himself after training behind the counter. It didn't show at all. He was friendly and professional. I only found out after talking with him for a bit during check in. During this stay I had an issue with my "neighbor"'s TV being too loud at midnight one night when I was going to sleep. I called the front desk and the woman was great! She came up, tried to knock on his door several times and call him on his phone. My neighbor was out like a light and the TV was probably too loud for him to hear her knock and call...LOL. She offered to have me switch rooms. It wasn't her fault at all, but she was very gracious during the whole incident. She brought the new key to me and even helped me with my luggage to my new, very quiet room. This is the first time anything like this has ever happened to me. You can't predict things like that, but you can count on the wonderful customer service to help solve the problem! I would definitely recommend this hotel. April 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Lots of problems We checked in after reserving adjoining rooms, and had trouble with the first room from the start. The TV didn't work the first day, couldn't be fixed till the second day. The second day we realized the iron didn't work, used our adjoining rooms iron, no pool for the second day either. We extended our stay for our sons graduation so we could relax, let the small children relax before a long trip home. The third day we returned to our room at 11 pm to find that our room keys didn't open the door. The woman at the front desk said we had checked out...we hadn't. The other family member s had checked out of their room, I can see where the error occurred, but really a quick sorry, would've done wonders. They did let us back into our room where all of our things were, luckily, and housekeeping hadn't been in. So we didn't have clean or dry towels, I did receive two towels after asking! I would suggest that folks staying look at other properties nearby before coming into a hotel that cost more with several issues in terms of cleanliness and repair. Not to mention a staff that is not terribly interested in customer satisfaction. In all fairness the woman at the front desk offered no apology, but did offer extra IHG rewards. NO THANKS. I'll stay somewhere else going forward. April 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unpleasent stay I'm posting this review because I sent and email to managemnt with not response .... I was @ the location on 04/12/04/13. Let me first start with the reservation experience. I was given inaccurate information by both the Reservation line and a representative at the location. On 04/11/14 I called the reservation line to inquire about group pricing. I’m the volunteer administrator for an Organization and I was trying to book 6 rooms as we were in town for a weekend event. When I reached the reservation line they informed me that the group pricing was handled by the location and that I should contact them directly. I then reached out to the location and spoke to a young lady who confirm that was correct and stated that the she wasn’t able to authorize the group rate , but that I should contact Kevin (hotel management on 04/12/14 in the A.M. and that he would be able to make the adjustment. On Saturday I was informed by Kevin that that was incorrect and that I needed to book 10 room to receive the approximate $5/10 off. So I had no choice but to understand the internal error/miscommunication. Upon my arrive that evening I was checked in by Morgan, she was awesome and displayed amazing customer service. When I arrived at 3pm I was informed that not all my rooms were ready. Finally about 10/15mins into the check in process the Cleaning supervisor radioed that the room was ready. The whole front desk process was very disorganized . It appears to be that there a several new employees and the other rep was very rude and keep interrupting my check in process, because apparently his customer’s room was ready either. Lastly I settled in that evening and everyone is preparing for bed, one of the people in my group pulls out the sleeper bed and it is broken. This of course may seem minimal I guess because once I informed the desk she brought up a roller away. However by this time I was frustrated because the WHOLE experience was not what I’m use to during my stay at Holiday Inn….. I recommend***************** Training for front desk staff ( VERY RUDE especially the lady that worked the front desk on 04/12/14 overnight# Spot checking for Housekeeping # how does a broken sleeper not get noticed.) April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great hotel Ask for the type of bed you like because they have options from moderate to very firm. Courteous, friendly and helpful staff. Ample parking near door. Clean lobby, main rooms and guest room. Delicious breakfast with great variety of foods. Easy in/out to major roads. April 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hospitality The hotel staff is probably the best I have ever encountered. They went above and beyond to ensure I had everything I needed to enjoy my stay. The hotel amenities were nice. The only thing they lacked was a laundry room but the staff gave me the name of a good Laundromat and driving directions. Hotel is within close proximity to Training Support Center Great Lakes where I was working and is close to WAL-MART and other great dining and entertainment. I would definitely stayhere again. March 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Navy Graduation My son and I stayed here for my nephew's Navy Graduation. Overall, we had an great stay here. There are only a couple of very small suggestions I would make: Make sure your sheets and blankets are completely dry before putting them on the beds...ours had a huge wet spot but, I just unfolded the top fold and they dried and were fine. Inform families staying there for the Graduation, that you stream the ceremony live in the Lobby. I didnt know they did that and found out by going to get coffee. Lastly, I wish the pool, and the room housing the pool was bigger. I wasn't on base to see my nephew, so everybody came to my hotel to meet up and hang out. The pool was so small, that after you got more than a couple of kids in there splashing around, the WHOLE room was wet with nowhere dry for adults to keep an eye on them. I also would suggest carpet in that hallway as a bunch of kids came out of the pool room, dripping, and the water on the stone floor was very slippery. On the plus side, the beds were super comfortable, the room was very clean and quiet ( I love the sign in the bathroom about the towels- I wish all hotels did that!) and breakfast was very good. We had a great experience there! March 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by unfortunate There was one woman who I felt knew her job Michelle ....unfortunately she wasnt there till the last day of my stay the night person was very rude and th I had to switch rooms all 3 nights had Michelle been there my stay would have perrfect...in the midst of all the room changing I was also given a dirty room. ....... March 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, nice room, great staff The room was clean and well appointed. The heater/air conditioner worked well. Many times these things are noisy, turn on and off all night and keep you up. This one was perfect! The staff was friendly & courteous. We particularly enjoyed the Maintenance supervisor who we chatted with each day and found him very helpful as to what the surrounding area had for things to do, and that was not much this time of year. Looks like summer would be fun. The weather was bad but we are from New England so it was not hard to deal with. Overall good Hotel experience March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great rooms and nice service but very bad breakfast choices My stay is very comfortable there with very good staff, nice rooms and excellent facilities of small workout room, swimming pool, hot tub. Overall very except breakfast. I found nearby Courtyard is slightly costly than this but they had excellent choice of breakfast. This is something if hotel makes adjustments; this would be a very good hotel to say. Regards UG February 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was excellant I would like to compliment Meelima on her service which I consider was over and above her job responsibility. She went out of her way to help me with my boarding passes and everything else I needed. The only small complaint would be when requested additional towels I had to ask twice and then had to go to the desk and get them myself, BUt as I say that was just a small inconvenience. Overall our stay was very enjoyable. Keep up the good work! January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming, restful We were there for two days just before Christmas, 2013, visiting our son at Great Lakes Naval Station. We enjoyed the warm welcome and homey atmosphere with the fire in the fireplace, Christmas decorations and tasty, hot breakfast. Staff was wonderful, room was clean. Would definitely stay there again. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Employees very nice. Good location and very clean. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room I've stayed in plenty of hotels and my biggest pet peeve is not enough outlets for everything that needs charging...and sometimes all need charging at the same time. I love this hotel because I had plenty of outlets to choose from. This is my second stay here and was not disappointed. Nice comfortable beds and good water pressure!!! Just like the last visit. I will be back again.... Keep up the good job. Oh, and thanks front desk for supplying me with a much needed shower cap which I forgot! Kudos!! December 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good value but problems with Direct TV I had problems with the direct TV service every day. It took me 10 to 20 minutes to turn ON the TV. This was mentioned twice to the staff but it was not fixed. Most everything else with the hotel was good. Except for the powdered eggs and the pancake machine that did not work. December 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect! Reservation was kept. Friendly staff. Room was clean and the jacuzzi was awesome. Slept quietly and comfortably. Breakfest was right on time and everything was fresh and warm. Coffee was great! Fireplace was lit and warm.. all I can say is well done! On the coldest day of the year it was nice to be safe and secure at the Holiday in. December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was great! I stayed here for 3 days for my sons Naval graduation. I got in to town early due to flight changes and I called to see if I could get in to the room early, and the employee at the desk was so nice and had our room ready early. Everyone was helpful with travel to and from the navy base, the mall, ect. If I return to the Great Lakes area, I will definitely stay here again. Thank you to the wonderful staff that made our exciting travel so much easier and great!! December 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by hotel no sleep Upon initial check the front desk gave me a room with no bed and then I was given a room one floor below it. Needless to say it was above HVAC unit and all it did was squeak and whine all night long. The overall experience was OK but the room they initially gave me was being worked on and all they did was stomp around. November 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by VERY NICE PLACE Came for my sons navy graduation and we had a great time. Room was very clean and comfortable. Also very spacious rooms. Pool was nice but hot tub didn't work. Front desk lady gave us a coupon for 20% off at Stevens Steak House. This place is a must the most incredible steak I have ever had. Thanks to the staff for making everyone feel very welcome. November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean hotel! The rooms are allways clean and inviting. This is my third trip to Waukegan and my third stay at the Holiday Inn. I have nothing bad to say and I will stay here again when im back in town. November 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Paper thin walls The noise starts very early. You can hear walking, water running, people talking and there was a clanging noise out side the window all 4 nights we were there. There was a connecting door in our room and we could hear the people in the next room like they were right there with us. So, VERY noisy hotel. November 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Good We got into our non smoking room to smell the smell of stale cigarette smoke in the hall and bathroom.The bed was uncomfortable and my wife and I kept rolling to the middle of the KING size bed.You could hear kids running in the hall at 1 a.m.The breakfast line was long why,because they had no food out no seating for anyone only a few tables.Although when we left we did speak with the lady at the front desk and she gave us 30% off.We were pleased with that but I would not stay nor recommend this hotel.I also forgot the hot tub did not work in the pool area also,which is the reason we stayed at this hotel in the first place. October 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by house computer & snack machine The computer room was private But the internet was almost useless. kept erroring out for unresponsive and was extremely slow & frustrating. The snack machines were sparce. I had to go to one floor for drinks then another floor for snacks. Overall it's a nice hotel & I would stay again October 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Towel shortage This was my first time at this hotel. The hotel location is very good with many restraunts in the immediate vicinity. My room was nicely furnished and comfortable. My only issue was that after my shower I found that there wasn't one towel to dry off with, so I had to use hand towels. I reported this to the front desk and they said that they had similar complaints that day. Over all I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service I like Holiday Inn Express overall. The thing I appreciated the most about the Holiday Inn Express in Waukegan was the customer service. There was nothing special I needed, but the staff was so nice all the time. I appreciate that when I travel. Thanks! October 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, nice rooms, great staff We stayed here for my son's PIR from Great Lakes Naval Base. Our room was neat and clean. The staff are very friendly and helped us to secure a shuttle to get to base. The couch pull out bed was a little uncomfortable for my son. The beds are great though. I would still stay there again but maybe ask for a roll away bed. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice, comfortable stay. Good place to stay; we attended the navy PIR. Handicapped room was clean and more than adequate; the breakfast room was larger than the usual and was a nice place to visit. October 1, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Libertyville
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Libertyville
Select to close.
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Libertyville Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Libertyville Exterior View Front Desk Hotel Lobby Cook out at our Gazebo Grill Relax at our Gazebo with grills Front Entrance Come Relax at the Candlewood Suites
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading